Text extracted from PDF scan by pdftotext 3.03.

Corrected by Frank da Cruz, July 2014.

Original order preserved (mostly reverse chronological).
Paragraphs reformatted by recombining hyphenated words and filling to 78 cols.
Duplicate entries omitted.
Tabs converted to spaces.
Table of Contents (about 10 pages with abstracts) at beginning omitted.
Coding: ISO 8859-1 (for cent signs and fractions).

Search Terms relevant to New Deal:

Civil Works Administration [disappeared in Spring 1934]
Department of Public Works
Federal Reemployment Service
Federal Re-employment Service
Home Relief
National Reemploymont Service
Public Works Administration
Temporary Emergency Relief Administration
Work Relief 
Works Division of the Department of Public Welfare (which is TERA)(explain)

Other interesting search terms:

Bill Robinson
Advertising signs

New Deal projects announced in this archive:

22 Aug 1934  Brooklyn    Expansion of Liev Eriksson playground
22 Aug 1934  Manhattan   New Playground, Sheriff, Broome, and Delancey Sts
22 Aug 1934  Queens      New playground on Corona Avenue and 102nd Street
22 Aug 1934  Manhattan   New Playground on Houston Street, Essex and Norfolk
22 Aug 1934  Manhattan   New Playground on Houston Street at Ludlow Street
22 Aug 1934  Manhattan   New Playground on Houston Street at Sixth Ave
22 Aug 1934  Manhattan   Opening of Christie-Forsythe Park
22 Aug 1934  Manhattan   Opening of Jackson Square, 8th Ave and Horation St.
23 Aug 1934  Manhattan   Remodeling and enlargement of Columbus Park.
 5 Oct 1934  Manhattan   New playground at Houston and Essex Streets.
 8 Oct 1934  Queens      New playground at Corona Ave and 102nd Street
 8 Oct 1934  Brooklyn    Two new play areas in Liev Erikson Park
 8 Oct 1934  Manhattan   Mounting of Columbus statue in Columbus Park
 8 Oct 1934  Manhattan   New playground at Baxter, Mulberry, and Park Sts
18 Oct 1934  Brooklyn    New playground at Park Ave and Taaffee Place
18 Oct 1934  Manhattan   New playground at Cherry, Monroe, and Gouveneur Sts
25 Oct 1934  Manhattan   New playground at Sheriff, Broome, and Delancey Sts
25 Oct 1934  Brooklyn    New playground at Fulton Street and Classon Avenue
25 Oct 1934  Bronx       New playground at Fort 4, Sedgwick and Reservoir Aves
29 Oct 1934  Manhattan   Tavern On The Green, Central Park
 8 Nov 1934  Queens      Flushing Memorial Playfield (Work Relief funds)
 8 Nov 1934  Brooklyn    Dreier-Offerman playground Cropsey Ave Bay 46th St
23 Nov 1934  Manhattan   Central Park Menagerie (zoo) [TERA and CWA]


Page 8.                       NEWSPAPER RELEASES

7/31/34   98. CHILDREN'S TREASURE HUNT, scheduled far next Saturday afternoon,
                August 4th, at 2p.m. at JACOB RIIS PARK, Neponsit.

8/3       98A Control of Dutch ....

8/5       99. INSPECTION TRIP covering the long Island Parkways and Parks
                for representatives of the Press on Mondyy, August 6th. 


8/9      101. The Park Dept. has started RENOVATION OF THE COLUMBUS STATUE
                AT COLUMBUS CIRCLE IN MANHATTAN (missing) 

8/9      102. GOWANUS PLAYGROUND. 

8/10     103. The first two mile men's OCEAN SWIMMING CHAMPIONSHIP
                of the Rockaways will be held at JACOB RIIS PARK on
                Sunday, August 19th.


8/15     105. DANCE RECITAL - Maria Theresa - Aug. 17th, 8:30 p.m.,
                PROSPECT PARK. 

8/18     106. Two Metropolitan SWIMMING CHAMPIONS will meet on Sunday afternoon
              in a challenge race i n the A.A.U, program to be held at
              JACOB RIIS PARK in Rockaway, beginning at 2:30 p.m.

                & OCTOBER.

8/23     108. COLUMBUS PARK, bounded by Bayard, Mulberry, Park and Baxtar
                Streets is being remodeled to greatly increase the play area.

8/25     109. CHILDREN'S DAY OUTING at JACOB RIIS PARK, Monday, August 27, 1934

9/4      110. Opening of Playground, FORT TRYON PARK, Wed. Sept, 5, at 4

9/5      111. Dept. of Parks announced its plan today for the improvement of
              JACOB RIIS PARK, Brooklyn, which is to connect with Marine Park,
              Brooklyn by means of a suspension bridge which will extend
              over Jamaica Bay. (missing)

9/6      112. Dept. of Parks announced its plan today for the completion of
              MARINE PARKIN BROOKLYN, which will be one of the largest
              parks in the city when completed,

9/7/34   113. Venetian Water Carnival, Sept. 7, 8 & 9th at 72nd St. Lake,
                Central Park. 

9/8/34   114. Postponed Venetian Carnival, Sept, 11, 12 & 13,

9/10/34  115. Letter to all Magistrates of City of N.Y, from Eton, James E.
                McDonald, Re: Cleanliness & Peddling in Parks,

9/12     116. Opening of Bryant Park, Sept, 14, 1934 (missing)

9/12/34  117. Opening of Roosevelt Park, Sept. 14, 1934

9/18     118. Opening of Zoo, Central Park, Sept 22nd.

9/28/34  119. Installation of Heating Plant in Claremont Restaurant.

9/28     120. Harvest Festival at Jefferson Park 9/29/34.

9/28     121. Concert on the Mall 9/30/34.

9/30     122. Building an addition 18-hole course at Pelham Bay Golf Course.

9/30     123. 35 acres of land for park on Welfare Island.

10/1     124. Yacht Clubs at Pelham Bay Park ceased to function as of today.

10/3     225. Instructions in use of new tree moving apparatus will be
                given to employees of the Park Department.

10/4     126. Contractor for section of West Side Express Highway
              through Riverside Park, bet. 72nd and 79th Streets 
              has started driving piles for the retaining walls.

10/8     127. Opening of playground at Essex and Houston Streets, Manhattan.

10/8     128. Appointment of Mr. Spargo to position formerly held by 
                Major Crane.

10/10    129. Opening of 3 playgrounds on Columbus Day at Baxter, Bayard,
                Mulberry & Park Streets, Leiv Eiriksson, Corona & 102nd
                Street, Queens.

10/10    130. Harvest Festival at Thomas Jefferson Park.
10/10    131. Handicraft Exhibit at Macomb's Dam Park. 
10/10    132. Survey of all signs and commercial advertising in Parks,
                Parkways in New York City.

10/12    133. Harvest Festival, Central Park Mall.

10/18    134. Opening of two new Playgrounds at Taaffe Place and Park
                Avenue, Brooklyn, and Cherry, Monroe & Gouveneur Streets
                in Manhattan. 

10/19    135. Unveiling of bronze statue of Dr. J. M. Simras in Central Park.

10/8     136. Opening of New Flushing Memorial Playground.

10/13    137. Final concert at Forest Park by Mr. Creatore.

10/8     138. Decision not to erect a swimming pool at St. Albans, new
                location being considered.

10/20/34 139. Dancing on Tuesdays and Thursdays in Prospect Park throughout
                the Fall and Winter. 

10/23    140. Erection of Bird Sancturary in Central Park.

10/25    141. Opening of 3 new playgrounds at Sheriff, Broome & Delancey
                Streets, in New York, Fulton Street & Classon Avenue, in
                Brooklyn, and Fort No. 4, Sedgwick and Reservoir Avenues,
                in Bronx.

10/28    142. Survey of existing trees on the streets in all the five
                Boroughs by the Park Department. 

10/29    143. Memorandum on organization of work relief projects under
                the supervision of the Department of Parks.

10/31    144. Opening of Annual Chrysanthemum Show of Department of Parks
                at Prospect Park on 11/4/34.

11/2     145. Dedication of "Tree of Hope" on November 4, at 7th Avenue &
                131st Street. 

11/3     146. Unveiling of War Memorial dedicated to the Memory of the men
                who lost their lives in the World War - of the East Side.

11/6     147. Planting of tree to the memory of Madam Marie S. Curie.

11/8     148. Opening of two new playgrounds - Dreier-Offerman between
                Cropsy Avenue end Gravesend Bay, Brooklyn, and Flushing
                Manorial Playground in Queens.

11/10    149. Contest of Home-made wagon championship on Thanksgiving Day
                to be held in Central Park Mall. 

11/10    150. Final roller skating contest for Borough of Manhattan, in
                Central Paik.

11/15    151. 15th Milestone near 242nd Street and Albany Post Road is
                to be reset on November 18; ceremonies to be conducted
                jointly by the Washington Heights Chapter of the D.A.R

11/15    152. Roller-skating contest - Inter-Borough - to be held.

11/15    153. No restriction on artist who paints or sketches for own
                enjoyment and not commertial venture; make Application
                for privilege if so desired to Borough Director.

11/16/34 154. Roller-skating championship and home-made wagon contest to be
                held 11/17/34.

11/19/34 155. Meeting held in conjunction with the Department of Health and
                Water Supply for the development of area in Coney Island.

11/23    156. Announcement of opening of Zoo to be held in Central Park,
                December 2, 1934, Speakers - Mayor Fiorello H. La Guardia,
                Mr. A. E. Smith, Robert Moses, William Hodson, A. Schoelkopf.

11/23/34 157. Department of Health and Department of Parks announced a
                Joint program for the development of combination 
                playgrounds and health centers.

11/28    158. Announcing the opening of the Zoo to be held December 2nd 
                at 2 p.m. in Central Park.

12/6     159. Meeting at Port Authority Building, December 10th to
                consider the arterial problems of the City of New York
                and surroundings.

12/7     160. Golf courses will close Sunday, December 9, 1934, on account
                of weather.

12/11    161. Park Department purchased a pick-up car, station wagon and a
                coupe. Mayor LaOuardia will, drive one of these cars on
                December 10th to City Hall.

12/19    162. Erection of Christmas trees at various New York City Parks,
                also dedication of Mayor LaGuariia at City Hall Plaza
                on Friday.

12/20    163. Exterior of Shore Drive Extension in Brooklyn - Bids opened.

         164. Climatic conditions and vandalism made it necessary for the
                Park Department to protect the statue of D. Glasgow Farragut

11/17    165. Annual Chrysanthemum Show of Department of Parks at Forest Park.

         166. Formal permission of artists for sketching purposes in park
                not essential but letters granting the privilege will be 
                furnished those who make application to Borough Directors.

12/29    167. Golf courses closed owing to cold weather.

12/31    168. Progress on park program in 1934 and program for 1935 (missing)






ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                                 FOR RELEASE Wednesday
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                    December 19, 1934

                  The Department of Parks is erecting fourteen 50-foot Norway
Spruce Trees in the parks throughout Greater New York in preparation of the
Christmas festivities to be conducted under the auspices of the City of New
York. These Community Christmas Trees v.Mch vo.ll be dedicated by Mayor
Fiorello H. LaGuardia on Friday, Dec. 21st, at 4:00 p.m., will be located as

MANHATTAN:    City Hall Plaza
              Mall, Central ?ark - Off 5th Avenue at 65th Street
              Roosevelt Park - Chrystie and Forayth Streets at Stanton Street
              Thomas Jefferson Park - 111th to 114th Street at First Avenue

QUEENS:       Kings Park - Jamaica Avenue and 150th to 155rd Streets
              Forest Park - Myrtle Avenue and Park Lane South
              Northern Boulevard - Opposite Fairington Street

BROOKLYN:     Borough Hall
              Grand Army Plaza - Prospect Park
              Leiv Eiriksson. Park - 86th to 67th Streets between 4th and 5th

BRONX:        Joyce Kilmer Park - Grand Concourse and 161st Street
              Clareaont Park - Mt. Eden, Webster and. Teller Avenues

RICHMOND:     Silver Lake Park - Victory Boulevard and Forest Avenue
              Borough Hall, Barrett Park - Triangle east of Borough Hall on
                                           Bay Street, St. George

                  Mayor Fiorello H. LaGuardia will deliver an address at City
Hall Plaza, where the principal exercises will be held. The ceremonies from
this point rill be broadcast by public address systems to all of the other
locations, with the exception of Thomas Jefferson Park, where special
ceremonies will be held by the Mayor and the official party after the
conclusion of the program at City Hall Plaza. Commissioner Robert Moses will
act as chairman.

                  The program will open with a short concert by the Park
Department Band, followed by Christmas Carols sung by a mixed Choir of 75
trained voices frcn the Concert Division of the Department of Public Welfare,
augmented by children from the playgrounds of the Department of Parks who have
been trained especially for these exercises. Commissioner Moses vlll then
introduce Mayor LaGuardia wiio will formally dedicate the trees and, by
pressing a button, illuminate the thirteen trees simultaneously.

                  This program will be broadcast by Station WNYC and a
net-work of twenty-two additional stations extending as far West as Missouri
and including a short-v;ave station in Providence which vlll carry the main
exercises abroad.

             At the conclusion of the principal exercises the programs will
continue independently at each point where they will be in charge of the
Borough Director of the Department of Parks or his designate. Christmas Carols
of different countries will be sung in the native tongue by the children, who
will be in proper costume made by the Playground Directors. At the conclusion
of the exercises at City Hall Plaza, Mayor LaGuardia and the official party
will proceed to Thomas Jefferson Park, where a special band concert will be
given betveen 5 p.m. and the arrival of the Mayor. The ceremonies here will
consist of the dedication and illumination of the Christmas Tree by Mayor
LaGuardia, who will also formally break ground for the swimming pool which is
to be built at this point. The singing of the National Anthem will conclude
these ceremonies.

             With the exception of Christmas Day, carols will be broadcast
each day thereafter from Station WNYC to all fourteen locations between 12
noon and 12:15 p.m., to and including Friday, December 28th.

             The trees will be decorated vith electric lights of gay and
varied colors.

             This will be the first time that the City has provided Community
Christmas Trees on this scale.


ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                                 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                    December 10, 1934

               The Park Department recently purchased three new cars,
a pick-up car, a station wagon and a coupe.

                Mayor LaGuardia will drive one of these cars to City
Hall, leaving the Mayor's house at 9:00 and arriving at Gity Hall at
9:15 a.m.

Released to the following by order of Mr. Cruise:

New York City News Association
Daily Mirror
Wide World
Associated Press
International News Service
Fox Movietone News
Paramount News
Pathe News


ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                                 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                    December 7, 1934

               The Department of Parks states that in view of the open weather
now existing the golf courses tinder its jurisdiction will not close on
Sunday, December 9th, as recently announced, but will remain open until
further notice. During this period the winter rules will obtain.

Phoned to the following, as directed by Mr. Cruise:

               City News Association
               Daily Mirror
               Bronx Home News
               Staten Island AdTance
               Long Island Daily Star
               Long Island Daily Press


ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                                 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                    December 6, 1934

          Senator George Fearon, Chairman of the Joint Legislative Committee
appointed pursuant to a resolution of the New York State Legislature adopted
April 27, 1934, has arranged to hold a meeting of the Committee in New York
City on Monday evening, December 10th at 8:30 in the Port Authority Terminal
Building at 111 Eighth Avenue.  This meeting will be held to consider the
arterial problems of the City of New York and its surroundings.  It has been
arranged at the invitation of Mayor LaGuardia.  Mayor LaGuardia has designated
Park Commissioner Robert Moses to arrange the details of the meeting and to
assemble the material on the connections between the City arteries and the
suburban highways and parkways adjacent to the City.

          The Joint Legislative Committee to report on road-building policies
is composed of six State Senators, seven State Assemblymen, with the State
Superintendent of Public Works and the State Commissioner of Highways ex
officio members.

          Mayor LaGuardia, the President of the Board of Aldermen, who is also
Chairman of the City Planning Committee, Commissioner Moses, the five Borough
Presidents, the Chief Engineer of the Board of Estimate and the Police
Commissioner will present the City's program of traffic arteries at the

          The Chief Engineers of: the Board of Estimate, the five Boroughs and
the Park Department, and representatives of the City Planning Committee and
the Police Commissioner met with the Chief Engineers of the Port of New York
Authority, the Long Island State Park Commission and the Triborough Bridge
Authority and the District Engineer of the State Department of Public Works in
charge of the Metropolitan District, to formulate a plan to present to the
Joint Legislative Committee, The program worked out by these Engineers has
been approved by the Borough Presidents and the other Department heads

          The purpose of the meeting is to present a system of through traffic
arteries in New York City to connect with the State highway and parkway system
outside the City's boundaries.  It is not intended to ask State aid for the
construction of local streets or boulevards but to ask for the construction
from State highway funds of a system of trunk arteries to carry traffic
through the congested metropolitan areas. The great difference between the
proportion of taxes paid in New York City to the proportion of money spent on
traffic relief in New York City will be pointed out.

