NEW YORK CITY DEPARTMENT OF PARKS PRESS RELEASES, JULY-DECEMBER 1941

http://home2.nyc.gov/html/records/pdf/govpub/41971941_press_releases_part2.pdf

Corrected by Frank da Cruz, July 2014.

Original order preserved (reverse chronological).
Paragraphs reformatted by recombining hyphenated words and filling to 78 cols.
Duplicate entries omitted.
Tabs converted to spaces.
Coding: ISO 8859-1 (for cent signs and some fractions).

Search Terms relevant to New Deal:

WPA [3]
W.P.A. [1]
Work Projects [39]
federal dredging [3]

New Deal Projects in this archive:

 4 Jul 1941  Queens      New athletic field on Rockaway Blvd, 101-103 Streets. 
 9 Jul 1941  Brooklyn    New playground at Flatbush Avenue and Avenue M.
14 Jul 1941  Manhattan   Hudson River overlook at 149-150 Streets.
21 Jul 1941  Queens      Construction for Queensbridge Park playground.
22 Jul 1941  Brooklyn    New playground at Avenue V and East 24th Street.
28 Jul 1941  Queens      New playground at Laurelton and Southern Parkways.
 4 Aug 1941  Brooklyn    Opening of first section of Shore Road Park.
 4 Aug 1941  Brooklyn    Opening of Plum Island recreation area, Marine Park.
 9 Aug 1941  Brooklyn    New playground on Nostrand Avenue and Kings Highway.
13 Aug 1941  Bronx       Opening of Ferry Point Park.
13 Aug 1941  Brooklyn    Reconstruction of Bushwick Park.
23 Aug 1941  Brooklyn    New playgrounds (etc) in Prospect Park.
23 Sep 1941  Manhattan   New playground on Fort Washington Ave and 190th St.
26 Sep 1941  Brooklyn    Reconstruction of playground in Gravesend Park.
27 Sep 1941  Queens      Playground and 4 sitting areas in Laurelton.
27 Sep 1941  Bronx       New extension to Zimmerman Park.
29 Sep 1941  Manhattan   Reconstructed playground in Morningside Park.
30 Sep 1941  Queens      New playground behind PS 119.
30 Sep 1941  Queens      New ball fields and bleachers  in At. Albans Park.
30 Sep 1941  Queens      Reconstruction of Victory field in Forest Park.
 1 Oct 1941  Brooklyn    New parking lot and concession building Canarsie Pier
 4 Oct 1941  Queens      Reconstruction Martins Field Playground.
 6 Oct 1941  Brooklyn    Reconstruction of Brower (Bedford) Park.
 6 Oct 1941  Manhattan   Reconstruction of DeWitt Clinton Park.
13 Oct 1941  Bronx       Completion of reconstruction of St. Mary's Park.
13 Oct 1941  Bronx       Completion of reconstruction of Crotona Park.
10 Nov 1941  Bronx       Reconstruction of Isaac L. Rice section of
                           Pelham Bay Park.
24 Nov 1941  Manhattan   Three new playgrounds in Washington Square Park.
 5 Dec 1941  Brooklyn    New addition to park at Howard Avenue and Dean Street.
 8 Dec 1941  Queens      Reconstruction of section of Kissena Park.
15 Dec 1941  Brooklyn    Reconstructed playground at Bay Parkway and Avenue P.
22 Dec 1941  Manhattan   New playground in Highbridge Park
22 Dec 1941  Manhattan   Two new parks between Brooklyn & Manhattan bridges

(begin archive)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
                            Index July - December
                                     1941

7/l/41         Seven new marginal playgrounds, three reconstructed
               playgrounds, children's farm garden and two comfort
               stations completed and opened.

7/2/4l         Eight tennis classes started.

7/3/41         Second of series of four Naumburg Memorial Concerts
               will be given July 4.

7/4/4l         Five acre general recriation field and playground on
               Rockaway Blvd., John Adams High School, opened.

7/7/41         After five years of construction, major part of Crotona
               Park rebuilt, nearing completion.

7/7/41         Children of 23 Park Department playgrounds will celebrate
               anniveraary of opening during July.

7/9/41         Half-acre playground west of Flatbush Avenue opened.

7/14/51        New York State Amphitheatre to be reopened.

7/l5/41        Overlook sitting area on Hudson River opened.

7/16/41        Two of the nation's most outstanding feminine swimmers
               will race on July 16.

7/16/41        Fourteen Japanese Saika deer donated to the Department
               of Parks.

7/17/41        Amateur golfers enter trounament for Newbold Morris Trophy.

7/18/41        Bids opened for construction of bridges of Francis lewis Blvd.

7/19/41        Largest tennis tournament ever held will reach finals
               on July 19.

7/20/41        Gift by Long Island College Hospital to City of New York
               of four parcels of land.

7/21/41        Queensbridge Park playground development completion
               announced.

7/22/4l        New playground and comfort station on a three-quarter
               acre plot at Avenue V and East 24th Street, Brooklyn,
               announced.

7/22/41        Bids opened for paving a portion of Queens section of
               Bronx-Whitestone Parkway.

7/25/41        Travelling puppet troupe formed.

7/25/41        Flushing Meadow Amphitheatre to be opened by
               Mayor LaGuardia.

7/26/41        Team of eight from each of ten municipal golf courses
               compete for team championship for Newbold Morris
               Tournament.

7/28/4         Completion and opening of new playground in Queens
               at Laurelton and Southern Parkways, and of four
               sitting areas, announced.

7/30/41        Aquatic Syow postponed due to inclement weather.

7/31/41        Finals and semi-finals of tennis tournament scheduled.

7/31/41        Additions to contract for park lighting (#M-10-241)
               in connection with repaying of East Drive, Central Park,
               East 59th Street and Fifth Avenue to East 7lfth Street,
               Manhattan.

7/31/41        Match play begins in Newbold Morris gold tournament.

8/4/41         First section of Shore Road Park, BBroiafcJyn^oc ample ted.

8/4/41         Bids opened for reconstructing a portion of the lighting
               system in Central Park from West 110th Street, to East
               74-th Street.

7/4/41         Completion of development of Plum Island, Marine Park,
               Brooklyn.

8/6/41         First of series of aquatic and stage shows to be presented
               at Flushing Meadow Amphitheatre.

8/6/41         City-wide finals of girls' softball tournament will take
               place Aug. 9 at Heckscher Playground.

8/9/41         Final round in Municipal Golf Coampionships to be held
               on Sunday, August 10.

8/9/41         Completion and opening of neighborhood playground on
               Nostrand Avenue, south of Kings Highway, Brooklyn, announced.

8/ll/41        Construction work at Ferry Point Park completed.

8/12/41        Variety of tournaments at parks for boys and girls
               planned for remainder of summer.

8/13/41        Seven-acre Bushwick Park at Knickerbocker and
               Irving Avenues, Suydam and Starr Streets, reopened.

8/16/41        Finals of Paddle Tennis Tournament for boys and girls
               scheduled at North Meadow, Central Park, on August 16.

8/20/41        Finals of Softball tournament, junior and intermediate
               divisions, to take place at Heckscher Playground.

8/22/41        Finals of checker tournament will take place at Heckscher
               Playgrounds, Central Park, on August 23.

8/23/41        Marginal playgrounds at Prospect Park West, from Garfield
               Road to 15th Street, and at the Lincoln Road entrance,
               completed.

8/25/41        Concert to be given at Flushing Meadow Park on Aug. 26.
               During S&ptember, children of 21 playgrounds will celebrate
               the anniversaries of official openings.

8/30/41        Naumburg Orchestra gives last of four concerts on Labor Day.

9/5/41         Bids taken for unloading fill in Sound View Park.

9/6/41         Closing of ourdoor swimming pools on Sept. 7.

9/6/41         Bids taken for workiii Flushing Meadow Park.

79/7/41        Dedication of Time Capsule on 9/23/41.

9/ll/41        Rikers Island Nursery Report.

9/12/41        Finals of softball tournament on 9/13/41/

9/12/4l        Planned activities for fall and winter.

9/12/4l        Prizes awarded to children interested in Crotona Park.

9/12/41        Finals of Boys B a seball Tournament on 3/lh/h-l/

9/13/41        Closing date for amateur photo contest on 9/20/41

9/19/41        Finals of shuffleboard tournament on 9/20/41

9/22/41        Construction begun on 13 parks by WPA

9/23/41        New playground in Manhattan

9/26/41        Completion of reconstruction of playground at Gravesend Park

9/26/41        Harvest festival to be held 9/29

9/27/41        New play area on Cross Island Parkway in Queens

9/27/41        New playground at Collins Zimmerman Playground, the Bronx

9/28/41        Instructions and suggestions for planting trees in city streets

9/29/41        Reconstructed playground in Morningside Park

9/30/41        Announcing three park improvements in Queens

9/30/41        Bids opened for widening Hutchinson River Parkway Extension

10/1/41        Construction of three new playgrounds (one in Manhattan and 
               two in Brooklyn) begun

10/1/41        Children of 22 palygrounds will have special activities during
               Oct. to comemerate official openings of the play areas

10/1/41        Work begun on 3 new playgrounds: Park Ave, # 108 St., Manhattan;
               and Shore Parkway, Homecrest Ave, and Third Ave at 64 St, both
               in Brooklyn

10/1/41        Parking field and concession building completed on Canarsie Pier
               by Belt Parkway at foot of Rockaway Parkway

10/2/41        Vanishing farms in Queens

10/3/41        Plans being made to extend Pennsylvania Avenue to provide new
               access to Belt Parkway

10/4/41        Martins Field playground reopened

10/4/41        Children's orchestras to give concerts Oct. 5

10/5/41        "Wishing Tree" repaired in Harlem

10/6/41        Two reconstructed parks opened in Manhattan and Brooklyn

10/6/41        Revenues for first nine months show 20% increase over 1940. 
               (2 charts) 

10/10/41       Ice skating rink at City Building, Flushing, Queens open

10/13/41       Draft for release on reconstruction of Crotona and St. Mary's
               Parks in the Bronx

10/11/41       Social dancing now going on at designated recreation buildings
               in the 5 boroughs

10/12/41       Winners of photo contest announced

10/13/41       200 car parking field, practice tee and fairway in Queens
               compiled 

10/13/41       Two puppet and marionette shows to be presented on the Mall
               10/13 

10/14/41       Bids opened for construction of steel bulkhead and reinforced
               concrete bridge in Marine Park

10/15          Children's handcraft exhibition opens 10/16 in Junior Museum of
               Metropolitan Museum of Art

10/17          Development of new playfields on Randall's Island announced

               (2 drawings dated 10/9/41 #104-1006 and $104-1007)

10/20          Statement of Robert Moses urging vote of "yes" on amendment #4
               for development of ski activities

10/21/         Traffic relief road connecting Mosholu Avenue and the Henry
               Hudson Parkway and restoration of Park and golf course in Van
               Cortlandt Park, the Bronx, completions announced

10/23          Bids opened on 4 contracts for reconstructions in Brooklyn
               Institute of Arts

               (one drawing dated 10/21/41 file # B-48-141)

10/24/41       City wide finals of Roller Skating Contest announced

10/25/41       Completed arrangements for transportation to and from N.Y. City
               Buildings ice and roller skating rinks announced

10/31          Irving Jaffee will conduct ice skating ¥ class at New York
               City Bldg. 

11/1           Annual Fall chrysanthemum show in Prospect Park, Brooklyn will
               open Nov. 2

11/9           Comment upon crime in Parks (no map though release says one is
               attached)

11/10          Reconstruction of Isaac L. Rice Memorial Section of Pelham Bay
               Park announced.

11/11          New playground adjacent to East River Drive completed

11/13          Bids opened for construction of a bulkhead along south and east
               shore of Sound View Park

11/14          Speed ice skating sessions planned.

11/14          Irving Jaffee will conduct ice skating class at N.Y. City Bldg,
               Flushing Meadow Park, Queens on Nov 15

11/15          Letter from Robert Moses to Victor Gettner, New York City Civil
               Liberties Committee, concerning issue of permits for meetins in
               the parks.

11/17/41       Two playgrounds completed at Cross Island Parkway and Hempstead
               Ave. 

11/24          3 small parks at Washington Square Park, Manhattan, cpmpleted

11/29          Golf courses at Jacob Riis Park closed for the winter to prevent
               damage to grass.

11/30          Children will e7 celebrate openings anniversaries of 8 parks
               playgrounds. 

12/1           Start of work in connections with 3 new playgro unds announced
               (one in Queens, two in Manhattan)

12/4           Two new playgrounds con trcuted in the Bronx

12/5           New additon to playground at Howard Ave between Pacific and Dean
               Streets, Brooklyn, completed

12/8           Completion of reconstruction of section of Kissena Park, Queens,
               announced.

12/12          City wide finals of ping pong tournament planned for Dec. 13

12/12          Bids opened for traffic directional signs to be installed at
               intersection of connecting highway, Tribo rough Bridge Plaza
               and Boody Street Grand Central Parkway 

12/13          Japanese Pavilion At World's Fair being demolished

12/16          Christmas program will feature 30 puppet and marionette shows
12/16          Opening of reconstructed playground at Bay Parkway, Ave P and
               West 12th St., Brooklyn, announced

12/17          Gene Tunney will advise in boxing program

12/17          Children to participate in Christmas programs

12/18          Ceremonies in connection with Christmas trees in parks
               announced 

12/19          Cadets of La Salle Military Academy to present winter drill

12/20          Christmas exhibit of flowers opens

12/20          Corrected release on ceremonies to be held in connection with
               Christmas trees, updated from 12/18 to 12/21, announcing change
               of date of ceremonies to 12/21

12/21          Program of winter sports activities announced.

12/22          Bids opened for cleaning and repairing stone faced bridges in
               Central Park 

12/22/41       Bids opened for new buldhead in Battery Park

12/22          Widening of 4 lane Hutchinson River Parkway extension

12/22          New playground opened at south end of Highbridge Park

12/22          Two sitting parks by the public baths at Cherry and Oliver Sts
               and Rutgers Place, Manhattan

12/29          Objectives of waterfront reclamation program.

#############################################################################

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE MONDAY
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          December 29, 1941


TO THE PRESS:

            Riker's Island, Soundview Park at the mouth of the Bronx River,
and Larine Park at Great Kills, Staten Island, are three closely related
objectives in a long range waterfront reclamation program.

            The Riker's Island dump has disappeared. A tree nursery for the
Park Department and a vegetable garden, orchard and other facilities for
the Department of Correction take the place of the dump.

            The scow operations of the Department of Sanitation moved to the
mouth of the Bronx River to help fill in the new Soundview Park back of a
bulkhead constructed by the Park Department with the aid of rock and dredged
material obtained from the federal dredging operation further up the river.
This scow dumping supplements land dumping at the north end of the new park.
It will take two years to fill up Soundview Park and to complete the
recreation facilities planned there. At the end of this period the Bronx
Parkway Southerly Extension will give additional access to this reclaimed
area.

            Finally in 1944 Marine Park Staten Island, where reclamation
activities were started some years ago with W.P.A. funds, and which is now
being partially filled as part of a joint federal and city dredging contract,
will obtain Sanitation scow fill for a period of approximately two years, at
the end of which Marine Park will appear as one of the finest shorefront
bathing areas on the Atlantic seaboard.

            The coordinating and dovetailing of this work has involved many
complications. From time to time the Park Department will announce the
passing of an important milestone.  The beginning of scow dumping at
Soundview represents such a milestone. The attached release, maps and
pictures tell the story and will enable the press to select such material as
it deems interesting.


                                         /S/   ROBERT MOSES
                                               Commissioner


-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Monday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          December 29, 1941


            The Department of Parks announces further progress in the
preliminary development of Soundview Park, a 160 acre water front site on
the East River Bronx shore. By a series of contracts involving the dredging
of channels and the construction of bulkheading and unloading facilities a
portion of the shore front near the mouth of the Bronx River has been
prepared for docking and unloading Department of Sanitation scows which
formerly deposited their waste at Riker's Island.

         The diversion of scow dumping from Riker's Island, shortly after the
first of the year, permits the continuation of a program started in 1937 for
transforming this former mountain of refuse and ashes into an attractive and
useful farm garden and tree nursery as well as accelerating land filling
operations which have been proceeding for the past two years over the marsh
areas of Soundview Park.

         The development and maintenance of tree nursery on Riker's Island,
using penitentiary labor, is of immense benefit to the city.  In addition to
replacing an unsightly and odorous nuisance and providing healthful
occupation to the prison inmates the nursery will soon produce, at
relatively small cost, an annual crop of shade and ornamental trees for
parks, parkways and park streets.

         This twenty-five acre nursery which was started in the Fall of 1940
now contains over 13,000 trees consisting of European Planes, Norway Maples
and American Elms.  The completed nursery will cover sixty acres. Each year
10,000 additional saplings will be added.  In 1947 the first 10,000 trees
will be transpianted to permanent locations in city parks, parkways and city
streets.

         The existing fifty acre prison farm development consisting of a wide
variety of vegetables will be expanded over a period of five years to 260 acres
including fruit orchards and a poultry plant.   It is expected that the gardens
will provide a high percentage of the vegetables used at the penitentiary.

         The Soundview Park site originally consisted of 93 acres of upland.
In 1940 sixty-six additional acres were acquired by condemnation for park
purposes. Forty-eight acres of the new acquisition was land under water.
The upland was typical barren salt marsh interlaced with natural creeks and
artificial drainage ditches. The Bronx River and East River frontages
consisted of an irregular and muddy shore line.

          Joint filling operations by the Departments of Parks and
Sanitation have been proceeding concurrently with the channel dredging and
bulkhead construction. During the past two years approximately five million
cubic yards of fill from various sources have been spread over the marsh
land and used for bulkhead construction.  A Federal dredging contract in the
Bronx River provided and placed 50,000 cubic yards of riprap along the face
of the earth bulkheading.  Rock excavation along Eastern Boulevard was the
source of over 15,000 cubic yards of riprap bulkhead.  City refuse deposited
by Department of Sanitation trucks was confined to the uplands. The material
which is dumped from the collection trucks is leveled and compacted to
approximate established grades by heavy caterpillar tractor bulldozers.
Clean earth fill is spread over the refuse for sanitary reasons.  Over 6,000
lineal feet of earth and riprap bulkheading now approaching completion
extends along the entire Bronx River and East River frontages thus
preventing flotation and dispersal of the new fill and affording a smoothly
aligned permanent shore.

          Ten million cubic yards of fill are needed to raise the entire
area to finished grades.  It is estimated that scow dumping now in its
early stages will double the tempo of operations. The loaded steel barges
are anchored to a wooden pile supported rock and steel foundation which
carries the unloading equipment. A traveling bucket of eleven cubic yards
capacity transfers the material from the barges to a hopper on the unloading
platform.  Tractor drawn wagon trains are loaded from the hopper and dump
the material throughout the area.  The process of leveling and companion is
the same as for truck deposited waste.  It is estimated that the filling
operations will be completed in 1944 at which time scow dumping will be
transferred to marine Park, Staten Island.

           Soundview Park will be completed in 1944 as a Capital
improvement. This large shore front neighborhood park lying at the terminus
of the Bronx River Parkway Extension will round out the major recreational
needs of the southeastern section of the Bronx.  The future Park has already
been instrumental in the building development of adjacent property and this
trend is expected to continue.

           When the park is completed the following park facilities will be
provided: 

        Shore front promenade             Three comfort stations

        Picnic area                       Four marginal playgrounds

        Three overlook areas              Court games area

        Two athletic fields including     250 Car parking field
             concrete bleachers                     
                                          Bench-lined malls, promenades
        Field house                              and walks

        Recreation building               Formal and informal tree
                                                 planted lawns.



                                    ***

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Monday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          December 22, 1941


          The Department of Parks announces the completion of two small
sitting parks adjacent to the Public Baths located at Cherry and Oliver
Streets and Rutgers Place near Jefferson Street, Manhattan. Both sites have
frontages of 26 feet and depths of approximately 100 feet. The parcels were
condemned by the City to permit the removal of a 3½ story and 6 story
building and the installation of windows in the sides of the bathhouses for
additional light and air.

          The properties thus acquired serve a double purpose by allowing
the development of much needed sitting areas in this congested lower section
of downtown Manhattan.  Irrigated sand pits and drinking fountains have been
included in both areas. Continuous benches have been placed around the small
asphalt surfaced free play areas. The exterior walls of adjoining buildings
have been plastered and painted with White Portland Cement Wash to provide
additional reflected light to the sitting areas and bathhouses.

         The work was performed by the Work Projects Administration from
plans prepared by the Department of Parks.


                                  * * * *

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Monday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          December 22, 1941
Pix:  21088
      21089

      Plans: ML 37-2100
             ML 37-2101

           The Department of Parks announces the completion and opening of
a new playground at the south end of Highbridge Park on the east side of
Edgecombe Avenue just north of its intersection with Harlem River
Driveway. This playground, one of seven marginal recreational areas along
Edgecombe Avenue, was built under a large project for the general
reconstruction of a considerable portion of the park involving new-grading,
drainage, irrigation and planting, new playgrounds and comfort station,
fencing, walks, benches and park lighting.  It is expected that these items
will be completed early next year.

           The new playground is an asphalt surfaced, fence enclosed
quadrant approximately l/4 acre in extent, with two gate controlled
entrances from the Edgecombe Avenue promenade. Kindergarten swings, slides
and seesaws are provided. A sand pit with continuous benches on three sides
is included. Two large existing shade trees were retained within the
playground area.

           The work was performed by the Work Projects Administration from
plans prepared by the Department of Parks.  In 1934 there were 119
playgrounds in the five boroughs. There are now with this addition 462
playgrounds in the park system.

                                  * * * *

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Monday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          December 22, 1941


              The Department of Parks announces the widening of the old
four-lane Hutchinson River parkway Extension in Pelham Bay Park between the
WestChester County Line and the beginning of the new three and one-half
six-lane parkway extension opened to traffic on October 11, 1941.

           The old pavement within the City limits consisted of two 23 foot
wide concrete roadways and curbs separated by a 28 foot wide grass panel.
Originally it, was made exceptionally wide in anticipation of the need for
the current improvement, The widening was done under two separate contracts
prepared by the State Department of Public Works and the Department of Parks
and was paid for with State and City funds.  They provided for the removal
of the existing mall curbs and the addition of two 11 foot wide lanes to
each roadway.  The new curbs are of white cement to indicate clearly the
edge of the roadways.  New timber guide railing has been added at points
where the outer shoulders slope off sharply.  Certain necessary adjustments
were made to the existing drainage system to meet the changed conditions and
new drainage structures were added.  The central mall will be seeded with
grass next spring.

           The recently opened parkway extension plus this widened section
per mits an uninterrupted and safe flow of traffic from the Belt Parkway
over the Bronx-Whitestone Bridge and other arterial connections to the
parkways of West Chester, upper New York and Connecticut.  It has also
relieved the heavy flow of mixed traffic formerly carried by the Eastern
Boulevard approach to the Triborough Bridge.


                                *** *** ***

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Monday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          December 22, 1941


          Bids were opened today by the Department of Parks on a contract
for the demolition of existing structures and clearing the site for a new
bulkhead in Battery Park, Borough of Manhattan.

          These preliminary clearing operations in preparation for the
complete reconstruction of the park vail be confined to the immediate
vicinity of the existing bulkhead.  The major items of work will include the
removal of the Fire Department buildings and the reinforced concrete and
timber decks and framing of the wharf. The iron pipe railing, stanchions and
mooring devices along the face of the wharf will be salvaged for replacement
on the new bulkhead which will be provided under a future contract. The
alignment will follow closely the existing structure except at the south end
where it will be extended approximately thirty feet into the bay and at the
north end where a large portion of the Pier A boat basin will be eliminated.

          Other items in the contract provide for the removal of granite
fence posts and coping, the cutting or pulling of all timber piles within
designated areas and the relocation of ths gangplank and float to the
westerly end of the north boat basin.

          The contract allows sixty consecutive calendar days for the
completion of the work. 

          The three lowest bids were submitted by the following:

           1. John J. Abramson Company, Inc,           $24,811.
              864 Whitlock Avenue, Bronx, N. Y.

           2. Albert A. Volk Company                    28,533.
              1319 Broadway, New York City

           3. Nicholas DiMenna & Sons, Inc.             34,904.
              1525 Blondell Avenue, Bronx, N.Y.

                                  * * * *

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Monday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          December 22, 1941

               Bids were opened today by the Department of Parks at the
Arsenal Building in Central Park on a contract for repairing and cleaning
two stone faced bridges in Central Park, Borough of Manhattan.  The work on
these structures which are located near Fifth Avenue in the vicinity of 77th
Street and 85th Street represents one phase of a general program under which
the entire park is being reconstructed or repaired.

              The contract provides for the erection of new artificial stone
balusters, wrought iron railings, concrete copings, steam cleaning all
stonework and brickwork and pointing up mortar joints.

              The three lowest bids were submitted by the following:

              1. Robert Cook, Inc.                   $3281.00
                 250 East 43 Street, N.T.C.

              2. Goldberger Construction Corp.        3653.00
                 11 vfest 42 Street, E.Y.C,

              3. Kennedy & Smith, Inc.                4015.00
                 131-20 41st Ave., Flushing,N.Y.

                                  * * * *

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Sunday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          December 21, 1941


            The Department of Parks announces that an extensive program of
winter sports activities has been arranged for juveniles, adolescents and
adults, including carnivals, skiing, ice skating and coasting.

            Two hundred and five park areas, in all, have been set aside for
ice skating throughout the five boroughs.  In addition to 27 lakes in the
large parks, 15 tennis court areas will be sprayed, 134 wading pools and 29
other suitable recreation facilities will be flooded for this popular winter
sports activity.

            Five ice skating carnivals will be held on Saturday, January 10,
1942, 2:00 p.m., at the following locations:

            Manhattan - Conservatory Lake, Central Park, near 72 Street and
                                                               Fifth Avenue

            Brooklyn  - Prospect Park Lake, near Empire Boulevard and
                                                               Lincoln Road

            Queens    - Cunningham Park, Union Turnpike and 192 Street, Hollis

            Bronx     - Van Cortlandt park Lake, near West 242 Street

            Richmond  - Clove Lakes, near Victory Boulevard and Clove Road

            These carnivals will feature events for juveniles, juniors and
sen iors as well as exhibitions of figure, pair and novelty skating.
Special events will be included for members of the Middle Atlantic Skating
Association.

             A city-wide winter sports carnival will be held on Saturday,
January 24, at the Conservatory Lake, Central Park, at which the first five
competitors in eech of the borough contests will be eligible to compete.

             Gold, silver and bronze medals will be awarded to those who place
1st, 2nd and 3rd in each event.

          An indoor ice skating carnival, exclusively for children up to 14
years of age, will take place at the City Building, Flushing Meadow Park,
Queens, on Tuesday, December 30j from 10 a.m. to 1 p.m.    While the program
will include races, the special feature will consist of a masquerade, in
which those children wearing the most attractive costumes, will receive
prizes.   Of course, all the participants will be admitted free of charge,
but spectators will have to pay the usual admission fee of 11¢.

          Twenty nine hills in the various parks of the five boroughs have
been designated for coasting, together with fifteen areas suitable for
skiing.

          In the event of snow, a contest in snow sculpture ana snow
architecture will be held on Saturday, January,17, at 2 p. m.    Prizes will
be awarded to the winners.

          The attached list indicates the respective park areas for ice
skating, skiing and coasting.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

                            DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
                              CITY OF NEW YORK
                        ICE SKATING AREAS 1941-1942

                               MANHATTAN (37)

LAKES (4)
59 Street Lake, Central Park, near Fifth Avenue
72 Street and West Drive Lake, Central Park
Conservatory Lake, 72 Street and 5 Avenue, Central Park
Lake, North of 79 Street end Transverse Road, Central Park

TENNIS COURTS
93 Street and West Drive, Central Park

FLOODED AREAS (2)
East River Drive and Broome Street
Riverside Drive end 148 Street

WADING POOLS (30)
Carl Schurz Playground, East 84 Street end East End Avenue
Colonial Playground, West 152 Street end Bradhurst Avenue
DeWitt Clinton Playground, West 52 Street end 11 Avenue
Ft. Tryon Playground, Broadway end Dyckman Street
Gulick Playground, Columbia, Sheriff end Broome Streets
Hamilton Place Playground, West 141 Street end Hamilton Place
Highbridge-167 Street Playground, West 167 Street and Edge comb Ave.
Highbridge-180 Street Playground, West 180 Street end Amsterdam Ave.
Highbridge-189 Street Playground, West 189 Street and Amsterdam Ave.
J. Hood Wright Playground, West 173 Street and Ft. Washington Ave,
Kelly Playground, West 17 Street bet. 8th end 9th Avenues
McCray Playground, West 138 Street bet. 5th and Lenox Avenues
Mt. Morris East Playground, East 120 Street and Madison Avenue
Mt. Morris West Playground, West 122 Street and Nethen Davis Place
Riverside-75 Street, West 75 Street end Henry Hudson Parkway
Riverside-97 Street, West 97 Street end Henry Hudson Parkway
Riverside-102 Street, West 102 Street and Henry Hudson Parkway
Rumsey Playground, 72 Street and East Drive in Central Park
Roosevelt Playground, Forsythe and Broome Streets
St. Gabriel's Playground, East 35 Street , between 1st and 2nd Avenues
St. Nicholas Playground, W. 141 Street and St. Nicholas Ave,
Seward Playground, East Broadway end Canal Street
Thomas Jefferson Playground, Eest 114 Street and Pleasant avenue
Tompkins Square Playground, Avenue "A" and East 10 Street
Yorkville Playground, East 101 Street between 2nd and 3rd Avenues.
Playground, 83 Roosevelt Street
Playground, West 130 Street end Fifth Avenue
Morningside-123 Street Playground, Morningside Avenue and 123 Street
Payson Avenue Playground, Payson Avenue end Dyckman Street
Corlears Playground, Cherry end Jackson Streets


                               BROOKLYN (57)

LAKES
Prospect Park Lake

TENNIS COURTS
Fort Greene Park, Myrtle Avenue and St. Edwards Street

FLOODED AREAS (10)
Atlantic Avenue and Linwood Street (Asphalt baseball field)
Bushwick Playground, Putnam and Knickerbocker Aves. (Asphalt baseball field)
Douglass and 3rd Avenue (Asphalt baseball field)
Dyker Beach Park, 86 Street and 7 Avenue (Pond on golf course)
Kelly Memorial Playground, Avc. S and E, 14 St. (Asphalt bescball field)
Lincoln Terrace Park, Buffalo & E. New York Ave. (Asphalt baseball field)
McKinley Park, Ft. Hamilton Parkway end 75 St. (Boys playground)
Red Hook Recreation Center, Clinton & Bay Sts. (Roller skating area)
Seth Low Playground, Bay Parkway & Ave. P (Asphalt baseball field)
McCarren Park, Driggs Ave, and Lorimer Street (Children's playground)

WADING POOLS (45)
Avenue L and East 18 Street Playground
Bill Brown Memorial Playground, Bedford Avenue and Avenue X
Blake and Euclid Avenues Playground
Bushwick Park, Knickerbocker and Putnam Avenues
Carroll Park, Smith and Carroll Streets
City Park, Flushing Avenue and Navy Street
Crispus Attucks Playground, Fulton Street and Classon Avenue
Dahill Roed and 38 Street Playground
Dreier Offerman Playground, Cropsey Avenue end 27 Avenue
Ft. Hamilton Parkway and 52 Street Playground
Ft. Hamilton High School, Colonial Road and 83 Street
Greenpoint Playground, Commercial and DuPont Streets
Heckscher Playground, Grove Street and Wilson Avenue
Hopkinson Avenue and Marion Street Playground
Howard Avenue, Pacific and Dean Streets Playground
Jas.J. Byrne Memorial Playground, 3 Street and 4 Avenue
Lafayette and Reid Avenues Playground
Leiv Eiricksson Playground, 56 Street and 8 Avenue
Lynch Street and Lee Avenue Playground
McKibben Playground, McKibben and White Streets
Mclaughlin Playground, Tillary and Jay Streets
Marine Park, Marine Parkway and Fillmore Avenue
Marine Playground, Gerritsen Avenue and Avenue X
Neptune Avenue and West 28 Street Playground
New Lots Playground, Riverdale Avenue and Sackman Street
New Utrecht Avenue and 70 Street Playground
Ocean Parkway and Avenue P Playground
Owls Head Park, Colonial Road and 67 Street
Pitkin and New Jersey Avenues Playground
Prospect and Greenwood Avenues Playground
Prospect Park West and 11 Street Playground
Prospect Place and Underhill Avenue Playground
Riverdale and Snediker Avenues Playground
Schermerhorn Street and 3 Avenue Playground
Sheridan Playground, Grand Street and Wythe Avenue
Shiplacoff Playground, Pitkin Avenue and Powell Street
South 3rd and Berry Streets Playground
Stephen A. Rudd Playground, Bushwick Avenue and Aberdeen Street
Stillwell Avenue and Avenue U Playground
Taaffe Place and Park Avenue Playground
Tenth Avenue and 42 Street Playground
Tompkins Park, Tompkins and Lafayette Avenues
Union and Van Brunt Street s Playground
Vandervoort and Cherry Streets Playground
Williamsburg Housing, Manhattan Avenue and Scholes Street

                                QUEENS (75)

LAKES (13)
Alley Pond Park Lake, World's Fair Blvd. & Douglaston Pkway, Hollis
Alley Pond Picnic Lake, Grand Central Parkway, 233 Street, Hollis
Bowne Park Lake, 158 Street and 32 Avenue, Flushing
Baisley Park Lake, Sutphin Blvd., 125 St., opp. 153 St., Baisley Park
Brookville Park Lake, Brookville Blvd. and 143 Avenue, Rosedale
Crocheron Park Lake, 35 Avenue and 214 Place, Bayside
Jackson Pond, 108 Street and 30 Avenue, Richmond Hill
Kissena Lake, Oak Avenue and Kissena Blvd., Flushing
Linden Park Lake, 41 Avenue and 103 Street, Corona
Oakland Lake, Alley Pond, Hollis
Pea Pond, Hollis Court Blvd. and Grand Central Parkway, Hollis
Capt. Tilly Park Lake, Highland Avenue, 85 Ave., 165 Street, Jamaica
Twin Ponds, Brookville Blvd. end Merriok Road, Rosedale

TENNIS COURTS (8)
Adams, Centerville, 102-103 Street, Ozone Park
Alley Pond Park, Grand Central Parkway, Winchester Blvd., Hollis
Astoria Park, 25 to 21 Avenue, Astoria
Brookville Park, Brookville Blvd., end So. Conduit Highway, Rosedale
Cunningham Park, Union Turnpike, opposite 192 Street, Hollis
Wayanda Park, Hollis Avenue and Springfield Blvd., Hollis
Woodhaven Playground, 89 Avenue and 90 Street, Woodhaven
Baisley Park, Sutphin Blvd. and 125 Street, Baisley Park

FLOODED AREAS (22)
Atlantic Avenue and 88 Street, Ozone Park (Softball area)
95 Street and 125 Street, Richmond Hill (games area and handball cts.J
Broadway and 78 Street, Jackson Heights (Roller Skating)
Braddock Avenue and 240 Street, Queens Village (Softball area)
Chisholm Park, Poppenhausen Ave & 115 St., College Pt. (Roller skating area) 
Grover Cleveland, Grandview Avenue & Stanhope St., Ridge-wood (Softball area)
Corona 111 Street, 46 Ave. & 111 St., Corona (Softball area)
Flushing Memorial, 25 Ave. & 149 St., Flushing (Handball courts)
Glendale, 78 Avenue & 74 Street, Glendale (Games area)
Jackson Heights Plgd., 84 St. & 30 Ave., Jackson Heights (Handball Cts)
Liberty Park, Liberty Ave. & 172 St., Jamaica (Paddle tennis courts)
Marconi Plgd., 155 St. & 108 Ave., Jamaica (Softball area)
Maurice Plgd., Maurice, Borden and 54 Aves., Maspeth (Games area)
0'Connell Plgd., 113 Ave. & 196 St., St. Albans (Handball courts)
Rockaway, Boardwalk & 80 Street, Rock away
Riis Park, Neponsit (Parking field)
30th Road, 45 Street and 30 Road, Astoria (Softball area)
Thomson Hill, 47 Avenue and 43 Street , Sunnyside (Games area, upper)
Tudor Field, 80 Street and N, Conduit Ave., So. Ozone Park (Softball area)
Victory Field, Woodhaven Blvd. and Myrtle Ave., Glendale
Von Dohlen Plgd., 138 Street end Archer Ave., Jamaica (Handball cts.)
Woodhaven, 89 Avenue & 90 Street , Woodhaven (Sofbball area)

