|▶ ◀ ▲|
“It was late April of 1935, Easter Sunday was on the 21st and the dedication of the Post Chapel that would bring a formal place of worship to Fort Myer. The project was begun and carefully watched over by then Maj George S. Patton, Jr., another of his legacies to this historic US Army Post. In an Oct 1933 report to then Post Commander, Col Kenyon Joyce, Patton outlined the specifics of building a principal chapel and nixed the idea of a separate mortuary chapel on Fort Myer. His conclusions were drawn after a field trip to Walter Reed Hospital in Washington DC where he surveyed the chapels on the grounds. Highlighted within the book ‘Images of America - Fort Myer’ among the other historical photographs and images are images of the chapel and Patton Hall which was first used as a chapel before the ‘Old Post Chapel’ was built. Ground-breaking for the construction of the chapel began on 04 Feb 1934 and then cornerstone was placed both of which without much fanfare or ceremony. Over time, this one building would become the iconic representation The Old Post Chapel on Fort Myer Virginia when one thought about Fort Myer. It was the focal point proudly occupying the center of the garrison's insignia. In addition to providing a place for worship for the Fort Myer Military community, it hosted many weddings and also provided the starting place for many of the final honors which would end in adjacent Arlington National Cemetery. It is also known for its unique stained glass windows.”
Today, this building is called the Old Post Chapel at Fort Myer and it is still in use for military funerals. It is only one of a series of New Deal buildings at Fort Myer.
Photos from C.W. Short, U.S. Federal Works Agency Public Buildings (1939).