          Civic associations and other organizations interested in the
discussion are invited to be present at this meeting.




ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                                 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                    November 28, 1934

             The new Central Park Menagerie will be formally open to the
public on Sunday, December 2nd, at 2 o'clock in the afternoon.  Commissioner
Robert Moses will deliver the opening address.  Mayor Fiorello H. LaGuardia,
former Governor Alfred S. Smith, the Honorable Alfred H. Schoellkopf, Chairman
of the Temporary Emergency Relief Administration of the State of New York and
the Honorable William Hodson, Commissioner of the Department of Public Welfare
of the City of New York, will also speak during the ceremonies, which include
the presentation of the key to the zoo to the Mayor followed by his official
opening of it to the public.

             The story of the very early days of the old Zoo is an interesting
one and the building of the new Zoo, which was done entirely with Work Relief
forces and material furnished by the Welfare authorities is equally

             Search of the archives of the Department uncovered some
interesting facts and amusing drawings of some "Temporary Buildings to shelter
birds and mammals formerly kept in the Arsenal Building approved by H. Hilton,
September 19, 1870 - to be executed and carried out by Professor Hawkins" and
containing the following instructions: "Mr. Crane will plan details employing
Hawkins for the purpose."  The sketch shows two large cages for birds and
additional enclosures for carnivora.

             The first annual report of the Board of Commissioners of the
Department of Public Parks, dated December, 1871, contains the following

             "A series of buildings surround the Museum, ornamental in design
and convenient to the public. There are: one for the carnivora; one for the
birds and monkeys; open-air sheds for the bears, wolves, etc.; roomy and
open-air cages for the eagles, domestic fowls, etc; an inclosed building for
elephants, camels, and various tropical animals, and (in process of erection
at the west of the Museum buildings) a larger structure intended for
carnivora, tropical cattle, etc,"

             Among the earliest contributors to the old Central Park Zoo were
August Belmont who gave two Virginia Deer and three Canadian Wild Geese in May
of 1870 and Hamilton Fish who dedicated six wild Turkeys in October of the
same year. These dedications are recorded in the records of the
Department. P. T. Barnum and George F. Bailey loaned "rare specimens" to the
City during the Zoo's early life.

             The old structures that were demolished by Work Relief forces
were all made of wood.  The light was poor and they were unsanitary firetraps.
The Monkey House had been converted into a hot dog stand and the bear dens
were perched on the side of a rock outcropping. There was no orderly
arrangement or supervision of animals. The hippopotami shared the same
quarters with the lions.

             The new Central Park Menagerie was designed by Aymar Embury, II,
with the assistance of the staff of architects of the Park Department. It is
simple, masonry construction. The exterior walls are of brick and all of the
interior walls are buff tile. The sculptured friezes by F. G. Roth are
excellent. Mr. Roth and the sculptors who assisted him carved these figures of
animals into the limestone by hand and did not follow the usual practice of
furnishing a clay model to stone carvers, who actually work on the scaffolds.



ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                                 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                    December 29, 1934

              Mr. J. Hunter Field instructed me to release the
following announcement to the Press by telephone.  This was done.

              The Park Department annoxiaees that oweing to the continued cold
weather, effective and beginning Wednesday morning, Jan. 2, 1935, all Golf
Courses under its jurisdiction will be closed until next Spring.

Phoned City News Association
Qeens Papers
Bronx Home News
Dec. 29, 1934



ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                                 166
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                    

     The Department of Parks states that it is receiving a a rather large
number of letters from artists inquiring whether permits are necessary to
paint and sketch in the city parks. The present policy of the department
places no restriction on the artist who paints or sketches for his own
enjoyment and not as a commercial venture. While formal permission is not
required, letters granting the privilege will be furnished those artists who
make application for them to the Borough director of the Department of Parks,

MANHATTAN:     Swedish Cottage, 79th st. and West Drive, Central Park
BRONX:         Zbrowski Mansion, Claremont Park
BROOKLYN:      Litchfield Mansion, Prospect Park
QUEENS:        The Overlook, Forest Park, Kew Gardens
RICHMOND:      Field House, Clove Lakex Park, Victory Boulevard
                     & Clove Road, West Brighton.




      The annual Chrysanthemum Show of the Department of Parks, Queens, held
at the Greenhouses at Woodhaven Boulevard and Myrtle Avenue in Forest Park,
will be open to the public starting Saturday, November 17, 1934, from 10:00
A.M. to 9.00 P.M.

      The are approximately 5,000 plants on exhibition, comprising 18
varieties. Prominent among them are the bronze, white, yellow and pink
Turners, pink and white Chieftains, Crimson Glow, L.H.Burlak, Gladys Pierson,
pink and white Seiderwitz, Mrs.David Roy, Besty Ross, Tom Brown, pink, white
and golden Chadwick and several varieties of anemones.

      The above plants have been banked and set up in pyramids to show off the
blooms to the best advantage.

      The show will continue up to Thanksgiving.

               11/14/34 Mr.Cruise handed the above to me stating
                   that he authorized the Queens office to release
                   this direct.

ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                                 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                    December 20, 1934


           Bids were opened today by the State Department of Public Works for
starting construction of the extension of Shore Drive in Brooklyn, from the
existing dead end of the Drive at Fourth Avenue, along the shore line of Fort
Hamilton to Dyker Beach Park. The Welsh Brothers Improvement Corporation of
Long Island City submitted a low bid of $257,052.75.

           The section of Shore Drive nor: to be constructed is one mile long
and when completed will provide two 3-lane roadways separated by a grass
panel.  A pedestrian promenade will be provided on the Narrows Bay side of the
parkway. The entire right-of-way will be landscaped in the same way as other
State parkways. The land neeesdary for this project was dedicated by the
federal government to the City of New York in 1926 after years of discussion
and agitation. Except for an unfinished sea wall, nothing has been done on
this project since its inception.

            Work to be done under the new contract will consist of the
construction of about 3,500 feet of sea wall along the shore line fronting
Fort Hamilton and the placing of about 90,000 cubic yards of fill for the
roadway.  The sea wall will be constructed of concrete, faced with granite,
and will be built on top of the present unfinished rip-rap wall. The contract
will provide employment for about 250 men for a period of about five months.

            The extension of the Shore Drive now to be constructed is a
part of the old comprehensive plan for a circumferential boulevard which
will eventually connect the existing Shore Drive with Marine Park, Brooklyn,
by way of Cropsey and Emnons Avenues. The Emmons Avenue section is under
construction by Borough President Ingersoll.

ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                                 FOR RELEASE 
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                             Friday, November 23, 1934

139 Centre Street
Canal 6-1600
                          TWO DEPARTMENTS JOIN HANDS

              The Department of Health and the Department of Parks announced
today a joint program for the development of combination playgrounds and
health centers.

              The Department of Health has secured a loan and grant from the
Public Works Administration for the construction of health centers throughout
the City, but no money is available for the purchase of additional land. It is
necessary for the Health Department to find vacant City owned lands to build
these health centers. No City owned land could be found in the East Harlem
district except an area on East 115th Street, between Lexington and Third
Avenues, which was acquired for recreational purposes under the jurisdiction
of the Department of Parks. Plans for the demolition of the existing tenement
structure and the construction of a playground for small children on this
area had been made by the Park Department.  The Departments of Parks and
Health joined in a complete survey of the whole East Harlem district and
reached the conclusion that the only City owied area available for either a
playground or a health center was this parcel under the control of the Park
Department.  The plans for the Health Department's building were partially
completed and the plans for tie Park Department's playground were
finished. The two Departments discussed the relative values of the two
developments and neither was willing to abandon its plans.

              It was finally agreed to use the area by both Departments.  The
Department of Health has agreed to construct its building in such a fashion to
allow for the use of the roof of the two-story building for playground
purposes. This playground will utilize the same area previously planned when
the site was selected.  Access to the playground will be provided without the
necessity of going through the building.  The entrance will be planned to make
it convenient for the children of the school adjacent to the plot to have easy
access to the play area. This unique construction will satisfy the needs of
the Department of Health and the Department of Parks.  This will be the first
roof playground constructed by the City of New York and will include a wading
pool, shrubs and trees in pots, outdoor gymnasium apparatus and swings.

          Commenting on the plans now under way, Health Commissioner John
L. Rice aaid: "I believe that the joint development we have undertaken will be
profitable for all concerned.  Certainly our health centers will be more
attractive by the landscaping and the recreation facilities provided by the
Park Department.  With careful attention to planning, the activities of the
health center and those of the recreation area can be made to complement each
other admirably.

          In our health work we are constantly facing the need for supervised
recreation for young children who should not undertake the strenuous play
activities of normal childhood.  Recreation areas, such as this, will help us
find a way for safe and healthful recreation for these children."

          Since this agreement on a joint development by the two Departments,
a study has been undertaken to see to what extent this happy combination of
activities can be applied to the other health centers which, the Health
Department is planning to erect.  Already it seems likely that a number of
locations are well adapted to this cooperative combination.

          Commissioner Robert Moses said: "The Park and Health Authorities of
the City have essentially the same objectives.  I am happy to cooperate with
Dr. Rice."



ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                                 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                    November 23, 1934

             The new Zoo in Central Park, which replaces the former jangle of
unsightly firetraps that had stood for sixty-four years, will be formally
opened on Sunday, December 2nd, at 2:00 P. H. The exercises will be held in
front of the Arsenal, Fifth Avenue at 64th Street. The speakers will be Mayor
Fiorello H. LaGuardia, former Governor Alfred E. Smith, Coosaissioner of Parks
Robert Moses, William Hodson, Coaatissioner of Public Welfare, and Alfred H.
Sehoelkopf, Chairman of the New York State Temporary Emergency Relief

             Two hundred and fifty children representing the various
playgrounds in Manhattan will occupy special reserved seats. Other guests will
include City and State officials and members of the New York State Council of
Parks, who will be in the City for a regular monthly meeting. Music will be
furnished by the Park Department band and by the uniformed Fife and Drum
Corps of P.S. 71, of the Bronx.

             Following the ceremonies the nine new buildings will be opened
for inspection. They are of modern construction and are fireproof. They were
designed to harmonise with the architecture of the Arsenal, which has been
stripped of its many coats of dingy paint, revealing a fine old brick
structure.  The brick used in the new buildings was selected for its
resemblance to the walls of the Arsenal, with slate roofs and limestone trim
and friezes. Sculptors have carved panels of animals in the frieses.

             The new menagerie is built around a quadrangle, the center of
which contains a sunken garden containing a seal pool and flying cages. A
large concession building with an open air terrace for dining occupies the
western side of the square, and is connected to the flanking animal houses by
arcaded passageways.  In the northwest corner bear dens have been located
around rugged outcroppings of ledge rock. Grouped on either side of the main
entrance paths which lead to the zoo from the 59th Street gate are smaller
houses which contain the horned animal collection.

             The entire construction program on the Zoo has been done with
labor and materials supplied by the Works Division of the Department of Public
Welfare.  The planning was commenced February 5th of this year and completed
in sixteen working days by a staff of designers, engineers, and draftsmen who
were assigned to the Department of Parks by the Civil Works Administration.

             Work started on the cooatructian as soon as the plans were in
sufficient shape to give the engineers the sites of the buildings.  The
Department encountered a collection of antiquated buildings, dating back to
1870, which were structurally dangerous, unhealthy, unsanitary and entirely
inadequate for housing wil£ animals.  It was found necessary to move many
of [the] animals to the Brooklyn Zoo in Prospect Park, while others were
accommodated in such buildings as could remain temporarily or were penned in
runs nearby.  They have now been brought back and installed in their permanet
quarters, with certain of the animals from the Brooklyn Zoo, which is being
demolished.  When the new buildings in Prospect Park are opened in the early
spring of 1935, these visitors will be returned and other animals secured to
replenish the Central Park Zoo.


ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                                 FOR RELEASE 
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                             Monday, November 19, 1934

               A meeting was held in the offices of the Department of Parks at
5th Avenue and 64th Street, for the purpose of preparing a comprehensive plan
for the development of the property at Coney Island, bounded by Neptune Avenue
and Gravesend Bay, West 31st and West 23rd Streets.

               At the present time, this 33 acre tract is under the
jurisdiction of the Department of Parks, the Department of Docks, the Borough
President of Brooklyn, the Board of Education and the Department of Water
Supply, Gas and Electricity.

               The most easterly block of property between West 23rd and West
24th Streets is under the jurisdiction of the Board of Education and was to be
the site of a proposed new school.  This property is bounded on the east by an
industrial development, and on the west by property now under the jurisdiction
of the Department of Water Supply, Gas and Electricity.  It was the intention
of the Water Department to construct a pumping station on this site.

                The property between 25th and 31st Streets is under the
jurisdiction of the Department of Parks, and plans are now being prepared for
the development of this area. Along the waterfront, the Department of Docks
planned a 60 foot marginal road and this area has been held by the Department
of Docks to be used for this purpose in the future.  South of this 60 foot
marginal road, and abutting it, there is another proposed street, varying in
width from 60 to 80 feet, which was to be built by the Borough President.  The
Borough President also planned to extend West 25th Street northerly from
Neptune Avenue to this proposed waterfront street.

               As a result of this meeting a comprehensive plan has been
decided upon.  The Department of Vater Supply, Gas and Electricity will erect
its pumping station on the most easterly block between 23rd and 24th Streets
adjacent to the industrial area.  The Board of Education will use the property
between 24th and 25th Streets, and the Department of Parks will develop the
balance of the area. The Borough President of Brooklyn has agreed to
discontinue the proposed extension of West 25th Street, as well as the
proposed street along the waterfront, and the Commissioner of Docks agrees to
abandon his proposal for the marginal street.  The Department of Parks agreed
to release the property on the north side of Neptune Avenue and the easterly
side of west 31st Street, to allow for a widening of these thoroughfares, in
order to accommodate the traffic which was originally proposed to be carried
along the marginal or waterfront street.

               This new plan is arranged so that the pumping station will act
as a buffer between the industrial area and the property of the Department of
Parks and the Board of Education; it also gives it the seclusion needed for
this project.  In addition, it places the school in a much better location,
nearer to th^center of population, and gives it a fine setting adjacent to the

                The Department of Parks in turn is planning its play areas so
as to serve the children attending the school, as well as the other children
of the community.

               A committee of three architects, one from each of the three
Departments (Water Supply, Board of Education and the Department of Parks) are
to confer on this project, so that the architecture of the buildings to be
erected will harmonize.  The Department of Parks also offers the services of
its Landscape Architects to prepare landscape plans for the entire area.


                                            Nov. 16, 1934.

To - Mr .Nelson
Prom - J.V.Mulholland

         Roller Skating championships, Center Drive, Central Park.
         Homemade Wagon being constructed at Roosevelt
         Park, (both of these events Saturday,Nov. 17th.)

         As per telephone call from Mr. Mulholland,
         please have photographers at the Center Drive,
         Central Park, at 2 P.M. to take pictures of the
         roller skating championships.

         Also please have pictures taken of a boy or boys
         making their own wagons at Roosevelt Park tomorrow
         at 11 A.M.

                          J.V. Mulholland
                           per I H M


Arsenal, Central Park                      November 15, 1934
Regent 4-1000

          The Department of Parks states that it is receiving a rather large
number of letters from artists inquiring whether permits are necessary to
paint and sketch in the city parks. The present policy of the department
places no restriction on the artist who paints or sketches for his own
enjoyment rand not as a commercial venture.  While formal permission is not
required, letters granting the privilege will be furnished those artists who
make application for them to the Borough Director of the Department of

MANHATTAN:- Swedish Cottage, 79th St.& West Drive, Central Park.

BROHX: -    Zbrowski Mansion, Claremont Park.

BROOKLYN: - Litchfield Mansion, Prospect Park.

QUEENS:-    The Overlook, Forest Park, Kew Gardens.

RICHMOND:-  Field House, Clove Lakes Park, Victory
             Boulevard & Clove Road, West Brighton.