WADING POOLS (32)
Atlantic Avenue and 88 Street , Ozone Park.
95 Avenue and 125 Street , Richmond Hill
Benninger Playground, Madison Ave. & Fresh Pond Roed, Ridgewood
Braddock Playground, Braddock Avenue & 240 Stree , Queens Village
Cleveland Playground, Grandview Avenue and Stanhope St., Ridgewood
Corona 111 Street - 111 Street and 46 Avenue, Corona
Dry Harbor Playground, 80 Street and Myrtle Avenue, Glendale
Francis Lewis Playground, 3 Ave., 147 Street to Parson Blvd., Whitestone
Glendale Playground,78 Avenue end 74 Street, Glendale
Highland Lower Playground,Jamaica Ave. & Elton St, Cypress Hills
Jackson Pond Playground, 108 Street end Myrtle Avenue, Richmond Hill
Jackson Heights Playground, 84 Street and 30 Ave., Jackson Heights
Jamaica 179 Place Playground, off Jamaica Avenue, Jamaica
Junction Blvd. Playground, Junction Blvd, and 34 Ave., Corona
Juniper Valley Playground, Dry Harbor Road, 74 St, 62 Ave, Rego Park
Liberty Avenue and 102 Street, Ozone Park
Liberty Park, Liberty Avenue end 173 St., 106 Ave., Jamaica
Martins Field, 164 Street and Queens Avenue, Flushing
Marconi Playground, 155 Street, 108 Avenue, Jamaica
Maurice Playpround, Maurice and Borden Ave., 54 Ave., Faspeth
Newtown Playground,'56 Avenue and 92 Street, Elmhurst
O'Connor Playground, 32 Avenue and 210 Street, Bayside
O'Connell Playground, 113 Avenue, 196 Street,St. Albans
Queensbridge Playground, Vernon Blvd & Bridge Plaza N., L.I.C.
30th Road Playground, 30 Road and 45 Street, Astoria
Thomson Hill Playground, 47 Avenue and 43 Street, Sunnyside
Triboro 66B Playground, Hoyt Avenue and 21 Street, Long Island City
Triboro 66F Playground, Hoyt Avenue and 2 Ave, Long Island City
Van Wyck Playground, 111 Avenue end 134 Street, Ozone Park
Von Dohlen Playground, 138 Street end Archer Avenue, Jamaica
Windmuller, Woodside Avenue and 54 Street, Woodside
Whitestone N.E., Hurd Ave., 17 Road, 20 Avenue, Whitestone

                                 BRONX (33)

LAKES (3)
Bronx Park, Twin Lakes, north of Mosholu Parkway, east of Webster Ave.
Crotona Park Lake, Crotona Park East and East 173 Street
Van Cortlandt Park Lake, 242 Street, east of Broadway

TENNIS COURTS (3)
Bronx Park East, Bronx Park East end Brady Avenue
St. James Park, Jerome Avenue end East 192 Street
St. Mary's East, Trinity Avenue end East 145 Street

FLOODED AREAS (4)
Pelham Bay Park, Pelham Parkway, Eastern Blvd. & Middletown Road
Waterbury, Edison and LaSalle Avenues Playground (Softball field)
Watson, Gleason and Noble Avenues Playground (Softball field)
Claremont Park, East 170St. and Clay Ave. (Roller skating area)

WADING POOLS (23)
Mullaly Playground, Jerome Avenue and East 165 Street
Claremont Park Playground, East 170 Street and Clay Avenue
St. Mary's West Playground, St. Ann's Avenue and East 146 Street
Williamsbridge Playground, East 208 Street and Bainbridge Ave,
Zimmerman Playground, Olinville Avenue, s. of Britton Street
Van Cortlandt S. Playground, Van Cortltandt Street and 240 Street
Pelham Bay Plgd. #1 - Eastern Blvd, Willow Lane and Buhre Ave.
Crotona Park, Plgd. #5 - Crotona Park East, and East 173 Street
Crotona Park Plgd. #7 - Crotona Park East and Charlotte Street
Ft. Schuyler Park Playground - Pennyfield Avenue and Shore Drive
Devoe Park, East Playground, University Avenue and East 188 Street
Ciccarone Playground, East 188 Street and Hughes Avenue
East 166 Street and Morris Avenue Playground
East 178 Street and Cedar and Sedgwick Avenues Playground
East 167 Street and Stebbins Avenue Playground
East 182 Street and Belmont Avenue Playground
East 141 Street and Brook Avenue Playground
Cauldwell Avenue between East 161 Street and East 163 Street Plgd.
East 136 Street and Alexander Avenue Playground
East 177 Street and Noble Street Playground
Watson, Gleason and Noble Avenues Playground
Waterbury, Edison and LaSalle Avenues Playground
Bronx Park East and Waring Avenue Playground

                               RICHMOND (13)
LAKES (6)
Brooks Pond, Slosson Avenue, off Clove Road
Clove Lake #2, Victory Boulevard
LaTourette Pond, Rockland Avenue and Forest Hill Road
Martling's Pond, Slosson Avenue and Clove Road
Willowbrook Lake, Richmond Avenue and Victory Boulevard
Wolfe's Pond Park, Holton and Cornelia Avenues

TENNIS COURTS (2)
Silver Lake Park, Hart Boulevard and Revere Street
Walker Park, Bard and Davis Avenue

FLOODED AREAS 
Silver Lake Golf Course, Victory Boulevard (Parking ^rca)

WADING POOLS (4)
Clove Lakes Playground, Victory Boulevard and Clove Road
De Matti Playground, Tompkins Avenue, Rosebank
Levy Playground, Jewett and Castleton Avenues
McDonald Playground, Forest Avenue and Broadway

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

                            DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
                              CITY OF NEW YORK
                        SKIING AND COASTING AREAS

SKIING LOCATIONS:
                                 MANHATTAN

Central Park:
  Section of #4 (Cedar Hill), 79 Street and East Drive
  Section of #3 (Burns Lawn), 79 Street and West Drive

                                  BROOKLYN

Prospect Park:
  Southwest of Music Stand                 Empire Boulevard Entrance
  Sugar Bowl Hill                          Prospect Park W. & 9 St, Ent. 
  Tennis House Hill                        Prospect Park W. & 9 St.

                                   QUEENS
Crocheron Park:
  55 Avenue, 214 Place, Bayside

Forest Park Golf Course:
  3rd Tee, down into 2nd Fairway for Beginners
  4th Fairway for Experienced Skiiers

Kissena Park Golf Course:
  Area designated by Supervisor of Park Operation when there is
  sufficient snow.

Alley Pond Motor Parkway:
  From Horace Harding Blvd. to Alley Pond Park

                                   BRONX

Van Cortlandt Park Golf Course:
  18th Tee and Fairway

                                  RICHMOND
Silver Lake Golf Course:
  Forest Avenue and Silver Lake Park Roadway (7th Fairway)

LaTourette Golf Course: 
  Rockland Avenue (2nd, 14th end 18th Fairways)

COASTING HILLS:

                                 MANHATTAN

Central Park:
  83 St. & East Drive, North of Museum of Art
  79 St. & East Drive, short run for smrll children
  72 St. & East Drive (Pilgrim Hill), SW. of Conservatory Lake
  79 St. & East Drive (Cedar Hill)
  72 St., north of Boat House, short run near Main Drive
  60 St. & East Drive, near Heckscher Playground
  72 St. & West Drive
  79 St. & West Drive (Burns Lawn) S. of Transverse Road
  79 St. & East Drive, SE. of Conservatory Lak
  99 Street off 5 Avenue (East Meadow)

Henry Hudson Parkway:
  73 Street                  At 108 St.
  83 St., east of Playground From 116 to 120 Sts.

J. Hood Wright Park:
  Section of hill located on Haven Avenue side of park
  Coasting from West to East

                                  BROOKLYN

Prospect Park:
  Southwest of Music Stand   Suger Bowl Hill
  Tennis House Hill          SW. of Maryland Mem,
  Hill southeast of 1st Street end Prospect Park West

                                   QUEENS

Crocheron Park:
  35 Avenue rnd 214 Place, Bayside

Chisholm Park:
  Poppenhausen Avenue end 115 Street, College Point

Forest Park:
  Old 18th Tee of Golf Course, Main Drive below Golf House,
  near 82 Street, Woodhaven

Kissena Golf Course:
  Area designated as suitable by Supervisor of Park Operation
  when there is sufficient snow.

Highland Park:
  Lower half of Snake Hill from the turn to Jamaica Avenue,
  opposite Elton Street, Brooklyn

                                   BRONX

Van Cortlandt Park Golf Course:
  18th Tee and Fairway

Bronx River Parkway:
  East 226 Street

                                  RICHMOND

Silver Lake Golf Course:
  Forest Avenue and Silver Lake Park Roadway (7th Fairway)

LaTourette Golf Course:
  Rockland Avenue (2nd, 14th and 18th Fairways)


                             * * * * * * * * *

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
(The following press release was originally dated Thursday December 18, 1941,
but the date and many other parts of it were corrected in handwriting.  I
suspect it is an adaptation of a 1941 press release for 1942.  See the
December 18, 1941, press release below for comparison.)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Sunday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          December 20, 1942

               The Park Department announces that ceremonies in connection with
      twenty-one Christmas trees, which are being erected and decorated in
parks throughout the five boroughs, will take place on Monday, December 21,
at 5:00 P. M.  A special program will be held at the principal trees in each
borough, which will be at City Hall Park, Manhattan; Borough Hall Park,
Brooklyn; Joyce Kilmer Park, The Bronx; Queensborough Hall, Kew Gardens, and
Borough Kail, Richmond.

               At City Hall Park, the ceremonies will start at 5:00
P. M. and will be broadcast over Station WNYC.  Mayor LaGuardia will deliver
the usual Christmas message [and] will throw the switch that will light the
tree at 5:25 P. M., officially starting New York City's observance of the
Christmas season.  Borough President Edgar J Nathan, Jr., and Newbold
Morris, President of the Council, will also participate in the exercises.
Selections will be played by the Department of Parks' Band and Christmas
Carols will be sung by the Police Department's Glee Club, and the Boys Choir
of Saint Cecilia's Church.  Borough Presidents Cashmore, Burke, Lyons and
Palma will light the trees in their respective boroughs where exercises will
be conducted under the direction of the Borough Park Directors who have
arranged appropriate programs.

               A special decorative scheme has been designed for the Park
Department Headquarters at The Arsenal, Central Park, which will depict the
Three Wise Men proceeding to the Star in the East, centered in a holly
wreath ten feet in diameter.

               The trees will be lit each evening from whatever hour in the
afternoon it is dark to [sunrise?] until January 2.  Christmas trees will be
erected at the following locations:


Manhattan:   City Hall Park
             Conservatory Garden - 104 to 105 Street s and Fifth Avenue
             Thomas Jefferson Park - First Avenue and 111 Street
             Roosevelt Park - Forsyth and Canal Streets
             Fort Tryon Park - Riverside Drive, Broadway and Dyckman Street
             Carl Schurz Park - 85 Street and East End Avenue
             Mt. Morris Park - Fifth Avenue and 124 Street
             Bellevue Hospital - East River Drive and 26 Street

Bronx:       Joyce Kilmer Park - 161 Street and Grand Concourse
             St. Mary's Park -St. Ann's Avenue and East 144 Street
             St. James Park - East 191 Street and Jerome Avenue

Brooklyn     Borough Hall
             Grand Army Plaza - Prospect Park
             Leiv Eriksson Park - 67 Street between 4th and 5th Avenues
             McCarren Park - Driggs Avenue and Lorimer Street

Queens       Queensborough Hall - Kew Gardens
             King Park - Jamaica Avenue and 151 Street
             Flushing Park - Northern Boulevard and Main Street
             Forest Park - Park Lane South and 108 Street
             Highland Park - Jamaica Avenue and Elton Street

Richmond     Borough Hall - Bay Street and Borough Place

             As in former years there will also be a Christmas Tree
in the Flushing Meadow Park Queens located inside the City [???] between the
ice and roller skating rinks.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Saturday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          December 20, 1941


          The annual Christmas exhibit of the season's flowers are on
exhibition in the Greenhouse in Prospect Park at Prospect Park West and 9th
Street, Brooklyn.

          This year's display and exhibit comprises over 2,000 Poinsettia
plants in three varieties, white, pink, and red.  Some of these Poinsettia
measure twelve inches in diameter.  In addition there are various groupings
of other flowering plants interspaced.  Some of these are the attractive and
well known Cyclemen and Christmas cherries.

          The exhibit will be open every day from December 21 to January 2,
from 10 A. M. to 4 P. M. and the Park Department extends a cordial
invitation to the public to view the display.

                                   *****

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Friday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          December 19, 1941


         At 8 P. M. Friday evening, December 19, the Corps of Cadets of La
Salle Military Academy will present its annual winter drill and review in
the City Building at Flushing ueadow Park.

          In past years it has been the practice to hold this annual review
in one of the city armories. Because of the national defense situation no
armory was available to the academy this year and the Park Department agreed
to allow the review to be held in the City Building so that these young,
prospective officers, could carry through their annual program which at this
time, of course, is more important than ever.

         To accommodate the review it will be necessary to close the roller
and ice skating rinks from the end of the evening session on Thursday to the
afternoon session on Saturday.  Both rinks will be reopened to the public at
2 P. M. on Saturday, December 20th.

         The program of events is as follows:

                     Battalion Review
                     Manual of Arms Competition
                     Calisthenics Exhibit
                     Silent Drill Exhibition
                     Ceremony of Formal Guard Mount
                     Retreat Parade
                     Presentation of Awards

         The Seventh Regiment Band will furnish the music and the Corps will
be reviewed by Major General William Ottman, Commanding General of the New
York Guard.

         The following officers of the Regular Army will act as judges in
the various competitive events:

               Lieutenant Colonel Glenn A. Ross
               Lieutenant Colonel Timoteo Sapi.-Bosch
               Lieutenant Colonel B. T. Fay, U. S. Marine Corps
               Major Cleo Z. Shugart
               Major August J. Regnier

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Thursday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          December 18, 1941


         The Park Department announces that ceremonies in connection with
the twenty-one Christmas trees, which are being erected and decorated in
parks throughout the five boroughs, will take place on Friday, December 19,
at 5:00 P. M.   A special program will be held at the principal trees in each
borough, which will be at City Hall Park, Manhattan; Borough Hall Park,
Brooklyn; Joyce Kilmer Park, The Bronx; Queensborough Hall, Kew Gardens, and
Borough Kail, Richmond.

         At City Hall Park, the ceremonies will start at 5:00 P. M. and will
be broadcast over Station WNYC. Mayor LaGuardia will throw the switch that
will light the tree at 5:25 P. M., officially starting New York City's
observance of the Christinas season. Borough President Stanley M. Isaacs and
Newbold Morris, President of the Council, will also participate in the
exercises.  Selections will be played by the Department of Parks' Band and
Christmas Carols will be sung by the Police Department's Glee Club, and the
Boys Choir of Saint Cecilia's Church. Borough Presidents Cashmore, Harvey,
Lyons and Palma will light the trees in their respective boroughs where
exercises will be conducted under the direction of the Borough Park
Directors who have arranged appropriate programs.

         A special decorative, scheme has been designed for the Park
Department Headquarters at The Arsenal, Central Park, which will depict the
Three Wise Men proceeding to the Star in the East, centered in a holly
wreath ten feet in diameter.

         The trees will be lit each evening from 4:30 P. M. to 2:00
A.M. until January 2. Christmas trees will be erected at the following
locations:

Manhattan:    City Hall Park
              Conservatory Garden - 104 to 105 Streets and Fifth Avenue
              Thomas Jefferson Park - First Avenue and 111 Street
              Roosevelt Park - Forsyth and Canal Streets
              Fort Tryon Park - Riverside Drive, Broadway and Dyckman Street
              Carl Schurz Park - 85 Street and East End Avenue
              Mt. Morris Park - Fifth Avenue and 124 Street
              Bellevue Hospital - East River Drive and 26 Street

Bronx:        Joyce Kilmer Park - 161 Street and Grand Concourse
              St. Mary's Park - St. Ann's Avenue and East 144 Street
              St. James Park - East 191 Street and Jerome Avenue

Brooklyn      Borough Hall
              Grand Army Plaza - Prospect Park
              Leiv Siriksson Park - 67 Street between 4th and 5th Avenues
              McCarren Park - Driggs Avenue and Lorimer Street

Queens        Queensborough Hall - Kew Gardens
              King Park - Jamaica Avenue and 151 Street
              Flushing Park - Northern Boulevard and Main Street
              Forest Park - Park Lane South and 108 Street
              Highland Park - Jamaica Avenue and Elton Street

Richmond      Borough Hall - Bay Street and Borough Place


           As in former years the Triborough Bridge Authority has erected
large Christmas trees at the toll booths at each of its five bridges:
Triborough, Marine Parkway, Cross Bay, Bronx-Whitestone and Henry Hudson, as
well as one in front of their Administration Building on Randall's Island.

                                  * * * *

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Wednesday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          December 17, 1941

             The Department of Parks announces that the children of Park
Department playgrounds will participate in specially prepared Christmas
programs of recreational activities, beginning Wednesday, December 7, and
running through Wednesday, December 31.

             While the spirit of gaiety will predominate all the programs,
the singing of patriotic songs, pledges of allegiance and salute to the Flag
will be included.

             The singing of well known Christmas carols, folk dancing,
puppet and magic shows, dramatic productions portraying subjects appropriate
to the Yuletide season, concerts by children's orchestras and recitations
will also form part of the program.  Of course, Christmas parties,
accompanied by group games, refreshments, decoration of Christmas trees,
visits by Santa Claus, the exchange of gifts among the playground children
will also be included in the list of events.

             Christmas trees have been provided by the Park Department for
52 centrally located playgrounds throughout the five boroughs.  Many of the
Mothers Clubs have made arrangements for trees at tha other recreational
areas.  All of these trees will be properly decorated and lighted for the
parties.

             Large trees will ba erected and illuminated at the following
tions in each borough during the Christmas holidays.

Manhattan:

  City Eall Park, Broadway and Murray Street
  Conservatory Garden, 104 Street and Fifth Avenue
  Thomas Jefferson Park, First Avenue and 111 Street
  Roosevelt Park, Block 7, Forsyth and Canal Streets
  Mount Morris Park, center line of Fifth. Avonuo, top of hill, 120 Street
  Fort Tryon Park, Dyckman and Broadway
  Carl Schurz Park, 85 Street and East End Avenue

Brooklyn:

  Borough Hall Park, Fulton and Joralemon Streets
  Grand Array Plaza, Prospect Park, Flatbush Avenue and Union Street
  Leiv Eiriksson Park, 67 Street, between Fourth and Fifth Avenues
  McCarren Park, Driggs Avenue and Lorimer Street

Bronx

  Joyce Kilmer Park, 161 Street and Grand Concourse
  St. Mary's Park, St. Ann's Avenue and East 144 Street
  St. James Park, center of oval Lawn, Jerome Avenue and East 193 St.

Queens

  Borough Hall, Queens Boulevard and Union Turnpike
  King Park, Jamaica Avenue and 151 Street
  Flushing Park, Northern Boulevard and Main Stroet
  Forest Park, Park Lane South and 108 Street
  Highland Park, Jamaica Avenue and Elton Street
  City Building, Flushing Meadow Park, in front of fountain niches
  City Building, Flushing Meadow Park, inside building, between rinks

Richmond     

  Borough Hall, Bay Stroet and Borough Place


              Special ceremonies will be held in connection with the initial
lighting of those trees set up at City Kail, Manhattan, and a t the Borough
Hall in Brooklyn, Queens and Richmond; while the ceremony in the Bronx will
take place at Joyce Kilmer Park, 161 Street and Grand Concourse.


                                  * * * *

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Wednesday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          December 17, 1941

Pix:
Manhattan: 21056
Richmond: 21074
Bklyn: 21076
Bronx: 21070
Queens: 21061
Del:
12-16-41
5:30PM

                The Department of Parks announces that Gene Tunney, former
World's Heavy weight Champion, has offered to serve in an advisory capacity
in connection with a program for young men and boys over fourteen years,
which will be inaugurated for the first time at nine Park recreation
buildings located in the various "boroughs, commencing Wednesday, December
17. Mr. Tunney has agreed to do this, not only because of his interest in
the sport, but because of his interest in New York's municipal gymnasia,
where he did much of his early training. The Department hopes in this way to
provide additional recreation for the older boys and young men and, at the
same time, give the older people in the community the opportunity to see
some of the exhibitions.

                After intensive training during the winter months, the
regular participants at these boxing sessions will be eligible to compete in
a city-wide tournament leading up to championship bouts next spring, at
which prizes will be awarded to the winners. Mr. Bernard Gimbel, president
of Gimbel Brothers department store, an ardent promoter of sports, and
former amateur champion, has consented to donate some of the prizes for the
city-wide tournament.

                Park personnel, chosen to conduct this program because of
their past experience in the boxing field, have just completed a six-weeks
review course in the methods of teaching the fundamentals of the art of
self-defense.

                While some boxing champions may be developed at those
sessions, the main purpose of the program, will be to enhance the physical
well being of young men in wholesome surroundings.

                To insure skill in boxing, special emphasis will be placed
on those exercises and calisthenic drills which bring about the necessary
coordination between mind and muscle, agility in movement and quickness of
perception.  This will be followed by instructions on the punching bag,
footwork, and various styles of boxing.

                All the necessary equipment will be provided by the Park
Department, such as: boxing gloves, punching bags, skipping ropes, mats,
rings, first aid material, etc

                The boxing centers are located as follows:

MANHATTAN

  Gymnasium - 342 East 54 Street
  Gymnasium - 407 West 28 Street
  Colonial Play Center - Bradhurst Avenue and West 145 Street
  Thomas Jefferson Play Center - East 111 Street & First Avenue

BROOKLYN

  McCarren Play Center - Driggs Avenue and Lorimer Street

QUEENS  

  Astoria Play Center, 19 Street opposite 23 Drive
  Jackson Heights Playground - 25 Avenue and 84 Street

BRONX 

  Crotona Park Play Center - East 173 Street and Fulton Avenue

RICHMOND

  Cromwell Play Center Pier #6 - Murray Hulbert Avenue, Tompkinsville

                                   * * *

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Tuesday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          December 16, 1941


          The Department of Parks announces the opening of a reconstructed
playground and a new sitting area on the two plots bounded by Bay Parkway,
Avenue P and West 12th Street, Brooklyn. The reconstructed and enlarged 4 3/4
acre playground is separated by Stillwell Avenue from the new ¼ acre sitting
area developed on the intersection triangle known as Bealin Square.

         This old residential section is closely packed with 2-3 story homes
and 6 story apartments along Bay Parkway. The recreation facilities will
also serve the school children attending Seth Low High School located
opposite the playground on West 12th Street.

         The old layout, retained with some alterations and additions,
contained two asphalt surfaced play apparatus areas on each side of a
central brick comfort station and concrete wading pool.  An interior walk
bordered the playground in the center of a 60 foot tree and shrub planted
grass strip paralleling the street sidewalk along Bay Parkway and West 12th
Street; leaving an undeveloped and unkempt dirt surfaced triangular portion
at the south end. Bealin triangle, directly across Stillwell Avenue, dirt
surfaced and supporting a few street trees, was unimproved.

         The kindergarten area has been reduced in size and resurfaced.  The
existing seesaws and swings were relocated to permit a better organization
with the new slides, irrigated sand pit and extensive continuous
benches. The space along West 12th Street adjacent to the school has been
provided with new swings, slides and an exercise unit.

          The wading pool and comfort station area required minor revisions
to tie in with tho reconstructed court games area to the south.

          This section which partly overlaps the former unimproved portion,
in addition to the existing combination baskotball and volleyball court
added four new paddle tennis courts within the same chain link enclosure.  A
rectangular offset extending to Avenue P contains two concrete surfaced
handball courts protected by 16 foot high chain link fencing.

            The new addition has been provided with a bituminous paved soft-
ball diamond.  A hooded backstop and complete 12'-16' fence enclosure is
included.  This area may be used for roller skating and flooded for ice
skating.

            A new concrote sidewalk centered on two new block-paved,
tree-planted malls was constructed along Avenue P and Stillwell Avenue so
located as to permit future widening of the latter.

            The new sitting area on the triangle west of Stillwell Avenue
has been given tho typical sidawalk treatment consisting of concrete
boundary walk bordered by block panels and trees. The interior, surfaced
with asphalt, contains 300-lineal feet of tree shaded benches.

            The work was performed by tho Work Projects Administration from
plans prepared by tho Department of Parks.  In 1934 there were 119
playgrounds in the five boroughs; 62 of which have boon reconstructed.
There are now 461 playgrounds in the park system.

                                   *****

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Tuesday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          December 16, 1941


             The Department of Parks announces that the Christmas program of
playground children's activities will feature 30 puppet and marionette shows
depicting the famous fairy tale "Hansel and Gretel" and "The Lonely Elm",
written by Park recreation personnel, the theme of which deals with the
obligation of children to prevent the unnecessary destruction of natural
landscaped areas and physical equipment in the city's parks and playgrounds.

             Both these shows will be given at 11 a.m. and 3:30 p.m., at
centrally located playgrounds in the five boroughs, beginning Tuesday,
December 16, and running through Wednesday, December 31, according to the
attached schedule.  With five scenes in "Hansel and Gretel" and one in "The
Lonely Elm", the entire performance will last approximately one hour.

             For the past five weeks, the playground directors, assigned to
put on these shows, have attended regular rehearsals in order to acquire
that ambidexterity and deftness so necessary to a skillful manipulation of
the marionettes as well as to obtain the proper nuances for each of the
various speaking parts peculiar to the characters that make up the dramatis
personnae of the respective plays.

             While the stage and all the physical equipment was constructed
in the Park Department shops, each of the puppet figures was made and
costumed by the playground directors.

             In addition, 28 magic shows, lasting one hour and including a
variety of magical tricks and hand puppetry will be given at other
designated playgrounds in the five boroughs, by the recreation personnel in
charge of children's magic clubs conducted by the Park Department, beginning
Tuesday, December 16, and continuing through Wednesday, December 31,
according to the attached schedule.

                                *** **** ***

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

                              CITY OF NEW YORK
                            DEPARTMENT OF PARKS

                     SPECIAL HOLIDAY MARIONETTE PROGRAM

                            "Hansel and Gretel"
                       (In Five Scenes - Characters:-
                      Father, Mother, Hansel, Gretel,
                     Sandman, Witch and Good Fairy)



                              "The Lonely Elm"
                       (A One Act Play - Characters:-
                        Boy, Girl, Fairy, Gnome ond
                                   Tree)

                                  * * * *


QUEENS

Tuesday, December 16 11  A. M.:
    Dry Harbor Playground, 80 St. & Myrtle Ave., Glendale

Tuesday, December 16 3:30 P. M.:
    Dry Harbor Playground, 80St. & Myrtle Ave., Glendale

Wednesday, December 17 11 A. M.:
    Jackson Heights Plgd., 84 St. & 30 Ave.

Wednesday, December 17 3:30 P. M.:
    Jackson Heights Plgd., 84 St. k 30 Ave.

MANHATTAN

Thursday, December 18 11 A. M.
    East River Park at 12 Street

Thursday, December 18 3:30 P. M.
    East River Park at 12 Street

Friday, December 19 11 A. M.
    North Meadow, 97 Street and Central Park

Friday, December 19 3:30 P. M.
    North Meadow, 97 Street and Central Park

Saturday, December 20 11 A. M.
    Seward Park, Canal and Jefferson Streets

Saturday, December 20 3:30 P.M.
    Seward Park, Canal and Jefferson Streets

Sunday, December 21 2:00 P.M.
    Colonial Pool Bldg., 147 St. & Bradhurst Avenue

BRONX
                                                                       1sr
Monday, December 22 11 A. M.
    Williamsgridge Plgd., E. 208 St. & Bainbridge Avenue

Monday, December 22 3:30 P.M.
    Williamsgridge Plgd., E. 208 St. & Bainbridge Avenue

Tuesday, December 23 11 A. M
    Mullaly Plgd., Jerome Ave. & E. 165 St.

Tuesday, December 23 3:30 P.M.
    Mullaly Plgd., Jerome Ave. & E. 165 St.

Wednesday, December 24 11 A. M.
    St. Mary's W., St. Ann's Ave. & E, 146 St.

Wednesday, December 24 3:30 P.M.
    St. Mary's W., St. Ann's Ave. & E, 146 St.

BROOKLYN

Friday, December 26 11 A. M.
    Sunset Park, 43 Street & 7 Avenue

Friday, December 26 3:30 P.M.
    Sunset Park, 43 Street & 7 Avenue

Saturday, December 27 11 A. M.
    McCarren Park Pool, Driggs & Manhattan Ave

Saturday, December 27 3:30 P.M.
    McCarren Park Pool, Driggs & Manhattan Ave

Monday, December 29 11 A. M.
    Betsy Head Park Pool, Hopkinson & Dumont Avenues

Monday, December 29 3:30 P.M.
    Betsy Head Park Pool, Hopkinson & Dumont Avenues

RICHMOND

Tuesday, December 30 11 A. M.
    McDonald, Forest Avenue near Broadway

Tuesday, December 30 3:30 P.M.
    McDonald, Forest Avenue near Broadway

Wednesday, December 31 11 A. M.
    Levy Playground, Jewett & Castleton Aves.

Wednesday, December 31 3:30 P.M.
    Levy Playground, Jewett & Castleton Aves.


-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
                              CITY OF NEW YORK
                            DEPARTMENT OF PARKS

                          SPECIAL HOLIDAY PROGRAM

                       "Magic,  Music and Puppetry -
                        All kinds of Christmas Fun -
                     Songs, - Health and Safety Talks,
                           All rolled into one !"

                                    ****
BRONX

Tuesday, December 16 11 A. M.
    St. James Park, Jerome Ave, & E. 192 St.

Tuesday, December 16 3:30 P.M.
    St. James Park, Jerome Ave, & E. 192 St.

Wednesday, December 17 11 A. M.
    Crotona Pool, E. 173 Street & Fulton Ave.

Wednesday, December 17 3:30 P. M.
    Crotona Pool, E. 173 Street & Fulton Ave.

BROOKLYN

Thursday, December 18 11 A. M.
    Bill Brown Plgd. - Bedford Ave. & Ave. X
    
Thursday, December 18 3:30 P. M.
    Neptune Avenue & West 28 St. Playground

Friday, December 19 11 A. M.
    Carroll Park, Smith and Carroll Streets

Friday, December 19 3:30 P. M.
    Third St. & Fourth Avenue Playground

Saturday, December 20 11 A. M.
    Park and Taaffe Place Playground

Saturday, December 20 2:00 P.M.
    New Utrecht Ave. & 70 St. Playground

MANHATTAN

Monday, December 22 11 A. M.
    Mt. Morris W., 120 St. & Mt. Morris Pk. W,
           ti          ti                 it
Monday, December 22 3:30 P.M.
    McCray, 138 Street near 5th Avenue

Tuesday, December 23 11 A. M.
    Riverside and 168 Street

Tuesday, December 23 3:30 P.M.
    Annunciation Plgd. - 134 St. & Amsterdam

Wednesday, December 24 11 A. M.
    Kelly Plgd., 17 Street near 8th Ave

Wednesday, December 24 3:30 P. M.
    Yorkville, 101 St, near 2nd Avenue

QUEENS

Friday, December 26 11 A. M.
    Grover Cleveland Plgd., Grandview & Stanhope Sts., Ridgewood

Friday, December 26 3:30 P. M.
    Dry Harbor Rd. Plgd., 80 St. & Myrtle Ave

Saturday, December 27 11 A. M. 
    Von Dohlen Plgd., 138 St. & Archer Pl., Jamaica

Saturday, December 27 3:30 P. M.
    O'Connell Plgd., 196 St, & 113 Ave., St. Albans

Monday, December 29 11 A. M.
   Flushing Memorial Plgd., 149 Street, off 25 Avenue, Flushing

Monday, December 29 3:30 P.M.
    O'Connor Plgd., 210 St, and 25 Ave, Bayside

RICHMOND

Tuesday, December 30 11 A. M.
    McDonald Plgd., Forest Ave., near Broadway

Tuesday, December 30 3:30 P. M.
    Cromwell Center, Pier #6, Murray Hulbert Avenue

Wednesday, December 31 11 A. M.
    Abraham Levy Plgd., Jewett & Castleton Avenues

Wednesday, December 31 3:30 P. M.
    DeMatti Playground, Tompkins Avenue

                                  * * * *

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Saturday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          December 13, 1941


           The Japanese Pavilion at the World's Fair was never satisfactory
to park officials, but the Japanese Consul General in New York and other
Japanese residents pressed the City to keep it in Flushing Meadow Park as a
permanent structure symbolizing good will between the two nations.  It
seemed advisable at the time to accede to their request.

           Recent investigation disclosed that the pavilion does not meet
the requirements of the City Building Code.  It would be difficult to
maintain.  It does not fit in with our final plans, and would serve no
permanent park use.  Park forces have already begun demolition.

                                   * * *

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE FRIDAY
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          December 12, 1941


            Bids were opened today by the Department of parks at the Arsenal
Building, in Central Park on a contract for traffic directional signs, to be
installed at the intersection of Connecting Highway and Triborough Bridge
Plaza and Boody Street at Grand Central Parkway.

           These new arterial junctions are at the northern terminus of the
Brooklyn-Queens Connecting Highway which forms two branches around
St. Michaels Cemetery at Grand Central Parkway. When completed, this link
will provide a more direct route from the heart of Brooklyn and Manhattan to
LaGuardia Field.

           The traffic signs, designed and located to facilitate a safe and
efficient flow of traffic between parkway, highway and service roads, are of
the reflectorized and aluminized types. Most of the text is formed of
perforated steel plates with special corrugated aluminum alloy reflecting
background.  Part of the wording is made of aluminum letters applied to a
black background by a silk screen process.  Concisely worded and easily read
they will be located to provide adequate warning time for entrance or
exit. The signs will be supported by simple attractive wooden standards and
frames.

           Additional interior illuminated signs consisting of black
sandblasted letters on opalescent glass will be provided under a subsequent
electrical contract.

           The lowest bids were submitted by the following:

                                         Item 1              Item 2
                                      Sign Supports  Reflectorized Sign Faces
 1.   Frank Scerbo
      39-04 210 St., Bayside, N.Y.     $  934.00

 2.   Charles V. Meyer
      35-18 57 Street, Woodside, N.Y.   1,045.00

 3.   Bryant Sign Shop
      134 East 60 Street, N.Y.C.        1,394.00

 4.   J. P. McWalters, Inc.
      54 Dey Street, N.Y.C.                                 #2,448.00

 5.   Allen Morrison Sign Co.
      512 Fifth Avenue, N.Y.C.                               2,526.75

                                 ***    ***

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE FRIDAY
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          December 12, 1941




          The Department of Parks announces that the city-wide finals of the
ping pong tournament will take place at Mullaly Recreation Building, 161
Street and Jerome Avenue, Bronx, on Saturday, December 13, at 2:00 P. K.

          Playground, district and borough eliminations have been going on
for the past 5 weeks. The competitors in this tournament have been divided
into the following age groups;

                    Junior - children up to 17 years

                    Intermediate - persons 17 to 21 years

                    Senior - persons 21 years and over

                    There will also be a special tournament for
                    service men.

           Separate matches will be held for boys and girls in the
respective age classifications. 

          Prizes will consist of a gold medal for the city champion and
silver for the runner-up in each division; small leaf pins will be awarded
to the local playground winner and a bronze pin to the borough winner.

                                      
                                  * * * *

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE MONDAY
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          December 8, 1941


            The Department of Parks announces the completion of the
reconstruction of the section of Kissena Park, Queens, bounded by the Long
Island Railroad, 164 Street, Oak Avenue and Rose Avenue, to make it a
genuine usable and maintainable local facility.

            Included in the new improvement is a new modern one story brick
boat house and boat landing constructed on the east shore of the lake
replacing the old outmoded frame boat house and dock formerly located on the
south bank adjacent to the old park drive.

            The broad side of the main quarters serving the public faces the
lake.  A flat topped service wing is attached to the north side.  Facilities
in the building are:

      1. A central cafeteria with adjacent supply room and refrigerator.
      2. Check room.
      3. Men's and women's comfort station with interior and exterior access.
      4. Carettina storage and supply room.
      5. Boat accessory storage.
      6. Supervisor's office and park maintenance storage.
      7. Boiler room.

            For the convenience of ice skaters removable wood slat sectional
platforms will be used during the skating season on the quarry tile
cafeteria floor.

            The boat landing is located in front of the boat house at the
end of a widened portion of the promenade which encircles the lake.  This
ramping cleat surfaced wood bent structure, (10' X 65'), supported on wood
piles, slopes beneath the water surface to facilitate the removal ana
storage of boats.

            The balance of the work includes the

       1. Reconstruction of lake, including dredging, boundary retaining
          wall ana promenade.
       2. Reconstructed culvert inlet and new culvert outlet and weir.
       3. A plaza setting for the boat house.
       4. Reconstructed comfort station.
       5. One baseball and three softball diamonds on filled ground.
       6. Two new playgrounds equipped with play apparatus and sand pits.
       7. A new system of walks, ramps, gutters, drainage and irrigation.
       8. Drinking fountains, flagpole, benches and floodlighting.

           Extensive planting operations covering 20 acres include new
topsoil and grass seed, 24,000 shrubs in various varieties and 1,000 trees.