Arsenal, Central Park                     November 15, 1934.
Regent 4-1000

          The Inter-Borough Playground Roller-Skating Finals will be held
under the auspices of the Division of Recreation of the Department of Parks on
the Center Drive in Central Park on Saturday, November 17th, at 2 p.m.  The
boys and girls who finished first, second and third in each class will compete
in the finals for the championship, viz:

              Girls 4'8" Class 100 Yards

         Lillian Seawell from Manhattan     John Jay Playground
         Tessie Annis      " Brooklyn       Gravesend   "
         Gloria Amato      " Bronx          Macombs     "

              Boys 4'8" Class 220 Yards

         A. Bujnowski      " Manhattan      East 17th.St."
         M. Tartarsky      " Brooklyn       Williamsburg "
         F. Goetz          " Bronx          St.Mary's West "    
              Girls 5'3" Class 220 Yards

         Anna Shimonski    " Manhattan      Roosevelt   "
         Margaret Lyna     " Brooklyn       Gravesend   "
         Josephine Rubino  " Bronx          Macombs     "

               Boys 5*3" Class 440 Yards

         V. Galgano         " Manhattan     Roosevelt   "
         L. Meli            " Brooklyn      Bay Parkway "
         W. Bergstrom       " Bronx         St.Mary's West "

          The program will include two special events: an
880 yard roller-skating race open to girls up to 18 years of
age; and a similar event open to boys of 18 years or under.


                                                               Nov. 10, 1934.

To - Mr. Nelson
From James V. Mulholland
Subject - Roller Skating (Final Contest)


             Kindly notify newspapers regarding the final roller skating
contest for the borough of Manhattan, conducted by Recreation Division,
Department of Parks.

             The races will take place on the Center Drive near the Mall, 
72nd St.& Central Park, Saturday November 10th at 2 P.M.

                                 James V. Mulholland
                                    Director of Recreation.


ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                                 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                    November 10, 1934

                    Announcement was made yesterday by the Division of
Recreation, Department of Parks, of the conduction of the first home-made
wagon championship for children of the city, on Thanksgiving Day morning, on
Central Park Mall. Medals an&trophies for the preliminary events in the
various borough: playgrounds and for the finals have been donated by Israel
Sachs, head of the Sachs Foundation.

                     Three classes in the home-made wagon contest will
prevails teams of two in the 6-8 year group: 9-11 and 11-13 years. Another
feature will be a mixed age group of from 6-13 years which will permit brother
and sister or two members of the same family to compete. All wagons must be
made by contestants.

                     Three events for scooter races are also on the



ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                                 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                    November 8, 1934

                  The Department cf Parks will open two new playgrounds on
Friday, November 9th, making a total of 37 opened this year.

                  The Dreier-Offerman Playground between Cropsey Avenue and
Gravesend Bay at Bay 46th Street in the Borough of Brooklyn, will be opened at
3 o'clock.  Mayor LaGuardia, Borough President Ingersoll and Mrs. H. Edward
Dreier will speak at the dedication ceremonies.

                  The Land for the playground was originally purchased by
Mrs. Theodore Dreier as a site for the German Home for Recreation for Women
and Children and used for 25 years as a recreation and recuperation home for
mothers and children.  Settlement houses and churches made provision for the
work that the German Home was doing and the affairs of the Home were
liquidated. A committee composed of Mrs. G. William Rasch, President,
Mrs. Arthur Delmhorst, Mrs. H. Edward Dreier, Miss Mary Dreier, and Miss Minna
Von Nostitz arranged to have the land turned over to the City and gave to the
Park Department $20,000 to be used fcr the construction of a playground. This
sum was used to purchase material for the construction of the recreational
plant that is being opened tomorrow.

                  The playground has a wading pool and a two-story brick field
house. The sand tables, seesaws, slides and swings for small children are
located on the Bay side of the building.  Apparatus for older children is
located in the space adjoining Cropsey Avenue.

                  The Flushing Memorial Playfield in Queens will be opened at
4:00 P.M.  Mayor LaGuardia, the President of the Borough of Queens and
Mr. John Holley Clark, Jr. will speak.

           The land for the Flushing Memorial Playfield was given to the City
by the Memorial Field of Flushing, Inc., for the development of a playground.
Labor and material were supplied from Work Relief funds.

          A cne-story field house of Colonial design is located in a corner of
the playground.  Eight tennis courts, eight handball courts and two basketball
courts are provided in addition to swings, seesaws, sand tables and other
outdoor gymnasium equipment.

           The Department of Parks also announces that nineteen playgrounds
and parks, in addition to the two to be opened tomorrow, will be opened in the
various boroughs by March 2nd.  One new and completely equipped playground or
park will be opened each week beginning November 10th, with the opening of
Tompkins Park, Brooklyn.  Other November openings are the unveiling of the
East Side Memorial, Union Square, Manhattan on November 11thj dedication of
the 15th Milestone, Van Cortandt Park, Bronx, November 18th and City Island
Park in the Bronx.

            There will be six openings during December, viz.: the opening of
the new Central Park Zoo, Manhattan, on December 1st; playground at Rutgers
and Henry Streets, Manhattan, on the third; playground at Harbor Read and
Richmond Terrace, Richmond, on the tenth; two more blocks at Leiv Eiriksson
Park, Brooklyn, on the seventeenth; Chisholm Playground, Queens, on the
twenty-fourth and the Highbridge Playground, Manhattan, on the thirty-first.

            The Playground at Vandervoort and Cherry Streets, Brooklyn, will
open January 7th; Highbridge Playground at 180th Street, Manhattan on January
14th; St. James Park and Playground, Bronx on January 21st and the dedication
of the Flushing Memorial Field Gates, Queens, on January 28th.

            Three openings are scheduled for February, viz.: Clove Lakes Park,
Richmond, on the fourth; J. Hood Wright Park and Playground, Manhattan, on the
eleventh; playground at Union and Van Brunt Streets, Brooklyn, on the
eighteenth, and the German Memorial Park, Manhattan on the twenty-fifth.

            The Prospect Park Zoo in Brooklyn will be opened March 2, 1935.

            Of these nineteen centers for recreation seven will be in the
Borough of Manhattan, three in the Bronx, five in Brooklyn, two in Richmond
and two in Queens.


ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                                 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                    November 6, 1934

          A memorial tree is to be planted in City Hall Park, Manhattan, on
Wednesday afternoon, November 7, at one o'clock, under the auspices of the
Department of Parks as an enduring tribute to Madam Marie Sklodowska Curie and
her long and tireless energy in discovering radium and making its benefits
available to humanity.  November 7 marks the sixty-seventh anniversary of her

          The Reverend Felix F. Burant, Pastor of St. Stanislaus Church and
Chairman of the United St. Stanislaus Societies, New York, suggested the
planting of the tree, with suitable ceremonies, to the Department of Parks.

          The exercise swill start at 12:45 p.m. with selections by the Park
Department Band.  Father Burant will make the formal presentation of the tree
and dedicate it to the memory of Madam Curie, after which the children of St.
Stanislaus Parish School will sing the Polish National anthem.  Mayor Fiorella
H. LaGuardia will accept the tree in behalf of the city. At the conclusion oi
Mayor LaGuardia's address the children will sing The Star Spangled Banner and
then place a wreath at the base of the tree, an Oriental Plane.  The rendition
of the French National Anthem will conclude the exercises.

          The program will be broadcast by Station WNYC.



ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                                 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                    November 2, 1934

             The Department of Parks will plant and dedicate a new elm to
perpetuate the old "Tree of Hope" at Seventh Avenue and 131st Street, New York
City, which it was necessary for the department to remove, and around which
centered the existing legend of the old tree's inspirational qualities.

             The ceremony will be held on Sunday, November 4th, beginning at
2:30 p.m.  Selections by Fred Simpson's Monarch Elks Band will open the
program, followed by a dance by Bill Robinson and his chorus. Mr. Robinson
will also speak during the exercises, at the conclusion of which the
procession will proceed to the playground on West 160th Street, West of
Seventh Avenue, to participate in the opening at that point where the program,
starting at 4:10 p.m., consists of selections by the band, the flag raising
ceremony and the opening to the children of the playground facilities, which
include a jungle gym, swings, see-saws, and handball courts.

             The program of the dedication of the new "Tree of Hope" will be
broadcast between 3 and 3:45 p.m. by Stations WNYC, WNEW, WOV and WOR.



ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                                 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                    October 31, 1934

        The Annual Chrysanthemum Show of the Department of Parks at the
greenhouses in Prospect Park, Brooklyn, will open to the public on Sunday,
November 4th, at 10 a.m. The exhibit will be open every day thereafter, as
long as the blooms last, between the hours of 10 a.m. and 4 p.m.

       A large number of varieties of chrysanthemums will be shown, including
the Pocketts, in three colors, the Turners, in four colors, and the Armistice
Day, Vermont, Rita Mitchell and the Majestic varieties.  The display will also
contain an extensive collection of Pompons as well as the Anemone class of
Chrysanthemums. The shades will vary from white to dark bronze.



DEPARTMENT OF PARKS                                   RELEASE FOR MORNING
ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                                 PAPERS, MONDAY, 
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                    October 29, 1934



                On January 19th of this year Chapter 2 of the Laws of 1934
amending the New York City Charter abolished the five former Park Departments
and set up one single Department of Parks under one Commissioner.  I took
office as Park Commissioner under Mayor LaGuardia and became responsible for
the development, maintenance and operation of the park system in the five

                I found the personnel of the Department undisciplined and in
most instances working under untrained and unskilled supervision and with no
orderly plan of operation.  The technical staff of the Department was unfitted
for the work it was supposed to perform.  Three architects, two landscape
architects, eleven inspectors of stone masonry, nine inspectors of regulating,
grading and paving, thirteen topographical draftsman, twelve assistant
engineers and a few more engineering employees of various titles were
attempting to plan work, supervise labor, purchase material and otherwise
control an army of 69,000 C.W.A. workers.  These C.W.A. men were supposed to
be doing laboring work.  Their foremen were without proper qualifications for
their jobs.  The superintendents were even more unprepared to do the work
assigned to them.  These field supervisors were mostly white collar employees
who were placed in charge of construction projects on tho theory that men
unable to do common labor work could at least stand around and watch laborers
dig and rake leaves.

                 The parks were in a disgraceful condition.  Fences,
playground equipment, iron benches, steel bridges, piers and other iron work
had been allowed through neglect to rust.  Walks, paths and roadways wore
acres of broken pavement.  Lawn areas wore meadows of weeds.  Thousands of
trees wore butchered or hacked down to provido firewood for political
favorites.  There was not a single park building in the City that did not need
immodiato repairs and painting.  Roofs leaked and twenty percent of the
toilets in the comfort stations word closod because of missing parts.  Tho
zoos in Contral Park and Brooklyn were filthy fire traps.  The keepors were
found with shotguns in their laps to shoot down wild animals in case of fire.
A dungeon-like, unsanitary bath-house was being erected in Orchard Beach in
Pelham Bay Park blocking the proper use of the beach.  An elaborate manor was
being built for a club house at Dyker Boach that contained sumptuous
apartments for the superintendent of the park and poorly planned and
inadoquate public rooms.  Great gashes wore cut through woodlands to provide
drives through parks that did not recognize the simple fundamental demands of
parkway design.  Asphalt walks and roadways wore being constructed without
proper foundations and wore heaving from frost action before the jobs wore

                 The relief workers in the parks had been recruited through
the National Reemploymont Service and passed through the Civil Works
Administration to the various city departments.  The Park Department inherited
69,000 of them.  They were working under the fiction that they were Federal
employees because they were paid entirely from Federal funds. There is no
evidence that the former five Park Commissioners assumed any responsibility to
get work out of them.  They were falling all over each other with no tools to
work with, no material to build into permanent improvements and, except in a
fow isolatod instances, no general directions as to what to do.  Six thousand
of them were on the ash dumps below tho railroad tracks on Riverside Drive
standing in snow, picking at frozen cinders.  Five thousand of them were on
the sand wastes of Marine Park in Brooklyn, huddled around fires on the marsh
lands; two thousand of them were on the bridle paths of Central Park with
nothing to work with; and one thousand of them were on a sand roof off the
shore on Staten Island pushing wheelbarrows of sand and dumping it overboard
to be washed away at the cost of five dollars per cubic yard.  Twenty thousand
of them could not be accounted for at all in any reports that reflected work
done.  The only record of their existence on the projects showed on the time
shees of the payroll checkers.  the rest of them were scattered all over the
city and, except in the rare instances where consciontious individual foremen
or onginoors were able single handed to keep a score or more busy, their work
was of no permanent value to the city.

                 When I was offered the appointment of Commissioner cf Parks
by Mayor LaGuardia after the election in Novenber of 1933, I undertook
immediately, with the approval of the Mayor, a comprehensive survey of the
park conditions of the City.  The late Travis Whitney, Civil Works
administrator for the City, appointed a Consulting Engineer and three
assistant engineers for professional services, and not on a relief basis, to
aid me in this survey.  Those engineers started work on November 14th of last
year and by January 19th, the date of my appointment to office as Commissioner
of the consolidated Department of Parks, had completed a survey of every park
end parkway area in the City.  One thousand seven hundred Work Relief projects
were set up in this report, to provide worthwhile work for 75,000 men.  The
cost of necessary materials, the equipment required, and the labor which could
be effectively used on each project, was outlined with a map and photographs
of the park area.

                  I undertook immediately to reorganize the new Department.  I
established at the Arsenal Headquarters in Manhattan a single Division of
Design, and placed at its head experienced park engineers and landscapes
architects, drawn from the State park service, and placed the responsibility
for the direction of the actual construction work in the hands of executives
of proven ability.  There were only five now full-time technical employees and
two part-time consultants brought into the permanent City Service, and there
was no time to train the hundreds of foremen, superintendents, engineers,
landscape architects, architects who had to start real work immediately.
Experienced men had to be employed at once, and they could not be found
rogistered with the National Reemployment Service.  Attempts to secure men
from this agency to plan and direct this huge construction program failed.

                 On Friday, January 26th, a conference was held between the
Federal, State and City C.W.A. authorities and the Park Departmont
officials, and permission was granted to the Departtmont of Parks of the City
to employ directly five hundred technical and construction supervisors at
salaries up to $80.00 per week.  The quota of five hundred mon was later
increased to five hundrod and forty-seven.  The Park Department was given a
free hand in the selection of these men.  No consideration was givon to
residence or need of work.  They wore to be hired on the basis of their
ability and experience.

                  Pursuant to this agreement the Park Department officials
canvassed the larger building and general contracting firms of the City for
lists of superintendents, foremen, expediters of construction and engineers
who were available, and secured from the Associated General Contractors lists
of member contractors.  All those lists contained names of experienced
supervisors who wore recommended by their former employers.  One thousand
three hundred telegrams wore sent out on Saturday afternoon to all men
interested in securing positions, directing then to report for personal
interviews on Sunday afternoon.  On Sunday afternoon all the applicants for
the foreman positions wora interviewed by Consulting Engineers of the
Department, and graded according to their experience and qualifications.  The
applicants for superintendent positions wore interviewed by engineers of the
Department and those whose record indicated capacity for the most responsible
positions, wore interviewed personally by the General Superintendent.  Colonel
Walter DeLamator, City C.W.A. administrator was asked to be present, and
reviewed and approved this emergency procedure.  The first men reported for
interviews at 2:00 P. M. on Sunday, and the task was completed at 5:00
A. M. Monday morning.  The superintendents who wore selectod were directed
that night by telegram to report to work on Monday, and the foremen who were
employed were directed by telegram to report for work over a period of the
following three days.  A memorandum on this procedure forwarded to the
Chairman of the Civil Works Administration of the State of New York on
February 9th is attached.

                These men employed on January 27th were almost all outside
construction supervisors, and wo continued our efforts to obtain designing
architects, landscape architects and engineers from the National Reemployment
Service.  By the middle of February it became clear that not even white collar
engineers of sufficient experience and training could be drawn from this
agency.  On February 21st, the Director of the Federal Civil Works
administration of New York State authorized Colonel DeLamater, New York City
Civil Works Adninistrator, to select supervisory, designing and professional
personnel to the extent of 453 persons from lists submitted by the National
Engineers Society Employment Service, the National Engineers Society direct,
the Architectural League, the General Contractors Association or the
Association of Landscape Architects.  The Director commented in his letter
granting this authority that an emergency existed, making it impossible to
draw those men through the National Roemployment Service.  A copy of the
letter from the Civil Works Administrator is attached.

                  There was no limitation put on the residence of those 453
men.  They were to be hired for their ability and experience.  Due to a later
change of regulations, 142 of the 453 men were required to qualify through
Home Relief.

                  Of the original 547 men who were employed on January 27th,
374 are still employed on Park Department projects; of the 453 men who were
obtained through the Engineers Society rolls, 369 are still working on park
design.  The 257 men of the original 1,000 enployed have dropped out by
accepting other jobs, have been discharged for inefficiency or transferred to
other City Departments, including the general administrative office of the
Works Division.  I did not know any of these men.  Not a single one was
employed or recommended on account of personal or political influence.  They
were employed on Federal C.W.A. projects, and paid entirely from Federal
funds.  Their place of residence was not considered.  They were employed
solely for their abilities to design worthwhile park projects, supervise all
types of construction work and perform other highly specialized professional
practices incidental to the development of the park system in New York City.

                  The Park Department Projects which those men undertook to
organize and progress is the largest engineering or construction project
undertaken as a single enterprise during the same length of time anywhere in
my knowledge.  The men took over a completely demoralized force of untrained
laborers and mechanics, and in a short length of time whipped an efficient
organization into shape.  There have been no irregularities and no instance of
dishonesty by a single one of those men.  They have worked almost double the
number of hours required of them by their paymasters, because the industry in
which they wore trained always demanded this of them.  They have weeded out
and discharged Relief Workers who could not or would not work.  They have
demonstrated remarkable ingenuity in stretching inadequate quantities of
materials.  I know of no more able, devoted and patriotic group of men
anywhere in public service.

                  The C.W.A. as a 100% Federal Agency went out of existence on
forty-eight hours notice last Spring, and the T.E.R.A. proceeding on the basis
of 50% Federal funds, 25% State funds and 25% local funds, was substituted.
The rules of employment, the method of purchasing material, the regulations
governing the rental of equipment, and the responsibility for the progress cf
the work were all changed overnight, but the actual work of building
playgrounds, erecting buildings, paving roads, etc., did not change.  The
papers and the bookkeeping were simply taken off one desk, and dumped on

                As soon as the Federal Civil Works Administration was replaced
by the Works Division of the Department of Public Welfare, as a clearing house
for this work, the comparatively small number of technical and supervisory men
who lived outside of New York City wore questioned as to their residence.  In
July, a list of forty-one names of men who were listed as non-residents of the
City of New York was furnished this Department by the Department of Public
Welfare.  On July 27th, the Department of Public Welfare was advised that four
of the men listod were no longer working with the Department, and that
twenty-seven of the men whose residence was questioned, were key men and that
no men could be found available within the City who could replace any of them.
Ten of the men whoso residence was questioned were tochnical specialists and
the Welfare Department was advised that, while they were fully qualified for
the work they were doing and the termination of their services would result in
loss, their positions could be filled with other men of similar
qualifications.  The Park Department offered to substitute additional men
furnished by the Welfare Department to replace those ton men.  Up to the
present time two replacments have been received.  A copy of the memorandum
from the Park Department to the Welfare Department is attached.

               It should be made clear that in addition to the 601
superintendents, architects, engineers and landscape architects employed by
the Park Department with no consideration of their need for relief, there are
1,683 other technical and supervisory employees who wore furnished by the Home
Relief Bureau of the Department of Public Welfare.

              Statements have been made that these men are overpaid.  Of the
2,284 men planning and directing the construction, five receive $80.00 por
week; nine receive $70.00 por week; thirty-four receive $60,00 por week; one
receives $55.00 per week; fifty-six receive $50.00 per week; sixty receive
$45.00 por week; five hundred and thirteen receive weekly wages between $33.00
and $40.00; eight hundred and twelve receive $30.00 por week; sixty earn
between $24.00 and $27.00 per week; and seven hundred thirty-four of them are
paid $21.00 por week.  Of these 2,284 men, 669 of thon are architects,
engineers, specification writers, topographical draftsmen and topographical
engineers; 1,615 of then are in charge of the actual direction of all the
construction forces.  They are general superintendents, assistant
superintendents, foremen of techanical trades, labor foremen and other
supervisors.  There are 37,643 men working now on Work Relief Projects in the
Park Department.

                Criticisms have been directed at the method of purchase of
material, rental of equipment and the hire of transportation facilities.  In
projects totaling over thirty million dollars over a period of less than nine
months, mistakes are made.  I do not pretend that mistakes have not been made
in the Park Department.  It is nothing short of miraculous that more mistakes
have not been made.  The rules and regulations under which the money has been
spent were not designed to cover emergency work.  The purchase of millions of
dollars worth of material running into thousands of tons, requiring immediate
delivery, has been done through a central purchase system dosigned to satisfy
the routine needs of organized, smooth-running City institutions, and not
emergency construction projects.  The regulations have been changed overnight
many tines, and in almost every instance, money for the purchase of material
and equipment has been made available after the date men were sent to work on
the projects.  Federal supervision by the C.W.A., State and Federal
supervision by the T.E.R.A., City supervision by the Department of Public
Welfare, through both its Home Relief and Work Rolief Divisions, the
inspection of material and the payment of bills by the Finance Department,
buying of material and equipment by the Purchase Department, investigation of
the conduct of work by the Commissioner of Accounts, and other forms of
control, approval, or check by other City Departments, commissions and bureaus
passing on quality of materials, permits for construction, etc, created a
tangle of red tape which has been cut only by the most aggressive and
persistent pressure.  The results justify my belief that no Government
enterprise of similar complexity has been performed so as to provide as little
justification for honest criticism.

               Since January 19th of this year the Department of Parks has
spent $30,231,552.00 on new construction from work Relief funds, of which
$25,931,552,00 has been used for labor and $6,300,000.00 for natorials and
equipment.  The money has been spont prudently in accordance with a
comprehensive plan of development of the whole city.  All the parks have been
rehabilitated.  Forty-one thousand, seven hundred and fifty gallons of paint
have been used; eighty-six miles of rusty, dilapidated fence have been
replaced with twenty-one miles of new fencing; forty-three miles of walks have
been repaired; and twelve miles of bridle paths have been renovated, and six
miles of new bridle paths constructed; 236 acres of park area have been
drained and restored to park usage; 712 drinking fountains have been repaired
and 243 new fountains installed; 39,000 cubic yards of stone masonry retaining
walls have been built to restore steep hillsides to public usage; 145 comfort
stations have been cleaned, repainted and ropaired; 10,000 new waste baskets
have been installed and 23,100 benches have been repaired.  Three hundred and
twenty-two tennis courts have been resurfaced; 90,500 trees have been pruned;
13,500 dead trees have been ronoved; 141,800 trees have been sprayed; 192,800
shrubs have been pruned and the trees and shrubs in forty-three parks and
parkways have been completely rehabilitated.  Over 70,000 cubic yards of muck
have been mined and spread as top dressing on lawn areas.  This material which
was being covered with ash fill would have cost the City over $200,000.00, if
it had been purchased and not salvaged from swamp land.  One hundred
thirty-three thousand cubic yards of new soil were purchased; 97,000 pounds of
grass seed have been used; 400,000 square feet of sod were placed; 14,200
trees, 105,000 shrubs and 43,000 vines were planted, A complete program of
rehabilitating over 284 statues in the City has been undertaken.

                  Those items are only a small part of the general
housecleaning and rehabilitation of the existing areas.  New construction
projects include seven golf courses, which will be completed by the Spring of
1935, and five existing golf courses which have been modernized. One new golf
club house will be finished.  Thirty-four new playgrounds, equipped with
comfort stations, play pavilions, wading pools, and outdoor playground
apparatus have been added to the system in addition to the rehabilitation of
sixty-five existing playground areas.  All those playgrounds have been
landscaped to provide shade. The seven block rocreational park at
Chrystie-Forsythe and two blocks of the recreational park at Leiv Eiriksson
have been finished and opened this year.  By next Spring, sixty new
playgrounds will have been opened.  Bryant Park has been completely rebuilt.
Complete new zoos will be finished in Central Park, Manhattan, Prospect Park
in Brooklyn and Barrett Park in Staten Island.  The sheepfold in Central Park
has been converted into a modern tavern and Claremont Inn on Riverside Drive
has been renovated and opened as a popular priced restaurant.  The lower
reservoir in Central Park is being rebuilt and opened to the public; temporary
bath houses have been installed at Wolfe's Pond in Staten Island.  Eight new
swimming pools, conpletely equipped with bath houses, filter plants and
chlorinating units, are under construction.  Fourteen additional pools are
being designed, and work on then will commence in the Spring.

                 If this constructive program is to go on, the supervision by
aggressive, qualified construction superintendents, engineers, architects and
landscape architects, selected for their ability to get work done and not
primarily for their need of relief, must be continued and a reasonable amount
of material, equipment, and supplies must be furnished.  Without this material
to work with, and without this small group of men of proven ability, the whole
Relief program will revert in a short time to the old racket of raking leaves
and polishing sidewalks.

                           (Robert Moses signature)

(COPY)                     DEPARTMENT OF PARKS

                                                 February 9th, 1934.

Mr. Alfred H. Schoellkopf,
Chairman, Civil Works Administration
   for the State of New York,
124 East 28th Street,
New York City.

Dear Al:

         I am attaching a memorandum prepared by Mr.  and Mr. Praeger
outlining the procedure followed in the employment of technical and
construction supervisors for C.W.A.  projects of the New York City Department
of Parks.

         The procedure followed in securing these men was in accordance with
my direct instruction, and I was familiar with every step that was taken.

                                       Very truly yours,

                               (SIGNED) Robert Moses

                                    Commissioner of Parks.


(COPY)                        DEPARTMENT OF PARKS

                              DEPARTMENT OF PARKS.

         On Friday evening, January 26th, a conference was held at the state
C.W.A. headquarters on C.W.a. work in the New York City parks, Henry Root
Stern presided and was in communication on the telephone with Alfred
H. Schoellkopf, Chairman of the State C.W.A. Others present were Frederick
Daniels of the State C.W.A.; Henry Epstein, Counsel; Colonel DeLamater and
Mr. Woolsey of the City C.W.A.; Mr. Langa of the U.S. Unemployment Service and
Mr. Kauffmann of the State Employment Service; Colonel Hammond, Mr. Williams,
Mr. Ford and Mr. Jones of the State C.W.A. staff; Robert Moses, Commissioner
of Parks of the City of New York; W. Earle Andrews and Emil Preager of the
City Park Department, and others. It was definitely agreed at this conference
that the Department of Parks of the City should directly employ 500 technical
and construction supervisors at salaries up to $80.00 per week and that,
because of the emergency, these men would he exempt from the usual rules of
the Federal Re-employment Service.

        Pursuant to this agreement, on Saturday, January 27th, General
Superintendent Emil Praeger and Consulting Park Engineer W. Earle Andrews,
canvassed the larger building and general construction firms of the city for
lists of superintendents, foreman, expediters, and construction engineers who
were available. Thsy also secured from the Associated General Contractors, a
national trade organization, lists of its member contractors. All of these
lists contained names of experienced supervisors who were recommended by their
former employers. Mr. Andrews and Mr. Praeger were assisted in this work by
Messrs. Wood, Quigley and Dawson, C.W.A. engineers working under the
supervision of Mr. Praeger on a per diem basis; John Madigan, Richard Hyland
and former Deputy Commissioner of Highways of the State of New York, Major
I. B. A. Huie, of the consulting engineering firm of Madigan and Hyland, who,
at our request, offered their services without pay; and several civil service
employees of the engineering staff of the Department of Parks. Mr. Praeger
sent out 1300 telegrams on Saturday afternoon for all men interested in
securing positions as superintendents or foremen to report for personal
interviews on Sunday afternoon.

        On Sunday afternoon, all of the applicants for foremen's positions
were interviewed by Mr. Hyland and Major Huie and graded in accordance with
their experience and qualifications. All of the applicants for
superintendents' positions were first interviewed by Messrs. Quigley, Wood and
Dawson and the civil service engineers and those who demonstrated ability
which seemed to fit them for the more responsible positions were interviewed
personally by Mr. Praeger. Mr. Madigan, Mr. Andrews and Major Crane (Assistant
to the Commissioner) supervised generally the process of passing these men
through for interviews. Colonel DeLamater, the City C.W.A. Administrator,
spent at least an hour in the office upon the invitation of Mr. Andrews on an
inspection of the procedure.

        When the work of interviewing all the men was completed at about eight
o'clock in the evening, a board consisting of Mr. Praeger, Mr. Madigan, Major
Huie and Mr. Andrews as chairman, personally passed upon the selection of the
supervisors who were to be employed and telegrams were sent out to the
superintendents directing them to report to work on Monday. The foremen who
were employed were directed by telegram to report over a period of the
following three days.

        The first men reported for interview at 2:00 P. M. on Sunday and the
task of selecting the men was completed at 5:00.A.M.  Monday morning. At no
time during the course of the work did a single contractor appear in the
building or did an officer or executive of the General Contractors'
Association come into the picture. The negotiations were at all times between
the Department of Parks and the individual seeking employment.

                               (SIGNED)   W. Earle Andrews
                                          Consulting Park Engineer

                               (SIGNED) Emil Praeger
                                        General Superintendent


                              OF NEW YORK STATE

                               NEW YORK OFFICE

                               79 Madison Ave.

                                                  February 21st,

Colonel Walter A. DeLamater,
New York City Civil Works Administration,
111 Eighth Avenue, New York City,

                   Attention of Mr. Woolsey

My dear Colonel DeLamater:

              Pursuant to our conversation of this date, you are hereby
authorized to select supervisory, designing and professional personnel to the
extent of 452 persons from lists submitted by the National Engineering
Society's Employment Service, the National Engineering Society direct, the
Architectural League, the General Contractor's Association, or the Association
of Landscape Architects.

              These societies will furnish you with a certified list of
qualified unemployed persons who are in need, and a copy of these lists will
be also furnished by these organizations to this Administration.

              This authorization is granted as an emergency measure, in view
of the fact that the urgency of continuing and promoting your projects brings
about an exigency which makes it impossible to draw these men through the
National Re-employment Service.

                                         Very truly yours,

                                    (SIGNED) Frederick I. Daniels.



                             INDIVIDUALS OMITTED

                                                               July 27, 1934

          TO:    Walter B. Woolsey
                 Assistant Director Works Division
                 Department of Public Welfare

          FROM: W. Earle Andrews

                 I have received a list of forty-one naaes of men who are
non-residents of the City and whom you intend to dismiss because of their

                 Four of these men no longer are working for the Department of
Parks because they have resigned or have already been dismissed for one cause
or another. These men are as follows:

                      (NAMES, ADDRESSES, BADGE NUMBERS
                       AND TITLES OF FOUR MEN LISTED,)

                  The following men hold key positions as executives or do
specialized work. There are no men available within the City who can replace
any of these men, and if there were men available with equal experience and
qualifications, it would be entirely impractical to replace any of these men
with new men whom it would take two or three months to become fully acquainted
with the work which these men are doing and to acquire the experience and
value which these men havs acquired during their work with this
Department. These key men are as follows:

                      (NAMES, BADGE NUMBERS, TITLES,
                       WEEKLY WAGES AND COMPLETE DES-
                       CRIPTION OF DUTIES OF TWENTY-
                       SEVEN MEN LISTED. )

                 The following men altho they are not major executives and do
not hold key positions, are fully qualified for the work they are doing, and
the termination of their services would result in great loss in either design
or construction. Their positions could be filled by other men with similar
qualifications, but as far as we have been able to ascertain, such men are not
available on the Welfare list in the city.  If you can furnish us with
qualified men from the Welfare list, we can substitute them for these men at a
slight cost in delay and confusion:

                      (NAMES, 3AEGE NUMBERS, ADDRESSES,
                       TITLES, AND WEEKLY WAGES OF TEH
                       MEN LISTED.)

                                          W. Earle Andrews
                                          General Superintendent


Arsenal, Central Park
Tel. Regent 4-1000
                                            October 28, 1934

                  The Department of Parks is making a complete survey of the
existing trees on the streets in all the five boroughs of New York.  There are
over a million street trees in the City and the Charter provides that the Park
Department is responsible for their care. Each of the former Borough Park
Departments had its own idea as to how this control should be exercised.  Some
boroughs allowed individuals to plant trees with a permit calling for Park
Department inspection, some planted trees for individuals for a nominal fee,
some accepted cash guarantees that the planting would be properly done. No
adequate records were kept and the existence of most of the street trees has
never been tabulated.  No orderly city wide system of inspection was
maintained.  Trees were pruned and fallen trees removed only when occupants of
adjacent property complained.  The employees responsible for the care of the
trees were called in some instances "Inspectors of Tree Complaints".