           Kissena Park, approximately 225 acros in extent, which has become
more and more a neighborhood recreation facility and less a wild woodland
area, lies midway between Flushing Meadow Park and Cunningham Park.  Plans
have been prepared for the development of the so called Kissena Corridor
which will connect Kissenna Park with Flushing Meadow Park and with
Cunningham Park by a similar corridor.

          The work was performed by the Work Projects Administration from
plans prepared by the Department of Parks. In 1934 there were 110
playgrounds in the five boroughs; 61 of which have been reconstructed.
There are now with these two additions 461 playgrounds in tha park system.


-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Friday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          December 5, 1941


         The Department of Parks announces the completion of a new addition
to the existing one and half acre playground west of Howard Avenue between
Pacific and Dean Streets, Brooklyn.

         The land occupied by the addition to the playground was acquired as
part of the Kingsborough Housing Project and was paid for by the city on
condition that it be set aside for recreational use. The property was
formerly owned by the Brooklyn Hebrew Orphan Asylum and the four-story brick
building was demolished by the New York City Housing Authority.

         The addition to the playground, approximately three quarters of an
acre in extent, has been developed as a play field by the Work Projects
Administration from plans prepared by the Department of Parks. The asphalt
surfaced enclosure, bordered by block paving, trees and benches, contains a
softball diamond and combination volley ball and basketball court.  Removal
standards permit the use of the area for roller skating.  The project also
included a stairway connection to the old playground, a four foot high
concrete retaining wall, gateway to Dean Street, new concrete street
sidewalks, drainage, irrigation and park lighting, 25 Norway Maples were
planted around the chain link fence enclosure.

         The old playground and its addition will be used by the entire
neighborhood as well as the residents of the Kingsborough Houses.


-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Thursday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          December 4, 1941


               The Department of Parks announces the beginning of
construction of two new play areas in the Bronx.

               At White Plains Road between East 225 Street and East 226
Street, a 1¼ acre site, approximately 230 feet square at the rear of
Public School 21, was recently acquired by the City for school and
recreational purposes. The Board of Education has removed the old 1½
story frame school annex adjacent to the newly acquired property and is
adding a wing to the existing 2 story brick building.

               The new playground which will be used for both school and
neighborhood recreation will be operated by the Board of Education during
school hours and at all other times by the Department of Parks for community
usage. A one-quarter acre parcel of the old school property located north of
the new school wing will be included in the playground development.

               Sixteen 1 to 3 story brick and frame structures are being
removed by the Work Projects Administration in preparation for the new
work. The L-shaped area will be completely enclosed and sub-divided into
five asphalt surfaced rectangular units by 10'-16' high chain1 link fencing.
Gate controlled entrances will connect the various units and provide access
from the school grounds and adjoining streets. The following facilities will
be included in the development:

                            Court Games Area.

                     One combination volleyball and basketball court
                     Three paddle tennis courts
                     Two shuffleboard courts

                            Wading Pool Area

                     Concrete wading pool
                     Volleyball court

                            School Age Apparatus Area

                    Brick comfort station
                    Two slides
                    Pipe frame exercise unit
                    Battery of swings

                            Pre-school Age Apparatus Area

                     Irrigated sandpit with benches on three sides
                     Two slides
                     Four seesaws
                     Battery of chair swings

                            Free Play Area and Ball Field

                     Softball diamond with hooded chain link backstops
                     Four handball courts
                     Two practice basketball standards

               At the north end of the block formed by East 182 Street,
Crotona Avenue, East 181 Street and Belmont Avenue in the Bronx, the
existing three-quarter acre playground is being expanded to 2¼ acres.
The balance of the property within this block, with, the exception of two
parcels at the northeast and souteast corners, was recently acquired by the
City for school and recreational purposes.

           This 1½ acre addition will permit more adequate play
facilities for the neighborhood and for the new Vocational High School to be
constructed at the south end of the block.  Twenty-one structures including
twelve two to four story brick and frame residences, sheds and garages, are
being removed in preparation for the new development.

           The existing brick comfort station, concrete wading pool and
handball courts will be retained with no modifications. The balance of the
existing layout, consisting of several pieces of play apparatus, will be
changed to permit a unified development of the enlarged area. The old play
surfaces as well as the new additions will be surfaced with bituminous
material.

           The newly acquired parcel at the corner of Belmont Avenue and
East 182 Street will be divided into two fence enclosed apparatus units as
follows:

                    Pre-school Age Apparatus Area

             4 Seesaws
             Battery of fence protected chair swings
             2 Slides

                    School AgeApparatus Area

             2 Slides
             Pipe frame exercise unit
             Battery of fence protected swings

           Two wide grass panels containing flowering Hawthornes and Linden
trees will extend along the west boundary of these areas on each side of the
entrance walk loading from Belmont Avenue. The planted panels will be
protected by a wrought iron picket fence. A new concrete sidewalk and row of
Lindens will be placed along the north and west street curbs. An irrigated
sandpit with tree shaded benches on three sides will be located within the
old play area north of the wading pool.

           The existing roller skating track south of the two handball
courts will be replaced by two asphalt surfaced tennis courts with removable
posts.

          The balance of the development will lie within the one acre
L-shaped addition extending southward and along Crotona Avenue at a lower
level. A new 16 foot high concrete retaining wall will replace an existing
stone wall dividing the L-shaped addition into two levels to be connected by
concrete stepped ramps. A combined ice skating rink and Softball diamond
will be built south of the wading pool and tennis courts on the upper level
with access from the school grounds to the south. The lower level,
approximately 100' x 200', will contain the following facilities:

             7 Shuffleboard courts
             4 Handball courts utilizing 16 foot high retaining wall
                  as backstops
             1 Combination volleyball and basketball court
             1 Practice basketball standard

          Two gate controlled entrances will provide access to the court
games area from the north side of the school grounds and from Crotona
Avenue. A new concrete sidewalk bordered by block paved panels and trees
will be placed along Crotona Avenue between the limits of the playground.

          The work is being done by the Work Projects Administration from
plans prepared by the Department of Parks and approved by the Board of
Education.

                                     * * * *

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Monday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          December 1, 1941


                  The Department of Parks announces the start of work in
connection with three new playgrounds, one of which is in Queens and the
other two in Manhattan.

                  In Queens the new playground is adjacent to Public School
#68 located in the area bounded by Seneca Avenue, St. Felix Avenue, 60th
Place and the Man- hattan Division of the Long Island Railroad.  This
irregular shaped plot was assembled by the condemnation of two parcels north
of the school building on each side of 60th Street which has been closed and
transferred to the Department of Parks.  These three properties totaling 3
acres together with the existing ½ acre playground west of the school
will permit the development of an adequate neighborhood playground.  When
completed it will be operated during school hours by the Department of
Education and at all other times by the Department of Parks.

                  The new playground consisting of 3 asphalt surfaced, fence
enclosed, subdivided sections will contain the following items: softball
diamond with hooded chain link backstop and a 5 tier concrete bleachers
extending along 2 sides of the diamond; combination volleyball and
basketball courts with removable standards, paddle tennis courts with
removable nets and posts, shuffleboard courts, concrete surfaced handball
courts, children's farm garden; irrigated sand pit and sitting area,
seesaws, slides, swings; brick comfort station, concrete wading pool and a
pipe frame exercise unit.

                  The entire development as well as the separate units will
be bordered with chain link fence and a 5 foot wide panel of blocks
containing benches and trees.  The project will also include drainage,
irrigation, drinking fountains, park lighting, fencing and a new concrete
sidewalk along the north side of St.  Felix Avenue.

                  In Manhattan, one of the new playgrounds will be located
on the west margin of Highbridge Park between West 175th Street and West
178th Street. This project represents one phase of a larger project
embracing the general reconstruction of a considerable portion of the park
involving new planting and grading, drainage, new playgrounds and comfort
station, irrigation, fencing, walks, park lighting and benches.

                  Located just north of Highbridge Swimming Pool, it will be
the seventh in a row of marginal recreation areas on the east side of
Sdgecomb and Amsterdam Avenues from West 167th Street to West 189th Street.

                  It will contain slides, swings, a pipe frame exercise unit,
seesaws and horseshoe pitching courts.

                  The south, half will consist of 3 fence enclosed court
game areas with a single stairway entrance from Amsterdam Avenue and
connecting gateways to control and permit access between the various units.
The following court games will Toe provided: combination basketball and
volleyball courts, double handball, shuffleboard and paddle tennis.

                  The other new playground in Manhattan is on the west side
of East River Drive between 102nd Street and 105th Street.  It was acquired
for playground purposes before the housing development was thought of.  It
was also to be used as a landing place for a pedestrian bridge which will
connect Manhattan with the park on Ward's Island.  Delay in construction of
this facility was due to refusal on the part of the Housing Authority to
include construction of the park, even though the area was essential for
proper operation of the housing project.

                  A wide strip running east and west through the middle of
the playground will be paved with asphalt but will be reserved, clear of
obstruction, for a future ramp approach to the proposed Ward's Island
Footbridge.  A comfort station will be built in the playground under this
approach.

          The north half of the playground will contain the following:

                  Concrete wading pool(50' x 70')

                         Kindergarten Apparatus Area

                  Irrigated sand pit (13' x 27')
                  Sitting area
                  4 Seesaws
                  2 Slides
                  Battery of chair swings(60 lineal feet)

                         School-Age Apparatus Area

                  Pipe frame exercise unit
                  2 Slides
                  Battery of Swings(30 lineal feet)

          The south end will be provided with court games including:

                  1   Basketball Court
                  2   Shuffleboard Courts
                  4   Paddle Tennis Courts

          The projects are being constructed by the Work Projects
Administration from plans prepared by the Department of Parks.

                                 *   *   *

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE November 30, 1941
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          Monday


            The Department of Parks announces that the anniversary of the
official opening of 8 Park Department playgrounds will be celebrated by the
children of these recreation areas during the month of December by
participating in specially prepared Birthday Party programs.

            While the regular schedule of daily recreational activities,
including ping pong, paddle tennis, checkers, chess, group games, dramatics
and dancing, will not be. changed, the day's program will feature events of
both a patriotic and festive nature, such as:, solo and community singing,
of the "Star Spangled Banner" and "God Bless America", salute to the Flag,
recitations, concerts by junior orchestras and a variety of birthday party
games, with refreshments and prices for the winners.

            Plans for contests in snow sculpture and snow architecture and
children's ice skating carnivals have also been prepared, should the weather
permit the holding of such activities.

            The December schedule for playground birthday celebrations is as
follows:

BOROUGH              PLAYGROUND & LOCATION        OPENED   TIME OF CELEBRATION

Manhattan  Inwood Park Playground,              Dec. 1, 1940      3:30 P.M.
           West 207 Street & Seaman Avenue

           82 Street and Riverside Drive        Dec. 4, 1937      3:30 P.M.

Brooklyn   Prospect and Underhill Avenues       Dec. 3, 1938      2:00 P.M.

           Prospect and Greenwood Avenues       Dec.19, 1935      2:00 P.M.

           Heckscher Playground,                Dec.19, 1935      3:30 P.M.
           Grove Street and Wilson Avenue

Bronx      Watson, Gleason & Noble Avenues      Dec. 4., 1939     4:00 P.M.

           East 177 Street & Noble Avenue       Dec. 4, 1939      4:00 P.M.

           East 178 Street,                     Dec.19, 1935      4:00 P.M.
           Cedar & Sedgwick Avenues

                                *** *** ***

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE SATURDAY
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          November 29, 1941

              The Department of Parks announces the closing of the ten
municipal golf courses and the pitch and putt course at Jacob Riis Park, at
the close of play on Sunday, November 30th. With the alternate freezing and
thawing of the ground, it would be impractical to keep them open beyond this
date, as irreparable damage would be done to the grass by the players.

              During the past season, more than 650,000 rounds of golf were
played over the ten courses, as compared with 575,000 rounds played during
the season Of 1940.  25,294 rounds were played at the pitch and puct course
in Jacob Riis Park this year, as compared to 21,027 rounds in 1940. The
increase in play has been due to the favorable weather during the entire
season.

            The Park Department also announces that after November 30th and
through the winter months it will not be necessary to have permits to play
tennis on the hard surface courts operated by the Department, but players
must furnish their own tennis nets.


-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE MONDAY
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          November 24, 1941


          The Department of Parks announces the completion of three small
marginal playgrounds at Washington Square Park - Manhattan.  Furnished with
kindergarten and play apparatus these fence enclosed paved areas located as
near as possible to park entrances now intercept children who formerly spent
their energy in the park to the detriment of lawns, shrubbery and park
facilities.  By eliminating the constant need for further reseeding of grass
and replacement of shrubs the planted areas will be premitted to attain some
measure of maturity and refinement.

          One of the play areas is located at the south boundary of the park
in the island formed by the Fifth Avenue Extension and the Thompson Street
entrance.

          The following equipment has been included:

                  2 slides
                  1 pipe frame exercise unit
                  Battery of swings 
                  Free play area
                  16 bench units

A high wrought iron fence set in concrete curbing extending around the
semi-circular plot is bordered by a screen planting of European Hornbeams
and Oriental Planes.  In a short time this material will develop to form a
screen which will hide the playground from the interior park development.
An existing shade tree has been retained within the playground enclosure.  A
gate controlled entrance provides access from the west side of the area.

          The other two areas, which are located adjacent to Fifth Avenue
Extension at the north and south margins of the park, are approximately 70'
x 100'.  They are enclosed by new wrought iron fencing and have single gate
controlled entrances connecting with existing park walks.  Each have been
provided with the following kindergarten apparatus:

                  Irrigated sand pit with benches around three sides
                  2 slides
                  4 seesaws
                  Battery of chair swings 

Boundary plantings designed for screen purposes are similar to those of the
semicircular playground.  Existing trees have been retained within the
enclosures for shade purposes.

         A survey of adjacent recreational areas and juvenile population
indicates the urgent need for these additional active recreation facilities,
There are six elementary schools serving 4500 children within seven blocks
of the park, none of which have adequate playgrounds. Within this same area
there are hundreds of children of pre-school age. Two small playgrounds on
Sixth Avenue, southwest of the Square, under permit from the Board of
Transportation have formerly served this group inadequately.

          The work was performed by the Work Projects Administration from
plans prepared by the Department of Parks.  In 1934 there were 119
playgrounds in the five boroughs. There are now with these three additional
459 playgrounds in the park system.

                                *** *** ***

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE MONDAY
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          November 17, 1941


               The Department of parks announces the completion of two
playgrounds, a combination sand box for children and sitting area for adults
and two new parkway access drives near the intersection of Cross Island
Parkway and Hempstead Avenue adjacent to the Nassau County line, out of
funds provided by the Westchester Racing Association.

               A chain link fence enclosed softball diamond has been
constructed in the circular lawn area formed by the sweep of the southbound
parkway exit to Hempstead Avenue.  A 100 foot seven-tier section of portable
wood and steel bleachers has been erected along the first base line.

               East of this field at the northeast corner of 225 Street and
104 Avenue an irrigated sand pit has been built in the center of a 45' x 70'
asphalt surfaced enclosure formed by continuous tree shaded benches. A new
asphalt walk extends along the east side of 225 Street between Hempstead
Avenue and 104 Avenue with short connecting paths to both of the above play
areas.

               Between the West Service Road and southbound Cross Island
Parkway opposite Stewart Avenue, a one-half acre bituminous surfaced
playground enclosed with high chain link fence has been provided with the
following items separated by continuous benches and trees into three units.

                               Central Section

      Provides a free play area containing a 30 foot circular shower basin.

                               North Section-Kindergarten Apparatus Area

      Irrigated sand pit and sitting area
      2 slides
      Battery of swings bordered by a 4 foot chain link fence
      4 seesaws

                               South Section-School Age Apparatus Area

      Pipe frame exercise unit
      2 slides
      Battery of swings bordered by a 4 foot chain link fence

               Six hundred and fifty feet of wide asphaltic concrete
sidewalk has been placed along the east side of the West Service Road
extending northward from Hempstead Avenue providing entrance to the west
side of the new playground.

               Two new exit drives from the southwest and northwest corners
of the Belmont Race Irack parking field provide direct connection with the
northbound parkway avoiding conflict with local traffic on adjacent
highways, and eliminating traffic jams on the parkway.

               In 1934 there were 119 playgrounds in the five boroughs; 61
of which have been reconstructed; with these additions there are now 456
playgrounds in the park system.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE November 17, 1941
                                                       November 15, 1941
Mr. Victor S. Gettner
New York City Civil Liberties Committee
285 Madison Avenue
New York City

Dear Sir:

            I have your letter of October 30th saying that you have been
informed that street meetings at Union Square Park and the adjoining streets
are forbidden without a permit from the Park Department.  You indicate that
this is a new order and you add this astonishing sentence: "We have assumed
that your administration has always recognized that it is good policy to
keep certain premises always available for street meetings irrespective of
whether or not technical provisions of the Administrative Code or Park
Department Regulations may require permits."

            You know quite well that permits have always been required for
meetings in the park area at Union Square under the jurisdiction of the Park
Department, and you also know that we do not waive provisions of the Code
and Regulations.

            Several areas under the jurisdiction of the Park Department have
been set aside for meetings to be held under a permit.  One of these is in
Union Square.  These areas have been selected so that there will be as
little damage to park property as possible and as little interference as
possible with the general public in the use of parks for recreational
purposes.  The regulations governing such permits are part of the general
park regulations promulgated by the Park Commissioner and designed to
regulate the use of parks for the greatest benefit of the public at large.

            Permits are required for public meetings in Union Square for
very simple reasons not infringing upon the rights of free assemblage and
free speech.  They are required among other things in order to prevent
duplication.  The times for meetings are specified in the request for a
permit.  If an organization seeks the use of Union Square for a public
meeting at 8:00 P.M., for example, and a permit is issued for that hour, a
request by another organization for that hour is denied, but is granted for
another hour which does not conflict.  By issuing permits in this manner it
is a simple matter to control and police the meeting areas, prevent fights
between conflicting groups who attempt to meet at the same time, and thereby
to lessen damage to park property and interference with the general use of
recreation facilities.  For similar reasons permits are required for parades
on public streets.

            In executing the duly promulgated regulations of the Park
Department of the City of New York, no attempt has been made to censor what
is said in Union Square and other places where meetings are held.  There has
been no abridgement or denial of the rights of free assembly and free
speech.  I challenge you to point to a single instance in which up to this
time an application has been denied for a permit to speak in Union Square or
any other place designated for public meetings during my administration as
Commissioner of Parks except when the requested application conflicted with
a permit previously granted for the use of the area at the same hour.

             Let me add this reservation, however, so that you may not be
under any misapprehension as to the policy of this department.  It may be
that permits for meetings in the park system will be requested in the future
by persons of known vicious and irresponsible character with a recent record
of creating racial, religious and other animosities among our people, the
proximate result of which is disorder, riots and fatalities.  If men with
such records, especially if they have previously been convicted on these
counts, apply for permits, such applications will be examined with a view to
preserving peace and good order.  This problem has recently arisen in the
streets.  If it arises in the parks, where we have plenty of trouble now
with a minority of thugs and vandals, it will be met in accordance with law.

             You claim that the case of Hague v. C.I.O., 307 U.S.  496,
determined that parks are dedicated for public meetings.  This case did not
hold that reasonable regulation of the use of parks is unconstitutional, nor
that the public has a general unrestricted license and right to assemble in
parks without regard to proper regulation by authorized officials in the
interest of the general public.  As Mr. Justice Roberts said (pp. 515, 516):

              The privilege of a citizen of the United States
              to use the streets and parks for communication
              of views on national questions may be regulated
              in the interest of all; it is not absolute, but
              relative, and must be exercised in subordination
              to the general comfort and convenience, and in
              consonance with peace and good order; but it must
              not, in the guise of regulation, be abridged or
              denied,"

           May I suggest to your law firm and to the Civil Liberties
Committee which presumably employs you, that the spirit of free discussion
is not served by the writing of tricky letters which misrepresent the laws,
regulations and administration relating to park property and twist decisions
of the United States Supreme Court.

                              Very truly yours,


                                ROBERT MOSES
                                Commissioner

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

C O P Y

                           NEW YORK CITY
                     CIVIL LIBERTIES COMMITTEE
                          170 Fifth Avenue
                           New York, N, Y.

                                        PLEASE ADDRESS REPLY TO:
                                          VICTOR S. GETTNER
                                          285 Madison Ave. N. Y,
                                          October 30, 1941
Hon, Robert Moses
Park Commissioner
Arsenal Building
64th Street and Fifth Ave,
New York City

Honorable Sir:

           We have been informed that street meetings have been forbidden in
Union Square Park and the adjoining streets without a permit from the Park
Department.

           This new regulation is extremely surprising in view of the almost
immemorial tradition that Union Square is an appropriate place for street
meetings, There certainly has been no change in the traffic situation or in
the layout of the Park which would seem to justify the new regulation. We
have assumed that your administration has always recognized that it is good
policy to keep certain premises always available for street meetings
irrespective of whether or not technical provisions of the Administrative
Code or Park Department Regulations may require permits.

           The United States Supreme Court in the famous case of Hague vs
CIO has given recognition to the fact that parks are dedicated for public
meetings and that any unreasonable prohibition of such meetings in parks is
unconstitutional. Of course, we do not take the position that a meeting can
be held where it would damage park property. We cannot believe that this
question has arisen at Union Square.

           We will appreciate hearing from you setting forth the exact terms
of the new regulations and letting us know that lawful meetings can be held
at Union Square without undue restrictions.

                              Respectfully yours,
                              NEW YORK CITY CIVIL LIBERTIES
                                       COMMITTEE
                              BY: GETTNER, SIMON AND ASHER

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                                   FOR RELEASE FRIDAY
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                             NOVMBER 14, 1941


          On Saturday, November 15, at 10:30 a.m., Irving Jaffee, National
Director of Ice Skating for physical Training for Civilian Defense, will
personally conduct an ice skating class at the ew York City Building, in
Flushing Meadow Park, Queens. He will be assisted by Miss Alice Marble,
Director of Women's Division for Physical Training for Civilian Defense.

          Besides demonstrations of the proper instruction and technique for
beginners, an exhibition of speed, figure and comedy skating will be given
by Mr. Jaffee.

          This program will be conducted during the Saturday morning free
session for children under 14 years of age. Parents will be admitted as
spectators at the usual spectator adruission price of 11¢ including tax.

          Irving Jaffee is a New Yorker, and learned all his skating in the
metropolitan area.  In addition to winning three Olympic skating
championships for the United States, he holds the world's record in the
one-mile and five-mile fields.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                                   FOR RELEASE FRIDAY
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                             NOVMBER 14, 1941


          The Department of Parks announces that due to a large number of
requests, there will be a speed ice skating session every Saturday evening
from 5:15 to 6 p.m. at the New York City Building, Flushing keadow Park.
The first session is scheduled for November 15. Admission for these sessions
will be 40¢.

         With the cold weather setting in, attendance at the City Building
has increased immensely; on Tuesday, November 11, 2601 people used the
building.  Of this number 398 were children under 14 years of age who were
admitted free on this holiday between 10 a.m. and 12 noon. Fifty thousand
people have used the ice skating and roller rink since September 15.

         The regular skating sessions are from 2:30 to 5:30 p.m.  and from
7:30 to 11 p,ia. The prices of admission are 20¢ in the afternoon and
40¢ in the evening, all taxes included.

          Buses to the building run from the 111 Street Station on the
I.R.T. and B.M.T. lines and also from the 74 Street and Roosevelt Avenue
Station on the Independent Line. Free parking space is available on both
sides of the building.

                                *** *** ***

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE THURSDAY
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          NOVEMBER 13, 1941


          Bids were opened today by the Department of Parks at the Arsenal
Building in Central Park on a contract for the construction of a bulkhead
along the entire south and east shore of Sound View park, Borough of the
Bronx.  Approximately 6200 linear feet of earth fill bulkhead faced with
riprap will be placed along the Bronx River and East River frontages at the
U. S. Pierhead and Bulkhead Line. This will permit controlled filling
operations by the Department of Sanitation from barges and trucks.

         The new bulkhead which will replace the existing irregular and
muddy shore line will require about 170,000 cubic yards of earth fill to
raise an embankment twelve feet above the river bed to an elevation
approximately three feet above the general level of the park.  The sloping
face of the fill, on the river side will be surfaced with rock to provide a
smoothly aligned and permanent shore line. The river bed adjacent to the new
bulkhead will be dredged to a depth of two feet below mean low water so that
a clean rock trimmed shore line will be exposed at all tides.

         Previous contracts let by the War Department and the City of New
York have provided adequate channels for the approach of barges to a new
unloading platform near the mouth of the river. The superstructure for
unloading operations will be installed in the near future. Filling
operations will then start preparatory to the development of the much needed
93 acre shore front park.

          The three lowest bids were submitted by the following:

          1. Tully & Di Napoli, Inc.                          $159,577.
             30-11 12 Street, Long Island City, N.Y.

          2. Slattery Contracting Company, Inc.                185,950.
             51 Avenue & 72 Place, Winfield, N.Y.

          3. Nicholas Di Menna & Sons                          211,205.
             1525 Blondell Avenue, Bronx, N.Y.

                                *** *** ***

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE TUESDAY
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          NOVEMBER 11, 1941

Loc: M-L-158-107
Dev: M-L-158-108

Pix:
20927
20928


                The Department of Parks announces the completion of a new
playground adjacent to East River Drive between East 41 Street and East 42
Street occupying about 2/3 of the block extending to First Avenue. This
entire tract was purchased by the Board of Estimate in 1937 from the
Consolidated Edison Company for Park, Tunnel and Street purposes. Eleven
buildings were demolished in preparation for the new facilities.

                 A Midtown Tunnel ventilating shaft separated from the
playground development by high chain-link fence has been built by the New
York City Tunnel Authority on a central portion of the block.

                 The excessive slope from First Avenue to the Drive
necessitated the construction of concrete retaining walls of varying heights
extending completely around the recreation area. A high boundary chain-link
fence surmounts these walls and controls access via a stairway entrance from
First Avenue and a grade entrance from 42 Street.  New concrete sidewalks
have been provided along the two streets and drive.

                 The west end of the playground contains a combination free
play area, roller skating rink and softball diamond with hooded backstop. A
wide passageway north of the tunnel shaft leads to the court games area at
the east end of the playground.  This 100 foot x 200 foot bituminous
surfaced area has been tightly designed to provide the following facilities:

                 1. Brick comfort station near the 42 Street entrance
                 2. Two horseshoe pitching courts
                 3. Two paddle tennis courts
                 4. One handball court
                 5. One combination volley ball and basketball court.

                 A five foot wide border of paving blocks containing trees
and benches extends around the inside of the boundary retaining wall.  The
project which was constructed by the Work Projects Administration from plans
prepared by the Department of Parks also included drainage, irrigation and
lighting.  In 1934 there were 119 playgrounds in the five boroughs. There
are now with this addition 454 playgrounds in the park system.

                                   * * *

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE MONDAY
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          November 10, 1941

Loc: X-L-39-2013
Dev: X-L-39-2014
Pix:
20914
20915
20916
20917
20918
20919
20920
20921
20922
20923
20924
20925

               The Department of parks announces the completion of the
reconstruction of the Isaac L. Rice Memorial section of Pelham Bay park.
This old park area, approximately 60 acres in extent, in addition to having
the many advantages of a water front location conveniently accessible to
adjacent residential communities and transportation, is amply provided with,
a heavy stand of mature shade trees.

                A number of the original Rice Memorial features which no
longer serve any park purpose and which had fallen into dangerous disrepair
were demolished and removed. The stadium structure and the natatorium
building were retained and repaired.  A new concrete parking field has been
completed east of the stadium.

                Construction work was scheduled for the early completion of
two new marginal playgrounds adjacent to the west border of the park at
Eastern Boulevard.  These fence enclosed asphalt surfaced areas were
provided with a wading pool, comfort station, play apparatus, sand pits,
shuffleboard, horseshoe and bocci courts.  Several large existing trees were
retained within the play areas and were supplemented with a variety of new
shrubs and trees around the borders.

                 A comprehensive system of asphalt walks totaling about four
miles has been completed providing access to the various areas. Certain
paths permit short cut connections through the park between the boundary
streets. A one mile section of bicycle path skirting the park margin will be
extended into adjacent park areas and future connections will be made to a
system which is being built as part of the Hutchinson River Parkway
Extension.

                 A one story brick building designed with interesting marine
motives and centrally located in a heavily wooded picnic area contains
comfort stations and a food concession.  Three hundred new picnic tables and
one hundred double stone fireplaces have been informally arranged under the
trees. A new water supply system will supply the buildings and seventeen
drinking fountains located throughout the play and picnic areas and along
the bench lined walks. Hundreds of new shrubs and trees were planted in the
picnic groves, grouped around the open grass areas and along the paths.

                 Two baseball fields with clay mixture base lines, sodded
infields and seeded outfields have been completed along the south boundary
of the park west of the stadium.  Hooded chain-link back stops and fencing
separate the fields from two adjacent five-tier concrete bleachers. These
fields have been completely enclosed with temporary fencing and will not be
opened for play until a suitable grass turf has become established.  A large
portion of the area was regraded and seeded with new grass.

                 A narrow strip of park property along Eastern Boulevard
lias been transferred to the Borough President of the Bronx for the
construction of a new northbound roadway which will connect with a grade
separation at Pelham Parkway to be built by the Department of Parks.

                 The work was performed by the Work Projects Administration
from plans prepared by the Department of parks.  In 1934 there were 119
playgrounds in the five boroughs. There are now with these two additions 453
playgrounds in the park system.

                                *** *** ***

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Sunday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          November 9, 1941


                    PARK POLICING AND THE HARLEM PROBLEM


             For several days I have been asked to comment on recent park
assaults.  The attitude of this Department is summed up in our recent eight
year report to the Mayor.  Crime and vandalism in the parks are caused by a
minority of trouble makers who can be controlled only by adequate policing.
The present undermanned police and park forces cannot cope with the problem.
We need more police and more park personnel and there is no substitute for
them.  It is too bad that it seems to require a serious outbreak of crime
and vandalism to prove this obvious point, but if the conclusion is now
established and reflected in additional personnel in the next budget, the
recent injuries to persons and property will not have been in vain.
Temporary assignment of additional forces to meet public clamor will not
solve anything.


             There is, however, more to this problem than additions to
park and police personnel, especially as it affects south Harlem.


             We must get at the causes, especially the causes of juvenile
delinquency.  A good deal is being done in this direction and the Mayor has
taken a lively interest in the problem.  Naturally, the Park Department
views this problem primarily from the angle of providing of adequate
recreation facilities which are now woefully lacking.


             More recreation facilities are being provided by the
reconstruction of the north end of Central Park and the construction of a
new combination school and neighborhood park playground at 108th Street and
Madison Avenue.  Both of these jobs are under way.  Additional school,
playground and improved housing facilities are required in this
neighborhood.  The new parks and playgrounds along the Harlem River Drive
should be acquired promptly.  If funds cannot be found to acquire all the
balance of land needed for the Harlem River Drive, then at least the new
play areas should be acquired immediately and construction started.

       The proposed Capital Budget for 1942 includes acquisition of land for
another school in the vicinity of Lexington Avenue and 114th Street.
Sufficient land should be acquired for neighborhood recreation facilities,
as well as for the school.

       The housing development proposed for the southeasterly section of
Harlem should be initiated at once as a State project, but unlike most of
the other housing projects, should include complete neighborhood
rehabilitation and the necessary recreation facilities.

       A map is attached on which these Harlem projects are indicated.

       The parks must be made safe throughout the entire city.  As to
Harlem, the conditions under which people are living are intolerable and
these conditions are basically responsible for the crimes and vandalism in
the Harlem parks, particularly at the northeast end of Central Park.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Saturday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          November 1, 1941

              The Park Department announces that the Annual Fall
Chrysanthemum Show in the Prospect Park, Brooklyn, Greenhouse will open on
Sunday, November 2, at 10 A.M.

              The Greenhouse is located at Prospect Park West and 9th Street,
Brooklyn, and may be reached by way of the IRT subway, Grand Army Plaza
Station; the Independent subway, 7th Avenue Station, and by the Vanderbilt
and Smith Street car lines, Ninth street stop, or by automobile direct to
the Greenhouse by way of the East Drive in Prospect Park.

              The Greenhouse will be open every day from 10 A.M.. to 4
P.M. and the Park Department extends a cordial invitation to view the
display which will run for three weeks.

              More than four thousand pots of chrysanthemums will be on
exhibition.  The ground bed is laid out in groups of various formations with
the popular large bloom varieties in all shades of pink, yellow, reel and
bronze.  Some of the attractive plants ore the Pooketts, Turners, John
S. Bush, Rise of Day and the Melba.

              Surrounding this feature of the display, banked on the sides,
of the Show House are smeller size Chrysanthemums in 75 varieties, such as
the Pompons, the Anemone and the Single Daisy type.

              Some of the outstanding chrysanthemums to be exhibited ere in
shades of bronze, red, yellow end white in the varieties known as Crimson
Red, Purple Queens, Red Rover, Orchid Beauty, Cleoprtre and New York.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Friday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          Oct. 31, 1941

             On Saturday, November 1, at 10:30 A.M., Irving Jaffee, National
Director of Ice okating for Physics! Training for Civilian Defense, will
begin a nation-wide tour of the larger cities of the United States by
personally conducting an ice skating class at the New York City Building, in
Flushin.fr Meadow Park, Oueens.

             Besides demonstrations of the proper instruction and technique
for beginners, an exhibition of speed, figure and comedy skating will be
given by Mr. Jaffee.

             This program will be conducted during the Saturday morning free
session for children under 14 years of age.  Parents will be admitted es
spectators at the usual spectator admission price of 11¢ including tax.

             Irving Jrffee is a New Yorker, and learned all his skating in
the metropolitan area.  In addition to winning three Olympic skating
championships for the United States, he holds the world's record in the
one-mile and five-mile fields.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Saturday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          October 25, 1941


              The Park Department announces the completion of arrangements
with the Triborough and North Shore Bus Companies to provide transportation
to and from the New York City Building's ice and roller skating rinks at
Flushing Meadow Park.

              The following is a schedule of routes and bus stops now in
operation: 

              TRIBOROUGH BUSES - From 104th Street and Roosevelt Avenue along
              Roosevelt Avenue with stops at 108th Street - 111th Street Subway
              Station (IRT, BMT), and then directly to the City Building.

                 At Independent Subway Station, 74th Street and Roosevelt
              Avenue, take bus directly to City Building.

              NORTH SHORE BUS COMPANY - From West Farms and Boston Road, Bronx,
              to Main Street, Flushing, then LaGuardia Airport Bus to City
              Building.

              Buses will be scheduled to run more frequently during the skating
session, so that patrons will not have to wait too long.

              The North Shore Bus Company, serving Forest Hills, Jamaica and
Flushing and the Triborough Company running through Astoria, Woodside,
Sunnyside, Jackson Heights, Forest Hills, Kew Gardens, Corona and Elmhurst
will accommodate the people coming from Queens.

              With the operation of these bus lines, the City Building can
easily be reached.

                                   * * *

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Friday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          October 24, 1941



            The Department of Parks announces that the City-wide finals of
the Holler Skating Contest conducted annually by the Park Department for
both children and adults will take place at the roller skating rink at Red
Hook Play Center, Clinton, Bay and Henry Streets, Brooklyn, on Saturday,
October 25, at 2:00 P. M,

            The program will consist of the following events:

            Boys and Girls Who Eave HotReached Their IS Birthday

               Class                           Boys      Girls

               A. Children up to 4'3"          60 yards   40 yards

               B. Children 4'8" to 5'3"       100 yards   60 yards

               C. Children 5'3" to 5'6"       220 yards  100 yards

               D. Children over 5'6"          220 yards   100 yards

            Boys and Girls 18 Years and Older

               E. Unlimited                   220 yards   100 yards


            Roller Skating Carnivals have been held in each borough during
the past three weeks at each of the 92 Park Department roller skating rinks,
Every borough will be represented at the finals by five competitors in each
event.

            Pins will be awarded to the borough vJinners, and gold, silver
and bronze medals to the winners at the finals.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

MAP / DIAGRAM: Alterations to B'klyn M'seum of Arts & Sciences
Brooklyn Central Museum,  Oct 21, 1941, File No. B-48-141.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Thursday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          October 23, 1941


                Bids were opened today by the Department of Parks at the
Arsenal Building, Central Park, on four contracts which provide for the
following work in connection with the reconstruction of the Electrical
Power, Mechanical, and Elevator Systems, in the six story Brooklyn Institute
of Arts and Sciences, Central Museum, located at Eastern Parkway and
Washington Avenue, Borough of Brooklyn:

               1. Electrical Installations
               2. Electric Fixture Installations
               3. Heating and Ventilating
               4. Elevator Installation and alterations to
                       existing Elevators

                 These contracts provide in general for the replacement of
obsolete and inefficient high pressure coal fired boiler direct current
electric generating plant by a modern alternating current electrical and
power supply, and the installation of a new electrical distribution and
wiring system through various museum sections and the power house. The
existing boilers are to be operated at low pressure for heat only after the
generating system is abandoned and the steam engine drives for the various
equipment are replaced with electrical motor drives. Many new lighting
fixtures will be installed and many are to be rewired and refinished.
Special lighting units are to be installed in the Exhibit Galleries.