                   This lack of uniform policy has unfortunately resulted in
selection of proper species, amateur and improper planting, placing of trees
in locations that cannot support any tree at all, and a staggering maintenance

                   While the survey is not entirely completed, the information
already compiled indicates that uniform regulations must be established as
soon as possible.  The Park Department announces the following policy:

1. The Department of Parks will plant without cost to property owners trees
   along boulevards and parkways under its jurisdiction.  The necessary
   planting on those boulevards and parkways has been neglected and cannot be
   completed immediately.  Designs for the planting are being prepared and a
   program over a period of several years will be established.  The program is
   necessarily dependent en the availability of funds.  If the present work
   relief is continued some of the work will be undertaken immediately.

2. Permits for planting by indiviauals or organizations on city streets will
   be issued by the Park Department except where conditions of soil, usage,
   rand other factors indicate trees cannot be expected to survive.  Permits
   must be secured from the Department before work is started, and the
   selections of the species? size and location of the tree will be specified.
   Preparation cf the soil as well as planting must be done according to
   specifications of the Park Department.

   The cost of the work, except supervision, must be borne entirely by the
   individual or organization requesting the permit.  A ten dollar deposit
   must be paid for each tree as a guarantee of the proper performance of the
   specifications.  This deposit will be returned when the tree is accepted by
   the City for maintenance.  Application blanks for the planting of trees are
   now available and may be obtained either by applying by mail or in person
   to the Department of Parks at the following offices;

MANHATTAN: Swiss Cottage, 79th Street and West Drive, Central Park.

BRONX:     Zbrowski Mansion,, Claremont Park.

BROOKLYN:  Litchfield Mansion, Prospect Parkk
           West and 5th Street, Prospect Park.

QUEENS:    The Overlook, Union Turnpike and
           Park Lane, Forest Park, Kew Gardens, L. I.

RICHMOND:  Clove Lakes Park, West Brighton, S.I.

          Trees planted by the Park Department on Park Department land and by
individuals on permit from the Park Department will be maintained by the
City. A systematic program of pruning, tree surgery where necessary, and the
removal of dangerous or dead trees will be undertaken this Winter in each of
the five boroughs of the city, if work relief funds are available.
          There has never been a complete, comprehensive overhauling of all
trees on city streets. Funds have never been available in sufficient amounts
to do this work and there has never been a sufficient organization to
supervise the highly technical forestry force.

           Over two thousand complaints are received each month at the five
borough offices and at the headquarters of the Park Department concerning
trees that need attention.  Every effort is made to investigate these
complaints and correct faulty conditions where they exist, but preventive
measures are required and net corrective actions.  The overhauling will take
two Winters.  Once this is completed and an orderly system for the control of
future planting is established, all the trees in the city that can be properly
planted will be maintained at the present cost of sawing off dead branches,
cutting down fallen trees, pruning and spraying that is now being done.



ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                                 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                    October 25, 1934

    The Department of Parks will open three more playgrounds on Sunday,
October 28th, at 3:30 p.m.  These playgrounds are located at Sheriff, Broome,
and Delancey Streets on the lower east side in Manhattan, at Fulton Street and
Classon Avenue in Brooklyn, and at Fort No. 4, Sedgwick and Reservoir Avenues,
in the Bronx.

    The exercises will open with selections by a band, which are to be
followed by a brief address by the Borough Director of the Department of Parks
who will serve as chairman, call to the colors; rendition of the Star Spangled
Banner; games and dances by the children of the various playgrounds, and the
actual opening of the play areas.

     All three playgrounds have recreation buildings and are fully equipped
with play apparatus for children, and have space for basketball and handball
courts. Each of the new playgrounds in Manhattan end Brooklyn will have a
wading pool and at Fort No. 4 a large portable shower will be provided for use
during the summer season in the open play space.

     The playground at Sheriff, Broome and Delancey Streets is known as the
Gulick Playground. It was so named in memory of Dr. Luther Halsey Gulick, one
of the founders and the first President of the National Recreation
Association.  Dr. Gulick was also one of the founders of the Public School
Athletic League and was instrumental in revising instruction in hygiene and
physical culture in the Public Schools of the City of New York. He served as
President of the Campfire Girls Association, which he also helped to organize.



ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                                 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                    October 25, 1934

        Through the generosity of the National Association of Audubon
Societies the Department of Parks is to receive nearly 100 separate feeding
and nesting devices for use in Central Park and at Fort No. 4, Sedgwick and
Reservoir Avenues, These special means for attracting bird life range in size
from small suet holders to large "weathervane" grain feeders. The nesting
boxes will be designed to accommodate beneficial species of wild birds now
resident in the park, and also other birds that formerly nested there and may
return as residents as a result of these efforts.

        This equipment will be placed in the three sanctuary areas
maintained in Central Park by the Park Department. It is appropriate that
the Audubon Association make this donation, inasmuch as it was the original
interest aroused by this organization that laid the ground work for the
present sanctuary developments. Food-bearing plants are being set out by the
department, and the addition of nesting boxes and feeding trays will still
further enhance the value of the park sanctuaries to the birds, and,
thereby, to the public in general.



                              October 17, 1934.

Memo:   To Mr.John Downing,
                 Supervisor of Recreation Brooklyn

               We have been advised by the Music Division
        111 8th Avenue, that there will be a Dance Orchestra
        assigned on Tuesdays and Thursdays, 8:30 P.M. at the
        Picnic House, Prospect Park, commencing Tuesday, the
        23rd of October.

               This dancing is to continue throughout the
        Fall and Winter season.

                               James V. Mulholland
                                Director of Recreation.

           Per May Peters.
              Copy to Mr. Gross - Boro Engineer
               Copy to Mr. Nelson


Arsenal, Central Park

                               October 8, 1934.

                 Mr. Andrews directed that the following statement should be
telephoned to all of the Queens dailies as well as to the new York papers
carrying a Queens section:


             THIS WAS DONE.
                                    L. RAY NELSON


                                             FOR RELEASE
DEPARTMENT OF PARKS                          Thursday,October 11, 1934.
Arsenal, Central Park 
Regent 4-1000.

              Creatore and his band will play the final outdoor concert of the
season at Forest Park, Queens, on Saturday (October 13) evening at 8:30 P.M.,
in the Music Grove at Woodhaven Boulevard and Main Drive, Richmond Hill.

              The program has been chosen by popular request, and among the
selections are many favorite numbers by Victor Herbert.

              The Department of Parks estimates that 75,000 people have
attended the concerts given under its auspices during the summer.




ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                                 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                    October 8, 1934

                   The Department of Parks announces that the opening date of
the Flushing Memorial Playground, located at 149th Street and 25th Avenue,
Queens, has been advanced from October 20th to November 9th.



Arsenal, Central Park              October 19, 1934.
Tel. Regent 4-1000

          On Saturday, October 20th, at 4 p.m., the Department of Parks will
hold a brief ceremony in connection with the unveiling of the bronze statue of
Dr. J. Marion Sims by Ferdinand Von Miller at its new location in Central
Park, facing Fifth Avenue at 103rd Street.

          Dr. Bernard Sachs will pay tribute to Dr. Sims for the Academy of
Medecine, Dr. John H.  Finley for the citizens of New York and Dr. George Gray
Ward for the Woman's Hospital.

           This statue of Dr. Sims formerly stood in Bryant Park and was
removed by former administrations and placed in storage.



ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                                 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                    October 18, 1934

               The Park Department announces the opening of two playgrounds on
Friday, October 19th.  One of these playgrounds is in the Borough of Brooklyn
at Park Avenue and Taaffe Place and includes a general girls' play field a
boys' play field, a wading pool, basketball court, and an area for outdoor
playground apparatus.  Handball courts are also provided for boys.  A brick
recreation building with toilet facilities and indoor playrooms is being

               The playground in Manhattan is located at Cherry, Monroe and
Gouveneur Streets.  A general play field, two handball courts, outdoor
gymnasium equipment and a wading pool have been completed.  A recreation
building with comfort station, is also being provided.  The opening of these
two playgrounds mark thirty-two opened by the Park Department in a period of
less than three months.

               On Friday, October 26th the playgrounds at Sheriff, Broome and
Delancey Streets, Manhattan, Fulton Street and Classon Avenue, Brooklyn, and
old Fort No. 4 in the Bronx will be opened to the public.

               On November 9th the Dreier Offerman Playground, at Bay 46th
Street and Cropsey Avenue in Brooklyn and the Flushing Memorial Playground at
149th Street and Bayside Avenue in Queens will be completed and opened to the


ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                                 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                 Friday, October 12, 1934

               The Recreation Division of the Department of Parks has arranged
a harvest festival which is to be presented on the mall in Central Park,
Monday evening (October 15th) at 8 P.M.  The nearest entrance to the Mall is
72nd Street and Fifth Avenue.  This is the first time that the Department of
Parks has planned a large outdoor festival of this character.

               A typical harvest scene will be depicted, with all of the
bounty associated with the harvest season on display.  Autumn leaves and
cornstalks will form a setting for the folk dances of manjr lands which are to
be given by the playground directors and Folk Council Dancers.  A chorus of
forty trained singers, representing the gleaners, will be furnished by the
Music Division of the Department of Public Welfare.  They will sing the
harvest songs of various nations.  Dance and incidental music will be played
by a thirty-five piece orchestra, directed by Gerado Iasilli.

                The following organizations are cooperating with the
Department of Parks in giving the festivals:

                The English Folk Dance Society
                The Folk Festival Council Groups
                Ukrainian Dancers Club
                Svenska Folkdans Ringen
                Music Division, Department of Public Welfare
                National Recreation Association
                The program of the evening is as follows:

Prologue        Proserpine and the Earth Spirits
                Sun and Rain

Scene I      Processional  - "Come You Thankful People Come" - Chorus
             The Goddess of Harvest and the Gleaners

Scene II     Indian Episode - The Indian Harvest - Chorus
                              "Wake, Wake, Arise"

Scene III    The Holland Episode - "When It's Raining" - Chorus
             Dutch Dance

Scene IV     English Episode - "Lavenders Blue" - Chorus
             The Morris Dancers            Directors Miss May Gadd
             Processional Morris Dance
                 Tideswell      Derbyshire
                 Blue-eyed Stranger Oxfordshire
             Country Dances
                 Morpeth Rant   Northumberland
                 The Old Mole   17th Century
             Sword Dance
                 Winlaton       Durham
             Country Dance
                 The Durham Heel Durham
Scene V       Ukainian Episode - "The Harvest Song" - Chorus
              Ukrainian Dancers           Director; Mr.kichael
                                 Kolorneyka            Herman
                                 Kolomeyka Forward

Scene VI     Italian Episode - "Song of the Reapers" - Chorus

Scene VII    Spanish Episode - "The Bull and the Cowboy"-Chorus
             Spanish Dancers 

Scene VIII   Norwegian Episode - "Fetch the Water" - Chorus
             Norwegian Dancers - Director: Aasmund Goytil
                                 6 Tur One

Scene IX     Swedish Episode - "Heap the Flax" - Chorus
             Swedish Dancers -  Director Mr. J. Nelson
                                Dal Dance
                                Oxen Dance

Scene X      New England Episode - "Corn Shucking Song" -Chorus
             Country Dancers - Virginia Heel - Southern Group

FINALE       Recessional - "Thanksgiving Hymn" with Descant

             In the event of rain the festival will be held at the Recreation
Building in Macombs Dam Park, 165th Street and Jerome Avenue, the Bronx.



DEPARTMENT OF PARKS                          FOR RELEASE
Arsenal, Central Park             Wednesday, October 10, 1934
Tel. Regent 4-1000

           The Department of Parks has completed a survey of all the signs and
commercial advertising devices adjacent to parks and parkways in the City of
New York and has met with the Metropolitan Advertising Association as a first
step to eliminate as many as possible. A committee of three representing the
Association is working on the survey with engineers and zoning experts of the
Park Department.

           The Park Department survey describes 15,000 signs adjacent to City
parks and parkways.  Fifteen technical employees trained for the work compiled
the report in three months.  The tabulation is in twelve typewritten volumes
of over 3,000 pages. Maps have been drawn showing the location of each sign
and photographs and sketches show the detailed description of each advertising

           The part of the report submitted to the members of the Metropolitan
Advertising Association covers only signs maintained by commercial advertising
companies in the five boroughs of the City and describes 1,200 signs owned by
46 different companies.  Of these 1,200, the Park Department considers that
601 are a real detriment to the appearance of the park areas and should be
removed.  The purpose of the Committee is to work with the Department in
formulating a plan and schedule to get rid of these particular 501 signs
requested to be removed.

           There are over 14,000 other signs erected by almost as many
individuals.  They range from huge elaborate illuminated devices to hand-bills
plastered on fences.  They advertise liver pills and cod-liver oil,
pasteurized milk and beer gardens, saddle horses and automobile tires, beauty
parlors and tomb-stones and barbers for both men and dogs.  They call
attention to everything from a package of chewing gum to an estate in the

           Thousands of the signs have been erected and evidently forgotten.
Painted lettering on buildings is half obliterated by the weather, tin plates
supported by rotten wood frames are falling apart from neglect and many cheap
devices are never repaired when partially ripped away in a storm.

           The Park Department is not attempting to rid the City of outdoor
advertising signs.  It is undertaking to clean up as far as possible the
unsightly nuisances next to parks.  Thousands of men have been working to
clean up the long neglected areas within the park boundaries and the
residential areas next to parks and parkways should be as attractive as
possible to permit the fullest enjoyment of the recreational area. Advertising
signs do not belong in residential districts.  They exist there because of
past indifference and neglect.  These former mistakes cannot be corrected
overnight, but an orderly program has been worked out and it will be followed.
No single enthusiastic drive can be effective 5 the problem calls for
sustained effort and cooperation on the part of the responsible sign board
companies.  This cooperation we are assured of.

           The Park Department is cleaning its own house first.  Many of the
directional and information signs in the park system have been either
unnecessary or improperly designed.  A standard of design has been adopted for
park and parkway signs reducing the number and sizes to the minimum required
for safety and necessary public information.



ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                                 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                    October 3, 1934

            The Department of Parks will hold a handicraft exhibit of articles
made by children who attended the park playgrounds,on Tuesday (October 9,
1934) from 10 A.M. to 9 P.M. at McComb's Recreation Building, McComb's Dam
Park, Bronx, New York.

            The exhibition Includes samples of soap carvings, basket making,
wood earrings, as well as paintings, drawings, and sewing, and also a model of
a small airport. The articles comprising this exhibit also will be on display
at the Hotel Commodore during the Recreation Conference, October 16 and 17th.



Arsenal, Central Park                    October 5, 1934
Tel. Regent 4-1000

            The Department of Parks announces that the Harvest Festival at
Thomas Jefferson Park, located between East 114th Street and Pleasant Avenue,
New York City, which was postponed owing to inclement weather, will be held on
Saturday, Oct. 6th at l:30 p.m.

            This is one of the areas which was planted by children under the
direction and supervision of the School Farm, which is one of the aefcftities
of the Division of Recreation of the Department of Parks.

            A brief program by the children of the playground consisting of a
salute to the flag, recitations, dances, a little sketch and siusical
selections will precede the harvesting of the crops, which include beets,
carrots, celery, lettuce and other vegetables.


ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                                 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                    October 8, 1934

          The Department of Parks announces the opening of three new
playgrounds for children at noon on Columbus Day, Friday, October 12th. These
additions to the City Park system make thirty modern, completely equipped
recreational plants opened to the public by the Department of Parks during a
period of less than three months.

          The playground in Columbus Park at Baxter, Mulberry, Bayard and Park
Streets, on the lower East side, in the Borough of Manhattan will be dedicated
by Mayor LaGuardia. This old park with its fine big trees formerly included a
small play area, which was in reality only a broken surfaced area containing
poorly arranged rusted swings and slides. It has been replanned to double the
size of the play area and provide an orderly arranged resting place for adults
at the north end. The playground section which occupies two-thirds of the park
area includes a large wading pool, outdoor apparatus, and a large game field.
A recreational building will also be provided in the future.

          The dedication of this park will be marked by the unveiling of a
statue of Christopher Columbus in the section of the park back of the New York
County Courthouse.  This statue of white marble was carved by Miss Emma
Stebbins in Rome in 1867 and was presented to the City of New fork in 1869.
The circumstances surrounding the unearthing of the statue are interesting.

          Mr. John Bernell of Syracuse called attention to the existence of
this statue in a letter to the Department of Parks on March 3rd of this
year. He asked for a photograph of the statue in its existing location. The
statue could not be found in any City park. A search uncovered this
exceptional piece of sculpture in a crate in the 79th Street storage yards. A
fluted circular pedestal of white limestone has been designed and erected by
the Park Department.

          Leading Italian societies will participate in the exercise as a part
of their annual Columbus Day observances. A pageant including organized games
and dances by the children of the neighborhood playgrounds will form a part of
the opening ceremonies.

          Two additional play areas will be added to the Leiv Erikson Park in
the Borough of Brooklyn, between 63rd and 67th streets and 4th and 5th
Avenues. These playgrounds double the existing area in this park available for

          A new playground for small children will be opened at Corona Avenue
and 102nd Street in the Borough of Queens. The area includes a recreational
building [and an] outdoor play apparatus.  A unique feature of this playground
is its oval, concrete surfaced roller skating rink around the play field.

         At the conclusion of the ceremonies at Columbus Park, Mayor LaGuardia
and Park Commissioner Moses will make an inspection tour of these two
playgrounds in Brooklyn and Queens.


ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                                 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                    October 4, 1934

          The Department of Parks announced today that the position of
Assistant to the Commissioner, formerly held by Major Theodore Crane, is to be
filled by the promotion of George S. Spargo of the Department's Engineering
Staff. This exempt position in the Park Department is being filled by
promoting Mr. Spargo from his position in the competitive class of the
Municipal Civil Service.

          The reorganization of the five former borough Park Departments into
the consolidated Department of Parks on January 19th of this year eliminated
22 exempt positions, replacing these positions with one commissioner and only
five exempt staff members. With the appointment of Mr. Spargo all five of
these jobs are now filled by employees drawn directly from the competitive
classifications of either the New York State or City Civil Service.



Arsenal, Central Park               Friday, October 5, 1934
Tel. Regent 4-1000

           The Department of Parks announced that the playground at Houston
and Essex Streets on the lower east side of Manhattan will be opened today.
This playground is similar in design to the War Memorials and model
playgrounds that have previously been opened.  It includes a field house and
outdoor playground equipment.



Arsenal, Central Park              October 4, 1934
Tel. Regent 4-1000

            Contractor for the section of the West Side Express Highway
through Riverside Park, between 72nd Street and 79th Street has started
driving piles for the foundations of the retaining walls to support the paved
roadway over the tracks of the New York Central Railroad.  Concrete has
already been poured for part of the foundations, in the section not requiring
pile foundations.  Two steam shovels are working at grading portions between
the railroad tracks and the river.

            The work now under contract provides for the completion of the
walls on each side of the railroad tracks. The specifications require its
completion within two months.  The contractor is on schedule and will complete
the job within the required time.

            At the time of the completion, contracts will be let for the
construction of the roadway itself.



Arsenal, Central Park                October 3, 1934
Tel. Regent 4-1000

             The Department of Parks announces that instructions in the use of
the new tree moving apparatus, mounted on a 3-ton truck, will be given to
employees of the Department of Parks by the makers of this equipment on
Thursday (October 4th) morning at 10 a.m., at which time a tree will be moved
from the Kissena Park Golf Course, Queens, to the Sixth Avenue and Houston
Street Playground, Manhattan, Two of these units have been purchased by the
Department of Parks,



ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                                 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                    October 1, 1934

           Pursuant to the order of the Department of Parks, the yacht clubs
at Pelham Bay Park have ceased to function as clubs today.  Sale and
demolition of the structures will be withheld pending the decision of the
court in the case instituted by the Morris Yacht Club.

           Permission has been given for the continuation of the use of the
lockers for the storage of fishing tackle, yachting equipment, etc. until such
time as storage facilities are furnished by the Department of Parks.  The
Department of Parks is establishing a central storage yard for the yachts
formerly housed by the five yacht clubs.





                             THE CITY OF NEW YORK
                             DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
                                 CENTRAL PARK

            After an inspection trip on Welfare Island by Mayor LaGuardia and
the Commissioners of Correction, Hospitals, Welfare and Parks, the Park
Department is requesting release to it of 35 acres of land in the center of
Welfare Island, which will "be abandoned early next year when the penitentiary
and other correctional institutions move from Welfare Island to their new
quarters on Riker's Island.

            The attached letter to Commissioner MacCormick indicates the scope
of the plan.  A map is also attached indicating the area in question.

                                   ROBERT MOSES



                             THE CITY OF NEW YORK
                             DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
                                 CENTRAL PARK

                                                           September 28, 1934

Hon. Austin H. MacCormick,
Commissioner of Correction,
Municipal Building,
New York City.
Dear Commissioner:

                Following our inspection trip with Mayor LaGuardia yesterday
on Welfare Island and the discussion of the impending removal of the
correctional institutions from that Island, I am writing officially to ask you
to surrender to the Commissioners of the Sinking Fund, as of February 15 next,
the area now occupied by the penitentiary and other buildings, known as Lot
10, Block 1373, consisting of 35.810 acres, such lot to be abandoned by you as
no longer needed for the purposes of your department and required by the Park
Department for park and recreation purposes.

                It is essential that action be taken by the Commissioners of
the Sinking Fund promptly on this subject so that the Park Department may make
engineering surveys and plans for the use of this area next spring, so that
arrangements may be made for access by ferry, and so that the necessary
program can be worked out for the use of relief workers and relief material
and equipment, the tearing down of buildings, storage of material, use of
stone on other park projects, etc.

                As indicated to you, we plan to use these 35 acres for
intensive play to make up for the lack of space for such play on Manhattan
Island and to a lesser extent, the adjacent section of Queens. There is a
great shortage of space for baseball, football, hockey, handball, basketball,
track athletics, field sports and other active sports. There is no possibility
of obtaining this needed space on Manhattan Island. Thirty-five acres on
Manhattan Island would cost a staggering sum. They will be available at no
cost on Welfare Island when you move out.

                              Very truly yours, 



ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                                 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                    September 30, 1934

            Seeding has been started by the Department of Parks of the
remodeled Pelham Bay Golf Course to permit the building of an additional
18-hole course.  The club house will be located at the corner of Shore Road
and Split Rock Road to serve both courses.  The first and tenth tees and the
ninth and eighteenth greens are under one central control.  This arrangement
makes it possible to direct early morning play so that a larger number of
golfers can start at the same time, as there will be four starting places
adjacent to the club house.

            The courses have been designed by the Department of Parks.  The
yardage for the separate four nine hole courses which constitute this
thirty-six hole layout, will vary from 3,000 to 3,300 yards each.  In
combination, both nines at the Split Rock Course will measure better than
6,600 yards from the back of the tees, and 6,200 yards from the front of the
tees.  The Pelham Course from the back of the tees will play less than 6,500
yards, and approximately 6,100 yards from the front.  With these lengths of
holes, and with this design of fairways and greens, there will be provided all
types and all kinds of play.  In addition to two eighteen hole courses, there
will be a larger practice fairway and practice putting green within easy
access.  Spacious parking areas will be provided adjacent to both courses.
Provision has also been made for a caddy house.

               A Golf Club House has been designed by the Architectural
Division of the Department of Parks and is a contemporary interpretation of
the Greek Revival.  The entire exterior is of whitewashed brick with white
columns and lintels, The cornices throughout are of wood painted white
surmounted with cast iron railings.  Green shutters and a base course of
bluestone give a striking contrast to the white general scheme, while two
bands of bluestone appear on the top of the gray chimneys.  The terrace before
the portico will be provided with gaily colored tables, chairs and settees.  A
broad flight of stone steps leads from the terrace to the great lawn.  The
retaining wall of the terrace is rubble stone with a low parapet wall on which
people can lounge while waiting to tee off.

              The circular lobby is about twenty-five feet in diameter,
wainscotted with Virginia Serpentine Marble, with white stucco walls and
contrasting bluestone trim.  Here is located the control desk in charge of an
attendant, where players may present their credentials, register and receive
an assignment.  The lobby also gives access to the golf store, the Pro's Shop,
and the cafeteria which is served by a modern kitchen.

              The locker rooms in connecting wings, with access from the end
of the club room, are provided with wash rooms and showers.  There is also a
ladies' rest room between the locker room and the club room.

              Along the entire length of the club room, as it faces the golf
course, is a two-story portico fourteen feet wide and carried by six large
square columns.

              A part of the second story contains office space.  The basement
is devoted to one of the locker rooms for men and to mechanical equipment,
including an oil burner heating plant.

              Excavation work for the club house is now under way.  All labor
and materials for the whole project will be paid for from Work Relief Funds.



                             THE CITY OF NEW YORK
                        PARK CONCERTS - SEASON OF 1934
                             DEPARTMENT OF PARKS

                              Central Park Mall
                     SUNDAY EVENING, SEPTEMBER 30th, 1934
                                At 8:30 P. M.

                        NEW YORK STATE SYMPHONIC BAND
                         GIUSEPPE CREATORE, Conductor

                          LOLA MONTI-GORSEY, Soprano

                          ALL VICTOR HERBERT PROGRAM


1. March--"Baltimore Centennial"
2. Selection from "Wonderland"
3. Badinage
4. Gems of Victor Herbert-Compiled and Arranged by Creatore
          Including: Babes in Toyland
                     The Red Mill
                     The Serenade
                     Naughty Marietta
                     Mile. Modiste
                     The Fortune Teller

5. Panamericana
6. A Kiss in the Dark
                            LOLA MONTI-GORSEY

7. American Fantasy

    This concert is presented by the City of New York and is
sponsored by the Division of Recreation, Department of Parks.

                 G. A. BALDINI, Director of Concert Division
                     GEORGE CRANDALL, Assistant Director

                           DO YOU ENJOY THE MUSIC?
If so, please help us care for the parks. They are for the pleasure of the
Public. To preserve their beauty and uf'ulness certain rules have been made.

DON'T throw this program or other papers on the ground.
DON'T destroy the plants or shrubs or pick the flowers.
DON'T climb on fences or walls.
DON'T walk on lawns marked with "keep-off" signs.
Kindly refrain from talking and making unnecessary noise while the band is
The Park Department counts upon your co-operation.


ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                                 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                    September 38, 1934

                The Park Department announces that a concert consisting
exclusively of selections by Victor Herbert will be given Sunday evening
(September 30th) at 8:30 p.m. on the Mall in Central Park by the New York
State Symphonic Band, one of the units of the Concert Division of the City of
New York; conducted by Giuseppe Creatore.

                This concert was arranged to meet the many requests for an All
Victor Herbert program.


(Program is attached)


ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                                 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                    September 28, 1934

                The Department of Parks announces that a Harvest Festival will
be held at Thomas Jefferson Park, located between East 114th Street and
Pleasant Avenue, on Saturday, September 29th, starting at l:30 p.m.

                This is one of the areas which was planted by children under
the direction and supervision of the School Farm, which is one of the
activities of the Division of Recreation of the Department of Parks.

                A brief program by the children of the playground consisting
of a salute to the flag, recitations, dances, a little sketch and musical
selections will precede the harvesting of the crops, which include beets,
carrots, celery, lettuce and other vegetables.



ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                                 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                    September 28, 1934

                The Department of Parks announced today that the Claremont
Restaurant would be closed on Monday, October 1st, in order to install a
heating system adequate for the Winter months and for minor alterations to
provide an enclosed space for patrons of the restaurant to enjoy the up-river

                It is expected that the Claremont Restaurant
reopen during the month of December.




ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                                 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                    September 18, 1934

             The Department of Parks announces that with the opening of the
new Zoo in Central Park, only perfect and healthy animals will be placed on
exhibit and this policy will obtain at all other zoos under its
jurisdiction. This is in striking contrast with the policies of former
administrations which permitted the acceptance and exhibit of specimens which
were unhealthy, deformed or imperfect.  In the future only young, healthy,
active, and, where possible, paired specimens will be exhibited.

             A complete and accurate history of all future specimens will be
kept instead of the "hit-or-miss" method of the past which relied principally
upon memory and guess work for information regarding the specimens on display
in the Park Department Zoos.

              Certain animals will be moved into their new quarters, which are
nearing completion, in the Central Park Zoo, this Saturday.  In the meantime
the animals which are unsuited, either because of old age, disease or
deformities, for exhibition purposes will be destroyed.

              Certain other specimens are to be offered for sale, viz:

              "Ackbar" - 4 year old male lion.

              "Bluff" - male Leopard - approximately 11 years old.

              Bull Buffalo - 12 years old.

              Male Zebra.

                             * * * * * * * * * *


ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                                 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                    September 12, 1934

             The Department of Parks will formally open the play area bounded
by Chrystie, Forsyth, Canal and Houston Streets on Friday afternoon (September
14th) at three o'clock. This area will be named Roosevelt Park in honor of
Sara Delano Soosevelt, the mother of the President.

             Mayor Fiorello H. LaGuardia will deliver the principal address at
the dedication ceremonies.

             The program will open with an introduction and welcone of
Commissioner Bobert Moses by Harry H. Schlacht in behalf of the neighboring
community. Commissioner Moses will then acknowledge the introduction and act
as chairman, Mr. Alfred H. Schoellkopf, Chairman of the Temporary Emergency
Relief Administration, will speak after Commissioner Moses, and will be
followed by William Hodson, Commissioner of Public Welfare.

             Mayor LaGuardla will then be introduced by Commissioner Moses and
will deliver his dedicatory address.

             A flourish will next be sounded by the Park Department
Orchestra, followed by a cannon salute at Canal Street, a call to colors,
the raising of the American Flag and the playing of The Star Spangled
Banner. The National Anthem will be sung by the children in all of the
playground blocks. After the rendition of the national anthem, salutes will
be again sounded and the children in all blocks with the exception of Block
No. 1 (Houston Street) will be given access to the play apparatus. At Block
No. 1 the exercises will be delayed sufficiently to permit Mayor LaGuardia,
Commissioner Moses and the other speakers to leave the stand and Inspect the
playground area. The official party will then inspect the facilities of the
other blocks.

              The area of Roosevelt Park has an interesting history. Once the
section was occupied exclusively by well-to-do citizens who later moved uptown
and made way for the crowded old law tenements. The area was eventually
acquired by the city by condemnation at a cost of $4,500,000. Various plans
were advanced for its use, chiefly low cost housing developaents, but the site
itself was unsuited for the purpose and this together with the inability to
bring the rentals within the means of those living in the area resulted in the
abandonment of these housing programs.

             The site lends itself admirably for use as a playground. No other
development of the property could have served this crowded community so well.

             Roosevelt Park contains all types of play apparatus, wading pools
and recreation buildings. Five of the seven blocks will be opened on Friday
and the entire area will be completed before the coming winter.

             Musical selections will be rendered by the Park Department

             The dedication program will be broadcast by the National
Broadcasting Company's New York State hook-up, the American Radio System with
fourteen stations between Portland, Maine and Richmond, Virginia, as well as
by Stations WNYC, WOV and WNEW. A public address system will be installed to
facilitate the transmission of the exercises within the area.


9:00 A. M.     Park employees from all boroughs to be on posts.

               Public to be completely excluded
               Police Datail will be on duty at 8;30 A.M.
               Final checkup by complete staff as follows:
               Jennings, Crane, Wood, J.H. Field, Higgins,
               Liljeback, Kenny, Walsh, Soraca, McLean, Stout
               and Moyer. Heaslip end E. A. Field will be at
               Bryant Park with Mr. Sweeny.

               The following assignments have been made at Roosevelt Park:



                                            September 11th, 1934






                             THE CITY OF NEW YORK
                             DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
                            ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK

                                                       FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
                                                       September 1, 1934

The Department of Parks announces that a concert by the Naumburg Orchestra,
conducted by Rudolph Thomas, will be given on the Mall of Central Park on
Monday evening, September 3, 1934, at 8:30 P.M. The play originally scheduled
for that evening has been cancelled.




                           THE MALL -- CENTRAL PARK
               MONDAY EVENING, SEPTEMBER 3rd, AT 8 :30 O'CLOCK
                            THE NAUMBURG ORCHESTRA
                          RUDOLPH THOMAS, Conductor


                          "The Star Spangled Banner"

1. Overture to the "Flying Dutchman"                  Wagner
2. a) Entr'acte to "Messidor"                         Bruneau
   b) Intermezzo from "The Jewels of the Madonna"
3. Bacchanale from "Tannhauser"                       Wagner
4. a) Intermezzo from "Cavalleria Rusticana" . .      Mascagni
   b) Preludes to Act I and II of "Tales of Hoffmann" Offenbach

5.   Overture "Merry Wives of Windsor"   . . . .      Nicolai
6.   Allegro con Grazia from Symphony Pathetique"     Tschaikowsky
7. Four Preludes to "Carmen"                          Bizet
8. Waltzes from "Die Rosencavalier"                   Strauss
9. Capriccio Italien                                  Tschaikowsky



NAUMBURG, sons of MR. ELKAN NAUMBURG, who donated the bandstand on The Mall
and lived to see it put to the purpose he had in mind of erecting a veritable
Temple of Music.