                 The existing heating system will be re-equipped with new
heating stacks to replace the present defective ones.  A new condensate and
vacuum pumping system will be installed where required.  Gas fired boiler
equipment will be installed to produce hot water for kitchen and laboratory
use during the summer months to permit shutting down of the central plant
during the months when no general heating is required.

                 The ventilating system will be altered to fit in with the
new electrical distribution system.

                 An existing obsolete passenger elevator car and elevator
plant will be replaced.  Alterations will be made to four passenger
elevators and a freight elevator.

                 The contracts which will require approximately one year for
completion will be Controlled and coordinated so that the work will be
entirely completed by sections to interfere as little as possible with the
continued operation of the Museum.
                                                     -2-
                 The lowest bids were submitted by the following on each, of
tho four contracts:

 1. Electrical Installations:

     1. Hoffman & Elias, Inc.                 $112,600.00
        254 West 31 Street, N.Y.C.

     2. Martin Epstein Co., Inc.               114,800.00
        227 Lewis Ave., Brooklyn, N.Y.

     3. L. I. Waldman & Co., Inc.              119,500.00
        38-06 28 St., Long Island City, N.Y.


 2. Electric Fixture Installations:

     1. The Simes Company, Inc.                $52,249.00
        26 West 15 Street, N.Y.C.

     2. McPhilben Mfg. Co.                      55,223.00
        102 Wooster St., N. Y. C.


 3. Heating and Ventilating:

     1. Harry Starkman & Bros.                 $30,533.00
        348 Brook Ave., Bronx, N.Y.

     2. A. Dierks & Co.                         32,835.00
        44 Steuben St., Brooklyn, N.Y.

     3. II. Sand & Co., Inc.                    38,672.00
        611 Broadway, N. Y. C.

 4. Elevator Installation & Alterations to Existing Elevators:

      1. Otis Elevator Company                 $41,360.00
         260 11th Ave.
         New York City

      2, Watson Elevator Company                45,842.00
         407 West 36 Street
         Now York City


-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Tuesday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          October 21, 1941

                  Department of Parks announces the completion of work in
connection with the construction of a traffic relief road connecting Mosholu
Avenue and the Henry Hudson Parkway and the restoration of the park and golf
course in the north central section of Van Cortlandt Park, The Bronx.

                  This new parkway connection swings west from old Mosholu
Road, eliminating the former narrow and curving detour to the north, and
serves as an approach to the new concrete bridge completed last year over
the New York Central Railroad tracks. The 30 foot wide pavement section,
consisting of a six inch thick emulsified limestone screening base with a
cold laid bituminous wearing surface, branches into two 22 foot wide parkway
connections.

                  Work in connection with the demolition of the abandoned
stretch of Mosholu Avenue included the removal of the old bituminous road
surface, wood and concrete curbs and gutters, concrete and granite block
approaches, the old steel bridge with concrete abutments, existing fences
and water and drainage lines.

                  Extensive alterations to the Van Cortlandt Golf Course
were necessary.  Six holes were completely reconstructed on the north end of
the Van Cortlandt Park "Flats". The sections of the old fairways supporting
satisfactory turf were undistrubed. Worn surfaces together with the sections
disturbed by grading operations were also topsoiled and seeded.

                  These six new well trapped holes were provided with broad,
sloping greens sodded with Astoria and Seaside Bent. Parallel fairways have
been effectively demarcated by groupings of 3 inch to 5 inch caliper pin
oaks.

                  The new yardage and par for these holes are:

                  Hole No. 3   -   295   yards   -   par   4
                       No. 4   -   175   yards   -   par   3
                       No. 5   -   375   yards   -   par   4
                       No. 6   -   334   yards   -   par   4
                       No. 7   -   275   yards   -   par   4
                       No. 8   -   225   yards   -   par   3

                  This section of the golf course will remain closed to the
public until a satisfactory turf has become established.

                                    ***

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE MONDAY
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          October 20, 1941



                      STATEMENT BY HONERABLE ROBERT MOSES
                    Commissioner of Parks and Chairman
                      New York State Council of Parks

               I urge voters to vote "Yes" on Anendnent No. 4 on Election Day.

               New York State's park program today is deficient in one
respect.  It does not include any first-class skiing center comparable to
those of New England and the far west. To be sure some provision has been
made for skiing in various state parks and in the Forest Preserve, but these
developments have been on a relatively small scale.  Obviously, such a
development to be successful must be in a region of dependable snow.  In our
State the Adirondacks alone provide such a condition.

              The development of ski trails on the Forest Preserve has been
restricted by the provision of the State Constitution that the Forest
Preserve shall be forever kept as wild forest land. A slight change applying
only to Whiteface Mountain which will in no way open the Forest Preserve to
any timber, power or other private interests, will permit the establishment
of a ski center.  The state conservation officials and other sponsors of
Amendment No. 4 have shown vision and judgment in proposing to remove the
present constitutional restrictions so as to provide a much needed
recreation facility for the benefit of those interested in winter sports.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

MAP: NEW PLAYFIELD, NEW BASEBALL DIAMONDS, RANDALLS ISLAND, 10-9-41

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

MAP: RANDALL'S ISLAND NORTH PLAYFIELD NEW BASEBALL DIAMONDS, 10-8-41

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Friday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          October 17, 1941

2 pix:
M-104 20762
M-104 20763

Loc. ML-1006
Dev. ML-1007

            The Department of parks announces the completion of another step
towards providing adequate recreational facilities for the crowded lower end
of the Bronx and the northern east side of Manhattan. The new playfields on
Randall's Island afford a type of recreation which could not be provided on
the mainland because of the space requirements.

            The north end of Randall's Island, which remained as the only
uncompleted portion of the Island, has been developed with five
grass-surfaced softball diamonds. These facilities were constructed on fill
transported from the new Benjamin Franklin High School site on East River
Drive, Manhattan. A 15 foot wide boundary path system and waterfront
promenade have been joined with the main park walks and drives. A convenient
parking field is located immediately south of the adjacent drive. The former
gas station has been remodeled as a Field House and Comfort Station.

            Direct pedestrian access will be provided from the Bronx in
accordance with plans prepared by the Department of Parks, which call for a
bridge over the New York, Kew Haven and Hartford Railroad Yard connecting
Brook Avenue with the existing dyke across the Bronx Kills. The project will
be constructed by the Borough President of the Bronx under a contract to be
paid for by citywide and borough assessment.

            The completion of these improvements will culminate seven years
of planning and construction by the Triborough Bridge Authority and the
Department of Parks in a program which has transformed Randall's Island from
a neglected, inaccessible area in the heart of the city to an important
municipal recreational center readily accessible by means of the Triborough
Bridge.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE WEDNESDAY
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          October 15, 1941

                   The Department of Parks announces that the annual
playground children's Handcraft Exhibition will take place in the recently
constructed Junior Museum of the Metropolitan Museuia of Art, Park Entrance
- 79 Street off Fifth Avenue, Manhattan, beginning Thursday, October 16, and
running through Thursday, October 23, from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.  On Sunday,
October 19, the hours will be from 1 p.m. to 6 p.m.  There will be no
admission charge.

                   This Handcraft Exhibition will include objects made by
children of all age groups in the various handcraft classes supervised by
the Department of Parks at the numerous playgrounds under its jurisdiction
as an integral part of a comprehensive all year-round recreation program.

                   Leather and basketry work, soap and chip carving, raffia,
reed, bead, and weaving will comprise this heterogeneous collection of
handiwork.  Useful and decorative articles for home and school have been
made from such materials as cork, wood, metal, leather, wool, beads, crepe
paper, cord and felt. Discarded material of all sorts has been salvaged from
the waste heap by the young craftsmen and converted into instruments of
practical value, viz; rugs made of rags, lamps made of bottles, and flower
vases made from cardboard milk containers.

                   Other contributions to the handcraft display consist of
wearing apparel such as sweaters, scarfs and hats with singular designs and
beautiful color schemes.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE TUESDAY
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          October 14, 1941


                 Bids were opened today by the Departnent of Parks at the
Arsenal Building on a contract which provides for the construction of
approximately 3,400 lineal feet of steel bulkhead and a granite veneered
reinforced concrete bridge in Marine Park, Borough of Richnond.

                 The new installation will be placed along the north end of
Great Kills Harbor as a continuation of the existing steel bulkhead.  This
section, approximately one mile long, together with a narrow strip of fill,
which were provided in 1934 with Relief Labor, joined Crookes Point with the
mainland.

                 The new work will be progressed concurrently with the
dredging of Great Kills Harbor which is being, done under a War Department
Contract.  In addition to naking the basin safe for navigation the dredging
operations will provide one and. one-half million cubic yards of sand which
will be pumped to form an extensive beach east of the bulkhead and backfill
for the proposed extension.

                 The bridge, which is being provided to carry a future park
access drive, will be built over a narrow stream connecting the harbor with
a park lake to be developed in the future on the existing marshland to the
north.  The contract also provides for painting the existing bulkhead.

                 The two lowest bids were submitted by the following:

                     Charles F. Vachris, Inc.
                     327 Remsen Avenue, Brooklyn, N.Y.   $297,520.00

                     E. W. Foley, Inc.
                     16 Court Street, Brooklyn, N.Y.      312,060.50

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Monday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          October 13, 1941


              The Department of Parks announces that two puppet and
marionette shows including "Hansel and Gretel" and "Jack and the Beanstalk"
will be presented on the Mall, 71 Street and Center Drive, Central Park,
Manhattan, Monday, October 13, at 2:30 P. M.

              These performances will take place on a trailer stage and will
be the last of a series of 156 open air puppet and marionette shows which
were given in various park playgrounds of the five boroughs during the
past summer to an audience of approximately 231,000 children.

              Arrangements are being made for a series of indoor puppet and
marionette shows at designated recreation buildings, beginning December 1.

              As a special feature of next Monday's program, there will be a
demonstration of hand puppetry, magic and community singing.  184 of these
demonstrations have been given in park playgrounds of the 5 boroughs since
the latter part of July before audiences totaling about 92,000 children.
Besides the entertainment value of such demonstrations, which will continue
to be presented until November 23, the children have been instructed in the
art of carving, moulding, and costuming hand puppets from discarded
stockings, rubber balls, and paper bags, as well as learning the technique
of many magical tricks.

                                   * * *

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

[Several drafts of the following press release omitted.]

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Monday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          October 13, 1941


          The Department of Parks announces the completion of the
reconstruction of Crotona and St. Mary's Parks in The Bronx.

          In Crotona Park, The Bronx, a one-quarter acre semi-circular asphalt
surfaced marginal playground at the north end of the park near Marmion Avenue
contains the following apparatus:

          Kindergarten swings, slides and seesaws.
          Swings, slides and exercise unit for older children.
          Open free play area.
          Continuous benches along the chain link fence enclosure.

          A one-half acre asphalt surfaced free play area and roller skating
track is located at the Crotona Park East and 174 Street.

          The tennis court area, centrally located in the park east of
Crotona Avenue has been extended southward to include the following: 

          24 Handball courts
          12 Horseshoe courts     ·
           4 Bocci courts

          Four regulation size baseball fields and one softball diamond with
concrete bleachers have been completed but will not be opened for play until
a suitable turf has become established.  The softball diamond is located
south of the swimming pool east of Fulton Avenue.  One baseball field is
located north of the pool, two at Crotona Park North near Prospect Avenue
and one at Crotona Park East and Claremont Parkway.

          The addition of these new play facilities represents the
completion of a program, started in 1936 with the construction of the
swimming pool.  The work involved the entire reconstruction of this old 150
acre neighborhood park, one of the most heavily used play centers in the
City.  Prior to the reconstruction project the outmoded and rundown
recreation areas were inadequate to satisfy the excessive requirements of a
congested neighborhood which resulted in the destruction of adjacent lawns
and vegetation.

          The completed improvements affording an outlet for the various
recreational needs of all age groups, provides the following facilities:

          1.   8 miles of interior park vralks and promenades lined with
20,000 linear feet of benches and drinking fountains.

          2.   100 acres of shrub and tree planted lawns, requiring new
topsoil, 2,800 new trees and 18,000 shrubs. 

          3.   A boathouse and concession building.

          4.   Swimming pool and bathhouse.

          5.   Central mall and lake promenade.

          6.   12 playgrounds containing court games, play apparatus and
comfort stations.

          7.   One softball diamond and concrete bleachers.

          8.   Four baseball diamonds and concrete bleachers.

          9.   Reconstructed children's farm gardens.

          St. Mary's Park consisting in large part of steep and rocky
terrain had fallen into a state of shabbiness and disrepair owing to hard
usage, outmoded design and erosion due to failure of old drainage systems.
The large size of the area made it necessary to attack the rehabilitation
problem in sections.  For the past few years, by means of relief labor and
contract work the Department of Parks, has progressed, the improvement of
the park and its facilities, installing a large children's playground at
East 147 Street and St. Ann's Avenue, constructing walks, comfort stations,
erecting benches, etc.

          Under the current project the remainder of the area has been
improved.  Some walks have been eliminated and all others have been
regraded, repaved and corrected as to alignment.  A new playground has been
provided on St. Mary's Street near Crimmins Avenue.  Various overlook
sitting areas have been added and the ground topsoiled, seeded and
landscaped.

           Fencing of the planted areas, while regrettable from the
standpoint of appearance, has been found essential for maintenance of the
lawns and plantations and to discourage indiscriminate trespass especially
in slopes subject to erosion.  It is hoped that such fencing may be removed
wholly or in part, in the future when plant life has become firmly rooted.

           The work was carried out by the Work Projects Administration from
plans prepared by the Department of Parks.  In 1934 there were 119
playgrounds in the five boroughsj 61 of which have been reconstructed] with
these three additions there are now 451 playgrounds in the park system.


                                *** *** ***

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Monday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          October 13, 1941


            The Department of Parks announces the completion of a new 200 car
parking field and also a practice tee and fairway at Clearview Golf Course,
Queens.  This 120 acre course is located south of the Belt Parkway in
Bayside between Cross Island and Bell Boulevards.  The project also included
the general improvement of 12 acres of park area adjacent to the main park
entrances.

            The parking field may be reached via the Belt Parkway exits
to Bell Boulevard and the south service road which leads westerly to
the entrance. A new 300 foot asphalt surfaced access roadway 30 feet wide
with connections for both east and west bound south service road traffic
leads directly to the field.  New trees and block paving have been placed
along the drive and around the parking field.  The existing service road
sidewalk has been extended along the west side of the entrance drive both of
which lead to a landing platform in front of the future clubhouse entrance.

            The old 2½ story frame structure on the site of the proposed
club house which served as a food concession and pro shop has been
demolished and a temporary structure was provided during the past summer for
these purposes.

            The current project includes a broad flagstone terrace which
will extend from the south porch of the new clubhouse to the edge of a small
pond which has been dredged and the shores landscaped.  A tree shaded
sitting area with access to the parking field has been reconstructed
adjacent to the first tee.  Additional benches have been placed to
accommodate 100 persons. The pond south of the present clubhouse has been
dredged and enlarged.  The first and tenth tees were moved forward to allow
greater space for the clubhouse setting.  The new practice fairway located
west of the entrance drive-will not be opened until a suitable stand of
grass has been developed.  The old one and two story frame structure
adjacent to the south drive will continue to serve as a clubhouse until the
new quarters have been completed.  At that time the building will be
demolished and the site converted into lawn areas.

            The increasing popularity of this course which in addition to
well maintained golf facilities presents unusual vistas from the higher tees
over the tree bordered fairways to Long Island Sound is evidenced by a total
of 66,000 rounds played to date this season.  The course is operated from
May 15 to November 30.

                                  * * * *

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Sunday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          October 12, 1941


           The Department of Parks announces that of the 507 entries in the
Amateur Photo Contest conducted by'the Park Departm'ent, the following were
adjudged the winners:

                     Junior Division (up to 16 years of age)

           1st Place - Ben Grover Mitchell, 605 West 137 Street, New York
                              City - 15½ years of age

                          Title of picture - "Sailor's Dream'"

           2nd Place - Rodman Singer, 1080 Anderson Avenue, Bronx - 15½ years

                       Title of picture - "Duck Feeding Time"

           3rd Place - Richard Enright, 326 East 67 Street, New York
                           City - 12 years of age

                          Title of picture - "The Two Jacks Players"

           Honorable Fontion was given to the following contestants:

                          Ben Grover Mitchell, 605 West 137 Street,
                              New York City - Age 15½

                          Bernard J. Fox, 1944 East 12 Street,
                              Brooklyn, N. Y. - Age 15

                          Irwin Friedman, 210 East 166 Street,
                              Bronx, N. Y. - Age 14

                          Lorraine Siegel, 1270 East 18 Street,
                              Brooklyn, N. Y. - Age 12

                          Barbara Dickters 1200 East 18 Street,
                              Brooklyn, N. Y. - Age 12

                          Virginia Kearney, 1023 - 76 Street,
                              Brooklyn, N. Y. - Age 11

                          Theresa Wernli, 440 Riverside Drive,
                              New York City - Acre 14

                          Irwin Bergknoff, 1136 Teller Avenue,
                              New York City - Age 15½

                          Andrew J. Pernician, 8625 - 14 Avenue,
                              Brooklyn - Age 15

                      SENIOR DIVISION (over 16 years of age)

           1st Place - Jack Garber, 308 East 5 Street, Brooklyn, N.Y.

                          Title of Picture - "Me - Get Off the Swing!"

           2nd Place - Albert Aboff, 40 Monroe Street, New York City

                          Title of Picture - "Central Park Skiing Hill"

           3rd Place - William H. Greene, 3341 Reservoir Oval W., Bronx

                          Title of Picture - "Child on a Jungle Gym"

           Honorable Mention was given to the following contestants:

                          M. Moskowitz, 667 Crotona Park N., Bronx

                          Irving Wexler, 119 Peyson Avenue, New York City

                          Peter Huss, 83 Coleridge Street, Brooklyn, N.Y.

                          David B. Hussakof, 380 Knickerbocker Avenue,
                            Brooklyn, N.Y.

                          N. Field, 625 Caton Avenue, Brooklyn, N.Y.

                          Jack Lane, 80 Strong Street, Bronx, N. Y.

                          Norman Boudreau, 419 - 16 Street, Brooklyn, N.Y.

                          Rose Ludlum, 148 T"rest 4 Street, New York City

                          Frederick Steiner, 1440 Wood Road, Parkchester,
                              Bronx, N. Y.

                          M. Mansfield, 297 Pulaski Street, Brooklyn, N.Y.

                          D. K. Stein, 1115 Jerome Avenue, Bronx, N. Y,

                          Sol Linderman, 64 West 175 Street, New York City

                          Samuel Kaplan, 2727 University Avenue, N. Y. C.

                          Eddie Goodman, 1272 Grand Concourse, Bronx, N.Y.

         The prizes consist of the following:

                              JUNIOR PIVISION

          1st Brize - $10 gift certificate for Photographic Supplies-
                      donated by Abe Cohen's Exchange

          2nd Prize - Camera - donated by Davega City Radio, Inc.

          3rd Prize - Photo Oil Colors - Academy Set - donated by
                      John G. Marshall Inc.

                               SENIOR DIVISION

          1st Prize - $15 gift certificate for Photographic Supplies -
                      Awarded by the Department of Parks

          2nd Prize - $10 gift certificate for Photographic Supplies -
                      Awarded by the Department of Parks

          3rd Prize - Photo Oil Colors - Academy Set - donated by
                      John G. Marshall Inc.

          Certificates of merit will be awarded to the contestants receiving
honorable mention.

          The judges of the contest were: Paul J. Woolf, Rodney McKay Morgan,
and, Paul Schum.

          All the prize pictures, together with those credited with
honorable mention, will be on display in the new Junior Museum of the
Metropolitan Museum of Art, 79 Street and Fifth Avenue, Manhattan, beginning
Thursday, October 16, and continuing through Thursday, October 23, from 10
A. M. to 5 P. M, with, the exception of Sunday, October 19, when the hours
will be from 1 P. M. to 6 P. M.

          Presentation of prizes to the winning competitors will take place
on Tuesday, October 21, at 4 P.M., at the Metropolitan Museum of Art,

                                   * * *

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Saturday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          October 11, 1941



               The Department of Parks announces that social dancing is now
going on at designated recreation buildings in the five boroughs, with music
furnished by orchestras assigned to the Park Department by the Hew York City
WPA Music Project.

               Dancing commences at 8:30 p.m. and continues until 10:30 p.m.
days and at the locations listed as below:

MANHATTAN
  Mondays      - West 28 Street Gymnasium, 407 West 28 Street
                 Highbridge Play Center, 174 Street and Amsterdam Avenue
                 Thomas Jefferson Play Center, 114 Street and First Avenue
                 Colonial Play Center, Bradhurst Avenue and 145 Street

  Wednesdays   - Hamilton Fish Play Center, Pitt and Houston Streets

  Fridays      - Carmine Street Gymnasium, Claricson Street and Seventh Avenue

BROOKLYN

  Mondays      - Prospect Park Picnic House, Prospect Park

  Wednesdays   - Sunset Play Center, 41 Street and Fifth Avenue
                 McCarren Play Center, Lorimer, Bayard and Driggs Avenue

  Fridays      - Red Hook Play Center, Clinton, Bay and Henry Streets

QUEENS

  Fridays      - Astoria Play Center, 19 Street and 25 Avenue

RICHMOND

  Thursdays    - Cromwell Play Center, Pier 6, Tompkinsville

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE FRIDAY
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          October 10, 1941


        The Department of Parks announces that the ice skating rink at the
City Building, Flushing Meadow Park, Queens, will open for the 1941-42
season on Saturday- morning, October 11, at 9:30 a.m.  Since the closing of
the rink last Spring, several improvements have been made to make this
facility more attractive to patrons. The checking counter has been moved to
the end of the building so that those waiting to check clothing will not
have to wait outside exposed to inclement weather.  Floor covering lias been
provided along the concrete walks, which should add greatly to the comfort
of the patrons. A completely new sound system and organ have been installed.
The food counter and eating space have been enlarged and a new women's rest
room will shortly be completed at the south end of the building so that ice
skaters will not have to mingle with roller skaters off the rink.

        The rink will be operated on the following schedule: Free norning
sessions for children under fourteen on Saturdays, vacation days and
holidays, except Christmas, frori 9:30 to 12 noon. Afternoon sessions,
admission 20¢ - including tax - Saturdays, Sundays and holidays 2 to 5
p.m., all other days 2:30 to 5:30 p.m.; evening sessions - 7:30 to 11,
admission 40¢ - including tax.  Shoe skates can be rented at a charge of
50¢. General admission for spectators to the building is 9¢ for
children under twelve and 11¢ including tax for all others.  There is no
additional charge for checking clothes. The increase from 35¢ to 36¢
plus 4¢ tax for evening admission was necessitated by the new Federal tax
bill which requires the collection of the tax.  The afternoon price of
20¢ was maintained at last year's level so that the child attendance
would not be burdened by the tax. The tax will be absorbed by the city.

        The section of the park surrounding the building has been
reconstructed with a revised walk system and improved landscaping.  New
parking spaces have been constructed immediately to the south and to the
north of the building.  Automobilists can reach the parking spaces from the
Horace Harding Boulevard and Roosevelt Avenue gates.

        The City Building may be reached via the following transportation
lines:

            IRT, BMT and 2nd Avenue Lines to 111 Street Station

             Flushing-Ridgewood Trolley to 52nd Avenue
               Walk one block north to Park

             Independent Subway - Queens lines to Woodhaven Boulevard
                  and Triborough Bus Q-23 to 51st Avenue

                                 * * * * *

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

[BAR GRAPH: COMPARISON OF REVENUES FOR THE FIRST 9 MONTHS OF 1940 AND 1941]

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Monday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          October 6, 1941


         The Department of Parks announces that the revenues for the first
nine months of 1941, compared with the sama period for the year 1940,
indicate approximately a 20% increase, and the increase over 1933 is more
than 100%.  The figures are as follows:

                        1933     $463,823 .97
                        1940      829,799 .66
                        1941      993,607 .80

         The ten golf courses, at which 19,878 seasonal permit holders and
235,363 daily permit holders played 548,367 rounds of golf, show a 14%
increase.

         The concessions for the sale of food, gasoline, newspapers, etc.,
increased 23%.  The new facilities opened this year include the Flushing Bay
Boat at Flushing Meadow Park; food bars at the Amphitheater, Flushing Meadow
Park; concession building and pier at Canarsie Park; and concession
buildings at Plum Beach and Pelham Bay Park.

         The seventeen outdoor swimming pools showed a 7% increase;
2,055,797 people used the pools; 671,729 of those were children admitted
free; 837,792 were children who paid 10¢, and 546,287 were adults who
paid a 20¢ admission charge.  The amphitheater and swimming pool at
Flushing Meadow Park opened for public use on July 27, 1941, and judging
from the heavy usage of these facilities during this short season, they will
be a most popular addition to the park system.

         The thirteen miles which makes up the five beaches show a 24%
increase in revenue and were used by approximately forty million people.

         The 510 tennis courts showed a slight increase in revenue, and were
used 349,960 times by 19,300 permit holders.

         The roller and ice skating rinks at the City Building, Flushing
Meadow Park, were opened to the public on January 12, 1941.  The facility
was used by 180,399; of these, 21,675 were children admitted free, and 158,
724 paid an admission fee.

         The new federal tax law requires that the City pay a tax on
admissions to swimming pools and the skating rinks, starting October 1.  As
far as possible, the new rates have been arranged so as to favor the
children using these two facilities.  At the roller and ice skating rinks at
Flushing Meadow Park, the total admission for the afternoon session, which
is attended mainly by children, has been kept the seme.  The admission
charge is eighteen cents with a two-cent tax.  The evening price has been
increased to thirty-six cents with a four-cent tax or total charge of forty
cents.  At the swimming pools next summer it is planned to reduce the price
for children under twelve years of age to nine cents, so that the children
will be exempt from a tax.

                                 * * * * *

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Monday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          October 6, 1941

          The Department of Parks announces the completion of work in
connection with two reconstructed parks, one in Manhattan, and the other in
Brooklyn which includes a new playground.

          In Manhattan, the old 6 acre DeWitt Clinton Park extending from
West 52 Street to 54 Street between 11 and 12 Avenues, acquired in 1901, was
dominated by an outmoded classical brick and stone pavilion more ornate than
useful.  The old comfort stations and showers located in the basement of the
pavilion presented difficult maintenance problems. The remainder of the
development, consisting of a wading pool, a few pieces of play apparatus and
a cinder surfaced baseball field, did not efficiently utilize this property
for active recreational purposes in an underprivileged neighborhood where
such services are greatly needed and used.

          The old pavilion and comfort station was demolished and replaced
by a modern brick building. The play was enlarged by the construction of
retaining walls.

          There are two wide gate controlled entrances on each side of the
new comfort station, which is located on the center line adjacent to the
east fence, leading to the wading pool area. The wading pool may also be
used for basketball and volleyball in the fall and winter.  Two shuffleboard
courts are parallel to the west end of the pool.

          A gate in the north fence of the pool area leads to the court
games area which contains two combination basketball and volleyball courts
and two handball courts completely bordered by a high chain link fence.

          Play apparatus areas for preschool and older children are located
in two fence enclosed units south of the pool. The following facilities are
included:

                      45 lineal feet play swings
                      45 lineal feet kindergarten swings
                       2 play slides
                       2 kindergarten slides
                       4 seesaws
                       1 pipe frame exercise unit
                       1 irrigated sand pit

         The playground is bordered by a block paved panel containing a row
of plane trees, alternating with benches facing the new asphalt surfaced
interior boundary walks. These connect, at each corner of the playground,
with the existing stairways which lead to the boundary street sidewalks.

          The north, south and west slopes between the playground and
property line have been planted with a variety of trees and shrubs including
hawthornes, flowering crabapples, viburnums, privets and oriental plane
trees.

          The baseball field recently seeded will not be opened until the
turf has become sufficiently established to withstand usage.

          In Brooklyn, the old four acre informal Brower Park formerly known
as Bedford Park is located in a residential area bounded by Flatbush Avenue,
Eastern Parkway, Buffalo Avenue and the Atlantic Division of the Long Island
Railroad. It contained a children's museum and library, War Memorial and
comfort station joined by interlacing paths in a setting of worn out patches
of grass. This is the only park available to this densely populated section.

           The new development, which reserves 80% of the area for passive
enjoyment of broad tree-dotted lawns, also provides a new playground for
youngsters where they may safely play on a variety of exercise units.

           The museum, located at the west end of the park, has been
provided with a spacious block paved terrace extending around all
sides. Affording a more adequate setting and better circulation, the terrace
is edged with continuous benches backed up by formal hedges. Hew and broader
approach walks and stairways connect with relocated park entrances at
convenient points.

           Wide interior park walks leading from the east terrace give access
to 1 the adjacent hedge bordered apparatus and sand pit areas. Encircling
the playground the paths merge with the bench lined promenade which skirts
the broad oval lawn area. Enlarged entrances to the promenade are located at
the northeast and southeast corners of the park. Two casually placed sitting
areas are placed in the irregular shaped grass plots between the oval lawn
and the south boundary fence.

            A special grass seed for shady areas was used in those areas
where the old trees are closely spaced. Seventy new trees were planted for
screening purposes and to provide additional shade around the sitting
areas. The varieties used are Norway and red maples, elms and flowering
dogwoods. 4,200 English ivy and ground myrtle have been planted in panels
and borders around grass plots.  1,350 flowering quinces were used in
hedges. Seventeen specimen hawthornes provide accent and interesting
flowers. A group of delicate flowering silverbells located in a far corner
across the oval lawn panel will provide a white shower of solid blossoms in
the early spring. Hundreds of fragrant honeysuckles and yellow forsythias
are massed around the entrances and along the boundary fences.

            These improvements were carried out by the Work Projects
Administration from plans prepared by the Department of Parks. In 1934 there
were 119 playgrounds in the five boroughs; 61 of which have been
reconstructed, with this addition, there are now 448 playgrounds in the park
system.

                                   * * *

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Sunday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          October 5, 1941


               The Department of Parks announces that the trunk of the old
Tree of Hope better known throughout Harlem as the "Wishing Tree" which was
knocked over and damaged by an automobile has been repaired and will be
reset at 131 Street and 7th Avenue with ceremonies on Monday, October 6, at
10 A. M.

               Park Commissioner Robert Moses will preside, Mayor LaGuardia
will reset the old stump and Bill Robinson with his choir and chorus girls
and 11 piece band from "The Hot Mikado" will conclude the ceremonies with
songs and dances.

                                  * * * *

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Saturday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          October 4, 1941



            The Department of Parks announces that a concert will be given
by members of park playground children's orchestras at the Mall, Central
Park, on Sunday, October 5, at 2:30 P.M.

            Thirty children in all will take part in this concert, with six
representatives from each borough. They will be divided into two age groups:
Juniors - 7 - 11 years; and Seniors - 12 -16 years.

            The program will include solos on the following types of
instruments: piano, accordion, drums, violin, flute, saxophone, cornet, and
orchestra bells.

            Pins, bearing the sycamore leaf, emblem of the Park Department,
will be presented to all who participate next Sunday afternoon.


-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Saturday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          October 4, 1941

Pix: 80713                 Location & developaant plans:
     20712                           QL 17-106
     20711                           Ql 17-107
     20710     

               The Department of Parks announces the completion and
reopening of Martins Field playground, a one and a quarter acre rectangular
shaped plot, located near the corner of 164 Street and 46 Avenue, Queens.

               The old layout consisted of a circular concrete wading pool
bordered by a few pieces of widely spaced playground apparatus. The general
surface was of grass which was difficult to maintain. A thick grove of
existing mixed-hardwood trees irregularly scattered throughout the
playground provided obstacles to its best utilization for active play.

               The new development required the removal or relocation of a
few trees in favor of more play apparatus and court games. The two existing
entrances from 46 Avenue, the boundary fence and floodlighting have been
retained as well as the circular wading pool.  The grass was replaced by
bituminous material. Block paving was placed around each tree to permit
irrigation. A new brick comfort station was located adjacent to the north
property line.

               The following equipment has been arranged adjacent to the
boundary fences:

               Irrigated sand pit      Play swings & slides
               2 kindergarten slides   Pipe frame exercise unit
               Kindergarten swings     2 shuffleboard courts
               4 seesaws               3 paddle tennis courts.

               The project which was constructed by the Work Projects
Administration from plans prepared by the Department of Parks also included
drainage, irrigation, concrete curbs and benches.

                                 * * * * *

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Friday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          October 3, 1941


               The Department of Parks announces that plans are being
progressed to extend Pennsylvania Avenue southerly to provide a new access
to the Belt Parkway east of Canarsie. The extension of this important
highway will provide direct access to the parkway for residents of the
easterly part of Brooklyn and will form a connection between the terminus of
the Interborough Parkway in Brooklyn and the Belt Parkway.

               The extension of this highway was anticipated at the time of
the construction of the Belt Parkway, and the Pennsylvania Avenue grade
separation bridge was constructed as part of the Belt Parkway contracts. The
attached air photo shows this bridge.

               With the cooperation of the Department of Sanitation, fill
for Pennsylvania Avenue has already been placed across the swamps north of
the parkway.

               The City Planning Comission and the Board of Estimate have
approved the map, submitted by the Borough President of Brooklyn,
establishing the new lines of Pennsylvania Avenue.  The Borough President of
Brooklyn will initiate proceedings to acquire the additional right-of-way
and will carry out the physical improvement of the street. The work is being
scheduled so that it can be completed in the spring of 1942.

                                   * * *

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Thursday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          October 2, 1941



         The tremendous residential growth of Queens County in the last
thirty years has almost eliminated any vestige of its former rural
character.  Of the thousands of acres formerly devoted to agriculture, only
a half dozen small farms remain.  Two of these are adjacent to the Belt
Parkway at its intersection with Cross Bay Boulevard and the Sunrise
Highway.

         One of the farms is owned by three brothers: Henry, Christian and
Diedrich Brockmann, and the other by their cousins, Herman and John
Brockmann. The farms were inherited from their parents and have been in the
family for more than fifty years.

         The Brockmanns practice scientific farming methods and raise from
two to four crops of vegetables each year for the City markets.  The produce
of the farms includes carrots, beets, radishes, leeks, onions, escarole,
Italian dandelions, dill, and Swiss chard.

          The farms are not as profitable as they once were. Gradual
increase in City taxes and assessments for various local improvements, as
well as the increased cost of labor, is making it more difficult to carry
on. With the improved access provided by the new parkways and the subway to
the west, it is quite likely that within a few years these farms will have
vanished with the others in Queens County.

                                   * * *

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Wednesday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          October 1, 1941


                    The Department of Parks announces the completion and
opening of a parking field and concession building which have been
constructed on Canarsie Pier located adjacent to the Belt Parkway at the
foot of Rockaway Parkway.

                    The 400' x 600' structure which was built several years
ago by the Department of Docks consists of solid earth fill retained by
concrete bulkheading.  A 30 foot wide concrete slab supported by three rows
of reinforced concrete piles extends around the waterfront sides of the
pier, which are protected by a concrete fender and wooden string piece
provided with drainage scuppers.

                   Access for motorists to the new facilities is provided
from a traffic circle at the end of Rockaway Boulevard between the parkway
and the pier. Constructed in connection with the Belt system it has parkway
exit and entrance connections.

                    Entrance to the 300 car bituminous surfaced parking
field is afforded by a short spur from the traffic circle. Connections were
made between the parkway and boulevard pedestrian paths to the resurfaced
marginal pier promenade. A hardy variety of Poplar tree, selected to
withstand the rigorous growing conditions, has been planted in multiple rows
in 40' to 60' wide panels between the parking field and outer walk.
Continuous benches, facing the bay are located along these malls at the back
of the promenade.

                    A large concrete concession building and comfort station
centers on a small plaza on the south side of the pier. This building also
contains public lockers, storage space and dockmasters office on each side
of a main lobby entered from a semi-circular porch. Two 60 foot steel flag
poles with cross arms and cast stone bases are located on each side of this
entrance shelter.

                    A reconstructed barge, 25' x 108' formerly used for
naval landing operations in the Forth River, has been converted into a
landing float which has been anchored west of the pier. A gang plank
connection affords access to the barge from the concession building.

                    Rowboats, incidental boat supplies, fishing tackle and
bait are available through a concessionaire.  Spacious lockers which may be
rented in the main building permit the storage of oars, oar locks, fishing
tackle, etc.  Private boats and commercial party fishing boats may use the
float for landing and docking at a daily charge of $1.00 per boat and a
seasonal rate of $2.00 per foot.  Arrangements for such usage may be made
with the Dockmaster at the concession building.  The average period of
operation runs from April 1 to December 1. Mooring facilities in the
adjacent waters of the Bay may be rented.

                    Light refreshments including ice cream, sandwiches and
coffee will be dispensed from a food bar to be operated by Howard Johnson,
Inc.