MR. ELKAN NAUMBURG had been impressed with the need of an adequate bandstand
in Central Park by reason of his custom, long years in practice, of
contributing Orchestral Concerts of high quality, in the cause of good music
for the people, on three holidays, Decoration Day, Fourth of July and Labor
Day. His sons, continuing this custom in his memory, have added a fourth
concert to the NAUMBURG series by giving a similar concert on July 31st, the
anniversary of their father's death.

THE NAUMBURG concerts for the season of 1934 are therefore set down for May
30th, at 8:30 P. M., July 4th, at 8:30 P. M., July 31st, at 8:30 P. M., and
September 3rd, at 8:30 P. M. These dates to be remembered by lovers of good


                               CITY OF NEW YORK
                      HON. FIORELLO H. LAGUARDIA, Mayor


ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                                 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                    September 10, 1934

     The Department of Parks announces the receipt of a copy of the following
letter which the Hon. James E. McDonald Chief City Magistrate, has sent to all
Magistrates, on subject of cleanliness and peddling in the parks:



ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                                 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                    September 8, 1934

    The Venetian Water Carnival arranged by the Division of Recreation of the
Department of Parks has been postponed, because oi weather conditions, to
TUESDAY, WEDNESDAY and THURSDAY, September 11th, 12th and 13th, 7:30 to 11:30

     There will be dancing on the Mall from 7:30 to 9:30 P.M.  on each of
these evenings and at the close of the dancing the Venetian Water Carnival
will open on the Late near the Mall at 9:30 and close at 11:30 P.M. There will
be a concert, dancing and singing.

       Many of those taking part in this Carnival will be dressed as Venetian
peasants and will be in gondolas and swan boats.  These gondolas will be
brilliantly lighted and will make a colorful scene.

        Groups of singers dressed as Italian peasants will participate from
the Music Department of the Works Division of the Department of Public Welfare
as will a 60-piece orchestra led by Mr. Guiseppe Creatore.

        In many of the smaller boats will be singers accompanied by mandolins.
The Venetian folk dances will be given by the older girls from the clubs of
the Park Playgrounds.  Some of the Playground Directors of the Department of
Parks will also take part in the dancing and some of the members of the
Division of Recreation will be dressed as Italian peasants,

           A number of Italian Societies are co-operating with the Department
of Parks in the staging of the carnival.

           A display of fireworks during the .Carnival will close
the festivities, the program for each evening being as follows:

            1. Approach of the Doge,
            2. Father Neptune and his Nymphs meet the Doge.
            3. Ascent of lather Neptune to his throne.
            4. Dance of the Nymphs,
            5. Orchestral selections.
            6. Italian dancers - "Sorrentina" by the Italian
                                  Choral Society; in charge,
                                  Miss Santina Algoni.
             7. Songs.
             8. Fireworks display.



ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                                 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                    September 6, 1934

    The Department of Parks announced its plan today for the development of
Marine Park in Brooklyn, which will be one of the largest parks in the city
when completed.

    At the present time much of the area is marsh land and a considerable part
of it is under water.  These sections will be made usable for park purposes by
hydraulic fill.

    The design is broad in scope and anticipates the demand for every phase of

    The yacht harbor adjacent to Jamaica Bay, will supply facilities for all
types of pleasure craft, and every consideration will be given to the needs
and requirements of canoeists, and of yachting, canoe-sailing and motor boat
enthusiasts.  Ample provision is being made for the storage of this craft
throughout the entire year. Shops and gas stations will be conveniently

    A large boat house will be erected on the harbor.  It will contain a
modern restaurant and bar, and all other necessary facilities for the
convenience and comfort of those interested in boating.  On either side of the
club house, facing the yacht harbor, ample parking space will be available.

    On the inland side of the yacht harbor there is to be a large basin for
model boats.  This faces the club building on the opposite side from the yacht

    West of the model yacht basin is a large amphitheatre, the stage of which
has a lagoon for its background and setting.

    Northeast of the model yacht basin there is to be a recreational center
containing three baseball diamonds, football and lacrosse fields, boccia
courts and an area for archery.  A modern field house will serve this group.

    Stables with stalls for about 100 horses and a riding ring, with parking
space for 500 cars on two sides, are located within a separate park area,
northwest of the Shore Drive near the Flatbush Avenue entrance. The ring may
be used for show purposes, and all of the bridle paths-either start from, or
terminate at this point.

    Midway between the Shore Drive and Avenue U on the Flatbush Avenue side of
the park there is to be a large stadium designed to accommodate all athletic
events.  The stadium overlooks a canoe landing on the canal, with the golf
club house in the distance.  The areas around the stadium will contain
apparatus for the very young children as well as sports facilities for older
children.  A large parking area will be provided in the area between the
stadium and Flatbush Avenue.

      On either side of the stadium there also will be two large informal
recreational areas.  These meadows will be used for baseball, football,
lacrosse and cricket.

      The canoe basin and the canoe club house at the Avenue U end of the
parlt are accessible from a large parking space adjoining a recreational area
on the opposite side of Avenue U.  The canoe basin forms one end of the canal,
which is roughly rectangular in form, and will connect with the lagoon and
separate the golf courses on the island from the remainder of the park.  The
canoe club house has accommodations for 600 canoes and all necessary
facilities .  Boats will be available for hire for trips around the island.
Two 18-hole golf courses have been designed for the island area.

      The old Gerrittsen Mill, one of the few tidewater mills still standing
in this section of the country, will remain in its original location and is to
be completely restored.

      There will be a play area at the corner of Avenue X and Gerrittsen
Avenue, accessible to two schools in the immediate vicinity.

      The golf and tennis club house located on the Gerrittsen Avenue side of
the park, which will connect with the golf courses by means of a bridge, is
directly opposite the stadium. It will contain locker space, a lounge and a
restaurant. Ample parking space will be available between the club house and
Gerrittsen Avenue.

      The tennis courts will be located northwest of the club house.  There
will be fifty standard courts and three exhibition courts, with a grandstand
for spectators on either side.

      On the opposite side of the club house will be an arboretum for the
display of native plants, such as perennials, small bushes and trees.

      The park has been designed to entirely eliminate cross traffic.  All of
the roads will be for one-way traffic only.  Pedestrian crossings will
intersect the roadways by means of underpasses.  Each center of activity has
an individual and conveniently located parking area to accommodate about 4,000

       The bridle paths on the mainland will wind around the island containing
the two golf courses.  Pedestrian paths will connect all recreational centers
and points of beauty and interest.  Ample benches, drinking fountains, comfort
facilities and shade are incorporated in the plan.

       The park roadways are laid out to take full advantage of the area and
to provide convenient access to all facilities.  In addition to the
circumferential road around the whole park arid feeders from the principal
abutting streets and avenues, a through parkway is planned to cross the park,
south of the golf course.  This parkway will form a continuation of Emmons
Avenue which is planned to be a part of the ultimate Shore Drive.  This main
artery through the park connects with a traffic circle at Flat bush Avenue,
The approach to the proposed suspension bridge over Rockaway Inlet rises from
this circle.  This bridge will form a direct connection between Marine Park
and the ocean front of Jacob Riis Park.

       No swimming area is provided in the plan of Marine Park.  The waters of
Rockaway Inlet are unsatisfactory for swimming.  Provision has been made,
however, in the scheme of the development to leave unimproved areas both east
and west of the boat basin, which will be developed as swimming beaches when
the waters of the Inlet are satisfactory for swimming.

       This 2,000 acre park, when completed, will be one of the country's
largest, most modern and complete recreational centers.






ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                                 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                    

         More than 2000 children fron all parts of New York City will be taken
to Jacob Riis Park, Rockaway, L. I., next Monday whEre they will enjoy a full
day of swimming and entertainnent.

         At least 700 children fron the various orphanages in Queens alone
will be transported by bus to Riis Park and will arrive there about 10:30
o'clock in the norning.  Children fron Manhattan will leave for the Park on
the COMMANDER, at 10 a.m.  fron the Rainbow Fleet Dock at 129th Street and the
Hudson River, and at 10:45 a.n. fron the Rainbow Fleet Dock at Pier #1 the
Battery.  These transportation facilities are provided through the courtesy of
the Rainbow Fleet and several bus conpanies.

         A marionette show, a treasure hunt, story telling and ganos are anong
the interesting features which have been arranged for the children besides
surf swimming.  Dressing facilities will be provided and refreshments will be

         This outing is being sponsored by the Board of Aldermen
with the cooporation of Jacob Riis Park and the Department of
Parks.     The Honorable Edward E. Buhlor will act as host and
Uncle Don of Radio fame will hold a club neeting.

         Among the persons of prominence who will accompany the group on the
boat trip fron Manhattan are: Comptroller McGoldrick, Deputy Comptroller
Early, Chairman of the Board of Aldermen Majority Group Sullivan, Chairman of
the Board of Aldermen Minority Group Curran, President of Board of Education
George F. Ryan; Superintendent of Schools Dr. Harold Campbell, Thirty-five
members of the Board of Aldermen will take the boat to Riis Park.

         An honorary committee of the following will also attend: Hon. William
Groat, Jr., Hon. Warren B. Ashmead, Hon. George Grau, Sidney Payner, Willian
Carter, George L. Knott, Miss Olive Hatch, Frank Keller, George Colyer,
Richard Lenehan, Rev. Paul Beard, Charles Willee, T. E. Jordan, John Sheppard,
Frank Simon and Frederick D. Wood; Dr. S. A. Cohen will act as General
Chairman of Activities and E. H. Fensternacher is in charge of transportation.



                        MONDAY, AUGUST 27, 1934



ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                                 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                    August 23, 1934

            Columbus Park, which is located in a heavily congested area,
bounded by Bayard, Mulberry, Park and Baxter Streets, is being remodelled to
greatly increase the play space in the existing park.  The play area fronting
on the Park Street side of the park will be more than doubled in size and will
be divided by a recreation building and two planted strips into two sections,
one for the younger children and the other for older children.

             The play area for the smaller children will front the recreation
building and have apparatus areas paved with cork asphalt and equipped with
jungle gyms, swings and see-saws on both the Baxter and Mulberry street sides.
A large wading pool, centrally located and separated from the apparatus areas
and recreation building by wide bluestone walks, will be provided with three
double head showers.  Entrance to the pool can be gained only by passing
through a chlorinated foot bath.

              A large game field also will be provided for the older children.
This field will be of levelled sandy clay subsoil, free from all refuse and
large stones, and will contain a line of large swings in one corner, suitable
for older children.  The field will be enclosed by a wrought iron fence on
which will be mounted flood lights, to facilitate the use of the field after
dark.  This fence is a part of the original enclosure.

              The recreation building, which may be entered from
either area, will house separate comfort stations for the younger
and older children.      Both play areas will be suitably fenced for the
protection of the children.

              There will be a formal park area at the Bayard street end of the
park.  This will include the existing comfort stations and pavilion.  The
design has been changed to provide a larger area to contain plantings of
trees, shrubbery and grass.  All existing facilities and plantings will be
used as far as possible.  A large flagpole will be erected in the square
facing the pavilion.

              This re-design of the park was made to give the children more
play space and also to provide a more pleasant recreational area for adults.
Numerous benches and drinking fountains will be placed throughout the park.
The entire area will be enclosed by a fence of appropriate design.


ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                                 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                    August 22, 1934

                   The Department of Parks will open fifteen new
playgrounds during September and October.

                   On Friday, September 7th, Jackson Square, located at
Eighth Avenue and Horatio Street, Manhattan, will be completed and opened to
the public.  This area has been designed principally for the use of mothers
and infants and will be provided very generously with shade trees and benches.
Fort Tryon Park Playground, at Riverside Drive and Broadway, Manhattan, will
be opened the same day.  This is a part of the tract bought and partially
developed by John D. Rockefeller, Jr.  Work relief forces are completing the
playground section.  This area will contain a wading pool, a field house and
shaded play spaces.

                   On Friday, September 14th, the Park Department will open
five city blocks of the Chrystie-Forsythe development in Manhattan.  This will
contain comfort stations, wading pools, game areas and complete playground
apparatus.  All areas outside of the playgrounds are to be open to the public,
with paved walks and plantings to provide shade.  This area extends from
Chrystie Street to Forsythe Street.

                   On Saturday, September 22nd, the two playgrounds on Houston
Street, one at the corner of Sixth Avenue, and the other in the block between
First and Houston Streets at Ludlow Street, Manhattan, will be opened. This
property was turned over to the Department of Parks by the Board of
Transportation.  It will have a formal park area in addition to the

                   On Tuesday, October 6th, the playground at Houston Street,
between Essex and Norfolk Streets, Manhattan, will be opened, and it will have
a shelter house, basketball courts and complete playground apparatus.  The
playground at Corona Avenue and 102nd Street, in Queens, also will be opened on
October 6th.

                   On Saturday, October 13th, the playground at Sheriff,
Broome and Delancey Streets will be opened, as will two blocks of the Leiv
Eiriksson playground, located at 4th Avenue and 66th Street, Brooklyn.
Another playground which has been given to the city by the German Home for
Recreation of Women and Children, and developed by the Park Department in
part, from funds supplied by this source, will be opened at Bay 46th Street
and Cropsey Avenue, Brooklyn, which will be known as the Dreier Offerman
Playground.  This latter area overlooks Gravesend Bay and contains a field
house, a play pavilion and complete playground equipment.

                    On Saturday, October 20th, the playground at Cherry,
Monroe and Gouverneur Streets, Manhattan, also the Flushing Memorial
Playground, located at 149th Street and 25th Avenue, in Queens, will be
opened.  The Flushing Memorial Playground has baseball diamonds and handball
and basketball courts.

                    On Saturday, October 27th, recreational areas at Fulton
Street and Classon Avenue, Brooklyn, and at Park Avenue and Taaffe Place,
Brooklyn, as well as the playground at Old Fort #4, located at Scdgewick and
University Avonues, in the Bronx, will be completed and opened.

                    These fifteen additional playgrounds, which are to be
opened during September and October by the Department of Parks, make a total
of 38 now areas, campletely equipped with modern recreational facilities,
which have been added to the park system during a period of four months by the
new administration.


ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                                 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                    August 18, 1934

               Two Metropolitan Women swimming chanpions will meet on Sunday
afternoon in a challenge race in the A.A.U. progran to be held at Jacob Riis
Park in Rockaway, beginning at 2:30 p.m.

               The two young ladies, Dorothea Dickinson and Elsie Ferrill of
the Women's Swiming Association, have been trading ohanpionships during the
entire season and on Sunday they will have a chance to neet over a 440 yard
rough water course.

              Miss Dickinson who holds the 100 yard Metropolitan title, was
recently defeated by liiss Ferrill for the Metropolitan 100 neter title.
Another 100 yard titleholder, Dolores Smith, junior national champion, is
entered in the 440 event along with Catherine Goets, Marie Fechette, Margaret
Barn and Valerie Phillips, all of Women's Swimming Association.

               A two-mile ocean swimming race to be held alons the ocean front
at Riis Park has brought out more than 50 entries from nearly 20 local
organizations belonging to the fietropolitan A.A.U. district.  The New York
Athletic Club has entered Ray Ruddy, Don Ruddy, Walter Spence, Leonard Spence,
Eddie Lee, Leo Geibel and others.

               Surf board races, flat boat rowing races and other aquatic
events will be on the day f s progran. The men's ocean race is open to all
registered nembers of the Amateur Athletic Union and trophies and nedals will
be awarded to the first twelve winners. The women's swimming race is open only
to members of the Women's Swimmng Association.  -End-

                                                      August 15, 1934.


         Re Dance Recital - Maria Theresa - Friday Evening
                         Aug 17th 8.30 P.M.Prospect Park
                           Municipal Symphony Orchestra
                                          Harry Meyer, Conductor

             Attached are copies of program for the above dance recital
Friday evening at Prospect Park.

          Will you be good enough to ask the newspapers to use the
photograph of Maria Theresa which was sent to them on the occasion of
her recital at the Mall Central Park on Saturday evening, July 21st,
at that time photographs of Maria Theresa were sent to all the papers.

          Mr. Baldini requested that you do what you can to have the
newspapers use the photographs sent to them at that time in carrying
the publicity for the Recital on Friday evening at Prospect Park?