                    The work was carried out by the Work Projects
Administration from plans prepared by the Department of Parks.

                                 * * * * *

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Wednesday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          October 1, 1941


        Department of Parks announces the beginning of work in connection
with the construction of three new playgrounds, one in Manhattan at Park
Avenue and East 108 Street and two in Brooklyn at Shore Parkway and
Homecrest Avenue and at 3rd Avenue and 64 Street.

         In Manhattan on the eastern half of the block bounded by Madison
Avenue, Park Avenue, East 108 Street and East 109 Street, the frontage of
the block, which was recently acquired for a school site and playground, is
80% occupied by four to five story brick and brownstone dwellings and two
garages.  Demolition of the structures on the playground site has been
started. The remaining buildings will be removed under a Board of Education
contract in preparation for a new school to be erected next year.

          The recreation area will have two entrances immediately adjacent
to the west portals of the future school as well as entrances from 108
Street and from 109 Street. Besides a large asphalt surfaced open play area,
the following facilities will be provided:

                 Brick comfort station
                 2 handball courts
                 3 shuffleboard courts
                 Combination basketball and volleyball court
                      with removable goal posts
                 Practice basketball court
                 Softball diamond with hooded backstop

         While school is in session the area will be reserved for school
children. At all other times it will be operated by the Department of Parks
for the general public.

          At Shore Parkway, East 12 Street, William Court and Homecrest
Avenue, Brooklyn, the two and one-third acres unimproved property was
acquired by condemnation for recreational purposes in the proceedings for
the acquisition of the Belt Parkway right of way. A four foot strip was
released by the Department of Parks to the Borough President of Brooklyn to
permit the widening of East 12 Street as a ramp approach to the parkway. A
considerable amount of sideslope fill and 350 lineal feet of retaining wall
at the southwest corner of the plot was required for the bridge approach and
to permit pedestrian connections between the marginal playground walks and
the parkway path system.

          The playground will be divided into three main sections with
subdivisions bordered by chain link fence, block surfaced panels, benches
and trees.

          The north section will contain four units providing the following:

                 Brick comfort station
                 Concrete wading pool
                 Irrigated sandpit (l2' x 15') and mothers' sitting area
                 Swings
                 Slides
                 Seesaws
                 Pipe frame exercise unit
                 4 concrete surfaced handball courts
                 1 drinking fountain

           The middle section, surfaced with asphalt, will contain a basketball
court with removable goal posts to permit roller and ice skating.

           The south section extending to the parkway will be asphalt surfaced
and provided with a softball diamond.

           On the west side of 3rd Avenue between 64th and 65th Streets,
Brooklyn, the one and one-quarter acre plot was acquired for recreational
and parkway purposes in connection with the construction of the Gowanus
Parkway.  The Triborough Bridge Authority, under whose direction the
connecting link between the Belt Parkway and the Brooklyn-Battery Tunnel is
being erected, cleared the site of several building obstructions preparatory
to the construction of the Parkway and playground.

           The elevated structure passes diagonally through the property in
a broad westerly sweep from 3rd Avenue to the Belt Parkway at Owls Head
Park. Carried on light, graceful arched supports the superstructure affords
a minimum of obstruction to light and air.

           When completed the playground will contain the following:

                  Irrigated sand pit
                  Seesaws
                  Slides
                  1 pipe frame exercise unit
                  4 shuffleboard courts
                  Brick comfort station
                  Concrete wading pool
                  1 combination volleyball and basketball court
                  3 paddle tennis courts with removable posts and nets
                  Roller skating area
                  6 concrete surfaced handball courts

           A new 15' concrete sidewalk will be constructed along the boundary
streets and new trees will be planted in block panels around the playground
and its various units.

           These three projects are being constructed by the Work Projects
Administration from plans prepared by the Department of Parks.

                                  * * * *

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Wednesday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          October 1, 1941


            The Department of Parks announces that the children of
twenty-two Park Department playgrounds will participate in specially
prepared programs of recreational activities during the month of October in
commemoration of the official opening of these play areas to the public.

            Besides the usual activities such as: basketball, paddle tennis,
handball, volley ball, shuffleboard, football, soccer and roller skating,
there will be a variety of special events including novelty races, community
and group singing of patriotic songs, birthday party games, salute to the
flag, one act plays, magic shows, and musical and vocal selections by
playground children's orchestral and choral groups.

            The October schedule for playground birthday celebrations is as
follows:

                                              
Borough                                                            Time of
  Playground & Location                          Opened            Celebration

Manhattan

  Heckscher Playground,                          Oct. 4, 1936       2:00 P. M.
    62 St. & West Drive, Central Park
  Columbus Playground, Baxter & Worth Sts.       Oct. 12, 1934      2:00 P. M.
  Colonial Playgroun d,                          Oct. 16, 1936      2:00 P. M.
    Bradhurst Ave. & West 153 Street
  Lillian D. Wald Playground,                    Oct. 18, 1934      2:30 P. M.
    Cherry,   Monroe & Gouverneur Streets
  Gulick Playground,                             Oct. 25, 1934      2:00 P. M.
    Delancey, Broome & Sheriff Streets

Brooklyn 
 
  Gerittsen Avenue & Avenue X                    Oct.  2, 1936      2:00 P. M.
  Carroll Playground, Smith & Carroll Sts.       Oct.  2, 1936      4:00 P. M.
  Douglass Street and Third Avenue               Oct.  4, 1939      4:00 P. M.
  Red Hook Playground,                           Oct.  5, 1937      4:00 P. M.
    Dwight, Richard & Pioneer Streets
  Leiv Eiriksson Playground, 5 Ave. & 66 St.     Oct. 12, 1934      4:00 P. M.
  Crispus Attucks Playground,                    Oct. 26, 1934      4:00 P. M.
    Fulton Street & Classon Avenue
  Taaffe Place Playground,                       Oct. 28, 1934      4:00 P. M.
    Myrtle Ave. & Taaffe Place
  Williamsburg Housing Playground,               Oct. 29, 1937      4:00 P. M.
    Manhattan Avenue & Scholes Street
  Dahill Road & 38 Street                        Oct. 29, 1937      4:00 P. M.

Queens

  Tudor Field, N. Conduit Ave., 80-88 Sts.       Oct.  6, 1938      3:00 P. M.
  Baisley Park Playground, 116 Ave. & 155 St.    Oct. 19, 1940      3:00 P. M.
  Thomson Hill Playground,                       Oct. 25, 1937     11:00 A. M.
    Greenpoint Ave. and 47 Avenue

Bronx  

  Pulaski Playground,                            Oct. 11, 1939      4:00 P. M.
    E. 133 Street & Willis Avenue
  Macombs South,                                 Oct. 14, 1935      4:00 P. M.
    Sedgwick, Jerome Avenues, & Exterior Street
  Spofford Avenue & Faile Street                 Oct. 14, 1935      4:00 P. M.
  Teasdale Place and East 164 Street             Oct. 14, 1935      4:00 P. M.
  Fort # 4                                       Oct. 14, 1935      4:00 P. M.
    Reservoir Avenue between  Sedgwick and Webb Avenues

                                  * * * *

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Tuesday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          September 30, 1941


              Bids were opened today by the Department of Parks at the
Arsenal Building on a contract which provides for the vddening of
approximately one-half mile of the Hutchinson River Parkway Extension
extending westerly from the Westchester County Line.

              The existing pavement consists of two 23 foot wide concrete
roadways and curbs separated by a 28 foot wide grass panel. The contract
provides for the removal of the existing mall curbs and the addition of two
11 foot lanes to each roadway. The new inner curbs along the 6 foot
separating mall will be constructed of white cement to clearly mark the edge
of the roadways. lew timber guide railing will be placed at danger points
along the outer shoulders. Additional drainage structures and adjustments to
the existing drainage system to meet new conditions are included in the
contract* The separating mall will be reseeded.

              Widening of the pavement between the westerly end of this
contract and the new parkway extension over the Hutchinson River will be
provided unde: a separate contract, bids for which will be opened on October
8th»

              Parkway traffic will be maintained for the duration of the new
work which is expected to be completed early in January.

              The three lowest bids were submitted by the followingj

                  1. Harlem Contracting Company, Inc.        $30,218.50
                     44 Exchange Place, New York City

                  2. Melwood Construction Corporation         32,450.00
                     507 Fifth Avenue, New York City

                  3. Tuckahoe Construction Company            32,640.00
                     116 Columbus Ave., Tuckahoe, N. Y,


                                  * * * *

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Tuesday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          September 30, 1941



           The Department of Parks announces the completion of work in
connection with three park improvements in Queens.

           Victory Field, a section of Forest Park, Queens, bounded by
Myrtle Avenue, Woodhaven Boulevard, Park Drive and the Rockaway Division of
the Long Island Railroad has been entirely reconstructed.

           This 12 acre athletic field dedicated to the unknown soldier of
the first World War, replaces the former inadequate facilities which
consisted of a cinder running track overcrowded with dirt surfaced baseball
diamonds. The new development will provide a well rounded recreational area
for the use of all the residents of this section of Queens.

           The entire field is enclosed by double fencing consisting of an
outer wrought iron picket fence separated from a chain link fence by a tree
planted grass panel. Access to the five main fence enclosed areas from the
boundary sidewalks is provided by seven entrances on Myrtle Avenue and
Woodhaven Boulevard.

           A grass surfaced baseball field and concrete bleacher is located
at the corner of Myrtle Avenue and Woodhaven Boulevard. The track and field
events area occupies the east half of the development and contains the
following:

            440 yard cinder running track
            Grass surfaced football field with removable goal posts
            2 softball diamonds with hooded backstops
            Facilities for broad jump, high jump and pole vault
            370 foot concrete bleacher extending along the west side of
                    the track

           West of the track is a large bituminous surfaced open play area
which will be used alternately for roller and ice skating, dancing and
softball.  South of this area facing Park Drive is a battery of seven
handball courts.  These two areas are floodlighted for night use. A small
square sitting area with a central memorial flagpole centers on one of the
main entrances from Woodhaven Boulevard south of the renovated comfort
station. Benches under oriental plane and pin oak trees in block paved
panels extend along the fences separating these areas.

           The comfort station, sitting area, open play area and handball
courts including softball and roller skating will be opened immediately. The
baseball field and field events area must remain closed until the grass
areas have become sufficiently established to withstand usage.

          At St. Albans Memorial Park the additional new play area, a three
acre rectangular plot occupying the entire block south of the main park
area, and bounded by 169th Street, Sayres Avenue, Merrick Boulevard and
113th Avenue, is one of two additions acquired by condemnation in 1936.

          The development consists of two grass surfaced softball diamonds
located diagonally at the northeast and southwest corners of the
block. Portable steel bleachers for spectators have been installed on the
high bank extending along the Merrick Boulevard property line. The field is
completely enclosed by chain link fence with two gate controlled entrances
from Merrick Boulevard.

           This project also included concrete curbs and stairway, drainage,
drinking fountains, benches, topsoil, seeding and shrub planting.

           At the rear of Public School 119 located in the middle of the
block bounded by 78th Avenue, Central Avenue, 74th Street and 75th Street,
Queens, a new playground has been completed and opened.

           The playground was constructed in cooperation with the Board of
Education. While school is in session the area is used by school
children. At all other times the playground is operated by the Department of
Parks for the general public.

           The plot is divided into two main fence enclosed
sections. Entrance to the south portion of the playground from the school
grounds is by a gate centered on the soyth fence. A central free play area
is flanked by three combination volleybal Legend basketball courts with
removable goal posts, and a string, three shuffleboard courts and four
paddle tennis courts. This entire section may be used for roller skating and
flooded for ice skating.

               Entrance to the north section is provided by a central gate
in the separating fence and also through gates from 74th and 75th
Streets. This section is subdivided into small units by block paved panels
containing benches and trees. Centrally located is a brick comfort station
east of which is a large wading pool designed to provide for volleyball and
basketball during cool weather.

           South of the comfort station are eight seesaws and three slides
for pre-school children. To the west, separated by a chain link fence is a
battery of kindergarten swings. An irrigated sandpit is bounded on three
sides by continuous benches under a row of trees.

           These projects were constructed by the Work Projects Administration
from plans prepared by the Department of Parks.

           In 1934 there were 119 playgrounds in the five boroughs; 60 of which
have been reconstructed, with this now addition, there are now 447 playgrounds
in the park system.

                                   * * *

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Monday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          September 29, 1941


             The Department of Parks announces the opening of a
reconstructed playground located in the northeast corner of Morningside Park
at Morningside Avenue and West 123rd Street. The old playground, pear-shaped
enclosure, surfaced with bluestone screenings, consisted of a few pieces of
overworked play apparatus, one basketball court and four horseshoe courts.
The existing brick comfort station has been retained in the new development.

             The expanded one and three-quarter acre recreational area at
the north end of the park will provide more adequate facilities for this
crowded section of Harlem and represents the first stage of the general
reconstruction of the entire 31 acre park which extends from 110th Street to
123rd Street between Morningside Drive and Morningside Avenue East.

             The new playground is completely enclosed with chain link fence.
Street entrances are provided at the northeast and northwest corners. There
are two access points, to the area, from the adjacent interior park walks.

             Two bench-lined tree shaded malls extend along the entire north
and east sides of the playground connecting the park entrances with the
resurfaced park walks. Sloping ground necessitated the construction of the
various subdi visions on different levels retained by high curbs and
interconnected by short stairways.

             The following equipment is provided:

                        Brick comfort station
                        2 handball courts
                        Wading pool
                        3 shuffleboard courts
                        3 basketball courts with removable backstops
                        Pipe frame exercise unit
                        Swings
                        2 slides

                      Kindergarten Apparatus Area:

                        2 irrigated sand pits and sitting areas
                        Swings
                        3 slides
                        8 seesaws

             The balance of the work connected with the general improvement
of the park now in progress will include the construction of two softball
diamonds, a new brick comfort station adjacent to the existing comfort
station at West 114th Street, sand pits and sitting area, resurfacing walks
and repairing steps, regrading, topsoil and seeding, additional benches and
fencing.

             The work was carried out by the Work Projects Administration
from plans prepared by the Department of Parks. In 1934 there were 119
playgrounds in the five boroughs; 60 of which have been reconstructed.
There are now 446 playgrounds in the park system.

                                  * * * *

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Sunday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          September 28, 1941


                     PLANTING OF TREES IN CITY STREETS


            The best time to plant trees is in the Fall season during the
months of October and November.

            Although the Department of Parks is charged with the care and
maintenance of all trees in street areas, it is not supplied with funds
sufficient to plant new trees, nor to replace trees which have died from one
cause or another. This must be done by property owners.

            The Park Department offers every form of cooperation to those
who wish to plant trees in front of their property at their own expense.  A
permit is required which is issued, without charge, by the office of the
Park Departmerit in the borough in which the tree is to planted. The permit
specifies the kind of tree, excavation, fertilizer and other materials
required to assure the best results. The department will supervise the
planting operation.

            These regulations are promulgated so that the City streets may
be lined with healthy trees so planted and located, that they will thrive
and be an asset to the City and to the property owners.

            Trees planted without permits and which do not conform to Park
Department requirements will be removed. In such cases the property owner is
notified of his violation and is informed as to the proper procedure to
plant a tree which will be acceptable and which can be satisfactorily
maintained.

            Permits for planting individual street trees may be obtained by
applying to the borough offices at:


MANHATTAN:   Arsenal, 64th Street and Fifth Avenue, New York City

BROOKLYN:    Litchfield Mansion, Prospect Park, Brooklyn, New York

BRONX?       Birchall Avenue and Bronx Park East, The Bronx, New York

QUEENS:      The Overlook, Forest Park, Kew Gardens, New York

RICHMOND:    Clove Lakes Park, Victory Boulevard and Clove Road,
             West Brighton, Staten Island

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

[TWO PHOTOS OF ZIMMERMAN PLAYGROUND HERE]


-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Saturday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          September 27, 1941


               The Department of Parks announces the completion and opening
of a sitting area at Louis Zimmerman Playground in the Bronx. This new
addition is a rectangular plot 25' x 70' located in the northwest corner of
the park at the corner of Barker Avenue and Britton Street. The development
consists of two continuous rows of benches placed in granite block, tree
planted panels facing an open central bituminous paved mall. Entrances to
this area, which lies outside of the fenced-in portion of the playground,
are provided from both ends of the mall.

               Zimmerman Playground approximately one acre in extent
occupies most of the block bounded by Britton Street, Barker Avenue,
Allerton Avenue and Olinville Avenue. It is one of eight War Memorial
Playgrounds opened simultaneously on July 15, 1934, two of which were
located in Manhattan, one in Brooklyn, two in Queens, two in Richmond and
one in the Bronx.

                Located in an apartment house neighborhood the playground is
used to capacity at all times. The existing development which has been
rehabilitated by the addition of new granite block paving, concrete
sidewalks and curbs consists of a modern recreation building, wading pool,
handball courts and playground apparatus.

                The new sitting area developed on private property recently
acquired by condemnation rounds out the playground by removing the small jog
at the corner. The benches, which are segregated from the active recreation
areas, supplement and relieve the overcrowded seating facilities within the
playground.

                The work was carried out by the Work Projects Administration
from plans prepared by the Department of Parks.

                                  * * * *

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Saturday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          September 27, 1941


           The Department of Parks announces the completion and opening of
four new sitting areas and a children's playground along the Laurelton
section of Cross Island Parkway in the Borough of Queens. This section of
the Belt Parkway System was built and opened by the Long Island State Park
Commission in 1936, and was formerly known as the Laurelton Parkway. Lawns
adjacent to the parkway and the banks of the brook paralleling the parkway
have been used by local children for play purposes causing increased
maintenance problems.

           The new recreational facilities, designed to relieve this
situation and provide safe and adequate play space have been spotted on each
side of the parkway between North Conduit Avenue and the Nassau County Line.

           The first, which is typical of the four new developments, is
located on the east side of the parkway just north of North Conduit
Avenue. It consists of a bituminous surfaced rectangular area offset from
the existing path with a large central irrigated sand pit. Three sides of
the sitting area are lined with continuous benches. Eleven oaks, maples and
beeches were added to the existing planting to provide shade.

           The other two areas are located on the same side of the parkway,
one is adjacent to Brookville Boulevard and 135th Avenue, and the other at
Brookville Boulevard and 131st Avenue. Seven new sets of benches have been
installed along the existing paths adjacent to these sitting areas and the
planting has been supplemented with 20 new oaks, beeches and maples.

           The fourth area is west of the parkway just south of the 130th
Avenue bridge. This differs from the others in that it provides a double
entrance and is completely bounded by continuous benches. Fourteen sweet
gums and oaks hare been planted immediately adjacent to the benches. A
drinking fountain is provided at all sand pit areas.

          North of 130th Avenue and west of the parkway a semi-circular
bituminous surfaced playground has been provided. The area is completely
enclosed by a six foot chain link fence. A single entrance on the west side
connects with a new path which swings around the playground from the
existing park walk system to the street sidewalk over the bridge. Facilities
provided include kindergarten swings, four seesaws, a kindergarten slide and
play slide, one pipe frame exercise unit and a fence enclosed battery of
swings for older children. Numerous benches and a drinking fountain are
included.

           The work was carried out by the Work Projects Administration
from plans prepared by the Department of Parks. In 1934 there were 119
playgrounds in the five boroughs; 59 of which have been reconstructed,
with this addition, there are 446 playgrounds in the park system.

                                   * * *

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

[MAP OF LOUIS ZIMMERMAN PLAYGROUND 8/8/41 X-L-87-106]

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

[DIAGRAM OF NEW SITTING AREA LOUIS ZIMMERMAN PLAYGROUND 8/8/41 X-L-87-107]

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Friday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          September 26, 1941

          The Department of Parks announces that on Monday, September 29,
8s30 P. M., at 105 Street and Riverside Drive, Manhattan, a special Harvest
Festival will be held, featuring solo and community singing and
demonstrations in American Square Daning.

          Approximately 20,000 persons have taken part in American Square
Dancing every Monday night since its inception last July.  On several
occasions, well known exponents of Square Dancing were invited to give
exhibitions. Interest in the variety of American folk dancing steps in vogue
throughout different parts of the United States became so widespread at the
Riverside location, that plans are being formulated for holding similar
Square Dancing sessions next summer at other Park locations in each borough.

          Music for this Harvest Festival next Monday will be supplied by
the Park Department Band.

                                  * * * *

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Friday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          September 26, 1941

                                   DRAFT

              The Department of Parks announces the completion of work in
connection with the reconstruction of the 6½-acre playground at Gravesend
Park (located west of 18th Avenue, between 55th and 56th Streets, Brooklyn.

              The old play facilities which were located in four fence
enclosed units had become worn and unserviceable.  The apparatus area
divided into two sections contained a central brick comfort station and
typical pieces of apparatus which were widely spaced around the border of a
gravel surfaced combination free play area and basketball oourt. Two
handball courts with ancient wooden backstops a a gravel surfaoed baseball
field without backstops were located in the adjacent central area. The south
end of the field was provided with eight poorly surfaced clay tennis oourts.

            The new development permits greater utilisation of space by
segregation of smaller compact use areas equipped with increased facilities.

           A central tree shaded bench lined mall extends from the main park
gate to the existing comfort station which has been given a new setting of
block paving, trees and a flagpole. On both sides of the mall two main fence
enclosed sections, approximately 1 acre each, are subdivided into various
use areas. Alternate benches and trees are spaoed in a 5 foot block paved
border extending along the inside of the fence enclosure.

           The following items are contained in these units:

                    Combination roller and ioe skating rink
                    5 shuffleboard and 2 handball oourts
                    Wading pool with saniijary foot bath
                    Play swings
                    1 pipe frame exercise unit
                    2 play slides
                    Horizontal ladder, horizontal bars and parrallel bars
                    Combination irrigated sand pit and sitting area
                    3 kindergarten seesaws
                    2 kindergarten slides
                    Kindergarten swings

         Two softball diamonds with hooded backstops have been provided in
an adjacent 2-acre asphalt surfaced enclosure with entrances from the
comfort station plaza. The tennis courts remain within the same enclosure
but have been resurfaced.

         The work was performed by the Work Projects Administration from
plans prepared by the Department of Perks. In 1934 there were 119
playgrounds in the five boroughs, of which ______ have been reconstructed.
There are now _________ playgrounds ia the park system.

                              ***   ***   ***

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Tuesday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          September 23, 1941


           The Department of Parks announces the completion of a new
playground and sitting area on Fort Washington Avenue at 190th Street,
Manhattan.  Speakers at the opening ceremonies which will be held on
Tuesday, September 23rd, at 3 P. M. will include Major Irving V. A. Huie,
Work Projects Administrator and Mayor La Guardia with Robert Moses, Park
Commissioner, presiding as Chairman.

          This one and three-quarter acre tract of land at 190th Street
fronting on the east side of Fort Washington avenue immediately adjacent to
the south boundary of Fort Tryon Park is the most recent of the many
generous donations to the park system of New York City by Mr. John
D. Rockefeller, Jr.  It will permanently prevent undesirable private
structures which might otherwise have been erected on this property. By
arrangements with the owners of the plot south of the new playground who
were about to build an apartment, the facade of this new structure facing
the new playground was designed so as to provide windows and balconies
overlooking Fort Tryon Park harmonizing with the park plan.

          The new recreational facilities supplement and balance the large
plot on the west side of Fort Washington Avenue also made available to the
Park Department by Mr. Rockefeller and developed as a children's playground
in 1936.  In this way an orderly and attractive treatment of all sides of
the plaza at the entrance to Fort Tryon Park is assured, and active play
areas which can not be made available in Fort Tryon Park, are provided south
of its main entrance. An ornamental wrought iron fence matching the west
playground enclosure has been erected along the Fort Washington Avenue
frontage of the new play area.

           Surrounding the renovated Independent Subway Station the area
descends sharply to the east. In order to provide usable surfaces the new
development was adjusted to the slope by a series of granite-veneered
wall-supported terraces joined by stone stairways. The stone in these
conspicuous walls matches the new granite walls of the subway building.

           The entrance from Fort Washington Avenue, marked by massive
granite posts, gives joint access by way of a 15 foot flight of steps to the
subway and playground.  The station to the left is conveniently entered from
the platform at the foot of the stairway.  Southward, to the right, a
sitting area has been developed on a slightly lower rectangular terrace
which extends over 100 feet to the base planting of an apartment
building. Approximately 80 foot wide and 20 foot above the moderately
pitched landscaped lawn, the terrace, which contains adequate seating
accommodations, affords an unobstructed view of Fort George and the
northeasterly end of Manhattan over the tree covered lower slopes.

          A second stairway leading from the central landing platform
descends to a long narrow tree-shaded, bench-lined mall. Extending about 200
feet along the low stone wall at the toe of the sloping ground west of the
subway structure this "spectators" terrace overlooks a quarter acre asphalt
surfaced court games area 4 feet below.

          In this games area, the following facilities are provided:

                     Three paddle tennis courts
                     Two shuffleboard courts
                     One badminton court
                     Four ping-pong tables

Additional benches and trees extend along the wrought iron railing on top of
the 6 foot wall which retains the game court terrace. A rectangular fence
enclosed area adjacent to the north fence contains two horse-shoe courts.

          Pedestrian connections to the main park path system have been
provided at the north end of the play area.

          The plant material used in and around the terraces on the sloping
lawns includes oriental plane trees, flowering crabapples, rhododendrons,
azaleas and roses.

          The work was carried out by the Work Projects Administration from
plans prepared by the Department of Parks. In 1934 there were 119
playgrounds in the five boroughs; 59 of which have been reconstructed, with
this addition, there are 445 playgrounds in the park system.

                                  * * * *

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Monday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          Sept. 22, 1941


           The Department of Parks announces that construction has begun on
thirteen park projects in various neighborhoods throughout the City by the
Work Projects Administration. These areas will be completed and opened to
the public next summer. Covering a total of 65 acres, two of the thirteen
projects involve the reconstruction of existing parks and playgrounds, two
reconstruction of and addition to existing playgrounds, and the others
represent entirely new playgrounds ranging in size from one to ten acres.

           In most instances the new recreational facilities are being
provided in old underprivileged neighborhoods where existing park areas are
completely lacking or are too distant to be accessible to mothers and
children.

                            Location of Projects

                                 Manhattan

               1. Harlem Meer, Central Park
               2. John Jay Park, East River Drive-E. 76th to E. 78th Streets

                                   Bronx

               3. Playground - West 234 Street and Bailey Avenue
               4. Harris Park - Bedford Park Boulevard and 205 Street

                                  Brooklyn

               5. Playground   -   3rd Avenue, 34th-35th Streets
               6. Playground   -   2nd Avenue, 55th & 56th Streets
               7. Playground   -   Ft. Hamilton, 52nd-53rd Streets
               8. Playground   -   Albany & Foster Avenues
               9. Playground   -   Park Avenue East of Nostrand Avenue
              10. Playground   -   Eastern Parkway Extension & Fulton Street
              11. Playground   -   Central Avenue, 70th-71st Streets
              12. Park & Playground - Utopia Parkway & 73rd Avenue
              13. Playground - 45th Avenue & 45th Road

           The largest improvement is the reconstruction of the northeastern
corner of Central Park.

           This area extending from Conservatory Gardens to 110 Street and
from Fifth Avenue to the East Park Drive, a section popularly known as the
Harlem Meer, contains natural features, the outstanding of which is a
fourteen acre lake, the surface of which lies about eight feet below the
general level of the tree shaded banks which slope to the north, east and
west. A series of rocky knolls separated by ravines rise sharply to the
south attaining a height of fifty feet above the lake.

           The existing facilities are inadequate to meet the heavy demands
of the large adjacent population and the result has been destructive to the
natural features. The present layout, a product of the outmoded theory that
parks are passive recreation areas designed solely for visual pleasure, must
be revamped to fulfill the many recreational needs of all the people of this
section of Harlem.

           The new scheme retains with slight modifications the existing
shape of the lake. A masonry wall about one foot high and a fifteen foot
promenade will form the new shore line completely encircling the
lake. Frequent connection will be made to a secondary path system which
parallels the shore promenade and in turn connects with the main park
entrances from Fifth Avenue, 110 Street, Conservatory Gardens and the
general park path system. The south slopes and ravines will be interlaced
with narrower foot paths and trails which will pass through interesting
plantings and lead to resting places at the tree shaded overlook areas, from
which views of the lake and Conservatory Gardens will be possible. Benches
will be spaced along the lake promenade, the general path system including
the trails, and the overlook areas.

           The main features of the north shore adjacent to 110 Street will
be a U-shaped combination brick boat house, comfort station and refreshment
concession with a three hundred and sixty foot boat landing platform thirty
feet wide. Two new entrances will be cut through the north wall of the part
with stone stairways leading to the boat house plaza.

           The existing entrance at the intersection of 110th Street and
Fifth Avenue and at 106th Street will lead to the path system and lake
promenade. Convenient approaches to the two existing marginal playgrounds
which lie on the north and east sides of the lake will be provided.

           Appropriate trees including willows, oaks and dogwoods and various
flowering shrubs will be added to the existing planting.

           John Jay Park, one of the older City parks, located between East
76th and East 78th Streets, Manhattan, adjacent to and overlooking the East
River Drive is being reconstructed.

           A new diving pool will be built adjacent to the swimming pool,
thus relieving some of the congestion which has existed in this small pool.
The concession building will be relocated and a completely equipped
playground will replace the existing inadequate facilities. The southerly
half of the area will be paved but will continue as an open area for court
games.  A portion of Cherokee Place will be closed so that the existing old
bath building now located at the northwest corner of Cherokee Place and 76th
Street can be tied in to John Jay Park. Alteration plans have been completed
for this structure providing a recreation room, gymnasium and auditorium.

           Numerous benches will be installed under existing shade trees and
additional trees are to be planted. Concrete bleachers will be provided
around the pool.

           At Bailey Avenue and West 234th Street, The Bronx, approximately
3 acres located west of the New York Central Putnam Division at the corner
of West 234th Street and Bailey Avenue was originally acquired for school
purposes in 1929 and was assigned this year to the Department of Parks. A
new playground is under construction including in the south half of the area
a large wading pool and comfort station.  Two entrances will be provided
from West 234th Street.  The north half of the area will be paved with
bituminous material and will be used for roller skating, softball and free
play.

           At Harris Park, Bedford Park Boulevard and 205th Street, the
Bronx, a new 10 acre athletic field is being constructed.  This property was
acquired for water supply purposes as part of east basin of Jerome Park
Reservoir in 1895. It was placed under the jurisdiction of the Department of
Parks in 1940 by assignment from the Department of Water Supply, Gas and
Electricity. The park is easily accessible from the Grand Concourse via West
Bedford Park Boulevard and West 205th Street. It was necessary to remove
several one-story storage sheds and buildings before construction could
start. Considerable grading will be required to prepare level play areas
necessitating stairway approaches to the field, the surface of which stands
from 2 feet to 18 feet above the boundary sidewalk grades.

           The existing concrete walks adjacent to the park will be widened
and double row of pin oak trees will be planted in block paved panels
extending around the entire playground.  Seventeen thousand five hundred
honeysuckle vines will be planted on the steep slopes. Specimen hawthornes
will be placed around the entrance stairways. Mass groupings of privets
around the bleachers will complete the planting. When completed the project
will also provide a brick field house of modern detail including lockers,
comfort station and refreshment concession; also concrete bleachers, four
regulation size baseball and two softball diamonds with hooded backstops,
four football fields with removable goal posts, a flagpole and benches and
drinking fountains will be provided.

           At 3rd Avenue, 54th to 35th Streets, Brooklyn, is an L-shaped
open lot acquired by the Triborough Bridge Authority in connection with the
Gowanus Parkway and assigned to the Department of Parks being developed as a
playground.  Slightly over one acre in extent it lies immediately east of
the Gowanus Parkway. The improvement will include new wide concrete
sidewalks, a brick comfort station, a wading pool, a combination basketball
and volleyball court, two groups of play apparatus and a large irrigated
diggery for children bordered with benches for mothers. Also four handball
courts will be located in the rectangular offset at the south end of the
playground.


           At 2nd Avenue, 55th-56th Streets, Brooklyn, additional property
was acquired north of the existing playground by the Triborough Bridge
Authority in connection with the Gowanus Parkway development and provides a
more up to date and adequate play area. A continuous row of three and four
story residences have been removed for the new development. The area will be
similar in equipment and lay out to the playground under construction at 3rd
Avenue and 34th Street.

           At Fort Hamilton Parkway, 52nd to 55rd Street, Brooklyn, two
sections of the old playground development will be joined by closing 10th
Avenue between 52nd and 53rd Streets. Existing play facilities will be
reorganized and supplemented with additional apparatus and the area
resurfaced with bituminous material.  Twenty-seven new trees, 3 inches in
diameter, will be added to the street and park planting.


           At Albany and Foster Avenues, Brooklyn, a new 3½ acre park and
playground occupying the entire block bounded by Albany Avenue, Foster
Avenue, East 40th Street, and Farragut Road, will provide active and passive
recreation for all age groups. It was purchased from the New York Water
Service Corporation in 1941 for recreational use and placed under the
jurisdiction of the Department of Parks. An existing grove of 18" to 20"
caliper oak trees will be preserved in a fence enclosed grass plot at the
north end of the park. Centrally located will be a brick comfort station and
wading pool. Bordering these facilities an adjacent court games area will
include 3 shuffleboard and 2 handball courts.  The south end of the park
will contains two bituminous surfaced softball diamonds with hooded
backstops. The existing concrete boundary walks will be widened and bordered
with a double row of pin oaks in concrete block paved panels.

            At Park Avenue East of Nostrand Avenue, Brooklyn, the one acre
rectangular plot occupying a portion of the block between Park Avenue and
Floyd Street was recently acquired by condemnation for playground
purposes. It is located in one of the older underprivileged neighborhoods of
Brooklyn where no recreational facilities are now available.

            Demolition of eight 3 and 4 story frame residences on the
property has just been completed.  The new playground built on two levels
with connecting stairway will be an unusually compact development for active
recreation.  Entrance gates will be provided from Park Avenue and Floyd
Street.  A brick comfort station, court games, roller and ice skating areas,
a wading pool and apparatus will be provided.

           At Eastern Parkway Extension and Fulton Street, Brooklyn, the
property slightly over 3½ acres is divided into two sections by Sackman
Street.  Originally acquired by the Board of Transportation for subway
purposes, it was transferred in 1940 to the Department of Parks.

           The Board of Transportation, in connection with the building of a
subway entrance, will provide concrete retaining walls around the larger
easterly section coordinating this work with the Department of Parks
playground plans.  The development of the smaller triangle between Eastern
Parkway and Sackman Street will also include retaining walls and a subway
entrance as part of the Work Projects Administration construction.  The
western half of the triangle at the narrow end will contain a sitting area
with a memorial flagpole and a roller skating tract.  The eastern end will
be provided with a comfort station, wading pool and several pieces of
kindergarten play apparatus.

           The large triangle east of Sackman Street which will be started
when the Board of Transportation contract has been completed will contain
two basketball, six shuffleboard, three paddle tennis, three handball, two
bocci, and four horseshoe courts. A large central open play area will serve
for roller skating and softball.

           At Central Avenue between 70th and 71st Streets, Glendale,
Queens, a portion of the one acre rectangular plot was transferred from
the Board of Education to the Department of Parks and rounded out by the
purchase of adjacent private property.  The outmoded school building and
private residences on the site are being demolished.  The new development
vri.ll include a brick comfort station, play apparatus, handball and
basketball courts, a softball diamond and free play area.  The general
surface will be of bituminous paving enclosed with chain link fencing
bordered by shade trees.

           At Utopia Parkway and 73rd Avenue, Queens, located in a rapidly
developing residential section, the nearest existing recreational areas to
this new three acre park are approximately one mile away.  The property was
acquired for park purposes by condemnation of private property and by
transfer to the Department of Parks of an abandoned school site.  The old
two story frame school house near the corner of Utopia Parkway and Jewel
Avenue will be demolished.  This portion of the park will be developed as a
softball diamond which may be flooded for ice skating.  Two basketball and
two handball courts will be constructed south of this field. A central fence
enclosed section of the park will contain a brick comfort station, a
combination wading pool and basketball court, three paddle tennis and two
shuffleboard courts. A third fenced-in area near the apex of the triangle
will contain typical play apparatus. A bench lined mall will separate the
active recreation area from the sitting park area at the narrow end of the
park.

          A new one and one-half acre park located in the middle of the
block bounded by 45th Avenue, 21 Street, 45 Road and 11 Street, Queens, was
recently acquired by the City by oondemnation and purchase. The nearest
existing recreation area in this congested neighborhood is the inadequate
John Andrews playground approximately one-half mile to the south.

           The development of this rectangular fence enclosed plot will
include a brick comfort station and a flagpole on the main axis of a central
tree shaded mall. Entrances to this sitting area will be provided at each
end from 45th Avenue and 45th Road. West of the mall will be a large open
play area for roller and ice skating with two basketball courts at the south
end. The eastern half of the park will contain a wading pool flanked by two
fence enclosed play apparatus areas for pre-school and older children. The
boundary planting in a block paved panel will consist of 50 three inch
Norway maples. Sloping grades will require the construction of two sections
of concrete retaining walls to permit level play surface.