                                         James V. Mulholland

                                             Director of Recreation


ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                                 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                    August 15, 1934

                   Ocean Swimming Championship - A.A.U.

        More than one hundred entries from twenty of the foremost swimming
clubs will compete in the two mile ocean swimming championship at Jacob Riis
Park, Rockaway, next Sunday afternoon.  The meet is sanctioned by the A.A.U.

        Among the stars entered in the race are, Ray Ruddy, metropolitan one
mile and 880 yard champion, seven times winner of the Metropolitan long
distance title and seven times winner of the President's Cup; Don Ruddy,
water polo star and schoolboy champion; Eddie Lee, National long distance
champion; Welter Spence, National title holder; Leonard Spence, National and
world's record holder and Leo Geibel, N.Y.A.C. star.

        Rowboats will follow the swimmers over the two mile course from start to finish
and pick up competitors who "becoms tired.    Silver trophies will be awarded first, second and third places and gold medals given to the first eight swimmers crossing the
finish line.

        Members of the Women's Swimming Association and other National
swimming stars, including Leonor Kight and Alice Bridges have been invited
to compete in a 440 yard scratch event as an exhibition.

        At the conclusion of the swimming races, twelve flat-bottomed row
boats will engage in a one mile race around the course. Prizes will be given
and none but expert swimmers will be allowed to participate in this
event. Surf boat races are also scheduled.

        All entrants must be registered with the Amateur Athletic Union.
Entries will be accepted until next Saturday at Jacob Riis Prrk
Administration Building.


ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                                 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                    August 12, 1934

              The first two mile men's ocean swimming championship of the
Rockaways will be held at Jacob Riis Park on Sunday, August 19th.  Already
entered are Olympic and National swimming champions, including Ray Ruddy,
Walter Spence, Leonard Spence, Don Ruddy, Eddie Lee, Leo Geibel, and others.
The event is open to all swimmers registered with the Amateur Athletic
Union, and silver trophies will be awarded to winners.  Medals will be
awarded to the first eight swimmers who cross the finish line in the two
mile swim.  The event is sanctioned by the Metropolitan A. A. U.

               Rowboats will follow the swimmers, and a rowboat race will be
held after the swimming race.



                             GOWANUS PLAYGROOHD

         The Gbwanus Playground will provide recreational facilities for
both young and old.  It is a square block in area, bounded by Fourth and
Fifth Avenue and Third and Fourth Streets.

         The entire area will be fenced, and concreted walks provided on
Fourth and Fifth Avenue ends. The Third and Fourth Street sides will have
hexagonal block walks flanked on either side by sodded strips in which trees
will be planted.

         A novel feature of this playground is the arrangement of flood
lamps so that the entire area may be illuminated.

         The playground will be divided into four sections and each section
will run the entire width of the playground.

         Starting at the Fourth avenue end will be a general play area, one
hundred and seventy feet by three hun&rea ana twenty feet. The surface of
this area will be of a sandy clay sub-soil, dragged and rolled level. It
will have a ten foot woven wire fence on three sides. The Fourth Avenue side
will face a raised terrace of bluestone flagging from where an unobstructed
view of this play area may be had.

         Entrance to the children's playgrounds will be gained through the
second and central area which will consist of the bluestone terrace, the
recreation building and a small planted area.  The terrace will be provided
with drinking fountains, benches and a large flagpole. The recreational
building, constructed of brick from the old Gowanus house and following its
general plan, will house the comfort stations and storage space.

         The third area for smaller children, enclosed by the recreation
building on one side and a six feot iron picket fence on the other three
sides, will be one hundred sixty by one hundred and eighty feet, asphalt
paved with the exception of a large wading pool in the center. This pool
when drained may be used as basketball courts.  The water of the pool will
be chlorinated and the children will have to pass through an antiseptic foot
bath before entering the pool.  There will also be suitable play apparatus
such as Jungle gyms, swings, etc.

        The fourth and last area separated from the other play areas by a
six foot picket fence is for older people* It will have bocca and handball
courts.  The bocce courts will be leveled and rolled and have planted
borders.  The handball courts will be concrete paved and have a sixteen foot
brick backstop with a four foot wire stop on top. This wall also serves as
the Fifth Avenue boundary of the playground.  The entrance to the last area
will be on Third Street near Fifth Avenue.

        Suitable arrangements will be made for the comfort of parents and
observers watching the game.


ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                                 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                    August 10, 1934

                 Fourteen additional playgrounds will be opened by the
Department of Parks in New York City on Saturday morning, August 11th.

                 Mayor Fiorello H. La Guardia will deliver the opening
address at 11 a.m. at the model playground, located on West 17th Street
between Eighth and Ninth Avenues, New York.  He will be introduced by the
Hon. Robert Moses, Commissioner of Parks.

                 Following the address of Mayor La Guardia, there will be a
call to the colors and the American Flag will be raised simultaneously at
all of these playgrounds with the exception of the model playground located
at 3rd and 4th Streets at Fourth Avenue, Brooklyn, where separate exercises
will be held at noon.

                 Borough President Raymond V. Ingersoll will speak at the
opening exercises at the Model (Gowanus) Playground in Brooklyn, and Mayor
La Guardia will open the playground.

                 At the conclusion of the exercises at the Gowanus
Playground in Brooklyn, the official party, headed by Mayor La Guardia, will
proceed to the Model Playground in Queens, at 25th and 30th Avenues and 84th
and 85th Streets, to inspect its facilities.

                  At the Corlears Hook Playground, at Corlears and Water
Streets in Manhattan, handball games and horseshoe-pitching contests will
take place after the opening ceremonies, while the playground located on the
site of the Ridgewood South Side Pumping Station, at Sunrise Highway and
Atlantic Avenue, Brooklyn, will feature a baseball game between two good

                   This is the second group of new playgrounds to be opened
by the Park Department this year.  Nine playgrounds which were acquired and
developed with the War Memorial Fund turned over to the Department of Parks
for this purpose, were dedicated and opened by Mayor La Guardia on July

                   The fourteen playgrounds to be opened on Saturday
(August 11th) are as follows:


  MODEL PLAYGROUND, West 17th Street between Eighth and Ninth Avenues.

  PLAYGROUND at 83 Roosevelt Street.

  PLAYGROUND at 99 Thompson Street.

  INWOOD HILL  PLAYGROUND, Payson and Dyckman Streets.

  ST. NICHOLAS PLAYGROUND, at St. Nicholas Avenue  and West 141st Street.


  CORLEARS HOOK PLAYGROUND, Corlears and Water Streets.

  PLAYGROUND at Rivington and Lewis Streets.


  MODEL PLAYGROUND at 3rd and 4th Streets at Fourth Avenue (Gowanus House).


  PLAYGROUND at 95th Street between Avenues K and L.


  PLAYGROUND at 141st Street between Brook and St. Ann's Avenue.


  MODEL PLAYGROUND at 25th and 30th Avenues and 84th
  and 85th Streets, Jackson Heights.


  MODEL PLAYGROUND at Jewett and Castleton Avenues.

            With the exception of the site of the Ridge wood South Side
Pumping Station, and the Corlears Hook Playground, each playground vvill
have a recreation building including playroom, lavatories, and a modern
heating system; a 40 foot flagpole, adequate plantings of shade trees and
shrubbery, a chlorinated foot bath through which children must pass before
entering the wading pool; equipment for younger children, consisting of
swings, slides, see-saws and jungle gyms and handball and basketball courts
for older children.  The playgrounds will be equipped with adequate drinking
fountains of the type required by the Federal Government for army camps.

            Mayor La Guardia's address and the exercises at the model
playground a t West 17th Street, Manhattan, will be broadcast to all of the
other playgrounds opening on Saturday, by Stations WNYC, WNEW and WOV.

ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                                 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                    August 3, 1934



                               The Park Department has arranged an
inspection trip covering the Long Island Parkways and Parks for
representatives of the press on Monday (August 6th) starting from the
Arsenal, Central Park, at 10 A.M. sharp.

                               Luncheon will be served at Jacob
Riis Park, and dinner at Jones Beach.



                       ITINERARY FOR INSPECTION TOUR
                           Monday, August 6, 1934

                            DEPARTMENT OF PARKS
                      Arsenal Building - Central Park

                                                          ARRIVE   LEAVE
Arsenal Building, 5th Ave. & 64th St  Manhattan                    10 A.M.
South on "ifth Avenue
East on 61st Street
Cross 59th Street Bridge
East on Queens Boulevard
South on Woodhaven Boulevard
Westt on Sunrise Highway to

Linden Boulevard, Turn here              5 Minute Stop     10:45    10:50

East on Sunrise Highway
North on Brookville Boulevard

Along Laurelton Parkway                  10 Minute Stop    11:10    11:20

North on Elmont Road

To Southern State Parkway                15 Minute Stop    11:25    11:40

South on Elmont Road
South on Brookville Parkway
West on Sunrise Highway
South on Woodhaven and Cross Bay Blvd,
West İn Beach channel Drive and Cranston Ave,
South on Beach 148th Street
West on Washington Avenue to

JACOB RIIS PARK for Inspection          30 Minute Stop     12:15    12:45
                  and Lunch             60 Minute Stop     12:45     1:45

East on Washington Avenue and Rockaway Beach Blvd.
North on Beach 116th Street
Eat on Beach Channel Drive and Amstel Ave.
Cross L.I.R.R. tracks
Continue East on Boulevard Road
Southeast on Dune Street
East on Seagirt Avenue
South across Atlantic (Toll) Bridge
East on Atlantic Blvd, through Long Beach to
Bridge, head at Hempstead Town Park

Embark in L.I.S.P.C. Boat                                   2:20

For inspection trip of Meadowbrook Parkway Development

Automobiles will proceed to Jones Beach and pick up party at
Fishing Dock, north of Bath House #2 at                     3:00

Thence to Jones Beach Bath House #2

Swim, Supper and Pool Show

Return to New York City by automobile.

ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                                 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                    August 3, 1934


                           The Park Department, cooperating with Federal and
State agencies, is removing a number of elm trees throughout the city in
combating the Dutch Elm disease. A few of them are large trees which, to the
casual observer, are healthy specimens which should be allowed to
stand. Laboratory tests by the U. S.  Department of Agriculture, however,
show positive evidence of their being diseased, and they must be sacrificed
to save the elms which are still healthy.

                           According to present information, the Dutch ELm
disease is confined to an area centering in New York City, and having a
radius of thirty-five miles.  Diseased trees have been found on Long Island
as far east as Hampstead and Westbury.  In Westchester, the epidemic is most
severe at the southern end of the county but thins out at the present known
northerly limits near Chappaqua.  Connecticut reports isolated cases as far
east as Stamford.

                           To date, nearly 1,000 diseased elms have been
found in New York State, probably four times as many in New Jersey and 21 in
southwestern Connecticut.  Of those in New York State, 375 were in the five
boroughs of New York City, and 175 of these elms were on city property, with
St at en Island most seriously affected.

                           This epidemic can be eliminated only by prompt
action.  The Dutch Elm disease is a fungus that works beneath the bark in
the growing tissues of the tree where it cannot be reached by spraying,
while bark engraver beetles working similarly, are the main carriers of the
disease to healthy trees. There is no known cure. With the rarest
exceptions, a tree, once infected, will die within two or three years at
most, and during every day of the growing season that such a tree is allowed
to stand, it is a source of possible infection of all healthy trees in the

         The only way to save our elms, therefore, is to cut down and burn
every single diseased tree in the country - a task of real magnitude, but
not impossible.  If one diseased tree is overlooked, it can void all other
eradication efforts. For this reason, the state laws require the removal of
every diseased tree as soon as it is found.

         From a practical standpoint, control must be thorough and complete
at this time. A tree infected with Dutch Sim disease will surely die, and
the expense of removing it must be met either now or later. If the diseased
tree is allowed to stand, it will infect other trees and there will be the
additional expense of removing them as well.  %entually, if there is no
control, we must look forward to the probability of removing practically all
of our Elm trees in this vicinity, if not in the whole country. A very small
part of this potential expense, if used now for control work, will not only
avoid such a tremendous outlay but will save one of our most important shade

         Fighting the Butch Elm disease is like fighting a fire. Prompt action
and thoroughness will hold the damage and expense to a minimum.



Arsenal, Central Park                  August 3, 1934
Regent 4-1000.

     So many requests have been received by Jacob Riis Park at Neponsit for
children's treasure hunts that the park has scheduled another of these
events for next Saturday afternoon August 4th at 2 P.M.

    Prizes will be awarded to winners and seven cues will lead them to the
prizes. The last treasure hunt drew several hundred children.  Other events
at Jacob Riis Park Saturday include lifeboat surfboard and swimming rescue







ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                                 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                    August 1, 1934

             The finals of the first Inter-borough Checker Tournament
conducted by the Recreation Division of the Department of Parks will be held
at the Heckscher Playground, Central Park, on Thursday, August 2nd, at 2

             The following contestants who were successful in the borough
finals for the boys and for the girls will participate in the finals:

MANHATTAN:        John Covas, 45 West 93d St., 14 years, Lionel Sutro
                  Floreeta Grahm, 2807-8th Ave., 13 years, Colonial

BRONX:            Benjamin Hellman, 859 Hunts Point Road, 15 years,
                  Lyons Park.
                  Sylvia Brownstein, 1701 Fulton Ave., 12 years,
                  Crotona Park.

BROOKLYN:         William Cole, 539-46th St., 11 years, Sunset Park.
                  Sophia Cohn, 2063-74 th St., 13 years, Bay Parkway.

QUEENS:           Edmund McKenna, 2944 161st St., Flushing, 15 years,
                  Bowne Park.
                  Christina Wiskerman, 9-16 - 127th St., College Point,
                  11 years, Waterfront.

RICHMOND:         Nickolas Lorgieci, 202 Walker St., Port Richmond,
                  Faber Park.
                  Helen Barn, 224 Treadwell Ave., Port Richmond,
                  Faber Park.

              The Park Department Checker Contest was open to all boys and
girls, not over sixteen years of age.

              Although Checkers has been a popular pastime in the
playgrounds, this is the first City Checker Tournament conducted by the
Department of Parks.  Interest in the game is increasing and Playground
Directors are called upon with increasing frequency to decide the fine
points of the game.  The children no longer are content to play an
unscientific game.  They are beginning to absorb some of the fundamental
strategy of checkers.

                Gold-filled, silver and bronze medals of the Park Department
having a checker board panel on then, have been award- ed to the borough
winners.  The City Seal medal will be given to those finishing first, second
and third in the finals to be held Thursday, August 2nd.


ARSENAL, CENTRAL PARK                                 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 
TEL. REGENT 4-1000                                    July 31, 1934

                     WEST SIDE IMPROVEMENT

     Bids were taken today on the first section of City Structure No, 4 for
the Express Highway north of 72nd Street, in Riverside Park, in accordance
with the revised plans of the Park Department.

     This work consists of the westerly wall and foundations for City
Structure No. 4.  The contract will be awarded to the low bidder as soon as
the bids are examined and checked by the Commissioner of Parks, in
accordance with the authority vested in him yesterday at a meeting of the
Board of Estimate and Apportionment.  This is among the first of a number of
contracts that will be let for the construction of the West Side

     The New York Central Railroad will take bids the latter part of August
for the excavation of a cut from 42nd to 53rd Streets through which cut the
tracks now on 11th Avenue will later be installed.  This material will be
placed adjacent to the above construction work in Riverside Park and will
later be used in the development of the landscape scheme.

     At the southerly limits of the work the ground conditions are such that
it was found necessary to install steel pipe piles filled with concrete
extending from the bottoms of the walls to solid rock approximately 35 feet
below the existing surface of the ground. At the northerly limits of the
contract test pits indicated that the walls could be carried on the existing
ground without resorting to the use of piles.

     At the southerly extremity rubble masonry transverse walls have been
specified, while at the northerly end stone concrete walls are to be used.
The tops of all of the walls are in the form of steps on which will be
placed the reinforced concrete earth supporting members.  This scheme of
supporting a superimposed load of earth is somewhat novel and was resorted
to because of unusual existing foundation conditions.

     After the work on the present contract has progressed, it will be
possible to proceed with the landscaping work with relief labor.






                           WEST SIDE IMPROVEMENT
                            DEPARTMENT OF PARKS

Bird's-eye view of the Express Highway crossing over 79th Street. The
traffic circle just beyond the grade crossing elimination, affords access to
and from the Express Highway, as well as the park development next to the
river. Pedestrians reach this park area by means of the sunken circular
plaza, which eliminates crossing traffic.

CAMARAGRAPH by Palmer Shannon, New York.