                                  * * * *

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Friday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          September 19, 1941


           The Department of Parks announces that the city-wide finals of
the shuffleboard tournament will be held at North Meadow, 100 Street and
West Drive, Central Park, Manhattan, on Saturday, September 20, at 2:30 p.m.

           There will be three divisions} one for women and one for men, and
a special division for men in the armed forces of the United States.

          Playground, district and borough eliminations have been going on
for the past six weeks to select the first and second place winners in each
borough for the city championship contest next Saturday afternoon.

          Gold and silver medals will be awarded to the winner and runner-up
of the finals and bronze medals to the remaining borough
finalists. Sweatshirts, bearing the Park Department emblem, will also be
awarded to the winner of each division.

          Any member of the armed forces, who is desirous of competing in
this tournament, should be present in uniform, at North Meadow, next
Saturday at 2:30 p.m. Of course, the same prizes will be awarded to the
winner and runner-up of this division.

          Shuffleboard was introduced to the Park Department recreation
program ten years ago, when the first court was constructed at Jasper Oval
Playground, West 135 Street and Convent Avenue, Manhattan. At the present
time, there are 554 shuffleboard courts under Park Department jurisdiction.

           In the beginning this activity attracted only children; but with
the increase in the number of shuffleboard courts, especially during the
past eight years, the game has become very popular with adolescents and
adults, particularly since they can play evenings in the 76 floodlighted
playgrounds, which are operated until 10 p.m. daily.

                                 * * * * *

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Saturday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          September 13, 1941


           The Department of Parks announces the roller skating rink at
the City Building, Flushing Meadow Park, Queens, will open for the 1941-42
season Sunday afternoon, September 14, 1941, at two o'clock.

           Since the rink closed last spring, several improvements have been
made to make this facility more attractive to patrons. The checking counter
has been moved to the end of the building so that waiting lines can form
inside of the building, not exposed to the weather, as was the case last
winter; the floor of the rink has been re-surfaced; a railing has been
placed around three sides to permit tired skaters to sit down at the floor
level and be protected from patrons on the floor; a completely new loud
speaker system has been installed, and will be supplemented in a few days
with an organ so that the music will be more varied and of a better quality
than the monotonous recorded music which was provided last season; the food
counter and eating space have been enlarged; a new women's rest room is
being constructed at the south end of the building so that ice skaters will
not have to mingle with roller skaters off the rink.

           The rink will be operated on the following schedule: Free morning
sessions for children under 14 on Saturdays, school vacation days and
holidays except Christmas, 9;30 to 12 noon; afternoon sessions, admission -
20¢, Saturdays, Sundays and holidays, 2;00 to 5:00 P.M.  All other days
2:30 to 5:30 P.M.; evening sessions, admission - 35¢, 7:30 to 11:00 P. M.

           Free use of the balcony, which was the subject of considerable
abuse by rowdy elements which annoyed the skaters last season, has been
discontinued.

           There is no additional charge for checking clothes and for roller
skates, although patrons may use their own skates provided the rollers are
suitable for use on a wooden floor.

         The section of the park surrounding the building has been
reconstructed with a revised walk system and improved landscaping. New
parking spaces have been constructed immediately to the south and to the
north of the building.  Automobilists can reach the parking spaces from the
Horace Harding boulevard and Roosevelt Avenue gates.

         The City Building may be reached via the following transportation
         lines:

              IRT, BMT and 2nd Avenue Lines to 111th Street Station

              Flushing-Ridgewood Trolley to 52nd Avenue
                 Walk one block north to park

              Independent Subway - Queens line to Woodhaven Boulevard
                 and Triborough Bus Q-23 to 51st Avenue

         The ice skating rink will be opened about the 1st of October.

                                * * * * * *

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Saturday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          September 13, 1941


                The Department of Parks announces that the closing date for
entries in the Amateur Photo Contest is Saturday, September 20.

                All pictures submitted by the contestants must represent
scenes in parks, parkways, pools, beaches or playgrounds under the
jurisdiction of the Department of Parks during the year 1941.

                Entrants in this contest will be divided into two age groups:
up to 16 years and over 16 years.

                The pictures should be forwarded on or before the closing
date, to the Park Department Director of the Borough in which the contestant
resides. The names and addresses of the borough directors follow:

Manhattan - Philip J. Crusie, Arsenal Building, 64 Street and Fifth Avenue,
                              Central Park

Brooklyn  - Richard C. Jenkins, Litchfield Mansion, Prospect Park West and
                                     5 Street

Queens    - James J . Mallen, The Overlook, Union Turnpike and Park Lane,
                                  Kew Gardens

Bronx     - George L. Quigley, Bronx Park East and Birchall Avenue, Bronx Park

Richmond  - A.M. Anderson, Clove Lakes Park, 1150 Clove Road, West New Brighton

                Prizes of substantial and practical value to photographers,
such as: cameras and photographic supplies will be awarded to those
attaining first, second and third places in each division.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Friday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          September 12, 1941


           The Departmet of Parks announces that the City-wide finals of the
baseball tournament for playground boys up to 16 years of age will take
place at Clove Lakes Park, Victory Boulevard and Clove Road, West Brighton,
Richmond, on Sunday, September 14, at 3:00 P.M.

            Inter-playground and inter-district games have been played in
all the boroughs since the month of July to determine the best qualified
teams for the inter-borough competitions. The game next Sunday afternoon
will be played by two championship teams from the boroughs of Brooklyn and
Richmond.

           Gold medals and sweatshirts bearing the sycamore leaf, emblem of
the Park Department, will be awarded to the members of the winning team and
silver medals to the losers.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Friday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          September 12, 1941


              The Department of Parks announces that special ceremonies have
been arranged in connection with the awarding of prizes to those children in
Crotona Park, Third and Fulton Avenues and 177 Street, Bronx, who have
demonstrated their interest in the protection and preservation of this large
and reconstructed 151 acre park. The ceremonies will take place at Crotona
Park Recreation Center on Saturday, September 13, at 10:30 A. M., as the
first event in the opening of the fall recreation program since the swimming
pool closed last week.

              Upon completion of construction at Crotona Park, the fifth
largest park in the borough of the Bronx, and providing facilities for all
types of recreational activities at each of the 11 separate playgrounds
located within the area, the executives of the Park Department were anxious
to minimize vandalism as well as to encourage the children to take an
interest in maintaining the beauty and general neatness of the park. As a
result, an organization, called the "Crotona Park Boosters", was formed in
each of the 11 playgrounds. Membership in this organization was open to all
children who have not reached their 18 birthday and who are interested in
enforcing the following four standards: cleanliness, prevention of
vandalism, participation in recreational activities and safety.

              Each one, who enlisted as a booster, became a voluntary helper
of the Department of Parks, Police and Sanitation, and was entitled to wear
the official badge of this organization.  Four thousand boys and girls have
been active members of the organization since its inception a few months ago
and there has been a decided curtailment of such vandalism as smashing
lights, carving names on benches and trees and displacing fixtures. There
has also been a definite drop in playground accidents.

              A competitive point system was used to determine the standing
of the various playgrounds and scores were posted weekly.  Individual points
were credited to members of playground teams in inter-playground
competition, members of safety and sanitation squads, active members of
newspaper staffs, and participants in essay, poster and photographic
contests.

         The following boys and girls earned the highest individual scores for
the past two months:

            Rosalie Brown              Playground #5    -   208 points

            Stanley Weiss              Playground #3    -   187 points

            Melvin Schneider           Playground #5    -   155 points

            Melvin Kaplan              Playground #8    -   136 points

            Jeanette Yokel             Playground #8    -   132 points

         Prizes for these 5 highest scorers will consist of cameras, fountain
pens, tennis rackets and sweatshirts.

         The 11 playgrounds engaged in the Booster Campaign rank as follows:

             1st Place             -   Playground #8    -   821 points

             2nd Place             -   Playground #5    -   714 points

             3rd Place             -   Playground #3    -   684 points

             4th Place             -   Playground #6    -   683 points

             5th Place             -   Playground #9    -   642 points

             6th Place             -   Playground #2    -   567 points

             7th Place             -   Playground #10   -   542 points

             8th Place             -   Playground #1    -   369 points

             9th Place             -   Playground #7    -   311 points

            10th Place             -   Playground #4    -   212 points

            11th Place             -   Playground #11   -   164 points

          In addition to the awarding of prizes next Saturday morning, the
program will include: The Pledge of Allegiance and the Boosters' Pledge by
all the children of the 11 playgrounds of Crotona Park; one act plays,
dancing demonstrations and community singing of patriotic songs by members
of the Boosters' Club, a basketball game between playground numbers 5 and 9
and an exhibition of various articles made by the Boosters' Handcraft Club.

                                    ***

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Friday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          September 12, 1941


            The Department of Parks announces that a comprehensive program
of recreational activities has been planned for the fall and winter months
at the various gymnasia, indoor pools, and floodlighted playgrounds under
its jurisdiction.

            All the gymnasia have adequate shower and dressing facilities
and will be open from 10 a.m. to 10 p.m. daily beginning Monday, September
15. The pro gram of activities includes: basketball, handball, shuffleboard,
volley ball, badminton, ping pong, track, calisthenics, gymnastics, group
games, magic demonstrations, puppet and marionette shows, club meetings, and
social dancing, with music supplied by the WPA Federal Music Project.

            The various gymnasia are located as follows:

Borough                      Gymnasia and Locations

Manhattan       Carmine Street, Carmine and Varick Streets

                Rutgers Place - 5 Rutgers'Placo

                Baruch - Rivington and Mangin Streets

                West 134 Street - 35 West 134 Street

                East 54 Street - 342 East 54 Street

                West 60 Street - West 60 Street, between 10 and 11 Avenues

                West 28 Street - 407 West 28 Street

                Cherry and Oliver - Cherry and Oliver Streets

Brooklyn        President Street - President Street and Fourth Avenue

Richmond        Cromwell Center - Victory Boulevard and Murray Hulbert Avenue,
                Tompkinsville, Staten Island

                Faber Park Recreation Building -
                Richmond Terrace at Faber Street, Port Richmond, Staten Island

            Basketball teams, desiring to use these gymnasia, are requested
to apply for the necessary permit to the Borough Directors, whoso names and
addresses follow:

Manhattan - Philip J. Cruise, Arsenal Building, 64 Street and Fifth Avenue,
                                Central Park

Brooklyn  - Richard C. Jenkins, litchfield Mansion, Prospect Park West and
                                  5 Street, Prospect Park

Richmond  - A.M. Anderson, Clovo Lakos Park, 1150 Clove Road, West Now Brighton

            Basketball tournaments arc being organized in all gymnasium
centers for boys, girls and men of the surrounding neighborhood and medals
will be awarded to the members of the winning teams.

            Playground directors arc present to assist boys in various
gymnastic stunts, A monster demonstration in gymnastics will be given
by those attending those classes in the latter part of January.

            Indoor swimming pools, which may bo used free of charge, are
located in each of the gymnasium buildings, in the borough of Manhattan,
with the exception of the one located at Cherry and Oliver Streets

            In addition, there is a Park Department indoor swimming pool at
23 Street and Avenue A, Manhattan, and at Metropolitan and Bedford
Avenues, Brooklyn.

            Swimming classes are conductod for beginners at all these pools.
Anyone, wishing to learn how to swim, is invited to register at the pool
nearest his home. Lessons in life saving axe also given to the advanced
swimmers.

            At various intervals during the fall and winter seasons,
swimming tournaments will be held for all age groups.

            Eleven of the outdoor pools will bo converted into active play
areas and reopened for use on Saturday, September 13. These play centers are
free to the public and arc open from 2 P.M. to 10 P.M. daily except
Saturdays, Sundays and holidays, when the hours of operation will be from 10
A.M. to 6 P.M.  Facilities will be provided for paddle tennis, shuffleboard,
basketball, softball and various group games.

            Seventy-six of the Park Department outdoor recreation areas are
equipped with modern floodlighting equipment and their facilities may be
used until 10 P.M. each night for such activities as: soccer, field hocky,
football, roller hockey, roller skating, horseshoe pitching, paddle tennis
and handball.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Friday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          September 12, 1941


           The Department of Parks announces that the City-wide finals of
the senior softball tournament will take place at the Parade Grounds, Caton
and Coney Island Avenues, Brooklyn, Saturday, September 13, at 3:00 P.M.

           Preliminary games between the various playground teams in each
borough have been held during the past six weeks.  Championship teams from
the boroughs of Queens and Richmond will play next Saturday afternoon for
the title of "City-wide Baseball Champions of Park Department Playgrounds".

           Gold medals and sweatshirts bearing the sycamore leaf, emblem of
the Park Department, will be awarded to the members of the winning team and
silver medals to the losers. 

                                  ** * **

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Thursday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          September 11, 1941

                           RIKER'S ISLAND NURSERY

                The nursery area now under cultivation consists of 25 acres
of disintegrated refuse and ash fill collected throughout New York City
during the past ten years. The work of establishing the nursery began on
September 1, 1940, when 200 inmates of the Hiker's Island Penitentiary were
assigned to cultivate the soil and remove all undesirable debris 2 feet
below the surface in preparation for planting.  Upon completion of this
work, they planted 13,477 sapling trees, consisting of Oriental planes,
American elms and Norway maples which were furnished by the Park
Department. In addition, thousands of trees and shrubs were planted to act
as windbreaks during the winter months. Next spring, 10,000 more sapling
.trees will be set out in the nursery by the inmates.

                It will take about 7 years for these saplings to grow to
suitable size for planting in parks, on parkways and City streets. Each year
10,000 sapling trees will be set out in the nursery, and each year 10,000
trees will be removed for use throughout the City park system.

                Approximately 23 acres of the nursery area have been planted
with a green manure crop which at maturity is plowed under to enrich and
improve the texture of the soil.  In the past year, 3 of such crops have
been grown and plowed under. The present crop, which is now being turned
into the ground, consists of common millet and cow peas. Perennial rye and
hairy vetch will shortly bo sown as a winter crop.

                There are approximately 1,250,000 park trees and about
1,000,000 street trees which require maintenance by the Park
Department. Each year approximately 6,000 to 8,000 trees die as a result of
vandalism, storm damage, being struck by automobiles, and from old age.

                The purpose of establishing a nursery on Riker's Island was
not only to furnish the City of New York with thousands of trees at low
cost, but also to give the inmates constructive and outdoor work. Hundreds
of inmates will be kept busy cultivating, watering and spraying the trees
throughout the year.

                                   *****

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

                              MEMORIAL ON SITE
                              OF TIME CAPSULE
                              TO BE DEDICATED



                   Park Department Ceremonies to be held
          September 23, in Flushing Meadow Park: Mayor LaGuardia,
                   Park Commissioner Moses to Officiate.

                NEW YORK, N.Y., Sept. 7, 1941.  The Park Department
announces that a monument of black granite, erected at Flushing Meadow Park
to mark the location of the Westinghouse Time Capsule on the old site of the
New York World's Fair, will be dedicated at noon on Tuesday, September 23.

                At the public ceremonies sponsored by the Park Department,
Robert Moses, Park Commissioner, will preside. David S. Youngholm,
Westinghouse Vice President, will present the marker and Mayor
F. H. LaGuardia, or his representative, will accept the memorial on behalf
of the City of New York.

                Executives of the principal companies which had exhibits at
the Fair, members of the Fair administration, City officials and civic
leaders will attend.  The Time Capsule, a metal tube containing a record of
our civilization, was buried 50 feet underground at the Westinghouse
Building at the World's Fair to remain there for 5,000 years. The memorial
shaft is one of the few lasting reminders of the Fair.

                The ten foot black granite monument standing on a white
granite base marks the exact spot where the Time Capsule is buried at
latitude 4.0° 44' 34".089, north of the equator, longitude 73° 50'
43".842 west of Greenwich.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

           Zn inscription on the base of the shaft reads:

           "The Time Capsule, deposited 50 feet beneath this spot on
September 23, 1938; preserving for the future a record of the history,
faiths, arts, sciences and customs of the people then alive. Scientists and
engineers designed it; scholars chose its contentsj the V/estinghouse
Electric and Manufacturing Company placed it here at the beginning of the
New York World's Fair, 1939-1940, to endure for 5000 years."

           As part of the development of Flushing Meadow Park, the Park
Department approved the construction and erection by Westinghouse of a
memorial to mark the Time Capsule site. Five white granite seats, with black
granite arm rests, face the shaft in a semi-circle from the south end of the
memorial plot which is 4-5 by 30 feet in area. The area is paved with
dolomite flagstones from the court of the former Swedish Pavilion at the
Fair.

           The shaft weighs 7000 pounds. It is of American black granite
quarried at Sauk Rapids, Minnesota. White granite for the base and benches
was quarried at Salisbury, North Carolina.

           The Time Capsule, containing 35 articles of common use and a
microfilm record equivalent to 10,000,000 words of printed matter, was
placed in its deep resting place on September 23, 1938, with leaders of
American science, industry and public affairs as witnesses.

           The Capsule is made of copper alloy called Cupaloy which can be
tempered to the hardness of steel and yet has a resistance to corrosion
equal to pure copper. The torpedo-shaped shell is lined with an envelope of
heat-resistant glass set in waterproof wax.

           Packed into the Time Capsule is a "cross section of our times",
selected with the advice of leading archaeologists, historians and
scientists.  Objects in the Capsule include a woman's hat, alarm clock,
children's toys, cosmetics, tobacco, watch, eyeglasses, electric lamp,
safety pin, pen and pencil.  There are 75 samples of materials such as
fabrics, metal, alloys, plastics, coal and common seeds.

            Three and one-half reels of microfilm in the Time Capsule
contain reproductions of more than 22,000 pages of text and 1,000 pictures
taken from books, articles, magazines, newspapers, reports and catalogs. It
would take an ordinary person more than a year to read the microfilm
record. In addition to the microfilm there is a 15 minute newsreel of us and
our times, and instructions for building a modern movie projector for
showing it.

            To preserve the memory of the Time Capsule and perhaps aid
future archaeologists in finding it, a permanent Book of Record was
distributed to libraries, museums, monastaries, temples, lamaseries and
other repositories throughout the world. The exact location of the Time
Capsule, determined by the U. S. Coast and Geodetic Survey, was included in
the Book of Record.

            A "Key to the English Language" was prepared to enable future
peoples to understand and translate our language, A new system of phonetic
spelling, a "high frequency" vocabulary and diagrams will enable them to
pronounce English as it is spoken in America today.

            More than 4,000,000 persons peered down into the "Immortal
Well" at the World's Fair to view the Time Capsule.

            On September 23, 1940, the Time Capsule Well was sealed, again
with leaders of science, industry and public affairs taking part. Five
hundred pounds of plastic compound, was poured down the shaft of the Well,
covering the Capsule.  It is believed that the water repellaht plastic
covering and the construction of the Capsule shell will preserve this
"letter to the future" from any natural hazards for at least 5,000 years.

            A replica of the Time Capsule is on display at the Hayden
Planetarium of the American Museum of Natural History in New York City,
where duplicates of the original contents also are shown.


                                   * * *

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Monday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          September 6, 1941



       Bids were opened today by the Department of Parks at the Arsenal
Building on a contract for alterations to two sections of the main floor
in the City 3uilding at Flushing Meadow Park, Borough of Queens.

      The work consists of various changes in the southwest and southeast
corners of the building to provide added facilities for ice and roller
skating patrons during the coming indoor skating season. The southeast
corner of the main floor will be altered to provide a storage room, skate
shop, first-aid room, women's locker and comfort facilities and offices for
supervisors. The southwest corner will be provided with, men's locker and
comfort facilities and a concession storage booth for foodstuffs and other
materials.

        The work generally comprises construction of tile partitions with
concrete cement finish including doors, trim, metal partitions and necessary
plumbing and shower equipment. Also included is all necessary lighting
installations and ventilating equipment.

       The three lowest bidders for the contract were:

       1.   Wm. C. Crowe, Inc.
            335 East 82 Street,New York City             $5,731.00

       2.   Great Eastern Construction Co.,Inc.
            110 West 40 Street, New York City             6,835.00

       3.   Rolin Contracting Company
            li West 42 Street, New York City              6,910.00

                                   * * *

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Saturday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          September 6, 1941


           The Department of Parks announces the closing of the 17 outdoor
swimming pools and 5 beaches under its jurisdiction on September 7th,
1941. No charge will be made for parking facilities after that date at
either Jacob Riis Park or Orchard Beach.  The Pitch Putt Golf Course at
Jacob Riis Park will remain open for play until November 30th.

             Immediately after closing, the following listed pools will be
converted into active play areas and reopened for use on Saturday, September
13th.


                                 MANHATTAN

Hamilton Fish Pool         East Houston and Sheriff Streets

Colonial Pool              Bradhurst Ave, W. 145th to 147th Streets

Highbridge Pool            Amsterdam Ave. & 173rd Street

Thomas Jefferson Pool      111th to 114th Streets & First Avenue

                                  BROOKLYN

Sunset Pool                7th Avenue & 43 Street

McCarren Pool              Driggs Avenue & Lorimer Street

Red Hook Pool              Clinton, Bay & Henry Streets

Betsy Head Pool            Hopkinson, Dumont & Livonia Streets

                                   BRONX

Crotona Pool               173rd Street & Fulton Avenue

                                  QUEENS

Astoria Pool               19th Street & 23rd Drive

                                  RICHMOND

Faber Pool                 Faber Street between Richmond Terrace
                                     & Kill Van Kull

        Facilities will be provided for paddle tennis, snuffleboard,
basketball, soft ball and various group games. Leagues will be formed in
these sports and regular scheduled games will be held between the pool
clubs.

       These play centers will be opened free to the public from 2 P.M.
until 10 P.M. daily except Saturdays, Sundays and holidays when the
hours of operation will be from 10 A.M. until 6 P.M.

       On Monday, September 8th, the indoor pools at 60th Street, Carmine
Street, and 23rd Street will reopen, making available for the winter season
the followirg indoor pools, open daily from 2 P.M. to 10 P.M.  weekdays, and
10 A.M. to 6 P.M. Saturdays, Sundays and holidays.

                                 MANHATTAN

                    E. 23rd St. Baths- E. 23rd St. & East River Dr.

                    E. 54th St. Baths-342 East 54th Street

                    Rutgers P I . Baths- 5 Rutgers Place

                    Carmine St. Baths- Clarkson & 7th Ave. South

                    W. 28th St. Baths- 407 West 28th Street

                    W. 60th St. Baths- 232 West 60th Street

                    W. 134th St. Baths- 35 West 134th Street

                    Rivingtoxi; St. Baths- Rivington and Goerck Street

                                  BR00KLYN

                    Metropolitan Baths- Bedford & Metropolitan Aves.

        During the season, now closing, 2,024,532 persons have availed
themselves of the swimming facilities provided by the 17 outdoor pools; of
these 664,725 were children admitted during the free periods; 823,092 were
children who paid 100 and 536,615 were adults who paid for admission.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Friday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          September 5, 1941


         The Department of Parks announces the opening of bids today on a
contract in connection with the work for preparing the facilities for
unloading fill from sanitation scows in Sound View Park, Borough of the
Bronx.

         The contract provides for the construction of a timber platform
supported on steel beams connected to the existing tubular sheet pile
bulkhead which is also the site of an unloading plant to be built by the
Department of Sanitation. The platform will be used to tie up scows
preparatory to unloading and will also serve as a fender rack for protection
of the sheet pile bulkhead. Also included is the construction of a timber
dock on piles, repairs to an existing dock and construction of a timber ramp
inshore for handling fill by truck from the unloading plant to the dumping
areas.

         The three lowest bidders were the following:

         1. Melwood Construction Corp.             $35,865.00
            507 Fifth Ave., New York City

         2. Phoenix Construction Associates         39,481.00
            41 Park Row, New York City

         3. Spencer, White & Prentis, Inc.          44,450,00
            10 West 40 Street, New York City

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Saturday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          August 30, 1941

                      The Department of Parks announces that the Naumburg
Orchestra will give the last of a series of four Naumburg concerts on Labor
Day, Monday, September 1, 8:15 P.M.  on the Mall, Central Park.

                      Victor Bay will be the conductor for this Labor Day
Concert, and Allan Gallu, the tenor soloist.  Some of the selections
included in the program are: Flower Song from "Carmen" by Bizet; Overture
"Die Meistersinger" by Wagner; First Movement Symphony No. 5 by Beethoven;
Eight Russian Folk Songs by Liadoff; and Emperor Waltz by Strauss.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Friday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          August 29, 1941


            The Department of Parks announces that the children of twenty-one
Park Department Playgrounds vail celebrate the anniversary of their official
opening to the public by participating in special programs of recreational
activities during the month of September.

           Besides the usual activities such as: handball, Softball, paddle
tennis, ping pong, punchball, basketball, shuffleboard, and horseshoe
pitching, there will be a variety of special events including novelty races,
community and group singing of patriotic songs, birthday party games, salute
to the flag, one act plays, folk dancing, magic shows, handcraft
exhibitions, and musical and vocal selections.

           The September schedule for playground birthday celebrations is as
follows:
                                                    Time of
Borough                              Opened       Celebration

Manhattan

  Tompkins Square Playground         Sept.  5, 1936    2 P.M.
  10 Street bet. Ave. A & B.

  Roosevelt Playground               Sept. 13, 1934    2 P.M.
  Forsythe & Houston Sts.

  Thomas Jefferson Playground        Sept. 23, 1934    2 P.M.
  East 111 St. & First Ave.

Brooklyn

  Riverdale & Snediker Avenues       Sept. 1, 1935     2 P.M.

  Stillwell Ave. & Avenue ?.         Sept, 2, 1935     2 P.M.

  New Lots Ave. & Elton Street       Sept. 4, 1933     2 P.M.

  McCarren Park Playground           Sept. 6, 1935     2 P.M.
  Driggs Ave. & Lorimer Street

  Sunset Park Playground             Sept. 9, 1935     2 P.M.
  Sixth Ave. & 44 Street

Queens 

  30th Road, 45 & 46 Streets         Sept. 10, 1937    10 A.M. to 4P.M.

  Jackson Pond Playground            Sept. 20, 1935    2:30 P.M.
  108 Street & Myrtle Avenue

Bronx

  Crotona Park West                  Sept.  2, 1935    2 P.M.
  Fulton Ave, & East 173 Street

  Williamsbridge Oval                Sept. 11, 1937    4 P.M.
  208 St. & Bainbridge Avenue
                                
  Bronx Park East & Brady Avenue     Sept. 12, 1938    4 P.M.

  Bronx Park East & Boston Road      Sept. 12, 1938    4 P.M.

  Claremont Park - Teller & Morris   Sept. 14, 1940    4 P.M.
  Monroe & Mt. Eden Avenues
  Mt. Eden & Morris Avenues

  Mott Haven Health Center           Sept. 20, 1938    4 P.M.
  East 140 St. near Alexander Ave.

  Crotona Park East & East 173 St.   Sept. 20, 1937    4 P.M.

  Van. Cortlandt Stadium             Sept. 22, 1939    4 P.M.
  240 Street & Broadway

  Cauldwell Avenue Playground        Sept. 23, 1935    4 P.M.
  Cauldwell Ave. & 161 Street

  Bronx Park East & Waring Avenue    Sept. 28, 1939    4 P.M.

Richmond

  Winter & Bismark Avenues           Sept. 19, 1936    4 P.M.
  New Brighton

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Monday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          August 25, 1941


         The Department of Parks announces that a concert will be given by
the Associated Musicians of Greater New York, Local 802, under the
sponsorship of Mayor F.H. LaGuardia, and John S. Burke of the Friedsam
Foundation, at the Amphitheatre, Flushing Meadow Park, Queens, on Tuesday,
August 26th at 8:30 P.M.

         This is the nineteenth free outdoor concert in a series of twenty,
given by Local 802, at various park areas, during the current summer
season. The last concert is scheduled for Inwood Hill Park, 207th Street and
Seaman Avenue, Manhattan, on Thursday, August 28th at 8:30 P.M.

         In order to prepare the pool for the evening concert there will be
no swimming after 6 P.M.


-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Saturday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          August 23, 1941

          Department of Parks announces the completion of work in connection
with the construction of marginal playgrounds, two sitting areas with sand
pits, walks and bicycle path located in a strip of park area along the west
boundary of Prospect Park West extending from Garfield Place to 15th Street,
Brooklyn, and also a new marginal playground at the Lincoln Road entrance on
the east side of the park.

          In line with the Department's policy to provide active
recreational facilities around the boundaries of the large informal parks to
preserve the interior landscaped areas for proper usage these new play units
will serve one of the finer residential sections of Brooklyn.

          Supplementing the new 2½ acre recreation area with bandshell
and playground opposite 10th Street which vras opened this spring, a
semi-circular sitting area, 100 feet in diameter, has been provided adjacent
to an existing park walk opposite 13th Street. Paved with bituminous macadam
the area has a large central sand pit and a continuous row of benches for
guardians of the children extending along the arc of the semi-circle. This
sitting area is conveniently reached from the park entrance two blocks south
at the 15th Street traffic circle.

          A similar area is located at the north end of the park adjacent to
Garfield Place. The sloping ground between the existing park walk and the
west property line wall necessitated the construction of a 3½' high
semi-circular concrete retaining wall surmounted by a 4' high chain link
fence lined with continuous benches which face the centrally located sand
pit. The old existing shade trees around the top of this wall have been
preserved for the comfort of the mothers and children.

         A new entrance has been cut through the existing wall and chain
link fence opposite Garfield Place to provide access to the existing park
walk which leads to the sitting area.

         The project also included a bituminous surfaced, fence enclosed
playground between the West Drive and the Borough Headquarters in Litchfield
Mansion, located in a natural depression the existing planting on the
adjacent slopes has been supplemented with a variety of trees including
flowering dogwood, hornbeam, sweet gum and scarlet oak. The existing path
system which passed through the site was removed in favor of more direct and
smoothly aligned connections with the entrances at 3rd and 5th Streets and
with the main path system.

          The playground at 5th Street and Prospect Park West, a rectangular
area 85' x 130' with a semi-circular bay extending from the full width of
one side, has an open central free play area which is bordered by facilities
adjacent to the boundary fence: 60 feet of fence protected kindergarten
swings; 4 see-saws; a circular shower basin; 2 small playhouses; a 16' x 22'
irrigated sand pit; 2 kindergarten slides and 2 drinking fountains.
Continuous park benches extend along three sides of the sand pit area. An
existing 30" diameter cypress tree located within the play area, has been
protected by a 7' high wrought iron picket fence and an underplanting of
English Ivy.

          A new 12' wide bituminous surfaced bicycle path, 4,400 feet long,
starting near the 15th Street entrance winds through the trees and around
the slopes roughly paralleling the West Drive to a point north of the
maintenance buildings where it swings westward to the park boundary and ends
at the 3rd Street entrance. For a short section near this entrance the path
parallels a new section of hexagonal block surfaced walk from which it is
separated by a 4' high wrought iron picket fence.

          The playground at Ocean Avenue and Lincoln Road, approximately
one-half acre in size, is semi-circular in shape, paved with asphalt so as
to provide year round usage and equipped with a shower basin-, a sand pit,
kindergarten swings, slides, see-saws and a pipe frame exercise unit. A
large open area provides space for general play, skating, and organized
games. Around the perimeter continuous benches have been provided for
mothers and guardians.

         A new brick comfort station has been built at the entrance to the
park, adjacent to the playground, where it will serve the general public as
well as the playground patrons. The project also included: the construction
of a short spur to the bridle path from Flatbush Avenue to East Lake Drive;
hitching posts and mounting blocks near the Lincoln Road entrance: extensive
regrading, topsoiling and seeding; planting of approximately 65 small trees
and large shrubs and planting of more than 3,250 ground cover plants to pre-
vent erosion on steep side slopes.

          In connection with the development of all of these areas additional
drainage facilities were installed, irrigation provided and 10 acres of lawn
area were seeded.

          The work was carried out by the Work Projects Administration from
plans prepared by the Department of Parks. In 1934 there were 119
playgrounds in the five boroughs; 59 of which have been reconstructed.  At
the present time there are 444 playgrounds in the Park system.

                                     * * *

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Friday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          August 22, 1941


              The Department of Parks announces that the City-wide
finals of the checker tournament will take place at Heckscher
Playground, Central Park, on Saturday, August 23, at 2:00 P. M.

              The City championship in the Park Department chess
tournament will also be determined at Heckscher playground on
Sunday, August 2 4, at 2:00 P.M.

              Contestants in both these tournaments have been divided into
three age groups: boys and girls through 16 years of age; persons 17 to 50
years; and, those 50 years of age and over.  There will also be a special
division for men in the service.

              Each borough has been conducting preliminary matches in each
of these divisions for the past three weeks to determine its two best
players for the City-wide finals.

              Arrangements will be made at a later date for a contest
between the winners of the under 16 years classification and the over 50
years group in both checkers and chess.  This additional contest attracts a
great deal of interest, and is usually described as "Youth vs Age in Chess
and Checkers" contest.

              Gold and silver medals will be awarded to the first and second
place winners in each division at the finals.  Bronze pins will be given to
borough winners.

                                  * * * *

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Wednesday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          August 20, 1941


               The Department of Parks announces that the City-wide finals
of the softball tournament, both junior and intermediate divisions, will
take place at Heckscher Playground, Central Park, according to the following
schedule:

     Junior Division (Boys up to 17 years) - Wednesday, August SO
                                             at 2:00 P.M.

     Senior Division (Boys 17 to 21 years) - Thursday, August 21
                                             at 6:00 P.M.

               In the junior division, teams from the Boroughs of
Manhattan and Richmond will play for the City championship, while
in the intermediate classification teams from the Boroughs of
Queens and Manhattan will play off for the title.

              Gold and silver medals will be awarded to the winner and
runner-up in each division.  In addition, the City champions in each
division will receive sweatshirts bearing a sycamore leaf, the Park
Department emblem.

                                    ****

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Saturday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          August 16, 1941


            The Department of Parks announces that the City-wide finals of
the paddle tennis tournament for Park playground boys and girls will take
place a t North Meadow, Central Park, on Saturday, August 16, according to
the following schedule:

      Girls Junior Division (13 - 15 years) - 11:00 A. M.

      Girls Senior Division (15 - 18 years) - 11:00 A. M.

      Boys Junior Division  (13 - 15 years) -  2:00 P. M.

      Boys Senior Division  (16 - 18 years) -  2:00 P. M.

             These finals will include singles and doubles matches in
all divisions.

             Gold and silver medals will be awarded to the winner and
runner up in each division.

             As an added attraction, the Park Department in cooperation with
the U. S. Paddle Tennis Association has arranged an exhibition paddle tennis
match between Bobby Riggs, former national tennis champion, and Jack
Slotnick, holder of the junior national paddle tennis championship.  Jean
Maco will also be present and will play with Bobby Riggs in a doubles match.

                                    ***

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Wednesday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          August 13, 1941


             The Department of Parks announces the completion of the
reconstruction and the reopening to the public of the seven-acre Bushwick
Park bounded by Knickerbocker and Irving Avenues and by Suydam and Starr
Streets.

             The park in the heart of one of the most congested residential
areas in Brooklyn is surrounded by many blocks of three and four story
apartment houses.

             The first steps in the modernization of the park to serve the
needs of all age groups were taken in 1936 when a one-half acre playground
was built in conformity with a development plan for the entire park.  The
playground contains a modern wading pool, irrigated sand pit, adequate play
apparatus and is surfaced with asphalt to provide all year round usage.

             The renovation and reconstruction of the remaining six and
one-half acres, provide a large paved area in the center of the park which
can be used for roller and ice skating, dancing and concerts.  This area
forms the hub of the plan, on the north side of which is a ball diamond; on
the south, the playground and new handball courts; and on the other two
sides informal lawn areas.  A new brick comfort station was built at the
south side of the central paved area, adjacent to the playground.  Included
in the reconstruction are a new flagpole with an ornamental base; drinking
fountains; benches; wrought iron, pipe-rail and chain link fences; asphalt,
hex block and concrete block paving.

             Approximately three quarters of the entire park consists of
informal lawns and planted areas for passive use.  Offsets in the main
perimeter walk and at three of the four corner entrances have established
five secluded sitting areas, including one with an irrigated sand pit where
small children can dig and work off some of their energy.

             It is expected that the adequate provisions made for active
recreation for all age groups will make it possible to preserve the new
lawns and planting areas which heretofore were overrun and worn bare.  In
addition to the splendid groups of mature trees which were preserved in the
reconstruction, approximately seventy-five new trees were planted including
maples, planes, scarlet oaks and lindens.

             The work was carried out by the Work Projects Administration
from plans prepared by the Department of Parks.  In 1934 there were 119
playgrounds in the five boroughs; 59 of which have been reconstructed.  At
the present time there are 442 playgrounds in the Park system.

                                   * * *

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Tuesday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          August 12, 1941


             TOURNAMENTS AND ACTIVITIES TO BE CONDUCTED IN PARK
           DEPARTMENT PLAYGROUNDS DURING REMAINDER OF THE SUMMER


          The Department of Parks announces that a variety of tournaments of
both the active and passive types of recreation will be conducted for boys
and girls of Park Department playgrounds during the remainder of the summer.

          Any boy or girl, who has not reached his 16th birthday is eligible
to compete in the Checker Tournament which is going on in all Park
Department playgrounds at the present time. There is also a separate
division for persons 16 years of age and older.  Each borough will conduct
its own eliminations to select the two best players (either girls or boys)
to represent the borough in the city-wide finals which will take place at
Heckscher Playground, Central Park, on August 23 and 24 at 2:00 P.M.

          A Chess Tournament is also being conducted in all Park playgrounds
for persons of identical age groups. Borough eliminations will determine the
player who is most conversant with the intricate moves and strategic
maneuvering of "pieces" to represent the borough in the city championship
tourney, which will take place at Heckscher Playground, Central Park, on
August 23 and 24 at 2:00 P.M.

          Men and women, 50 years of age and over, will be given an
opportunity to demonstrate their skill in checkers and chess by entering a
tournament restricted to persons of that age group. The city-wide finals
will be held at Heckscher Playground, Central Park, on August 23 and 24 at 2
P.M.

          Gold and silver medals will be awarded to the first and second
place winners of the city finals in both the Checker and Chess Tournaments.
Bronze medals will be awarded to the borough finalists.

          Finally, there will be a checkers and chess contest between the
winners of the under 16 years classification and the over 50 years group.
This contest attracts a great deal of interest and is usually described as
"Youth vs. Age in the Battle of Wits". Medals will also be awarded to the
winners of these contests.

          The Park Department, in cooperation with the Defense Recreation
Committee, has decided to include a separate division in the checker and
chess tournaments for the members of the armed forces of the United States.
Any man in the service, who is desirous of competing in either one of these
contests, should report, in uniform, at Heckscher Playground, Central Park,
on August 23 and 24 at 2:00 P. M. Prizes, consisting of gold, silver and
bronze medals will be presented to 1st, 2nd and 3rd place winners.

             A contest in "jacks", the game that is popular with every girl,
will take place in Park Department playgrounds during the next few weeks.
Girls 15 years of age and under are eligible to enter this contest. The city
finals, at which the two best girls from each of the five boroughs will
compete for the city championships, at Heckscher Playground, Central Park,
on August 27, at 2:00 P. M.

             Gold, silver and bronze medals will be awarded to the 1st, 2nd
and 3rd place winners in the city finals.

             Entries for the amateur photography contest depicting "Youth
and Age" in city parks will close on September 20. All pictures submitted by
the contestants must represent scenes in parks, parkways, pools, beaches or
playgrounds under the jurisdiction of the Department of Parks during the
year 1941.

           Entrants in this contest will be divided into two age groups: up
to 16 years and over 16 years. All pictures must be submitted on or before
the closing date, to the Park Department Director of the Borough in which
the contestant resides. The names and addresses of the borough directors are
as follows:

Manhattan - Philip J. Cruise, Arsenal Building, 64 Street and Fifth Avenue

Brooklyn  - Richard C. Jenkins, Litchfield Mansion, Prospect Park West and
                                      5 Street, Prospect Park

Queens    - James J. Hallen, The Overlook, Union Turnpike and Park Lane South,
                                      Forest Park, Kew Gardens

Bronx     - George L. Quigley, Bronx Park East and Birchall Avenue, Bronx Park

Richmond  - A. M. Anderson, Clove Lakes Park, Clove Road, west of Victory
                                      Boulevard, New Brighton

           The trailer puppet and marionette show, which has visited various
Park playgrounds in each of the five boroughs since last May and given
performances to approximately 52,000 children and adults, will continue to
be presented, according to schedule, until the final performance on August
19, Every show, until that date, will be given at designated playgrounds in
the Borough of Queens.

           Interest in this type of activity became so widespread, that
another travelling puppet and marionette troupe was organized. The program
of this troupe includes the manipulation of hand puppets, community singing
and magic demonstrations.  Since their first appearance on July 28, magic
and puppetry clubs have been organized in several of the playgrounds
visited.  In many instances, the children put on their own magic shows, and
constructed and manipulated their own'puppets. According to the schedule,
this newly formed troupe will continue to give two performances daily, at 11
A. M. and 2 P. M., at designated playgrounds until the final show on August
29.

            The finals of the Children's Amateur Singing Contest will be
held in the month of September at the Mall, Central Park.  The participants
in this contest will be divided into two age classifications: 8 to 12 years
and 13 to 16 years, with separate divisions for boys and girls.

            A contest for amateur musicians is also planned for the early
part of September.  Boys and girls, 16 years of age and under, are eligible
to compete. All types of instruments will be permitted.

            In the active game classification, the following tournaments
will take place as follows:

 Activity                        Age Group                     Date of Finals

Paddle Tennis        Boys and girls - 13 to 15 years           August 16
                         singles and doubles

                     Boys and girls - 15 to 17 years
                         singles and doubles

                     A singles player cannot be a member of a doubles team.

Shuffleboard         Men and women - over 18 years             September 6

Volley Ball          Girls - 16 ysars of age and under         September 21

            Gold, silver and bronze medals will be awarded to the 1st, 2nd and
3rd place winners in the city finals of each of the above tournaments.

            Any boy or girl, who is interested in entering the tournaments,
whether they are of the active or passive game type, is requested to apply
to the playground director in charge of the Park Department playground
nearest his home.  Early registration is important because unless a
contestant participates in the preliminary stages of elimination for each
tournament, he is ineligible to represent his borough in the city finals.

                                   * * *

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Monday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          August 11, 1941

X-126 Pix: 19290
           19291
           19299
           20570
1 develop plan
1 location map

         Construction work in connection with the development of Ferry Point
Park, located on the 171 acre East River Bronx Shore promontory which
supports the north anchorage of the Whitestone Bridge has been completed.
The parking field and some of the path system have been in use, however,
since the opening of the bridge.

             A permanent feature of this new park is an overlook 35' above
the water.  A combination comfort station and storage building at the rear
of the overlook is bounded on three sides with a brick-paved portico.  The
south side facing the river is joined to the overlook by a brick surfaced
terrace.

             Although the main interest of the park is passive recreation,
two baseball diamonds have been provided, but will not be available for use
this summer because the areas have been newly seeded.

             When the new lawn areas and plantings have become established
the two areas which have been assigned for picnic use will be provided with
tables, seats, fireplaces and drinking fountains.

           The present development has been confined mainly to the west side
of the bridge covering approximately 100 acres.  Access to the 1000 car
parking field may be had from the Bronx without passing through the toll
collection lanes.

           Acquisition of the property from the House of Good Shepherd
was financed by the City and the Triborough Bridge Authority in connection
with proceedings for construction of the Whitestone Bridge.

           The former meadow areas were brought to grade by hydraulic fill
supplied under contract.  The remainder of the development was constructed
by the Work Projects Administration from plans prepared under the
supervision and approval of the Department of Parks.


-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Saturday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          August 9, 1941


         The Department of Parks announces the completion and opening of a
neighborhood playground on Nostrand Avenue just south of Kings Highway in
Brooklyn.

         The half-acre area has been intensively developed in units designed
for various age groups. The kindergarten section contains a sand pit,
slides, swings and see-saws together with seating accommodations for mothers
and guardians of children.  Adjoining this is a space devoted to older
children equipped with swings, slides and exercise unit. The central area
contains a shower basin and a comfort station. At the opposite end of the
playground are shuffleboard and handball courts. This asphalt surfaced area
is provided with protective fencing, irrigation, drainage, lighting and
shade trees.

         The work was carried out by the Work Projects Administration from
plans prepared by the Department of Parks. In 1934 there were 119
playgrounds in the five boroughs; 58 of vAiich have been reconstructed.  At
the present time there are 442 playgrounds in the Park system.

                                    ***

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Saturday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          August 9, 1941


               The final round in the Municipal Golf Championships conducted
by the Department of Parks will be held on Sunday, August 10th. The men's
championship for the Newbold Morris Trophy, will be held at Clearview,
Queens, with the Women and Junior Boys Tournament for the Park Association
Trophy at Dyker Beach, Brooklyn.

               Thirty-six holes of match play on Saturday, August 9th, will
 decide the finalists for Sunday.  Joe Sage, the former N.Y.U. collegiate
 linksman, and New Jersey Public Links titleholder in 1939, won the course
 championship at Mosholu last year and also was runner-up last year, by
 defeating the 1940 champion, Tom Strafaci, last week, will meet Joe Farrell
 on Saturday for the right to play in the final round.

               In the lower half of the bracket, Charles Amandoles of
LaTourette, the medalist, will meet John Desiderio of Kissena, to fill in
the other half of the finals.  Amandoles is rated as one of the outstanding
amateurs in the Metropolitan Area, having a handicap of 2.  In 1938 he won
the New Jersey State Amateur Title, the Municipal Public Links Championship
and the Staten Island Open crown. His opponent, John Desiderio, won the City
P.S.A.L. title in 1933 while a member of the Richmond Hill High School team;
in the same year he won the Department of Parks caddie title and in 193?
he placed 5th in the National Public Links Championship held at San
Francisco.

               At the Dyker Beach Course, the winner and runner-up in the
Women's Course Championships from each of the ten municipal links, will play
36 holes of medal play for the Women's Municipal Championship. Miss Patricia
Shanahan, winner of the title and the Park Association Trophy last year,
will defend her title .  Miss Shanahan retained the title of course champion
that she won on the Mosholu Course last year by shooting a 79, six strokes
less than the runner-up, in t h i s year's tournament.  Although Miss
Shanahan will be ruled the favorite to repeat in this year's play, she must
get by nine other course champions.  In the finals last year, Pat Shanahan
shot an 87 and 89 for a 176 for 36 holes of play on the Clearview
layout. Miss Vicki Goncheski, the current Clearview champion, has been
shooting 83 and 84 for 18 holes consistently and looms as a likely threat to
Pat's crown. Play will start at 9:00 A. M. with the first foursome of Kay
Olsen, Dyker Beach; Jean Wikstrom, LaTourette; Vicky Goncheski, Clearview;
and Carol Kirkpatrick, Kissena; 9:05 A. M. Florence Kay, Forest Park; Ellen
Sarge, Silver Lake; Adele Srast, Van Cortlandt; Caroline Lehey, Pelham; 9:10
A. M. Rosetta Wallace, Split Rock; Patricia Shanahan, Mosholu; Ava Spencer,
Dyker Beach; Marie Paine, LaTourette; 9:15 A.M. Annette Reyl, Clearview;
Mrs. N. Warner, Kissena; Jessie Bensen, Forest Park; Irene Davenport, Silver
Lake; 9:20 A. M. Helen Lee, Van Cortlandt; Viola Rave, Pelham; Anne
Rosenberg, Split Rock; and Minnie Fullen, Mosholu.

            Sharing the Dyker Beach course with the Women's Championship
will be the Junior Boys City Wide Finals.  The winner and runner-up in each
course championship will play 36 holes of medal play for the City title,
last year's champion, Roger Shephard, from the Silver Lake course, Staten
Island, will defend his title.  Shephard qualified for the finals by
finishing in the runner-up position to Sven Martinson in his course
tournament.

            The Junior Boys play will bring together some of New York's
outstanding college freshman and P.S.A.L. golfers.  Among the most
outstanding are Bobby Drasser, Kissena champion and former number one man on
the Flushing High School golf team; Sam Schwartz, runner-up in the 1940
championship and the Dyker Beach title holder; Sol Hartman, captain elect of
the New Utrecht High School, City P.S.A.L. Golf Championship Team; Bob
Neuman, the 1940 Clearview king and number one man on the Queens-Bronx
P.S.A.L.  Championship, Bayside High School team.  Mosholu will be
represented by their champion Harold Zolkind of the DeWitt Clinton Golf Team
and James Boyd, a member of Columbia University's freshman squad.  The
youngest entrants will be two fifteen year old Stuyvesant High School boys,
Frank Marone and Ed Formisano who are the champion and runner-up
respectively from the Pelham course.

            The first foursome will start at 8:30 A. M. with Sam Schwartz,
Dyker Beach; Sven Martinson, Silver Lake; Bob Drasser, Kissena; Walter
Lupton, Forest Park; 8:35 A. M. Frank Braider, Clearview; Jack Breakstone,
Van Cortlandt; Harold Zolking, Mosholu; Frank Marone, Pelham; 8:40 A.M.
Armand Bossi, Split Rock; Nick Callucci, LaTourette; Sol Hartman, Dyker
Beach; Roger Shephard, Silver Lake; 8:45 A. M. Stuart Malinari, Kissena;
Louis Zupan, Forest Park; Bob Neuman, Clearview; David Kaufman, Van
Cortlandt; 8:50 A. M. James Boyd, Mosholu; Ed Formisano, Pelham; Al Tranfo,
Split Rock; Robert Grillo, LaTourette.

                                 * * * * *

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Friday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          August 8, 1941




             The Department of Parks announces that the city-wide finals of
the girls' softball tournament will take place on Saturday, August 9, at
2:00 P.M., at Heckscher Playground, 62 Street and West Drive, Central Park.

             Girls 17 years of age and over were eligible to compete in this
tournament.  Playground and inter-playground games were held in each borough
to determine the most representative team for the interborough competitions
which ultimately will determine the city-wide championship team.

             The two teams which will p l a y next Saturday afternoon are
composed of girls from park playgrounds in the boroughs of Queens and Bronx.

             Gold medals, together with sweatshirts bearing the sycamore
leaf, emblem of the Park Department, will be awarded to the members of the
winning team and silver medals to those on the losing team.

                                 * * * * *

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS                         FOR RELEASE   Wednesday
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                                     August 6,1941
TEL. REGENT 4-1000


         The first of a weekly series of aquatic and stage shows will be
presented this evening, Wednesday, August 6, at 8J30 P.M.  at the Flushing
Meadow Amphitheatre, Flushing Meadow Park, Queens.

         The stage show will consist of George Sterney and his orchestra and
vaudeville acts.

          The water show will have Pete Des Jardins, Olympic champion diver;
ELbert Root, national diving champion; Madeline Carsons women's diving
champion; a comedy troupe and the aquabelles in a water ballet.

          The Amphitheatre may be reached by bus from Woodhaven Boulevard
and Main Street, Flushing. Free parking is available for those who come by
car.

          There are 7000 seats at 20¢ and seats in the reserve section
will sell for 35¢.


-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Monday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          August 4, 1941



         The Park Department announces the completion of the development of
Plum Island, Marine Park, Brooklyn. This new recreation area provides a
small parking field just off the Belt Parkway, 50 picnic tables and 40
fireplaces, serviced by a concession building, comfort station, and
approximately 1000 feet of boardwalk.

         The area can be reached by automobile from the Belt Parkway just
east of Sheepshead Bay.  It is also accessible from the Belt Parkway
pedestrian and bicycle paths.

         The area is designed primarily for picnicking and is the only
picnic ground in a New York City park located on a sand beach. The
concession consists of a counter for cafeteria service; the concessionaire
will handle the usual line of ice cream, soft drinks, sandwiches candy and
cigarettes, and will also sell charcoal for use in the fireplaces.

         The Department also announces the completion of a public comfort
station and chair and umbrella stand on the easterly extension of Coney
Island boardwalk at Brighton Beach.  This comfort station will serve the
half mile extension of the beach which was purchased by the City last year
and after reconstruction opened to the public this season. This new
structure has been designed to accommodate a future upward extension in the
form of a cafeteria at the boardwalk level.

         The construction of both of these new developments was performed by
the Work Projects Administration from plans prepared by the Department of
Parks.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Monday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          August 4, 1941




             Bids were opened today by the Department of Parks at the
Arsenal Building for reconstructing a portion of the lighting system in
Central Park in connection with the repaving of the East Drive, between East
59th Street and approximately East 74th Street, Borough of Manhattan.  When
completed, the new lighting system will extend from West 110th Street to
East 74th Street.  The remaining portion of the electrical work will be done
under contract when the old section of the East Drive from 74th Street to
approximately 110th Street and Seventh Avenue is repaved.

             The work under this contract includes the relocation of
existing light posts and addition of new lighting, construction of
pull boxes, new conduit and cable and connections for relocation of
traffic signal  lights.

             The three low bidders on this contract are:

             1. Elco Installation Company                      $17,949.00
                345 East 23 Street, New York City

             2. Welsbach Street -Lighting Company of America    22,539.00
                42-30 24th Street, Long Island City

             3. Simpson Electric Corporation                    24,448.00
                71 East 116 Street, New York City

                                      
                                  * * * *

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Monday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          August 4, 1941


           The Department of Parks announces the completion of the first
section of the newly developed Shore Road Park, Brooklyn, extending from Bay
Ridge Avenue to 72nd Street, adjacent to the Belt Parkway.  This area
comprises a short section of the project for the general development of
Shore Road Park, 2¼ miles in length between Owl's Head Park and Fort
Hamilton, a water-front park which borders the full length of the east shore
of the Narrows.  Consisting of a wide variety of active recreational
facilities including playgrounds, comfort stations, athletic fields and
field houses, court games areas, bicycle paths, promenades, etc.,
approaching completion along the upper level of Shore Road and the lower
level of the parkway, the entire development will be finished rapidly in
successive stages.

           Preparatory to the new work and to permit a coordinated
development between the Shore Road promenade and the lower park area, it was
necessary to remove a considerable quantity of old paving, benches and
drinking fountains.  The new pro menade along the west side of Shore Road
consists of a 12' wide central walk paved with hexagonal tiles flanked by
two 6' wide concrete block paved panels containing benches and trees.  A
wrought iron picket fence has been set in the curb along the west side of
the promenade.  From the benches at the top of the slope fine views of the
Narrows aid. Staten Island may be enjoyed.  A large irrigated sand pit has
been constructed in an offset of the promenade opposite 70th Street.

           Entrances to the lower area from the promenade have been made at
a point midway between Bay Ridge Avenue and 70th Street and directly
opposite 72nd Street.  Wide bituminous surfaced walks lead to the oval grass
surfaced free play area developed in the bay formed by the curve in Shore
Road.  Benches and drinking fountains have been spaced at frequent intervals
along the walks and around the play field.  A wrought iron picket fence
separates the park area from the parkway.

           A large quantity of trees and shrubs have been planted on the
side slopes and around the play area including the Elms, Oaks, Planes,
Hawthornes, Flowering Crab Apples, Beach Plums, Sweet Ferns, Elderberries,
Bayberries, Sumac and several varieties of bank binding roses.

           The project which was designed by the Department of Parks and
constructed by the Work Projects Administration also included drainage,
irrigation and park lighting. 

                                   * * *

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Thursday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          July 31, 1941


            The Department of Parks' City-wide match play in Municipal Golf
Championships for the Newbold Morris Trophy will start on Saturday, August
2, 1941 a t 12:45 a t the LaTourette Golf Course, in Staten Island.  All
those who have qualified last week at LaTourette Golf Course will be able to
com pete on Saturday.  The most represented golf courses are Split Rock of
the Bronx and Forest Park of Queens, with five representatives from each;
Dyker Beach in Brooklyn, Kissena in Queens and LaTourette i n Richmond, are
next with four representatives from each; Van Cortlandt and Clearview with
three; and Mosholu and silver Lake with two, making a total of thirty-two
contestants.

            The following is the list of qualifiers:

Charles Amandoles, LaTourette; Tom Strafaci, Dyker Beach; Al Gray, Forest
Park; William Thoren, Dyker Beach; Joe Sage, Split Rock; Bob Reilly,
Dyker Beach; Joe Farrell, Split Rock; Irving Lindenbaum, Forest Park;
Al Pires, Kissena; N. Peters, Split Rock; Ed Bednarz, Forest Park; William
Young, Van Cortlandt; Ken Furuya, Van Cortlandt; Paul Lawrence, Clearview;
Bob Schlosser, Forest Park; George Anderson, Silver Lake; Mike Horgan;
Mosholu; M. Zizek, Kissena; Robert Genchi, Dyker Beach; Id Kahan, Mosholu;
Svbn Martinsen, Silver Lake; Bob Drasser, Kissena; Bob Joyce, Clearview;
Bob Brauchle, Forest Park; Frank Hahn, LaTourette; Steve Mauragh, Split
Rock; John Mauragh, Split Rock; Mike Higgins, Clearview; Al Kramer,
LaTourette; Anthony Tomaino, Van Cortlandt; Bud Barnett, Latourette; John
Desiderio, Kissena.

            Of these thirty-two men, sixteen will qualify for the second
round on Sunday, August 3, 1941 at 9 A. M., and of these sixteen, eight
will qualify for the third round to be played at 1 P. M. on the same day.

                                 **********

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
   (      )                THE CITY OF NEW YORK         George E Spargo
   ( SEAL )                 DEPARTMENT OF PARKS            Executive Officer
   (      )                       -------                William H. Latham
                                  ARSENAL                  Park Engineer
 Robert Moses           64th STREET AND FIFTH AVENUE     James A. Dawson
     Commissioner               CENTRAL PARK               Senior Park Director
                               New York City             James A. Sherry
                                                           Chief Clerk


                                    July 31, 1941




Gentlemen:

          Addendum No. 1 to Contract

          "For furnishing all labor and materials, together with all
          work incidental thereto, necessary or required for Park
          Lighting in connection with the Repaving of the East Drive
          in Central Park from East 59th Street and 5th Avenue to
          East 74th Street, Borough of Manhattan, known as Contract
          No. M-10-241."

          You are hereby notified that:

          1. On Page 38 of the specifications, under "LIGHTING STANDARDS,"
the first three paragraphs reading as follows:

               "The Department of Water Supply, Gas and Electricity
          Contractor will install Type !IG" permanent lighting
          standards and luminaires and wire same from cutout to luminaire.

               "The Contractor shall install the necessary concrete
          footings for lighting standards at locations shown on plans
          and shall install the necessary elbows and nipples in the
          forms for concrete foundations before pouring same. The
          Contractor shall furnish and install in each standard a fuse
          cutout with fuses, as shown on plans.

                     "B" Lighting Standards shall be obtained from the
          Department of Water Supply, Gas and Electricity and transported
          to site by the Contractor and installed and wired in accordance
          with the Department of Water Supply, Gas and Electricity Drawing
          No. H-2663. The Contractor shall furnish and install Type "B"
          luminaires in accordance with the Department of Water Supply,
          Gas and Electricity Drawing No. H-2035 dated January 15, 1941."

are eliminated from the contract, and the following paragraphs substituted
therefor:

               "The Department of Water Supply, Gas and Electricity
          will install Types "F" and "G" permanent lighting
          standards and luminaires and wire same from cutout to luminaire.

               "This Contractor shall install the necessary concrete
          footings for lighting standards at locations shown on plans
          and shall install the necessary elbows and nipples in the
          forms for concrete foundations before pouring same. The
          Contractor shall furnish and install in each standard a fuse
          cutout with fuses, as shown on plans.

              "Types "BM and "E" Lighting Standards shall be obtained
         from the Department of Water Supply, Gas and Electricity and
         transported to site by the Contractor and installed and wired
         in accordance with the Department of Water Supply, Gas and
         Electricity Drawing No. H-2663. The Contractor shall furnish
         and install Type "B" luminaires in accordance with the 
         Department of Water Supply, Gas and Electricity Drawing No. 
         H-2085 dated January 15, 1941."

          2. On Page 40 of the specifications, under "WIRE FOR LIGHTS
UNDER BRIDGES", the paragraph reading as follows:

              "Wiring for lights under bridges except where otherwise
         noted shall consist of #12 B&S solid single conductor rubber
         insulated double braid covered wire for both neutral and phase
         legs, and shall conform to the requirements for cables outlined
         in the preceding paragraphs."

is eliminated from the contract, and the following paragraph substituted
therefor:

              "Wiring for lights under bridges except where otherwise
         noted shall consist of #12 B&S solid single conductor rubber
         insulated lead covered wire for both neutral and phase legs,
         and shall conform to the requirements for cables outlined in
         the preceding paragraphs."

          3. On Page 44 of the specifications, under "IDENTIFICATION
PLATES", the paragraph reading as follows:

              "The Contractor shall furnish and install identification
         plates on all lampposts as per Drawing #D-2361, on file at the
         Department of Water Supply, Gas and Electricity."

is eliminated from the contract, and the following paragraph substituted
therefor:

              "The Contractor shall furnish and install identification
         plates on all lampposts and at all bridge underdeck lights as
         per Drawing #D-286^., on file at the Department of Water Supply,
         Gas and Electricity.

         4. On Page 45 of the specifications, under "POLES", after
the first paragraph, the following paragraph is hereby added to the
contract:

              "In addition to the temporary lighting shown on the
          plans, the Contractor shall furnish and install on the East
          Drive between 72nd and 74th Streets, five (5) temporary
          overhead poles with necessary wiring and wiring supports. He
          shall install brackets and lamp fixtures on these, all in
          accordance with the specifications outlined above. The
          installation shall be carried out as directed by the Engineer."

                                        Very truly yours



                                         (signature)
                                         WILLIAM H. LATHAM
                                           Park Engineer

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Thursday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          July 31, 1941


                 The Department of Parks' Municipal Tennis Tournament has
reached its final stages with only two more days of play before the
championships in the men's, women's and junior divisions are decided.  On
Saturday, August 2nd, at Eandall's Island all quarter and semi-final matches
will be played, and on Sunday, August 3rd, all final matches will be played
at Central Park.  Play will start at 11 A.M. each morning and will continue
on through the day.

                 In the men's singles we find that only two out of the six
men seeded have survived to the quarter finals.  Bill lurie, the runner-up
last year and favorite to win this year, had no trouble reaching his present
position.  The other seeded player to survive this round is none other than
Dan Hume, last year's Brooklyn runner-up.

                 In the women's division we find the four seeded players:
Misses Germaine, Burrell, Freeman and Irwin, still remaining in the quarter
finals.  Last year Miss Germaine and Miss Freeman ended up in first and
second place.

                 The Junior Division reached its fourth round with three
seeded players surviving, namely, Paul Rachwalsky, Marc Kahn and Thomas
Burke; the fourth S. Sclafani being eliminated in a previous round,
H. Burdick is the newcomer who completes the four semi-finalists.

                 The women's doubles matches are in their final round and the
men's doubles in the quarter final round.

                 The following is a composite of the late round of all
divisions: 

             Fourth Round Men's Singles

Marcus (Brooklyn)    vs Schein (Manhattan);  Eldridge(Bronx) vs Diamond(Man.)

Lurie (Manhattan) vs  Goldstein(Brooklyn); Hume (Brooklyn) vs  Shassol(Bronx)

             Fourth Round Women's Singles

Misses Germain (Manhattan)    vs winner of Irwin and Keilin(Bronx)

Burrell (Manhattan)           vs Freeman (Manhattan)

             Junior Division Fourth Round

Rackwalsky (Brooklyn)    vs   Burke (Queens)

Kahn (Manhattan)         vs   Burdick (Brooklyn)



                                   * * *

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                             I
Telephoned to the Papers - July 30, 1941

Due to inclement weather the aquatic and stage show scheduled to take place
tonight, Wednesday, July 30, at the Flushing Meadow Amphitheatre, Flushing
Meadow Park, Queens, has been postponed until next Wednesday, August 6, at
8:30 P.M;

There will be 7000 seats at 20¢ and seats in the reserve section will sell
for 35¢. Tickets will be on sale a t the box office starting August 1st.


Phoned: City News - WOrth 2-6200   10:40 A.M.

        Standard News - BEekman 3-2130   10:45 A.M.

        Daily Mirror - Murray Hill 2-1000   10:42 A.M.

        Bronx Home News - Mott Haven 9-4400    10:48 A.M.

        Brooklyn Citizen - Triangle 5-6700     10:52 A$M.

        Brooklyn Daily lagle - MAim 4-6200     10:55 A.M.

        P.M. - STerling 3-2501    10:58 A.M.

        L.I.   DAILY STAR JOURNAL  - STillwell 4-6600   11:02 A.M.

        L.I. Daily Press - REpublic 9-3200   11:09 A.M.

        S.I. Advance Gibraltar 2-4200    11:10 A.M.



                                   ME
                                     7/30/41

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Monday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          July 28, 1941


          The Department of Parks announces the completion and opening of a
new playground in Queens at the junction of Laurelton Parkway and Southern
Parkway sections of the Belt Parkway System. At the same time four sitting
areas with sandpits and a small playground are approaching completion along
the Laurelton Parkway northward to Southern Parkway.

          Developed on a narrow strip of park area between the Montauk
Division of the Long Island Railroad and North Conduit Avenue, the new
playground will serve the residents of laurelton north and west of the
parkway. The plot, 80' x 650', is completely enclosed by a high chain link
fence with three wide gate entrances provided from North Conduit Avenue. A
wide concrete block panel planted with a row of twenty-four pin oaks extends
along the entire length of the north fence.  Detached units of continuous
benches have been set between the trees.

          The long rectangular playground surfaced with bituminous material
is divided into three main sections by chain link fencing and tree planted
concrete block surfaced malls. These units are subdivided into use areas by
low fencing and continuous rows of benches.

          The compartment at the east end has a large open free play area
bordered by a pipe frame exercise unit, two slides, and a fence protected
battery of swings for older children.

          Westward, separated from the play apparatus area by chain link
fencing with gates, is the larger central court games area containing two
concrete surfaced handball courts, two combination basketball and volleyball
courts and two paddle tennis courts.  A flag pole stands near the cross axis
of this area adjacent to the south fence.

          The west end of the playground contains facilities for pre-school
children, including open free play areas, a 30' battery of chair swings, two
slides, four see-saws and an irrigated sand-pit with benches on three sides
for use of the guardians who accompany the children and a large circular
shower basin.

          The existing planting on the slopes south of the playground
adjacent to the railroad right-of-way has been supplemented with 1,500 bank
binding honeysuckles and Boston ivy. The narrow triangular park areas
flanking the playground to the east and west have been provided with trees,
shrubs and grass areas.

          The project, designed by the Department of Parks and constructed
by the Work Projects Administration, also included grading, drainage,
irrigation and drinking fountains.

          In 1934 there were 119 playgrounds in the five boroughs; 58 of
which have been reconstructed.  At the present time there are 441
playgrounds in the Park system.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Saturday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          July 26, 1941


                     A team of eight from each of the Department of Parks'
ten municipal courses will tee off at 8 A.M. on Sunday, July 27th, at Forest
Park to play for the Municipal Team Championship and the right to qualify
for the "Newbold Morris Tournament."  These eighty men represent the top
eight men from each course who qualified Ia3t Sunday in their course
championships.  The team championship will be 36 holes of medal play, with
the four low gross players representing any one course, the City-wide
Champions.  The thirty-two low gross scorers in the team championships will
qualify for the Municipal Championship, starting Saturday and Sunday, August
2 and 3, in 18 holes of match play on the LaTourette course, Staten Island.
The semi-finals will be played on the same course on Saturday, August 9, in
36 holes of match play.  On Sunday, August 10, the two fine lists will
battle it out for the title of the Municipal Champion and the "Newbold
Morris Trophy," in 36 holes of match play.

                     Tom Strafaci, last year's Municipal Champion, is the
favorite to retain his title.  Last Sunday Strafaci shot a 71 to win the
Dyker Beach course title.  Beside winning the crown last year, Tom has an
enviable record in competition; qualifier for the National Amateurs in 1936,
1937, 1938 and 1939; Staten Island Open Champion in 1938; runner up in the
Long Island Championship in 1938; finalist in the Metropolitan Championship
in 1940; qualifier for the National Public Links Tournament and
semi-finalist in the Metropolitan Public Links Tournement this year.  Joe
Sage, 1940 Mosholu champ, finalist in last year's tournament, moved over to
the Split Rock course this year and won the course title.  Sage is a former
N.Y.U. intercollegiate linksman and runner up in the New Jersey Public Links
Championship in 1939.

                     The Junior golfers are well represented, lead by Armand
Bassi, Senior Course Champion at Pelham, and Junior Champ at Split Rock;
Jack Breakstone, titleist at Van Cortlandt; Roger Shepard, Metropolitan
Junior Champion in 1940 from Silver Lake; Sven Martinsen, Champion of Silver
Lake; Bob Drasser, Flushing High School Ace, Junior Champion in 1940 and
1941 at Kissena and Robert Schlasser, 1940 Junior King at Forest Park.

                                  * * * *

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Department of Parks                            For Release   Friday
Arsenal, Central Park                                        July 25,1941
Tel. Regent 4-1000


        The Flushing Meadow Amphitheatre, located in Flushing Meadow Park at
the junction of Horace Harding Boulevard and Grand Central Parkway, will be
opened by Mayor LaGuardia on Saturday evening, July 26th at 8:30 P.M.  After
brief ceremonies the Philharmonic Symphony Orchestra will give a special
concert.  This is the first time that the Philharmonic Symphony Orchestra
has left Lewisohn Symphony where they play nightly during the summer
season. The conductor will be Efrem Kurtz and Joan Field will be the violin
soloist.

        The program will be Weber's "Euryanthe" Overture; Lalo: Symphonie
Espagnole; Beethoven's Symphony No. 7 in A Major; Wagner's Rienzi Overture.

        Tickets for the performance are on sale at the Steinway Hall Box
Office, 113 West 57th Street and at all Postal Telegraph Offices. The box
office at the Amphitheatre will be opened at 10 A.M., Saturday morning.  In
case of rain the performance will be held Sunday night.

        The swimming pool will open to the public on Sunday morning at 10
A.M.  Week days and Saturday morning, the pool will be free to children
under fourteen years of age.  After 1 P.M. on week days, and all day Sunday
prices will be 10¢ for children under fourteen and 200 for all over
fourteen.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Friday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          July 25, 1941


              The Department of Parks announces the formation of another
travelling puppet and marionette troupe.  To date, 52,000 children have
enjoyed the puppet and marionette shows of the Park Department travelling
theatre.  The program in connection with the newly formed troupe will
include the manipulation of hand puppets, community singing and magic
demonstrations.

              In many of the playgrounds, magic and puppetry clubs have been
organized.  Children put on their own magic shows, construct and manipulate
their own puppets.  The newly formed puppet and marionette troupe, which
will put on a show, demonstrate and interest thousands of additional
children, will visit 26 playgrounds from July 28 to August 29. Two
performances will be given daily at 11 A. M. and 2 P. M. at each of the
following locations:

Monday, July 28     Lindsay Playground, Lorimer & Johnson Avenue, Brooklyn
Tuesday, July 29    Betsy Head, Hopkinson and Dumont Avenues, Brooklyn
Wednesday, July 30  Bedford Avenue and Avenue X, Brooklyn
Thursday, July 31   Stillwell Avenue and Avenue U, Brooklyn
Friday, August 1    Neptune Avenue and West 28 Street, Brooklyn
Monday, August 4    Crotona Park, Crotona Park East & Charlotte Street, Bronx
Tuesday, August 5   Lyons Square Plgd, Aldus, Bryant & Whitlock Aves.,Bronx
Wednesday, August 6-Mullaly Playground, 165 Street and Jerome Avenue, Bronx
Thursday, August 7  Williamsbridge Playground, E208 St. & Bainbridge Ave.,Bronx
Friday, August 8    Ciccarone Playground, E. 188 Street & Hughes Avenue, Bronx
Monday, August 11   St. Mary's West, East 146 Street & St. Ann's Avenue, Bronx
Tuesday, August 12  St. James Playground, E. 193 Street & Jerome Avenue, Bronx
Wednesday,August 13-Riis Park, Rockaway, Queens
Thursday, August 14-Flushing Memorial Playground, Bayside Avenue and 25 Avenue,
                              149-150 Streets, Queens
Friday, August 15   Dry Harbor Pgnd, 80 St. & Myrtle Ave., Glendale, Queens
Monday, August 18   Von Dohlen Plgd, 138 St. & Archer Place,Jamaica, Queens
Tuesday, August 19  0'Connell Plgd, 196 Street and 114 Ave.,St.Albans,Queens
Wednesday,August 20-0'Connor Plgd, 32-33 Aves. & 210 Street, Bayside,Queens
Thursday, August 21-30th Road Plgd, 30 Road & 45-46 S t s ., Astoria, Queens
Friday, August 22   Mahoney Plgd, Beechwood & Crescent Aves., New Brighton,
                              Staten Island
Monday, August 25   De Matti Plgd, Tompkins Avenue, Rosebank, S. I.
Tuesday, August 26  Clove Lake, Victory Boulevard & Clove Road,
                              West Brighton,S.I.,
Wednesday,August 27-Lincoln Avenue Plgd, Midland Beach, Staten Island
Thursday, August 28-Abraham Levy Plgd, Jewett & Castleton Avenues, S.I.
Friday, August 29   McDonald Plgd, Forest Avenue near Broadway, West
                              Brighton, Staten Island

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Tuesday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          July 22, 1941


             The Park Department announces that bids were opened today on a
contract for repaving a portion of the Queens section of the
Bronx-Whitestone Parkway between approximately 26 Street and Northern
Boulevard, Borough of Queens.

             The work consists of the placing of a bituminous macadam top
course on a broken stone base, including reconstruction of curbing and
drainage facilities in areas where the road surface has become unduly
depressed because of the generally poor subsurface conditions existing in
the low marsh areas through which a portion of the parkway traverses.

             Included in the contract is the grading, topsoiling and seeding
of lawn areas and transplanting of various trees and shrubs.

     The three lowest bidders for the work were the following:

     1. Frank Mascali & Sons, Inc.               $19,437.20
        4634 Third Avenue, Bronx, N. Y.

     2. William P. McDonald Construction Co.      21,233.50
        33-15 Lawrence Street, Flushing, N. Y.

     3. J. Leopold & Company                      21,721.40
        60 East 42 Street, New York City


                                 * * * * *

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Tuesday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          July 22, 1941


20323               delivered 7/21/41
1 develop. plan
1 location map        


              The Department of Parks announces the completion and opening
of a new playground and comfort station on the 3/4 acre plot bounded by
Avenue "V", East 24 Street, Gravesend Neck Road and Bedford Avenue,
Brooklyn.

              Lying midway between the William E. Kelly Memorial Playground
and the Bill Brown Memorial Playground, which are located l/2 mile north and
south respectively, this new addition approximates a desirable spacing for
these neighborhood recreational units.  The large recreational field at the
north end of Marine Park is about one mile to the east.

              Completely enclosed with a chain link fence, entrance to the
new playground is afforded by two wide double gates leading from Avenue "V"
and one double gate from Gravesend Neck Road.  New concrete walks have been
centered in the 24' sidewalk area along Avenue "V" and Bedford Avenue with a
row of pin oaks on each side in panels of concrete blocks.  Continuous
sections of benches have been placed against the Avenue "V" property line
fence adjacent to the entrances.  A concrete walk extends along East 24
Street and Gravesend Neck Road with a single row of trees spaced in a
concrete block strip adjacent to the playground fence.  Two groups of
benches are placed between the trees along Gravesend Neck Road.

              The playground is subdivided into three units by two concrete
block paved panels with a double row of benches spaced between the shade
trees.  The surface of the area is smooth bituminous macadam.

              A brick comfort station and recreation building has been built
in the large central compartment between the two entrances from Avenue
"V". A 32' diameter shower basin is centered in a large open space north of
the building.  The subdivision along Bedford Avenue, reserved for pre-school
children contains see-saws, slides and chair-swings protected by a chain
link fence.  A sand pit irrigated to permit the sand to be cleaned is in the
southeast corner bounded by benches.  The smallest of the three units, lying
at the tapered end of the plot along East 24 Street contains a pipe frame
exercise unit, two play slides and swings for older children.

              The playground was constructed by the Work Projects
Administration from plans prepared by the Department of Parks.  In 1934
there were 119 playgrounds; 58 of which have been reconstructed.  At present
there are 440 playgrounds in the Park system,

                                  * * * *

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Monday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          July 21, 1941


         The Department of Parks announces the completion of construction in
connection with the development of certain areas of the Queensbridge Park
playground development. This new recreational facility undertaken as an
adjunct to the Queensbridge Municipal Housing Project at the east end of the
Queensborough Bridge which was opened for occupancy last year is expected
not only to be instrumental in avoiding wear and tear on the landscaped
areas around the housing development formerly used for play purposes, but
also to meet the recreational needs of this rapidly growing section of the
City.

         The playground is adjacent to the housing project on two sides,
facing the south boundary and extending in part under the bridge approaches
between 21 Street and Vernon Boulevard, and bordering the west front of the
housing in the area between Vernon Boulevard and the East River.

         Three and a half acres of land under the bridge were released for
the use of the Park Department by the Commissioner of Public Works. The old
State Barge office property was given to the City by the State for park use
at the request of the Commissioner of Parks. This plot contained 3 acres.
The balance of the 24½-acre park was acquired by the Housing Authority.

         The southerly section lying alongside and under the bridge
structure has been developed for specialized intensive forms of recreation
adapted to the needs of various age groups. Central to this section is a new
comfort station located on the line of 10 Street and surrounded by play
apparatus for small children: sand pit, wading pool, swings, etc., and
extending to the east a series of game areas for older patrons: volleyball,
basketball and handball courts. The area westward to Vernon Boulevard has
been left open for general play purposes such as softball and group
games. Flanking the entire development on the north, as a transition between
the park area and the housing grounds, is a thirty-foot wide mall bordered
by trees and benches.  Trees have also been planted within the playground to
furnish shade and to mark the separations between the various use areas.

          The waterfront development, a plot of thirteen acres on the west
side of Vernon Boulevard and north of the Queensborough Bridge, has more the
character of a neighborhood park although it too is largely devoted to
active forms of recreation. The path system encloses an oval field large
enough to accommodate football and four softball diamonds. A smaller oval
lawn contains an inner paved roadway for use as a bicycle and roller skating
area.  A small children's playground is tucked into the northeast corner on
Vernon Avenue. The river front itself has been provided with a new seawall
backed by a broad promenade plentifully supplied with benches overlooking
the river and the Manhattan skyline. At the south end of the park, under the
north parapet of the bridge is a modern concession building. South of this
building and under the bridge structure is space allocated for a future bank
of fourteen tennis courts. The various areas outlined by the walk systems
have been graded, topsoiled and seeded to lawn or planted with trees and
shrubs.

          Before the area under the bridge can be opened to the public, the
Department of Public Works must erect "pans" under the bridge to protect
people in the area from objects falling off the structure.

          Plans for the entire development were prepared by the Design
Division of the Department of Parks, and the work was performed by the Work
Projects Administration.

          In 1934 there were 119 playgrounds in the five boroughs; 58 of which
have been reconstructed. At present there are 438 playgrounds in the Park
system.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Sunday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          July 20, 1941


           The Department of Parks announced the gift by the Long Island
College Hospital to the City of four parcels of land assessed at #46,500.
in the block bounded by Hicks Street, Amity Street, Columbia Street and
Pacific Street, Brooklyn.  Deeds to the property were forwarded to the Park
Department by Tracy S. Voorhees, president of the Board of Regents of the
Long Island College Hospital.  This gift of land for conversion into a park
was made by the hospital from a special fund provided from outside sources
specifically for this purpose.  The new playground replaces some of the
poorest tenements in Brooklyn.

           The hospital's generous land donation will provide the nucleus of
a park to be located in the blocks bounded by Columbia Street, Pacific
Street, Hicks Street and Congress Street, an area comprising some 160,000
square feet with a frontage of approximately 470 feet on Hicks Street and a
depth of 340 feet on Amity Street.  The remaining property to be included in
the park will be acquired by condemnation in connection with the Hicks
Street widening which was approved by the Board of Estimate on June 26,
1941.  The Park Department has been anxious to provide a play area in this
neighborhood since 1934 but no city-owned land was available and no funds
for land acquisition could be obtained.

          The existing temporary playground at Amity Street and Columbia
Street will be abandoned and the two blocks will be combined into one large
parcel.  The whole area will be developed for park purposes.

          The part of the park facing the hospital will be a passive
recreational area and behind this area, and further from the hospital,
playground facilities will be installed.  With the widening of Hicks Street,
this will remove the active play area 200 feet from the nearest part of the
hospital property and 385 feet from the nearest hospital building.
Facilities in the playground will include a wading pool, children's play
area, softball field, basketball courts, handball courts, paddle tennis,
shuffleboard courts, a roller-skating area and a comfort station.

            For some time past, the hospital authorities have been desirous
not only of improving the appearance of the neighborhood adjacent to the
hospital but also facilities for health through rest and recreation for the
population of this congested district.  The plan originally was taken up
with the late Borough President Raymond V. Ingersoll and Councilman
Genevieve B. Earle who suggested it to the Park Department in the Fall of
1939.  Subsequently, Borough President John Cashmore continued to cooperate
with the Park Department and the hospital in the park acquisition.

            The Hospital Board of Regents in their efforts to obtain this
improvement have also sought to benefit the several important nearby
institutions, aside from the Long Island College Hospital, doing hospital or
medical work, including the long Island College of Medicine, Polhemus
Memorial Clinic, the Hoagland laboratory and St. Peter's Hospital, all of
which are in the immediate neighborhood of the area which will be devoted to
the new park.  The purchase of the land for park purposes from a special
fund is part of a long-term program of development which is being carried on
by the Long Island College Hospital at the present time.

             The hospital is one of Brooklyn's oldest medical institutions,
having been established in 1858.

                                  * * * *

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Saturday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          July 19, 1941


              The largest tennis tournament ever held in the metropolitan
area, in which over twenty-four hundred men, women and juniors entered the
preliminary rounds held on all the Park tennis courts, will reach the final
rounds on Saturday, July 19, on the Department of Parks'courts located on
Randall's Island.  One hundred and seventy-four players, the
quarter-finalists in their respective borough tournaments, will play for the
Municipal Tennis Championships,

              In the Manhattan Borough tournament Bill Lurie, runner up in
last year's Municipal Championships and former Metropolitan title holder won
the men's singles; the women's crown went to Virginia Burrell, a former
Californian who learned her tennis from the famous Bundy family; Mac Kahn,
the 1940 Junior Champion, retained his title; Barney Diamond and Bernie Levy
won the men's doubles and Virginia Burrell made it a double win by pairing
with Betty Grimes, in the women's doubles.  Miss Grimes was the finalist in
this year's New York State Junior Girls Tournament and is the co-holder of
the State doubles title with Judy Atterbury.  Due to two week-ends of rain,
the remainder of the borough championships will be sandwiched in between the
play for the City title.

             The largest draw of the tournament is the Men's Singles with 36
entrants.  Seeded number one is Bill Lurie, Manhattan Champion and winner of
the Metropolitan Crown three times; Vincent Paul from Queens, who has been
playing excellent tennis all season in national tournaments, the Long Island
and Queens Public Parks Champion, is seeded second; in third place is Al
Doyle, also from Queens, finalist with Paul this year in the Queens Public
Park Championship, and a former seeded star in the National Public Parks
ranks.  Don Hume of Brooklyn, former Brooklyn College Tennis Captain and
holder of that borough's crown for a number of years, is seeded fourth.
Fifth seeding goes to Nat Goldstein, also of Brooklyn.  Nat was the finalist
in 1940 for the Metropolitan title .  Allen Lobel, New York University star
from the Bronx, and Jerry Norman of Queens, are seeded sixth and seventh.
Norman is the co-holder of the National Mixed Doubles Championship in the
American Lawn Tennis Association.

              In the women's ranks top seeding goes to the National Public
Parks and 1940 winner of the New York Public Parks title, Helen Germaine,
She was the finalist in the New York State Women's Singles and Doubles
Championship, semi-finalist in the New Jersey State Singles Tournament,
co-holder of the Doubles crown with Millicent Hirsch Lang, and
quarter-finalist in the Eastern States matches held last week.  Right in
back of Miss Germaine, seeded second is Virginia Burrell, who captured the
Manhattan title this year, replacing Helen Germaine who was forced to
default in the quarter-final round because of other tournament engagements.
Third and fourth seeded stars are Ann Freeman and Natasha Irwin, Bronx title
holder for a number of years.

             Brooklyn's representative in the Junior Boys' Division, Paul
Rachwalsky, is seeded first.  He has been undefeated in P.S.A.L. competition
while a member of this year's Boys' High Squad.

             The Men's and Women's Doubles will find many of those who are
also performing in the Singles Tournaments.  Seeded first in the Men's
Doubles is Vincent Paul and Tom Burke, number one man on the Newtown High
School Tennis squad this year.  In the women's doubles division, seeded
first is Evelyn Kemptner and Grace Rothberg, finalists in the women's
doubles in the National Public Parks Championships in 1939, with Virginia
Burrell and Betty Grimes seeded second.

             Play will start at 11 A.M. in the Junior Boys' Singles with the
Men's and Women's Singles starting at 2 P . M.  On Sunday, July 20, the
Men's and Women's Doubles will start at 11 A. M. while the Singles will
resume play at 2 P. M.

             It is expected that the first two rounds will be completed on
this weekend.  The third and fourth rounds will finish the weekend of July
26 and 27, and the finals will-be held on the Central Park Courts, 93 Street
and West Drive, on Sunday, August 3, at 11 A. M.

             This tournament is part of the Department of Parks Second
Annual Sports Tournament in which championship events are held in swimming,
tennis and golf.  Trophies and medals for the Sports Tournament have been
donated by the Park Association of New York City, and will be presented to
the winners.  Joseph Carleton, President of the New York Public Parks Tennis
Association, will be the official referee.

                                  * * * *

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Friday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          July 18, 1941

          The Park Department announces the opening of bids on the contract
for construction of bridges and paving of Francis Lewis Boulevard between
Union Turnpike and McLaughlin Avenue, Borough of Queens. This is the first
contract for the proposed extension of Francis Lewis Boulevard providing for
filling in the gap between Horace Harding Boulevard and Hillside Avenue. At
present the road is in use from the Whitestone Bridge to Horace Harding and
from Hillside Avenue to Springfield Boulevard.  Upon completion of this
improvement, mixed traffic will be provided with a continuous north-south
route across Queens.

          The work under this contract provides for the construction of a
reinforced concrete bridge carrying Grand Central Parkway over Francis Lewis
Boulevard, including access roads for interchange of traffic. Another bridge
under the new roadway will permit park users to get from one section of the
park to another.

          In addition to the bridges and main roadways, there is included
all necessary drainage, irrigation, curbing, construction of park roads and
walks, bridle paths, lighting facilities and installation of directional
signs.

         Park areas abutting the work will be topsoiled, seeded and planted
with trees and shrubs under a separate contract and will be done during the
Spring of 1942.  During construction of the bridge at the Grand Central
Parkway intersection, traffic will be maintained over suitable temporary
detour roads.

          The three lowest bidders for the work were the following:

          1. Mill Basin Asphalt Co.                   $740,275.90
             5410 Avenue U, Brooklyn, N.Y.

          2. B. Turecamo Contracting Co., Inc.        $774,921.79
             Ft. 24th Avenue, Brooklyn, N.Y.

          3. Garofano Construction Co., Inc.          $784,000.00
             730 So. Columbus Ave., Mt. Vernon, N.Y.


                                   * * *

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Thursday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          July 17, 1941


             The best amateur golfers in the Metropolitan area have entered
the Golf Championship Tournament conducted by the Department of Parks for
the "Newbold Morris Trophy" which will start Sunday, July 20, at 9 A. M.  on
all of the ten Municipal Golf Courses. This trophy, a sterling silver cup
donated last year by Newbold Morris, President of the City Council, will be
in competition for sixty years, and the name of the annual winner of the New
York City Golf Championship will be inscribed upon it. In addition, the
annual winner will be presented with a replica of the larger trophy, also in
sterling silver, which he will retain.

             In last year's tournament, when the Newbold Morris cup was put
in competition for the first time over 2000 public links' players entered
from the ten municipal courses.  This year's tournament indicates a record
entry list.  Among those entered are, Tom Strafaci, last year's champion,
one of the Strafaci brothers found in every championship tournament in the
Metropolitan area.  Beside winning the crown last year Tom has an enviable
record in competition: qualifier for the National Amateurs in 1936, 1937,
1938, and 1939; Staten Island Open Champion in 1938; runner up in the Long
Island Championship in 1938; finalist in the Metropolitan Championship in
1940 and qualifier for the National Public Links Tournament this year.  Joe
Sage of Pelham, finalist in last year's tournament, a former N. Y. U,
intercollegiate linksman and runner up in the New Jersey Public Links
Championship in 1939; Andy Timoshuk of Kissena, former Flushing High School
inter scholastic ace who was a quarter finalist last year and the team
champions of 1940, John Mikrut, Olin Cerroki, Joe Oleska, Dom Strafaci and
Frank Strafaci, from Dyker Beach are also entered in the tournament.

             For the past three months, anyone desiring to qualify for this
tournament turned over to the course Supervisor his three lowest gross
scores attested by the three other members of his foursome.  The thirty-two
low gross scorers on each course will compete on Sunday, July 20, at 9
A. M. in eighteen holes of medal play for the course championship and for
the right to be included in a team-of-eight which will represent their
respective course in the city-wide course championship.  Trophies will be
awarded by the Department of Parks to the individual course champions. The
teams-of-eight which have been selected will compete on Sunday, July 27, at
Forest Park Golf Course in 36 holes of medal play for the city-wide course
team championship.  The four low gross scorers from any one course will
decide the team championship.  The winning team will receive a team trophy
that will remain permanently on display in the clubhouse of the course they
represent.

             On Saturday and Sunday, August 2 and 3, the thirty-two low
gross-scorers will begin eighteen holes of match play on the LaTourette
Course, Staten Island to determine the trophy winner.

             The semi-finals will be played on the same course on Saturday,
August 9 with thirty-six holes of match play.  On Sunday, August 10, the two
finalists will battle it out for the title of the Municipal Champion and the
Newbold Morris Trophy, in thirty-six holes of match play.

                                  * * * *

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Wednesday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          July 16, 1941


                   Through the efforts of ex-Governor Smith, fourteen
Japanese Saika Deer have been donated to the Department Parks by Mr. George
W. Hill, president of the American Tobacco Company,

                   This type of deer is becoming very scarce because of the
present war conditions. The herd consists of six bucks, five does, and three
fawns.

                   The deer will be brought to the Central Park Zoo late
Wednesday afternoon by truck from Mr. Hill's estate, Irvington on the
Hudson.

                   The collection is to be divided between the Central Park
and Prospect Park zoos. Because of the limited space, only one buck, two
does, and a fawn will be left in Central Park; the remainder will be placed
on exhibition in the Prospect Park Zoo.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Wednesday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          July 16, 1941


           Two of the nation's most outstanding feminine swimmers will
attempt to break the existing world's record for the fifty (50) meter
backstroke and the one hundred (100) meter medley, in a special race,
Wednesday evening, July 16, at the Highbridge Pool, Manhattan.

           Gloria Gallen of the W. S. A., one of the best women swimmers in
competition today, has been breaking records and winning championships for
the past four years.  At the age of thirteen, she won the Senior
Metropolitan Half-Mile Free Style Championship, at the age of fourteen, the
National Long Distance Swimming Championship and today at seventeen holds
the American record for fifty (50) meters, seventy-five yards and one
hundred ten (110) meters backstroke.  Over the past weekend she lowered her
record for one hundred ten (110) yards backstroke by two-fifths of a second,
to 1:18:2 and her fifty (50) meter backstroke three-fifths of a second to
36:2.  She will attempt to lower this further to 36 seconds flat as she has
been doing at Highbridge Pool, where she has been practicing during the past
few weeks.

           Helene Raines, a team mate of Miss Callen and a member of the
National Outdoor three hundred (300) meter medley championship team; the
Senior Metropolitan Indoor and Outdoor two hundred twenty (220) yard relay
breast stroke team; Senior Metropolitan Individual half mile and Senior
Metropolitan Individual Medley Champion, will attempt to lower the existing
mark for the one hundred fifty (150) meter Individual Outdoor medley record.
Lorainne Fisher, another member of W. S. A. set the record last September
when she covered the distance in 2:11:5 at Bear Mountain.

           These races against time will be the feature of a water carnival
to be held at the Highbridge Pool, Amsterdam Avenue and 173rd Street,
Manhattan.

                                  * * * *

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Tuesday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          July 15, 1941

Pix 20243
    20244
    1 development plan
    1 location map

              The Department of Parks announces the completion of work in
connection with the construction of an overlook sitting area on the shore
of the Hudson River adjacent to the promenade in Riverside Park Extension
opposite West 149 and West 150 Streets.

              A 7' high reinforced concrete retaining wall, 225' in length,
has been constructed on an existing concrete slab which overlaid the shore
rip rap and adjacent bank.  One thousand cubic yards of backfill was placed
to create a 70' x 150' rectangular offset 10' above the water level and at
the same elevation as the promenade.  Six hundred and fifty lineal feet of
4' high wrought iron picket fence has been set in the retaining wall and
extends along the water front side of the promenade to connect with the
existing fence.

              The sitting area has been paved with bituminous material to
match the promenade.  A 10' wide concrete block panel, planted with eleven
3"-4" diameter red oaks extends around three sides of the bay and nine
4-unit sections of benches placed between the trees, facing the water.  Six
additional oaks and four benches were placed in the paved area to assure
shade and adequate seating facilities from which views of the river and the
Palisades might be enjoyed.

              This project which was built by the Work Projects
Administration from plans prepared by the Department of Parks also included
drainage and lighting.

                                  * * * *

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Monday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          July 14, 1941


            On Saturday evening, July 26, the Department of Parks will
reopen the New York State Amphitheatre, located at the north end of Meadow
Lake in Flushing Meadow Park, Queens.  This facility was one of the few
permanent structures at the World's Fair and was a contribution by the State
to the recreation system of the City.

            Since the close of the Fair, workmen have been busily engaged in
dismantling the old temporary Aquacade tank, remodelling the stage,
providing dressing room facilities and constructing new permanent, modern
outdoor swimming and diving pools between the amphitheatre and the stage.

            The new pool will be of concrete faced with tile.  Roughly
semi-circular, following the curve of the amphitheatre, it will be 300 feet
long, 33 feet in width at the ends and 70 feet in the center.  At each end
there will be diving pools eleven feet deep and diving towers with 3, 5 and
10 meter platforms.  The depth of the pool will be 3 feet 6 inches at the
edges to four feet in the center.  It will be floodlighted at night.

            Besides providing public swimming facilities for the rapidly
increasing population in this section of Queens, it will also be used, with
the stage and 3500 unobstructed, tiered seats which have been retained, to
present water carnivals, pageants, concerts, and other spectacles in the
evening.

            Parking facilities for 1000 cars are immediately adjacent to the
amphitheatre and may be reached from either the Grand Central Parkway or
Horace Harding Boulevard.

            To inaugurate the official opening, the New York
Philharmonic-Symphony Orchestra, through Mrs. Charles S.  Guggenheimer,
Chairman, and Mrs. Pierpont Morgan Hamilton of the Stadium Concerts Inc.,
will leave the Lewisohn Stadium for the first time in 24 years and play at
the New York State Amphitheatre for this one night.

           Under the direction of conductor Efrem Kurtz, the orchestra will
play a program including the "Euryanthe" Overture of Weber, Lalo's Symphonie
Espagnole with violin solo by the young American violinist, Joan Field,
Beethoven's Seventh Symphony, and Wagner's "Rienzi" Overture.

           Regular Stadium tickets, bought at the usual Box offices will be
good for admission to the State Amphitheatre on Saturday, July 26.  3000
seats will be sold at 25¢, about 3000 at 50¢ and the rest at $1.00.

           Tickets for the opening performance are available at the Postal
Telegraph-Cable Company offices in Long Island City, Flushing, and Jamaica.

           Starting 10 A. M., July 27, the pool will be open to the general
public, as are all the other 16 outdoor park pools.  On weekdays and
Saturdays from 10 A. M. to 12:30 P. M.  there will be a free period for
children under 14 years of age in the swimming pools.  No adults are
admitted to the pool areas during this free period.  After 1 P. M. on
weekdays and Saturdays and all day on Sundays and holidays there will be a
ten cent charge for children under 14 years and a twenty cent charge for
adults.

                                  * * * *

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Wednesday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          July 9, 1941

                The Department of Parks announces the completion and opening
of a new 1/2 acre playground just west of Flatbush Avenue, Brooklyn, bounded
by Flatlands Avenue, Ryder Street, Avenue "M" and East 38 Street. This
latest addition is located 1/2 mile south of the 3 1/2 acre Amesford Park,
one mile north of Marine Park Playground and 3/4 of a mile east of the
playground at Kings Highway and Avenue "P".

                To provide a flat play surface it was necessary to construct
a concrete retaining wall of variable height along the north property line
with a short stairway access provided from Avenue "M".  An 8' chain link
boundary fence has been placed on top of this wall and along the entire
property line. A second entrance leads from Flatlands Avenue near the corner
of Ryder Street.

                Seventeen 2½-3" diameter Norway maples have been planted
in a 5' border of concrete blocks between the boundary fence and the new
concrete sidewalks and curbs. A 20' square brick comfort station and a
flagpole are located on the Ryder Street side near the two entrances. The
playground surface of bituminous material is subdivided into several units
by tree planted strips of concrete block paving, benches and low fencing. A
large open free play area has a central 32' diameter circular shower
basin. In four compartments along the Flatlands Avenue property line are the
following facilities: an irrigated sand pit with tree shaded benches on
three sides; 33' of fence enclosed chair swings for pre-school children; 4
see-saws and 2 slides; 30' of protected swings and 2 slides for older
children and a pipe frame exercise unit.

               The project which was built by the Work Projects
Administration from plans prepared by the Department of Parks also included
drainage, irrigation, drinking fountains and lighting.

               In 1934 there were 119 playgrounds in the five boroughs; 58
of these have been reconstructed. At the present time there are 437
playgrounds in the Park system.

                                  * * * *

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Monday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          July 7, 1941


                 The Department of Parks announces that there will be a
demonstration of American Folk Dancing, sometimes referred to as Square
Dancing, at 105 Street and Riverside Park, Manhattan, on Monday, July 7, at
8:30 P.M.

                 This demonstration will be under the direction of Ed
Durlacher, one of the outstanding exponents of Square Dancing in America,
with Al MacLeod's Country Dance Band supplying the music.  Thousands of
people witnessed similar expositions which he conducted on the American
Common a t the New York World's Fair, 1940, and at Jones Beach, during the
same year. The dancing program was so well received at Jones Beach that he
has been requested to put it on again during the current season.

                 Prior to the demonstration of each dance number next Monday
evening, there will be a brief explanation of the various steps.  Following
the demonstration, the public will be invited to participate.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Monday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          July 7, 1941


           The Department of Parks announces that the children of 23 Park
Department playgrounds will celebrate the anniversary of their official
opening to the public by participating in special programs of recreational
activities during the month of July.

           While handball and snuffleboard tournaments, softball games,
track meets, roller skating contests and wading pool games will form part of
the activities, the programs will feature a variety of other events,
including magic shows, puppet and marionette shows, skits, musical
selections by children's bands, folk dancing, community singing of patriotic
songs and group games.

           The July schedule for playground birthday celebrations is as
follows:

Borough                                                        Time of
  Playground Location                            Opened      Celebration

Manhattan
  Annunciation Playground, Amsterdam           July 7, 1940    4:00 P. M.
  Avenue & West 135 Street

  Riverside and 74 Street                      July 11, 1937   3:00 P. M.

  McCray Playground, West 138 Street           July 15, 1934   2:00 P. M.
  between 5th & Lenox Avenues

  Sauer Memorial Playground, E. 12 Street      July 15, 1934   2:30 P. M.
  between Avenues MAW & MBW

  Riverside and 148 Street                     July 24, 1938   3:00 P. M.

  East River Park and 11 Street                July 27, 1939   3:00 P. M.

  St. Gabriel's Playground, East 35            July 3 1, 1936  3:00 P. M.
  Street and First Avenue

Brooklyn

  Sheridan Playground, Grand Street            July 19, 1934   11:00 A.M.
  near Wythe Avenue

  Lafayette and Reid Avenues                   July 25, 1937   11:00 A.M.

  New Lots Playground, Sackman and             July 27, 1940   2-8 P.M. July 28
  Riverdale Streets                                       

  Howard, Dean and Pacific Streets             July 30, 1937   3:30 P. M.

  Pitkin & New Jersey Avenues                  July 30, 1937   10:00 A.M.

  McKibben Playground, McKibben                July 31, 1936   10:00 A.M.
  and White Streets

Queens

  179 Place, North of Jamaica Avenue           July 10, 1937   3:00 P.M.

  Jackson Heights Playground, 25-30            July 15, 1934   10 A.M.-
  Avenues, 84-85 Streets                                        9 P.M.

  D. M. O'Connell Playground, 113 Ave.         July 15, 1934   2:00 P.M.
  and 196 Street

  Von Dohlen Playground, 138 Street            July 15, 1934   10:30 A.M.-
  and Archer Avenue                                             8:00 P.M.

  Windmuller Playground, 52 Street             July 30, 1937   11:00 A.M.-
  and Woodside Avenue                                           6:00 P.M.

Bronx

  Louis Zimmerman Playground, Olinville        July 15, 1934   2:00 P.M.
  Ave., south of Britton Street

  Vincent Ciccarone Playground, Hughes         July 15, 1934   2:00 P. M.
  Avenue & East 188 Street

  East 176 Street and Bryant Avenue            July 10, 1936   2:00 P. M.

  East 182 Street and Belmont Avenue           July 30, 1937   2:00 P. M.


                                  * * * *

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Monday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          July 7, 1941


               After five years of construction work, the major portion of
Crotona Park has been rebuilt. During this period, sections of the park had
been redeveloped with a swimming pool and several large playgrounds.  The
construction program now coming to an end will show the completion of twelve
playrrounds, five baseball diamonds, one athletic field, a rebuilt
children's fern garden, a new boethouse on the lake, and several miles of
new walks end hundreds of new benches.

                Prior to its reconstruction, the park afforded few
facilities for organized active recreation.  It is in the center of a
congested neighborhood and the children found their recreation in the
destruction of what little development was available. With the new
development nearing completion, many people of the neighborhood have become
apprehensive as to what will happen to it.

                In the hope of securing the greatest benefit from the new
facilities and to preserve them for future as well as present enjoyment, the
children of the twelve new playgrounds have organized themselves into the
CROTONA PARK BOOSTERS.  The "boosters" have organized themselves into
sub-groups, one for each playground, and during the present summer starting
July 7 the playgrounds will compete with each other, not only in the various
customary recreational activities, but in prevention of vandalism, in
keeping the park clean, and in educating the members of the public using
their section of the park in its proper use.

                 The Park Department is providing the physical facilities to
make the competition possible and has put up substantial prizes for group
and individual winners.


-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Friday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          July 4, 1941


             The Department of Parks announces the completion and opening
of a 5 acre general recreation field and playground which has been developed
in the rear of the John Adams High School on Rockaway Boulevard between
101st St. and 103rd Street, Borough of Queens.

             In order to provide adequate facilities it was necessary for
the city to acquire additional property to round out the small undeveloped
plot held under the jurisdiction of the Board of Education.  At the same
time title was acquired to all of the boundary street beds which will be
developed in the future.  Boss Street from Plattwood Avenue to 133rd
Avenue,cutting diagonally through the athletic field, formerly mapped for
future opening, was abandoned in favor of the recreational development.

             Plans for the entire tract which has been placed under the
ijurisdiction of the Board of Education were prepared by the Department of
Parks and approved by the Board of Education, The area will be operated
jointly by the two departments.

             The property, roughly 470 feet square except for the south
diagonal property line along 133rd Avenue is completely enclosed by a 12
foot high chain link fence and is sub-divided into several types of use
areas segregated from each other by an 8 1 high chain link fence.

             Access to the playfield is afforded by four 10' wide double
gates two of which lead from the 15 foot walk immediately adjacent and
parallel to the south wall of the High School and one each from the
northeast and northwest corners.

             Paralleling the north boundary fence and extending from 101st
to 103rd Streets is a rectangular bituminous surfaced court games area 70'
wide and 450' long which contains the following:

                         3   Handball Courts
                         2   Badminton Courts
                         7   Practice Basketball Standards
                         3   Paddle Tennis Courts
                         6   Shuffle Board Courts
                         2   Drinking Fountains
                        31   Bench units in two continuous sections.

             South of the court games area adjacent to 101st Street are two
bituminous paved tennis courts. East of this fence enclosed unit is a grass
surfaced area 150' x 300' providing double usage for girl's field hockey and
two softball diamonds with backstops. The south end of the area, also grass
covered, contains a regulation size football field, a softball and baseball
diamond with backstops all of which are bounded by a 12' cinder track and
16' straightaway. A drinking fountain is located adjacent to the track.

             An irregular shaped offset in the southeast corner of the
grounds has been developed as a small bituminous paved playground, enclosed
by a 10' high chain link fence. Lying 2-1/2 feet below the surface of the
athletic field from which it is separated by a concrete retaining wall and
12' chain link fence, the playground is accessible by a short flight of
steps from the corner of the field. A 10' wide double entrance gate has been
installed at the southeast corner of the playground which will provide
future access from Centreville Street when it is opened and paved.

             A standard type brick comfort station, 20' x 30', has been
built at the south end of the playground near the athletic field
entrance. The remainder of the area contains a flagpole, a circular shower
basin, a 12' x 16' sand pit, 2 kindergarten slides, a see-saw, and a string
of kindergarten swings protected by a 4' chain link fence. The entire
playground is bordered with a 6' strip of precast concrete blocks and
planted with 12 2-l/2"-3" diameter trees. Detached benches extend along the
base of the retaining wall and a U-shaped continuous section extends around
three sides of the sand pit.

             The work which was carried out by the Work Projects
Administration from plans prepared by the Department of Parks, also included
general drainage facilities, park lighting and the demolition of a 1-1/2
story frame house and garage.

             In 1934 there xvere 119 playgrounds in the five boroughs; 58 of
these have been reconstructed. At present there are 436 playgrounds in the
Park system.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Thursday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          July 3, 1941


            The Department of Parks announces that the second of a series of
four Naumburg Memorial Concerts will be given on the Mall, Central Park,
Friday, July 4, at 8:15 P. M.

            The two remaining concerts will also be given on the
Mall on July 31 and Labor Day, September 1, at 8:15 P. M.

            This concert series is contributed by Mr. Walter W.  Naumburg
and Mr, George W. Naumburg, in memory of their father, Mr. Elkan Naumburg,
who donated the bandstand on the Mall.

            The July 4 concert will be given by the Naumburg Orchestra, with
Maclin Marrow as conductor, and Gloria La Vey Lora, as soprano soloist.  The
program will include selections by such famous composers as: Gounod, Victor
Herbert, Gershwin and Dvorak.

                                   * * *

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Thursday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          July 3, 1941


         Through the cooperation of the Junior Davis Cup Committee of the
Eastern Lawn Tennis Association, the Department of Parks will conduct a
series of eight tennis classes starting Wednesday, July 2, from 9 A. M. to
11 A. M. These lessons will be held on the Central Park Courts, 93rd Street
and West Drive.  They are open to all Junior permit holders of either
sex. These lessons are intended primarily for instruction in the
fundamentals of the game, particularly stroke production.

         Last year, George Agutta, coach of the West Side Tennis Club of
Forest Hills, conducted these classes. The results were so gratifying, it
was decided to repeat the series.

         This year, W. Richard Shubart, former member of Dartmouth College
Tennis Team and for a number of years professional at the Kew Gardens Tennis
Club, has been engaged to handle the series of lessons.

         All boys and girls of Junior and Senior High School age are urged
to take part in this series of free lessons.

                                   * * *

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                           FOR RELEASE Tuesday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                          July 1, 1941


             The Department of Parks announces the completion and opening of
seven new marginal playgrounds, three reconstructed playgrounds, a children's
farm garden and two comfort stations in Crotona Park, The Bronx.  These
playgrounds represent part of a larger program of park reconstruction which
will be completed this fall.

              Crotona Park is one of the most heavily used parks in the
City.  Prior to the start of rehabilitation work the pressure of a congested
neighborhood had overflowed play areas onto the park lawns, injuring the
vegetation, causing erosion and miniature dust storms thus destroying the
usefulness of the area.

             The first major effort to provide much needed recreation
facilities and restore the scenic values of the park was the construction of
a swimming pool in 1936 together with the rehabilitation of the adjoining
unit of park land lying between Fulton and Crotona Avenues.  In the
following years two new playgrounds were laid out along Crotona Park East
and various other minor improvements were made.

             Plans for the present project, embracing the complete
reconstruction of the remaining sections of the park were prepared early in
1940 by the Department of Parks and the work was started shortly thereafter
by the Work Projects Administration.  The main features of this work include
the following items;

                 Ten additional marginal playgrounds
                 Reconstruction of the children's farm gardens
                 Four baseball diamonds with concrete bleachers
                 One softball diamond with concrete bleacher
                 Construction of a wall around the lake
                 A boat house and concession building on the lakeside
                 Thirteen double handball courts
                 Reconstruction of athletic field on Crotona Park North

                 Demolition of many outworn paths and roadways and 
                        construction of a complete new path system with 
                        curbs, asphaltic pavement, steps, ramps, benches, 
                        lights, fencing, etc.
                 General reconstruction of the park storm drainage system
                 Landscaping of the entire park including newtopsoil and
                        planting of 2800 new trees, 18,000 shrubs and lawns.
                 Realignment of the south end of Crotona Avenue within the
                        park, for better traffic circulation.

           The only section of the park which remains untouched by the
current operations is the area along Third Avenue to the north of East 175
Street.  This section contains the old Borough Hall which should be
demolished. Repeated requests to the Board of Estimate for assignment of
this to the Park Department have been refused.

           The reconstruction of Crotona Park represents a major effort in
in the park improvement field and when completed its results will be
increasingly appreciated as the new plant growth becomes established and the
various recreational facilities attain their full use.

           All work was performed by the Work Projects Administration from
plans prepared by the Department of Parks.  In 1934 there were 119
playgrounds in the five boroughs; 33 of these have been reconstructed.  At
present there are 435 playgrounds in the Park system.

                                  * * * *

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------